BBB Accredited Business since

Weatherby's Furniture Company

Phone: (661) 327-2747 Fax: (661) 324-0827 View Additional Phone Numbers 620 Chester Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301 http://www.weatherbysfurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weatherby's Furniture Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Weatherby's Furniture Company include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Weatherby's Furniture Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 13901.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Gene Torigiani, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Torigiani, Sales Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 620 Chester Ave

    Bakersfield, CA 93301 (661) 327-2747

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged recliner which they refused to either replace or fix. I went to the store and bought a recliner. I was led to believe that it would be new from the warehouse when I had it picked up. It was the floor model. I was not informed of this at time of purchase or I would have looked the chair over at that time. It was damaged in two places. There was a scratch and staples left in the wooden leg of the chair. This can catch on clothing. One of 6 buttons was no longer attached like the others and looks much different. They told me I have to bring their damaged merchandize back (which I don't have the means to do so) or live with it as is... They offered nothing to make this right. No one to come fix it. No one to pick it up. No exchange. Nothing. But they took my money and didn't care that a long time customer was upset. I talked to ****** (salesperson) and *** the manager. Poor customer relations and dishonest during sale.

Desired Settlement: Pick it up. Replace it or repair it at no charge, since I was suppose to be sold NEW merchandize in good condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* This chair is scheduled to be serviced Monday November 23rd for repair. If the customer prefers a refund Weatherby's will make a full refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The store did send a repairman out and the chair was repaired to my satifaction. My only complaint at this point is that this should have been their first response to me, verses the poor treatment I got from their manager *** and his lack of consern or cooperation to fix the problem that I eventually recieve after I had to file a complaint.

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We feel the contract is deceptive. It's stated clearly "no returns after 7 days" So 2 days after our delivery we were uncomfortable. No refunds, retur 2 days after our new mattress was delivered we decided it was extremely uncomfortable. Contacted Weatherbys was told no returns on mattresses! Its clear in the contract no returns after 7 days, we called on day 2! My recipiet states I can return up to 7 days, WHERE'S the customer satisfaction if There is no customer service I'd mattresses are non returnable my contract should state No Return on Mattresses! It does not. I'm unhappy and out 1400.00 on a Mattress I can't even sleep on.

Desired Settlement: Would have liked to return mattress and purchase another.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Unfortunately Weatherbys does not provide a comfort guarantee on mattresses. A mattress is a personal item that cannot be returned and sold as new. The mattress has to be sterilized and sold as a used mattress. All returns as stated in our return policy on our invoices require Managers approval. A mattress is not an item that can be returned. All new mattresses have a break in period and the customers body also needs to adjust to the comfort of the new mattress. This customer only slept on the mattress for 3 nights and had not given their bodies time to adjust to the comfort of the new mattress. **Please note the following is pulled directly from the return policy on our invoice: RETURN AND EXCHANGE POLICY. All Returns Require Management Approval. 20% handling and restocking charge on Merchandise returned within 7 days of delivery or pick-up. No returns after 7 days from date of delivery or pick-up. All sales are final. All Refunds Require 14 Days From Request Date. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Return policy is deceptive. It should clearly state NO RETURNS ON MATTRESSES.It does not leading buyers to believe they can return it if not satisfied.

11/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased sofa on clearance in spring of 2015. We have not used. It still has tags attached. Without warning we heard a loud noise and springs broke. We purchased a Ashley Furniture Addison Khaki sofa on clearance sale (new) marked down from 669.95 to 299.95. Item # XXXXX-XX. Serial #SXXXXXXXXX. Salesperson stated that it was on clearance because of a few spots on fabric. "It's a great sofa". "We just need to clear our storeroom" We have not used the sofa yet because it was purchased for our Cambria home. On August 2nd we heard a loud noise. The springs in the sofa had exploded. ( without anyone ever sitting on it) We called the store and are being told "sorry, clearance is as is." This is a new sofa with tags attached. Please help resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a refund or store credit. We, as well as our other family members have made many purchases at this store dating back many years. We consider ourselves loyal, longtime customers. We are surprised we were sold an inferior product. More importantly, we are disappointed in the customer service we have received once we addressed the store with the exploding sofa springs. The only response has been "sorry". This sofa was sold new so it must have a manufactures warranty . Our salesman pointed out it only had a few faint spots on the pillows/fabric. Most importantly, we haven't used the sofa yet. It was for our other home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/10) */ Mr. ******* purchased this sofa Feb. 27, 2015 in "as-is" condition. The invoice is clearly noted "As-is" plus the customer signed an "As-is" sales agreement. "As-is" furniture has no warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is a correct statement by the store that the sofa was purchased "as is". However, the condition of the sofa was misrepresented to us at the time of sale. We were told that this was a new unsold sofa (not used) and that it had received some stains/blemishes. The premise of the sale was based on those facts. A new Ashley Furniture sofa should in NO WAY have had the undercarriage "explode" after 5 months of little to no use. That is beyond a normal expectation whether purchased " as is " or not. SO either the store did not disclose that other damage to the sofa had occurred prior to sale or this sofa had a construction defect. In either case, this was not disclosed to us at the time of sale.

7/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased new couches, Wetherby's sent me the floor models or used ones. I purchased new couches, Wetherby's sent me the floor models. I called them to ask why only one chair looked new and the arm rest of the other two couches were so flat, they asked me to use my warranty. Warranty was denied For worn arm rests. Wetherby's sold me two diferent warrantys none of wish cover the cushin on the arm rest. I whent to the store and they said that they couldn't do anything because the sales person who sold me the couches quit. It has now been two years and I can't get them to help me with anything, fixing the isue nor replacing the couches.

Desired Settlement: I want the new couches that were sold to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ Mr. ***** was delivered a sofa & loveseat in December of 2012. At that time he purchased a stain only protection warranty. Weatherbys guarantees the furniture for a period of one (1) year against manufacturers defects. This warranty includes both parts and labor. After one (1) year, the customer is responsible for all labor cost that may occur. The factory does warranty the seat cushion cores (foam) for three (3) years. We have new seat cushions cores on order and will call Mr. ***** when they arrive. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sales person that sold us the couches said that one of the two warrantys she sold me would without a doubt cover anything on the couches. My wife was pragnent she had the baby, the baby was sick, but knowing that one of my warrantys was going to solve our probles i waited until time permited. We needed a new place to live so with a lot of time and struggle we got our house putting the problem with the couches a few months behind. I tryed to contact my warranty and got denied. Me and my wife went to WETHERBYS on chester and found out that the sales peron had lied to us about the couches been the last ones they were going to have because acording to wetherbys sales person they weren't making thoes couches any more. Well they did in fact have planty of them and the sales person that sold us the couches had quit shortly after she sold us the couches. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/07/06) */ Here are some pictures of the two warranty protections. Now that I see them and think back she told me one will cover stains and accidents and the other one would cover cushions including arm rest. I think now thats where she lied. Because they both look the same why would I need two warranties that cover the same thing. She only flipped the page and showed me where it said Five years warranty. I also think now she was on her way out of there she just wanted to make the sale any way she could. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/07/14) */ MR ***** PURCHASED A STAIN PROTECTION WARRANTY THAT COVERED THE SOFA AND LOVESEAT THAT WAS DELIVERED ON 12/7/2012. ON JULY 6 2013 WEATHERBY'S DELIVERED A CHAIR WHICH MR. ***** ALSO PURCHASED A STAIN PROTECTION WARRANTY FOR 39.95. WARRANTY #1 COVERED THE SOFA AND LOVESEAT. WARRANTY #1 COVERED THE CHAIR. WE DO NOT SELL OR REPRESENT ANY WARRANTY THAT COVERS WEAR. THANK YOU **** *********

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our au`to recclining/standup chair remote control needs replacing. my wife spoke to them today, the chairs stiil under warranty,they need serial# weatherbys wants my wife to find a serial # thats on the frame, we're both disbled now, im in a wheelchair, shes arthritic, she cant do it, they dont caze, i emailed them w/detailsm, ill forward it to yo on request

Desired Settlement: we need a new remote control thats uder warranty or a refund their choice as to which one

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ The customer was taken care of. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/04/30) */ im still waiting for a call or email so i can pickup my new remote control Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/05/07) */ Customer picked up new remote Monday, May 4th. The customer was not charged for new remote. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terms of promotional purchase were misleading and misinterpreted by Sales Associate. On or about June 2012, I purchase a two beds and two mattresses from Weatherby's Furniture. It was explained to me that the promotion was 0% interest, and as long as I paid the balance in full within 24 months that interest would not apply. However, it was also explained that if I did not pay the balance that interest at the rate of 29.99% would apply after the promotion date ended. In this case would have been July 2014. This is exactly how it was explained to be by the sales associate. Her name was *****. Since I did not pay the entire balance by July 2014, I did expect to pay an interest charge based on the remaining balance at a rate of 29.99%. Much to my dismay, I was charged interest in the amount of $1,100 which was applied in arrears from the date of purchase. I have two separate accounts with this merchant, both of which were originated at the same date and time, and both of which promotions ended at the same time. I am being charged interest on one, yet not the other. After discussing the same with the financing company, GE Capital, now known as Synchrony Bank, I was told I would need to contact the Merchant, Weatherby's. Which is what I have done. They have essentially told me there was nothing they could do.

Desired Settlement: I am asing that Weatherby's honor their original agreement with me, and for go their collection of the interest. I have no and do not plan on being late on my account, but I am disputing these interest charges. I am agreeable to pay the 29.99% interest on the remaining balance; however, I am NOT in agreement to pay the $1,100 in interest charges that are being applied from the date of purchase. I will file a civil action should this go unresolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/02) */ ****** ******* DID PURCHASE MERCHANDISE IN JUNE OF 2012 AND SHE DID TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR SPECIAL FINANCE PROGRAM WITH GE NOW KNOWN AS SYNCHRONY. SHE WAS OFFERED THE 24 MONTHS DEFERRED / NO INTEREST IF PAID IN FULL OPTION AND SIGNED THAT AUTHORIZATION ,IN ADDITION TO THAT SHE ALSO SIGNED A LARGER PRINT SHEET EXPLAINING THAT IF THE BALANCE IS NOT PAID IN FULL BY THE END OF THE 24TH MONTH INTEREST WOULD BE IMPOSED FROM THE DATE OF DELIVERY OR PICK UP. ****** ******* CALLED AND CAME INTO OUR OFFICE ON 8/20/14 VERY UPSET ABOUT THE INTEREST THAT WAS ON HER ACCOUNT. I LOOKED EVERYTHING UP AND PROVIDED HER THE SAME COPIES I AM INCLUDING IN THE RESPONSE. I ALSO CALLED SYNCHRONY AND ASKED THEM IF THERE WAS ANYTHING THEY COULD DO. SYNCHRONY EXPLAINED THAT HER JUNE STATEMENT DID STATE THAT THE BALANCE MUST BE PAID BY JULY 9TH 2014 BECAUSE THE NO INTEREST PROMOTION WOULD END. SYNCRONY EXPLAINED THAT THEY WOULD NOT WAIVE ANY FEES OR INTEREST NOW THAT IT HAD BEEN MORE THAN TWO MONTHS SINCE HER PROMOTIONAL PROGRAM HAD ENDED. MS.*******'S ACCOUNT IS WITH SYNCHRONY NOT WEATHERBY'S. SYNCHRONY SAYS THAT EVERYTHING IS CORRECT AND SHE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY THEM. SHE DID OPEN TWO ACCOUNTS AND BOTH HAVE THE SAME FINANCE TERMS. ******* ***** ***************(@)yahoo.com WEATHERBY'S FURNITURE *** ******* *** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Weatherby's Furniture Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)