BBB Accredited Business since

Bonadelle Homes Inc

Phone: (559) 435-9700 Fax: (559) 435-9707 7030 N Fruit Ave Ste 101, Fresno, CA 93711 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bonadelle Homes Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bonadelle Homes Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/09/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 822555.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Bonadelle, President Ms. Mary Amador, Home Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Amador, Home Service Manager
Principal: Mr. John Bonadelle, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Additional Locations

  • 7030 N Fruit Ave Ste 101

    Fresno, CA 93711 (559) 435-9700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new home 11/14. There are over 25 major things wrong with it. I can't get answers and I have been passed around with no answers. Most recently we discovered that we have a portion of our attic that was not isulated. The two rooms that don't have insulation are AGAINST code and when I brought it to the attention of Bonadelle, I was told "I'll contact the city about their inspection." They take no responsibility for the work that is attached to their names. We have crooked interior walls, crooked exterior framing. Chipped and cracked fireplace hearth, scratched wood linen counter tops, gaps around all the exterior doors weather stripping, uneven stucco color patches, cracks in the stucco (the day we moved in), hot and cold water hook ups were reversed, improper framing for the attic access, master tub tile enclosure was framed improper; I was told that they would replace the whole thing and then was subsequently told that there was 1" of mud that the tile was stuck to that they could chip off. That was a bold face lie. The tiles were laid uneven and cut short in weird places. When we did our framing walk, I noticed that the piping for the main condensation line was crooked. I asked that it be fixed. ****, the head of construction took a sharpie and wrote the word "straighten" on it. That was never fixed. I had them do it and they left a hole in our wall for 2 weeks with the insulation exposed. Then it rained and the patched over it, without looking for moisture damage. They orginally built the home without framing out for den doors like the plan called for. They had to come out and cut our walls and have tile and carpet fixed. I had paid 3k to have my whole home painted after we received our keys. After the den doors were framed Bonadelles subs came in and butchered my paint job so bad. You could see brush strokes and could tell that the paint had been caked on too thick in some places. They didn't even do a second coat. After a string of complaints they paid my hired painters to come and fix the job. There is paint over spray in my master closet. They painted the walls and they sprayed the door jams without taping off. There is texture overspray on all of my baseboards. So badly that they aren't smooth or flat at all. We have slats of our wood fence that had nails poking out of them. I had to go through and pull them all out so my kids wouldn't get hurt while playing in our backyard. We purchased our home from Bonadelle at the Grove. We have the Hudson model, Tuscan elevation. Generally, I deal with **** ****** at the office. I have had *** and **** in my home to look at problems. The only time that I even get a response is when I threaten legal action. I shouldn't be having to jump through hoops to get my home the way that I want it. We paid for a product. In fact, we paid nearly $350,000 for the home. We put $150,000 as a down payment. We worked hard for a long time and had our choice of central valley builders. We paid our down payment weeks before we received our keys. Bonadelle had us sign our papers a couple weeks before doing our final walkthrough and pay our money. Then they delivered the house in the condition that it is now. The house wasn't even cleaned properly when we did our walkthrough. This whole home buying process has been a nightmare. We were so excited to be able to purchase a new construction home and Bonadelle and their sub contractors ruined it for us. We were told when we bought the home not to buy with them because they had a bad reputation. I wish we would have listened.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have a product that we were falsly led to believe that we were buying. I want my home fixed and I would like to be reimbursed for the difference of heating/cooling our home over the last 8 months without insulation vs. what we pay after the insulation work has been done. I want all the repairs done in a timely manner and not be pushed back because their guys are busy working on a home that is under construction. Homes that have been "completed" and are being lived in should take precedence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ I would like to address the most recent complaint first regarding insulation. It was reported by homeowner that she did not feel there was proper insulation in her attic above the front bedroom. This was reported July 2nd and unfortunately we could not get anyone out there to inspect and/or make a repair if necessary. Because of the July 4th holiday we could not get anyone out until Tuesday July 7th to address homeowner's concerns. Although homeowner threatened legal action that is not what motivates us to take care of our homeowners. We take pride in our homes and want our homeowners to be happy with their purchase. Unfortunately we cannot act as fast as we would like for our homeowners. We truly want our homeowners to have a positive experience at the time of sale and for years after. We offer a warranty on the home and stand by it. If there are issues we work to get them resolved quickly. I am not aware of 25 major things wrong with this home. There have been a few visits to this home by our trade partners and project managers in an effort to settle any issues. We have worked with homeowner to accommodate her requests for upgraded items or extra installment of items because of her frustration and inconvenience however there has not been a decisive answer from homeowner on the course of action they would like to take until recently. I understand this is frustrating when you would like issues taken care of within a couple of days, we would like that to happen for our homeowners as well. All items mentioned have been addressed. Our records show there is an outstanding tile issue but that has been resolved between our office and homeowner. There is a paint issue outstanding which we do not deny and have issued a work order. I hope we can continue to keep the lines of communication open and resolve any outstanding issues. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to start with the insulation. The homeowner didn't "feel" that there wasn't proper insulation in the front bedroom; there was NO insulation in front bedroom. Again, our home was out of code since November 2014. Since my original complaint the insulation has been done. The gentleman who did it told my husband that the office, which we originally thought had no insulation in the ceiling, did I fact have it. The reason that our room was so hot was because there was no insulation on the walls/roof in the attic space directly over the room. The only way to make that room the same temperature as the rest of the house would be to put up plywood and insulate wall/ceiling in the attic. My problem is that Bonadelle sold us a home with the attic space (which they don't sell as attic space but open space) and didn't insulate that space properly to make it a "green" home. They advertise as selling a green home but yet a professional tells us we aren't insulated properly. In regards to my wanting someone to come out an look at it July 4th weekend: a project manager is assigned to our tract. **** should have been able to swing by and look at our lack of insulation so we could have had the trade partner scheduled and here on Monday, instead of sending the trade to look at it Monday, who showed up Monday without the proper tools and insufficient supplies; why I don't know. All the while making us run our A/C while in hot July weather, just wasting money; which by the way I have received not response on the compensation of an enormous bill. I am not sure who is responding on behalf of Bonadelle but as mentioned in my previous complaint, multiple things have been wrong in my home. Big or small issues are not up to the discretion of Bonadelle. When you pay $350k for a home NOTHING should be wrong. Any discrepancies in quality of my home is considered a major issue. The above response mentions a "few" visits in our home. We have had the cabinet trade out to our home 4 times alone! Stucco 3x. Paint 3x. Tile 2x. Mantel 1x. Plumbing 1x. Carpet 2x. Framers 2x. Garage door 1x. Exterior doors 2x. This seems like more than a few. We had an appointment for the fence and they never kept their appointment. In regards to my "upgrade" request. When I noticed the tile around the master tub (on our final walk 11/14) I wanted it fixed, of course. When I finally got the owner of the tile company and the head of Bonadelles project managers in my home (4/13@4pm; 6 months later) I asked them to give me a quote on a tile upgrade to match our flooring. The basic tile included in our home was cheap and poorly done and if I was going to have them redo it I would prefer it look nice so we didn't have to repeat this a third time. Their visit included a consultation of a crooked wall in my laundry room which isn't square. When we finished out appointment it was decided that **** (golden state tile) would work up a quote for the tile costs on the master tub and would be tiling the laundry room at an angle as to not notice the crooked walk in the laundry room. I never heard back about a quote. On May 12, I sent an email to **** because I still hadn't heard. Her response was asking I f I had heard anything. Clearly I hadn't since I had contacted her about it the day before. On 4/5, 4/8, 5/13, 5/21, 6/16, 7/2, and 7/6 I emailed about never hearing from the tilers. Of course after a certain amount of waiting on the upgrade quote, I decided to just take the basic and not drop another cent on this company. On 5/13 I sent an email stating that I hadn't heard from Golden State tile and I didn't want to upgrade anymore. The blame cannot be placed on me for being unable to make a decision since I tried to reach out on multiple occasions with no responses. When you are a home builder and take pride in the products you sell, you should take all necessary steps to make sure that your homebuyers are receiving a quality product. We have NOT received a that. We bought a lemon. We had the wool pulled over our eyes. I do not threaten legal actions. My words have an action behind them. I have spoken with our attorney an now we sit and wait for Bonadelle to make their next move. If the actions taken are insufficent and not to our wants or what was promised we will be moving forward. Do not under estimate me. I am not threaten by Bonadelles deep pockets. The following are outstanding orders: tile (started today: 3 day job for which my husband and I have to take time off work.) Baseboards/paint : fence and exterior doors (again.) I find it very comical that Bonadelle wants to keep open lines of communication when we, as homeowners have to jump through hoops to get a response. On multiple occasions, I have called and left messages with nothing in return. My last two emails have gone without a response from **** or Dell. This is a common problem from other homeowners in our development. My point is, if you take pride and want your homeowner to be happy with by their purchase then don't take 8 months for an issues to be fixed. The delay in solutions creates animosity and isn't needed. Quick responses of any sort are appreciated. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is the first I've heard that it's been agreed upon to reimburse. As soon as I receive contact regarding when to pick up the check I will accept Bonadelles response and I will slow the case to close. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/07/27) */ Hi Okay. Thank you. I checked with our accountant and the check was mailed Thursday July 23rd to the homeowner. I posted a response stating we would reimburse the homeowner for the amount she requested and would continue to completed work orders as soon as possible. ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bonadelle Homes Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)