BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2010

Santiago's Heating & Air

Phone: (559) 304-3159Fax: (559) 277-17215587 W Hedges Ave, FresnoCA 93722-8603

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2010

BBB has determined that Santiago's Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Santiago's Heating & Air's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Santiago's Heating & Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Santiago's failed to fix my air conditioning unit. They didn't perform any checks on functioning after so called repairs and didn't complete job.
Santiago's did not complete repairs to air conditioning unit. July 26, 2013, technician came to house but left because he did not like our request that he and his worker be careful with our yard gate. My husband told them it would need to be closed after entering or leaving. My husband also told them that the last guys from Santiago's slammed it several times even though we warned him about the fence being attached to the house. The technician left without addressing malfunctioning of air conditioning unit. Prior to that date on,07-16-2013 technician ***** came to the house to replace a "faulty" txv. After he replace the part the technician did not go through out house to confirm the problem of uneven cooling through out house was solved.When I asked him if he had checked performance in each room he said he had, but I did not see him go into any other rooms in the house except the closet with the attic access. When questioned again he said there were no leaks and the vent system was fine. When he went to the truck I checked the performance of the system in each room and found it no better than before. When he returned I asked him to at least check the temperature of the air coming from the vents to verify the problem had been fix. He reluctantly checked the back family room and agreed the air from the vent was warmed and not blowing as strongly as the other vents in the house. He said it was because it was farther from the unit, which did not make sense since other rooms farther from the unit were much cooler. The technician did not want to address the problems and frustrated by his lack of cooperation and I reluctantly signed the work order. After a few days, I was able to confirm my suspicion that the unit was still not working correctly. This company has provided very poor customer service. Phone calls are not returned in a timely manner. Commitments made verbally are not fulfilled. Technicians refuse to listen to the our concerns about the systems functioning. My air conditioner still runs constantly and will not go lower than 79/78 degrees and sometimes 80 degrees on days when it is over 100 degrees.

Desired Settlement
If the home warranty company charges us another fee of $75 for a different company to come out to fix the unit, we are requested a refund of the $75 check #1263. They should also have to reimburse us for the constant running of our unit and excess bill for the month of July from the lack of timely contact and service, but I doubt that will happen

Business' Initial Response
Mr ***** fails to conceive a unbiased review due to his unsettling anger. Upon arrival of the house Mr ***** made me aware about the constant entering and leaving through the side gate which has never seemed to be any problem to any other home owner. The owner was clearly very upset about the matter in which he proceeded to call my employee an idiot and had no knowledge of what he was doing. After observing the client I understood that there was no arguing with him, so I proceeded by letting him know that I would not be able to service the unit due to his profanity and unsettled emotion. After I left the property I called his insurance company and let them know that I would no longer service the unit, and requested another company to be provided for the needed service of Mr. *****'s air conditioner.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/2006Business started: 01/25/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 853609 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Carlos Santiago (Owner)
Business Category

Heating Contractors

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Santiago's Heating & Air

5587 W Hedges Ave

Fresno, CA 93722-8603

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5587 W Hedges Ave 

    Fresno, CA 93722-8603(559) 304-3159

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Santiago's Heating & Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.