BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mathis Brothers Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mathis Brothers Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Mathis Brothers Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 12/20/2007 Business started locally: 12/20/2007 Business incorporated 12/20/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 152659.

Business Management
Mr. Jason Woods, Store Manager Jason Stickney, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Woods, Store Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Wholesale

Service Area
This business sells home furnishings.

Additional Locations

  • 34380 Monterey Ave

    Palm Desert, CA 92211 (760) 863-3578

  • 4105 Inland Empire Blvd

    Ontario, CA 91764 (909) 919-2499 (909) 919-2400 (909) 919-2499

  • 69020 Ramon Rd

    Cathedral City, CA 92234 (760) 863-3577

  • 81410 US Highway 111

    Indio, CA 92201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an expensive chair. It doesn't work. I'm handicapped and I need a comfortable chair. Their response is ludacrist. I was told that I would be contacted in two or three business days. I bought a good chair because I'm handicapped and needed it. I was told I would be contacted in two or three business days. I asked if I could return it for a different one; after all if bit broke in five weeks how can I have confidence in it. They said I could only get store credit and would have to pay delivery charges. Not very good culstomer service for a $1600 chair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a different chair, ad refund of the balance and not have to pay delivery charges again. After all I paid this opnce.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/04/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Str. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First of all, I would personally like to apologize for the issues you have experienced. Mathis Brothers is always striving to offer the best price, quality & service. Again, we do not feel that all areas met your expectations. Even though we don't make the furniture, it is our duty to stand behind it and make it right whenever there are issues. With that being said, we will be offering you a full refund and the opportunity to reselect to something more to your liking and quality. Our customer service office will be calling you to arrange everything. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to another opportunity to serve you better. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2016/05/20) */ After being contacted by BBB Mathis Brothers complied with all my expectations. Thank you BBB

3/21/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPANY DELIVERED RECLINER COUCHES NOT WORKING I purchased leather couch, loveseat and large chair, which should have had a total of 5 working recliners (love seat 2 recliners, couch - 2 recliners, large chair - 1 recliner). The first time Mathis Brothers delivered my furniture on 02/27/2016, their drivers didn't check to make sure that my couches were in new condition. I noticed some days later when I pulled the couch from the wall to vacuum that the Velcro was not working because the other piece that it was supposed to Velcro to was missing and the delivery people should have caught this because I saw them behind the couch putting it together. I called the store once discovered and asked for the Sales Manager,(***** *******), explained to him what happened, he told me that someone was going to call me back to see when they will bring another piece for exchange. Days went by I never received another call from this guy or the company. I called them at the end of 1 week, told them that I was going to file a complaint if they don't get my furniture exchanged, customer service set me up for the exchange on Monday, Feb. 29, 2016. The delivery people came to my house brought the couch for exchange, and plugged them in. At this point I still wasn't aware that they didn't work.Today (March 02, 2016) I purchased a lamp that was plugged in the same socket as the couch. I plugged the lamp in and it worked, I noticed that the light that went to the couch wasn't on, I thought that it was just unplugged. I sent an email to this ***** ****** and told him that his people delivered non working couches to me and I was not happy because I have had nothing but problems with these couches and his company. I asked him to give me a call.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS COMPANY TO REPLACE MY COUCH FOR THE 3RD TIME AND COMPENSATE ME FOR MY TIME FOR THEIR CRAPPY SERVICE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/03/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Str. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, I would like to apologize for the issues that you have had with our furniture and service. It is always our intention to provide the best service and products available at our every day lowest pricing. Looking at your account #XXXXXXXXX, we have replaced the defective unit with a new one and refunded money for the inconvenience. We will still honor a return and full refund if ultimately desired or delivery of a new item and pick up of the defective piece if still applicable. Please call our service department at ************ to schedule if needed. Again, we apologize for the issues and truly wish for your furniture buying experience with us to be the best. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2016/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The store should have offered me a bigger refund because the problems and inconvenience that they caused me Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2016/03/17) */ Again, I do apologize for the inconvenience that you feel this has caused you. We truly give every effort to make right any issues that may have been encountered. The refund given was for the inconvenience only and did not reflect the status of the pieces. A brand new unit was delivered to replace the unsatisfactory piece along with the offer still in place to replace anything else if you are not completely satisfied with the units you currently have. As far as for a bigger refund. As stated before, we will refund you 100% including deliver to make you whole again and pick up everything that has not met your 100% satisfaction. Thank you so much. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2016/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I went ahead and accepted the offer to get my delivery fee back. These people weren't going to do anything else for me. I now know where to to go to spend my money next time.

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased square glass top 72"x72" on 9/19/2015 with a delivery date of 8 to 12 weeks but I received an incorrect round glass top on 1/27/XXXXX. Purchased square glass top 72"x72" Item #****** (Glass Top only)on 9/19/2015 with a delivery date of 8 to 12 weeks SO#XXXXXXXX from Sales Rep ******* ***** for $540.95 using my credit card, but after 18 weeks I received an incorrect round glass top *************** on 1/27/2016. The original printed sales order shows the correct item but the delivery sales order shows the new item. When I call customer service they claimed that I ordered the round table but that is not right. The original invoice that I paid shows the correct item that I purchased. Is totally unacceptable that they modified the original sales order for the delivery. My full purchase in this same sales order was for 5,064. Due to the delay I called multiple times during the last 10 weeks. I am very disappointed of their unfair practice to modify a contract and ship the incorrect item after 6 weeks delay. I don't need a round table. I need a square 72"x72" table as was committed.

Desired Settlement: I want a no charge exchange. I want that they pick-up the round glass top and deliver the glass top that I purchased: 72"x72" 1/2" tempered glass top and or described in their stock/model number that they sold to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com I do sincerely apologize for the mix up on your table top. After looking into the matter, we did order the incorrect glass in a 72" round versus a 72" square. We have placed an order with ***** ****** for a Bolero BO08G 72" square glass top for the same pricing as the round glass you had previously ordered. Your new ticket number for reference on the order is XXXXXXXXXX. Once we receive the glass you will be contacted for delivery to your home at no charge. I do again apologize for the mistake. I assure that it was not done intentionally and it is always our priority to take care of our customers with little to no headaches. If there is one thing that we can truly provide, that is taking care of you after the sale. We will do everything we can to get this glass from our vendor as soon as possible and finalize your transaction as soon as possible. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to resolve and close this matter for you soon!

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mathis Brothers repeatedly ignored my requests to fix my bed and then claimed it was out of warranty. I purchased a bed from Mathis Brothers in 2014 which was delivered on July 24 of that same year. Within two months, one of the rails of the bed developed a crack in it. Over the next year, I called Mathis Brothers on several occasions asking that they repair or replace the rail. I would be told that they could send someone out to repair the bed and that they would have a technician call me. By July of 2015, I had called Mathis Brothers on several occasions (and even received wrong number calls from Mathis Brothers on occasions as well (such as a July 20 call from Craig at Mathis Brothers calling for Megan Reynolds) it took more than a year before someone was finally sent to my house. Once at my house, the technician looked at my bed for about five minutes and said that it was a common rail split, that he would put in the order, and that I should hear from someone at Mathis Brothers soon to repair the bed. After several months, I heard nothing. I called back Mathis Brothers today and they said that the bed was no longer under warranty and that they could give me an estimate to have the bed repaired.

Desired Settlement: No store, including Mathis Brothers, can sell a defective product and then ignore the customer for over a year and a half. They need to either repair the bed or refund me the amount for the entire bedroom set so I can go to a more reputable store and buy a different bed set. I am the one that convinced my wife to forego getting a bed from Pottery Barn. I am deeply regretting that decision.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off we would like to offer our sincerest apology for the way your situation was handled. Mathis Brothers truly values each and every customer and any bump in the road is not an excuse for us to drop the ball. It is often easier to make a transaction than to make up for one that has not only failed to meet the client's expectation but failed to hit any of the marks we strive for. With this all being said, we would like to offer you a couple options. One is to have us pick up the bed along with both night stands and provide you with a full refund making you whole. Option two is we will exchange pieces or everything that you purchased for brand new merchandise. Our customer service office will be calling you to arrange either option. Again, we strive to provide the best service along with great products at an everyday low price. Not hitting one of these means we didn't achieve any of them. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to have the chance to regain your trust and are able to exceed your expectations at that time. Thank you again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept a full refund for the bed and bedside tables. I received a message from one of your customer service representatives and will contact them to finalize the return and refund.

12/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchase of 3 beds and night stand . I bought furniture from mathis brothers on 11/28/2015. I bought a king size bed with the 2 night stands, one queen bed and one full size bed. the queen bed came with the foot board damaged. they came couple days later to replace it but brought a wrong foot board. the cal king bed and 2 night stand we got it cheaper somewhere else. they say they will match the price I provided them proof. I paid them $2,326.85 with tax where I got it somewhere else for $1600.00 sincethey did not want to match they price I told them I wanted to return it . they came and pick the bed up. now they charging me $260.09 for pick and restocking fee of $$232.68. they did not want to match they price I had to return it . I want them to return the restocking fee and the delivery fee. they told me they wil lcharge 70. 00 and charge me so much. I have all the proofs.

Desired Settlement: I need the pick up to be $70.00 and refund the restocking fee of $232.68

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****; Store Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, I would like to apologize for the damaged items you kept receiving. Please know that it always our intention to give you the best products with service to match! Both were definitely subpar to our standards so again, we apologize for the inconvenience. We will be calling to refund the pickup and restocking fee as a result. To close, we are extremely diligent in making our customers shopping experience one of a kind. It is truly never our intention to drop the ball so to speak or make any customer feel that they were not treated with the utmost respect and provided the best service when purchasing from us or simply visiting our showroom. I hope that resolving your concern will renew faith with us and we can expect to see you again in the future. Respectively, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid protection plan not being honored correctly We sent our initial complaint on September 16,2015. Our leather couches started to to crack and the material started to separate. We received a response from ******** ******. Pictures where sent and a we were told that replacement material would be sent. We received a package and called Mathis Bro to set up a day to get it fixed. They sent out a repair person from Elite services. He came out and said that not all the parts had been received. He took more pictures and said that the rest of the parts would be ordered. We waited and waited and nothing has been fixed. We sent another email to ******** on December 1st. She quickly responded and said she would call the repair company to see what had happened. Today is December 12th and we haven't received any kind of response from her or the repair service company. I have asked if this issue can't be fixed for them to replace our couches. We have given them plenty of time to get this resolved. We paid for the extra warranty and all it has done is given us more issues. This store does less than the minimum to keep customers satisfied with the purchases made. This is the reference number given to us O#XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: At this point we are tired of waiting and the lack response from the customer service department. We want our money back for these defective couches that Mathis Bro sold to us. If that can't be done I guess they can replace them and have those couches also include a warranty since I do not trust the quality of the product they will be giving us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** STORE Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, I would like to apologize for the issue that you have had with our Furniture Protection Plan. We truly stand behind its services and this issue with us not being able to get the replacement upholstery for the repair company is very disappointing to say the least. I am going to offer that we either exchange your sofas for new ones with a 10% discount off of whatever you decide to reselect to OR we return and refund your Sofa and Love Seat 100%. Our customer service department will be calling you to make the arrangements in either case. To close, we are extremely diligent in making our customers shopping experience one of a kind. It is truly never our intention to drop the ball so to speak or make any customer feel that they were not treated with the utmost respect and provided the best service when purchasing from us or simply visiting our showroom. I hope that resolving your concern will renew faith with us and we can expect to see you again in the future. Respectively, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you Mr ***** for you quick response and offer. I wish it would have been resolved without us having to file this complaint.

12/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problem with Furniture Protection Plan. Complaint is regarding sales order number XXXXXXXXX, my customer number is XXXXXXXXX. I have purchased furniture protection plan on all the furnitures included in sales order XXXXXXXXX. I was promised by the salesroom ****, that I can call their Furniture protection dept as often as I get a stain on my furnitures. I have been calling their both customer service department and furniture protection plan department several times already to get service on my furnitures. I am able to speak to customer service and their sales manager, Mr **** on 11/24/2015 @2:48pm. I told him that I have been calling their furniture protection dept several times, 10/18/15 @ 5:29pm, 9/26/15 @2:14pm and other times, all I am able to do is leave messages on their answering machine and no one has return any of my call. Mr **** took informations regarding which furnitures needed service and promised that he will take care of it. I called again on 11/30/15 @ 11:26am and left a message to Mr ****. Called again same day @ 4:22pm because they have not returned my call. I was able to speak to a sales manager and was amazed that up to this point I was not helped yet. He transferred me to customer service and spoke to ******. All ****** wanted to do is leave another message to their Furniture Protection Dept which they have done already several times in the past with no success. I told her that at this point, Their company had not fulfilled its obligation under the Protection Plan contract, and therefore I would like a refund of the entire protection plan fees that I have paid. It is very difficult for me to even get 1 service.

Desired Settlement: I would rather get a refund of the furniture protection fees that I have paid. If that is not possible, I want a to make sure that they fulfill their obligations under the Furniture Protection Plan and that it will not be this hard to get service from them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Store Mgr. Contact Phone:************* Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off I would like to apologize for the issues that you have experience with our store and with our furniture protection plan along with the lack of communication and follow up. At this time, we have canceled the furniture protection plan and refunded the payment in full as of 12/03/15. Again, I am very sorry for the way you were treated. It is always our intention to take care of each and every customer in a respectful and timely manner. We hope you will give us another chance so we can get prove our service excellence and a chance to go above and beyond for you.

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received wrong love seat. Have been waiting 8 months for the correct love seat that was ordered on March 18, 2015. Sales Order #XXXXXXXXX - Order Date 03/18/15 Mathis Brothers had ordered the wrong color on my love seat. (This was ordered in March, I received the incorrect item in July). Mathis Brothers told me they would reorder the correct item. I called *** (Sales Associate) in September to check on the status and was told he thought it was going to be delivered on Oct 4. Never heard from *** again. I called *** on Saturday/Sunday (Oct 24/25 approximately) and was told he would call the manufacturer on Monday (Oct 26) and he would call be back. Never heard from *** again. I have left voicemail and sent e-mail to ***'s Sales Manager, but have never heard anything back from the Sales Manager since July. I left a voicemail with *** on Nov 3, *** returned my call and said that my love seat had been accidentally sent to OK. (Now I have a lot of relatives in OK that probably would have picked up the love seat for me if I had lived there...LOL). *** said he would find out when it was suppose to be shipped to CA and let me know. I repeatedly told *** to keep me informed. Today it has been 8 months, and I still haven't received my love seat. I left voicemail with the Sales Manager and with ***, the Sales Associate. *** finally returned my call and asked, "What did I tell you the last time I talked to you?" *** said he usually keeps notes, but forget to take any the last time we spoke. *** said he needs to call someone to find the status and would call me back tomorrow, Nov 17. I am extremely frustrated by this, and will never do business with them again due to this experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like delivery of the correct love seat that was purchased in March.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, we would like to apologize for the mistake, lack of communication and wait time. None of which are acceptable to Mathis Brothers and our customer service expectations. Our records indicate that the piece in question was delivered as of 11/22/15. My biggest concern at this point is that we would like to keep you as a valued customer. I am willing to offer a $400 credit towards a future purchase. Hopefully to give us another chance and regain your trust in our store and the service we are able to provide. As you can imagine, we do make mistakes and our number one priority is to try and fix each issue in a timely and well handled manner. There would be no way for us to remain in business if we were not treating more customers right than the ones that errors were made such as yours here. Again, my sincerest apology to the way your case was handled. And if your final decision is not to do business with us anymore, I do hope that in the end you did get the piece desired and that it is enjoyable for many years to come! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ***** - I really hope this is an exception rather than the rule in this case. This is the first time I have ever had to file a BBB complaint against a business or wrote a negative review. I am willing to accept the $400 credit towards a future purchase. Please let me know how to collect this offer, and is there an expiration date on it? Thank you

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dining room set from the business and paid tax and delivery charges. I had reservations about the size and inquired of the salesman it we would be charged for returning it if it did not fit. He specifically said three times, we would not be charged for returning it. It was delivered and found to not fit in the space I had selected and we returned it. Mathis charged me again for "delivery and tax" for the return of the furniture even though I was informed at the time of sale we would not be charged for return. Upon contacting the Board of Equalization, I was informed that there is no tax on return as sales tax is only on a sale. I also object to being charged again for "delivery." Also, I paid $821.05 ($621.05 credit card; $200.00 cash) and received a return of $621.05 on my card and $42.31 in a check as a refund for a total refund of $663.36. There is $157.69 unaccounted for. Mathis has no explanation. Product_Or_Service: furniture Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Return of my $821.05, less $663.81, plus damages for having to file this matter, plus punitive for Mathis knowing their practices were against public policy and refusing to return the money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you have experienced with our store. I can assure you that Mathis Brothers has every intent to offer the best products at the best prices while striving for excellence in customer service. It seems as though we were unable to hit all of the marks in this situation. With that being said, I will be requesting to have the full difference of your purchase and return refunded to you. ($157.69) I did however want to explain our policy, reasoning and again apologize for the miscommunication you may have received from our sales associate. Your original purchase was for $821.05. This consisted of $676.90 in products, $54.15 in taxes and a $90.00 delivery fee. Your return was credited for $663.36. This consisted of $676.90 in products and $54.15 in taxes. You were not refunded for the $90.00 delivery fee (drivers were already paid for service) and a -$67.69 restocking fee was applied to the return (10% of the $676.90 in products.) What you were not refunded was a total of $157.69 ($90.00 delivery fee plus the $67.69 restocking fee.) The reason I wanted to address this amount was due to your concern on Mathis Brothers "charging you again" for taxes. You are correct that the board of equalization will not allow taxes to be charged on pickups or services. As you can see, the amount was the delivery fee and restock fee. This had nothing to do with taxes. The final part of your concern states "damages and punitive" refunds for having to file a complaint and our "practices being against public policy". As I have explained, we were never in violation of any public policies when it came to taxes and tax laws. I do apologize as we would not be able to refund greater that the total amount of your original purchase ($821.05) that will be fully refunded today with the remaining amount of $157.69 credited back to you. Again, please accept my apology for the way your account was handled and how the initial sale was perceived. We hope to see you again and regain your trust in Mathis Brothers! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) In the interest of fairness, I accept the refund. It should have been done this way in the first place without the need for this complaint. I would point out that the paperwork I have specifically has the words "delivery" and "tax" in the explanation of charges.. and absolutely nothing about any restocking fee. Also, for the record, there was no "miscommunication" with your sales associate. He clearly understood what I was asking and responded the same -- three times. Perhaps you should adjust your paperwork and its wording and maybe a training class for your sales people in what to say if a person asks for a return would be in order. Thank you.

9/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the second time in less than a month, I have had problems with a dining set that I bought. Now, I am demanding my money back on a dining set that I bought from this company. I am not satisfied with the product, because I have seen visible damages after less than two weeks of having purchased the item. The product, according to the salesman, is made with real wood. However, it is clearly made of compressed particle boards. This is not the table I asked for. The surface of the table has an expanding (spongy) damaged surface. I feel like I wasted my money. Product_Or_Service: Dining set with 6 Barstool Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I just want to get my money back and not have any business with Mathis Brothers Furniture

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Mgr. Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com I would like to start off by apologizing for the issues that you have had from this item. It is always our intention to sell quality merchandise at a fair price and stand behind that with excellent customer service. It seems as though in this case that we were unable to satisfy any of those goals with this item. I have reviewed your account and see that multiple attempts were made to repair and or replace your table. At this point, I agree to honor your request and return the product for a full refund. Secondly, I am sorry that you feel as though you would rather not do business with Mathis Brothers any more. Again, we truly strive to carry the best product at the lowest prices but, being the retailer and not the manufacturer, our ability to quality control every piece of furniture is a very arduous task. It is why we carry such a great return and customer service policy. For the rare occasion that a customer has an issue with any of the hundreds of vendors and brands that we represent. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and we will have a representative call to set up a return and full refund. Sincerely, ***** ***** ref# XXXXXXXXX

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rude Manager/Sales Team. Promised a bedset, took my money, never delivered. I ordered a bed set on March 13th, 2015 with a sales rep by the name of ******. The bed set was coming from Oklahoma. I live in Los Angeles, California. ****** told me it would take 3-5 weeks to arrive and even took my down payment of $200. After paying off the whole bed set which was $775.85 no one called me. I had to continuously call to get updates and i continued being told that it would arrive soon. Last week when i spoke to ****** she had said she spoke to the delivery guy and was told it would arrive in 5-10 days. I ended up deciding to call today to get another update and ****** would not answer her direct line whatsoever. When i decided to speak to someone else from Mathis they transferred me over to the Manager of the Ontario location, her name is ********. ******** is one of the rudest managers i have ever spoken to. She told me that the bed set i had originally ordered was out of stock and wasn't even available to be shipped out from that distribution center. When i asked "So does that mean i've waited 6 weeks and paid almost $800 for nothing?" she responded with "Yeah". Not even an apology, just a "Yeah". How rude is that??? Not to mention she had an attitude to her tone the whole conversation. Then this "manager" proceeded to tell me that the only thing she can do is have me come to the Onatrio location, mind you i live 40 minutes away from it, and if i found a bed set i liked she could give me 10% off. When i asked her if i found something i did like, could the delivery fee be waved? She stated no in a rude tone. So they kept me waiting for 6 weeks, didn't even think to call me and let me know that i was never even going to get my bed set but still took my money and they can't even wave a delivery fee? What kind of custumer service is that? When i spoke to my dad about it he decided to call them himself and he got the same rudeness from this "manager". I asked for a confirmation number to the refund they said they processed for me and they stated they had none at that moment and i would recieve a letter in the mail. I don't trust them and i'm scared it's going to be a battle getting my money back.

Desired Settlement: I paid them $775.85. I would kike a refund but on top of that i would like these employees/managers/supervisors to have someone talk to them because the way they treat people is horrible and unprofessional.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/04) */ Refunded customer in full. if there is anything else please don't hesitate to contact us! thank you,

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told something by the salesperson that they won't backup in writing. Now they are avoiding my calls and emails. We were told by our salesperson, ******* ***** that if we purchased the Furniture Protection Plan and we had a problem with one piece of furniture that couldn't be repaired and had to be replaced, and they the line of furniture we purchased was no longer available, they would replace the entire set. After our purchase, I reviewed the written Furniture Protection Plan and it didn't say anything about that in there. I requested to get it in writing and ******* said I would get something from Customer Service. It's been over a month and I have followed up with her multiple times and keep getting the same answer. Now, she is not returning my calls or emails. If they are going to promise consumers something, they need to stand behind it and put it in writing. We haven't had anything happen yet, but we don't want to have to deal with this in a year or two when the salesperson that told us that is no longer there. We want it resolved now.

Desired Settlement: We want what we were promised to be put in writing in case we need it at a later time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Store Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First of all, I would like to thank you for your communication with us to better our process. I apologize about the miscommunication on our side during and after the sale. I would like to first explain the furniture protection plan, what it does and doesn't cover and then give you the options that I can offer for you. As you explained, the sales person stated that if one of the pieces were to become damaged beyond the ability to clean and or repair we would offer the replacement cost in full for the same or any furniture we carry (does not need to be the same category). This is correct and is the exact extent of the warranty package. If the furniture becomes discontinued in the upcoming years and one piece is in question for refund / replacement, the single piece would be what would be fixed or replaced. The other pieces would not be applicable as the warranty covers the effected item only. With that being said, I would like offer a couple solutions and let you decide what would best suit you at this time. First off, I would like to give you the opportunity to cancel the furniture protection plan for a full refund being that it was misrepresented by your sales person. The second option is offering to exchange for like items in total if you do run into the situation stated. Once you let me know, I will put in writing for you personally to keep for your records along with notating your order in regards for the future. Due to this option being offered above and beyond the implied warranty, this will be offered once as a courtesy again due to the misrepresentation by your sales associate. I do hope that either of these solutions will work for you in regards to your current merchandise and I apologize for any inconvenience it has caused. Have a splendid day! ***** ***** Store Manager Mathis Brothers Furniture Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would like this option: "The second option is offering to exchange for like items in total if you do run into the situation stated". I would also request that you make sure all of your salespeople know what the warranty really includes. She specifically stated it is something you do, but many other companies don't. I also think you might want to reconsider your policy as other furniture companies DO offer what your salesperson told us. ******** Convertibles being one of them. Please send me, in writing, the revision to the furniture protection plan, as promised. My email address is: ****@isoftsystems.com. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/03/30) */ I still have not received what was promised to me in writing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/03/30) */ I do apologize but, the notation that you replied to only went to the BBB and did not come to the store or myself. Please in the future respond directly to myself or the store as the BBB only notifies the retailer if there is a complaint not if you are satisfied. That is simply for their records as the dispute was "satisfied". Again, I will honor both cases and have notated your original order. As far as the reference to "******** *************** if you have used their service and they did in fact change out all of your furniture even if it were only one piece in question, that is a great service and again is not a standard in the industry. Again, the warranty is on a "per piece" basis and will cover 100% the effected item only. New car: the transmission goes out, they fix or replace the transmission, not the entire car. New Home: one bathroom springs a leak, they fix / repair the one bathroom and effected area(s), the home is not replaced as a whole. Furniture: one piece is damaged, the effected piece(s) is fixed or replaced, not the entire grouping purchased. I hope this makes a bit of sense. As far as this purchase however, you are 100% covered and I apologize again for the aggravation this has caused. I have also sent this response to your personal email along with a copy of the original response agreeing to your request. Thank you again so much!

3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The products we received do not seems to have he same quality or comfort as the show room peacies. Been trying to resolve problem since 12/3/2013. we purchased a sofa and love seat reclining set on 11/23/13(order #XXXXXXXXX). It was delivered on 12/2/13. When I first sat in it I felt a difference from the floor model and called our sales associate. I measured ours went to the store measured the floor model and there was a 2 inch difference and the floor model was more comfortable they claimed it was because it was broke in from use. They sent out a technition in Jan. of 2014 who agreed the cushions were different, It took until March of 2014 to get the Sofa replaced and until Jan. 2015 to replace the Love seat. During the first week of Jan, 2015 we called about the sofa recliner damaging itself every time we reclined. They sai someone would talk to us about an appointment to see about fixing it. After a week passed * call customer(1/16/2015) service to find out why. They told me they were back up anit would be another week or two and then it would probably take another 8 weeks to get parts and repair it. I was not satisfied with this and told them that was unacceptable. They offered to rplace our set if we found something we liked. On Jan.19, 2015(order#XXXXXXXXX which became #XXXXXXXXX)) we went to store found another set made arrangements and on Sunday Feb.8,2015 the furniture arrived, 2 of the three peicies were damaged and once again were not like the floor model, so we refused deliverey. I feel like the furniture on their showroom is not what they deliver, bait and switch. I have spent a lot of money and wasted a lot of my valuable time with mor than 10 trips to their showroom in Ontario.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of my furniture in a timely manner and compensation for lost time from work and family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ customer called the store directly. everything has been handled. offered to fix, discount or return for full refund.

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was presented at time of purchase with a furniture protection plan that according to sales rep woul cover any damages to furniture in case it broke A piece of furniture broke and now they are telling me that protection plan only covers cosmetic damages. The pillows started falling apart at seems and a piece of wood is hanging down from middle section of couch. They now ant me to pay for transportation fees and are telling me that protection plan I purchased will not cover repairs.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor terms of protection plan as it was presented to me by sales rep. Want my furniture repaired/replaced as well as pillows that are falling apart.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/02) */ First off, I would like to apologize for the misrepresentation of our furniture protection plan. The protection is offered to fix or replace single incidental damage that may occur to the cosmetic surfaces such as wood, leather or fabric. This includes but is not limited to stains, scratches, punctures and burns. Glass, metal and stone are not covered by the furniture protection or the manufacturer. Again, it is for accidental cosmetic damage and not structural or anything covered under the manufacturer's warranty. Accessories such as toss pillows are not covered by the manufacturer or by furniture protection plan. With this being said, we will exchange the piece(s) or return for full credit with the understanding that the new pieces will follow the standard manufacturer warranty guidelines and if furniture protection is purchased again, the warranty will cover only what the contract terms specify. I apologize again for the way we handle this. My job is to keep you as a customer and that begins with taking care of you after the sale. We appreciate your business and hope that we can continue to work with you in the future! Again, please accept my personal apology. My customer service office will be expecting a call to finalize your decision. Thank you so much. Mathis Brothers customer service line: ************ RE: XXXXXXXXX

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 yrs ago purchased a Bernhardt dining room chair that has developed a defect. Bernhardt says chair in warranty. Mathis Brothers has not filed claim purchased bernhardt dining chair (item:XXX-XXX, serial# XXXXXXXXXX) X years ago from mathis brothers in ontario (my acct number XXXXXXXXXX). chair developed wood defect in leg and at base of chair. The leg fell off while I was sitting in it. contacted mathis who stated that chair could not be repaired. contacted bernhardt who stated in email that chair was under warranty and to contact retailer (mathis) to file claim. mathis stated that they could not call anyone at bernhardt to discuss the email and that email from bernhardt stated they no longer had the chair in stock. after a month of working with mathis brothers customer service, no action has been taken for resolution. Since mathis brothers is a major purchaser of berhnardt furniture, I am a uncertain whey they cannot communicate directly in this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the chair replaced. If that is not possible due to the fact that it is no longer made, I require a replacement that is close to matching the existing side chairs. If that were the case, I would also need both end chairs replaced to match.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ First off, we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and would like to offer the following after explanation of our warranty and return policy as stated on the back of your receipt. The arm chairs in question (BHT-324/542), were purchased on 6/19/2012 and delivered on 9/16/12. The warranty period for purchases through Mathis Brothers is 1 year from the date of delivery and or pick up. Manufacturer warranty is handled by the manufacture exclusively and time varies by company and item. We do not return, repair or exchange any merchandise after this time period. In this specific case, we will allow for an exchange of the arm chairs (BHT-324/542) at a price of $429.95 each. Totaling $859.90 in merchandise for both chairs. The original price paid at time of purchase. New chairs of equal or greater value will need to be reselected and any additional cost(s) will be the responsibility of the customer. In the case that the newly selected chairs are priced below the pieces being returned, the remaining funds will be issued as a store credit. All exchanges are final and any further warranties will be held for the one year period from date of delivery and or pick up. After the one year period, any warranty claims will need to be handled by the respective manufacturer. The offer stands for 30 days from the posting of this response and will be voided thereafter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought furniture from here and they gave us a broken night stand and a bent mattress. They have refused to help and corporate did nothing either. We bought furniture from Mathis Brother in September of 2013. We picked it up in October of 2013 and told them we are moving to Arizona(we picked it up in a U-haul we rented) where I am stationed on Fort Huachuca in Sierra Vista, AZ. They did not open anything when we picked up the furniture due to the fact that we were moving and everything was packaged for a move. We asked "if anything is wrong with the furniture when we get there, will it be an issue to fix the problem?". They told us "No, not at all. If something is broken we will send a new one out and pick up the broken piece". When we opened the boxes we saw that one of our two nightstands was broken. It was completely cracked from top to bottom on the backside. The box was not damaged at all. We called Mathis Brothers and told them our nightstand was broken and they told us to send pictures but the only way to resolve the problem is if we brought back the broken piece to California(500 miles) so they could replace it and then we would have to bring the new piece back to Arizona(another 500 miles). We could not afford the expenses to bring a U-haul full of furniture back to Mathis Brothers (especially considering it was their fault anyways) and after arguing with them for months about the nightstand, my wife cancelled the amount of the nightstand on her credit card. My Mother-in-Law came to visit us in Arizona and was willing to pay for a U-haul trailer to get the broken nightstand back to California. In the mean time my wife was complaining about her back hurting every morning when she woke up (bought a brand new mattress as well from them)we had noticed that there was a big lump in the middle of the mattress. My wife yet again got on the phone to call Mathis Brothers and tell them what was going on, they had a furniture company from Tucson, AZ come look at our mattress and try to fix it. The gentleman thought our frame was set up wrong and checked the way we assembled it but found that the mattress was indeed the problem. He put a level on the lower half of one side of the mattress and we saw that it was not flat. He said he would make a report and send it to Mathis Brothers but there was nothing he could do for us and we basically needed a new mattress. We called them AGAIN and told them that we need a new mattress. They said the only way they could help us is if we bring the mattress back to them and get it replaced. (Once again that is going against what they said when we picked it up.... They told us they would take care of any problems even out of state!) (Us having to bring them the BROKEN PRODUCTS they gave us would mean 1-Renting a U-haul both way which would cost about $500 plus tax PLUS GAS in a giant gas guzzling vehicle 2-Taking time off work all because they don't want to keep their promises and fix the situation after giving us broken products) We talked to several different managers there and they all said the same thing. One manager that stuck out (not in a good way) was *****, he was very rude and told us several times "It's not my problem!" Up until last month my wife was trying to resolve this issue and we haven't been able to come to an agreement. My wife even suggested that we bring the mattress back if they could throw in the nightstand that had broke for free and they said no.

Desired Settlement: We do not believe we should have to pay out of pocket to fix mistakes that Mathis Brothers made. They promised us they would fix any problems we might have and have not done that. We would like a new mattress and nightstand so that our expensive bedroom set that we bought does not look incomplete and we have a comfortable mattress. I am in the military and do not make much money so we can not afford to make this unnecessary and inconvenient trip. We 100% believe that Mathis Brothers should pay all expenses to make this situation right. We promise we will never go to Mathis Brothers again due to the fact that this is by far the worst customer service experience we have ever been in. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Store Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@mathisbrothers.com First off, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the perception of our service. We always strive to offer the best selection at great prices with top notch service. With that being said, I would like to offer a full refund on both the night stand and the mattress. Previous offers have been refused so again, I will refund the mattress and nightstand in full. We are not asking for their return nor will we need to pick them up. To address the comments made, "We do not believe we should have to pay out of pocket to fix mistakes that Mathis Brothers made". I have read every note in this instance and we have made every attempt to make it right so, I am unsure of what mistake Mathis Brothers has made in this instance. If you buy something at Target and you get it home and it is defective, a representative from Target will not come to your home to pick it up and bring you a new one. You have to make arrangements to get it back to the store. If our delivery company would have been used, we would be sending the same truck back to Arizona for the exchange at no charge. If the customer opts to pick up, that is at their discretion. At the time of pick up, our warehouse will open any packaging and inspect for damage. We do have pickup waivers that every customer signs stating that "the customer is taking responsibility once the merchandise is picked up". If you drive an automobile off of the car lot and after you get home, you notice a huge dent in the door that you did not notice in the lot, the dealership will not give you your money back nor will they come pick the car up from you. We are being more than fair in this situation and I am going to assume it closed once we receive a response to proceed. Thank you so much. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

9/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an adjustable bed and then they called me and said it was for only half of the bed. They said if I wanted to continue it would be double. I purchased an adjustable bed on September 9, 2014 from Mathis brothers online. The price listed was 1,899 . The order number is XXXXXXXXX . After I purchased the item I received a call from them stating it was for only half the bed. I told them no where in the site did it say you need to purchase 2 to complete the bed. I asked why they called it a cal king if you needed to purchase 2 bases. They said it was an error and it stated split base. My response was all of the sizes including full and queen stated split. They said that was an error too. All King bases are split for any base. I feel like this is false advertisement

Desired Settlement: For the Business to honor the price advertised

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/09/10) */ The corporate office called me, they will be honoring the online price. The issue is now resolved.

9/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leather furniture is actually vinyl-coated leather. Vinyl is not pealing. On 3/20/2013 my wife and I purchased a couch and love seat that were described as being leather furniture. During June of 2014, about eight weeks after the one year warranty expired we noticed significant pealing on many seating surfaces of both pieces. We contacted Mathis Brother's Customer service through their website on June 20, 2014. When we contacted Mathis Brother's customer service we were told that the material was vinyl coated leather. The vinyl coating on the leather was pealing, not the leather itself. Mathis Brothers and Lane Furniture will not replace the furniture and have only offered to replace the damaged portions if we purchase the material and deliver the furniture to them. We feel that we were deceived since we would never have purchased the furniture if we knew it was vinyl coated. Our sales order number is XXXXXXXXX. The furniture is manufactured by Lane, models are XXXXX/XXXX-XX and XXXXX/XXXX-XX. The customer service supervisor we corresponded with was ********* ******** We have all original receipts describing the furniture as "leather" and we paid with a credit card. We paid $685.95 for the love seat and $798.95 for the sofa. We have multiple photos of the furniture and will happily provide as many more as are requested.

Desired Settlement: We request that the furniture be replaced with leather furniture of a comparable quality, size, color and shape that is not vinyl coated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ Hi Sir, My name is ***** ***** and I am the store manager at Mathis Brothers. I would like to start off by apologizing for your product being defective and for Lane and our store not doing more to take care of you. As I stated on your voice mail, I am willing to offer you two solutions. One, we take back the pieces for a full refund as at this point we do owe that much to you. Option two, we take the merchandise back for store credit and I offer you 10% off of any item(s) you would like to reselect in the store. My main goals are not only to take care of you after the sale but, to also retain you as a valued customer. I do personally apologize again for the inconvenience this has caused and hope that our options for you are satisfactory. Please call myself or our customer service department so we can get everything processed for you. You can also respond directly to this email in regards and I will handle everything personally from here. Thank you again and please have a wonderful day!

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They had an online price of 10% off any item, the store did not honor double the difference policy. The problem and purchase date was 12/2/2013. The sales manager was extremely rude, her name was Keri. She mocked me on my questions and she was unprofessional in her appearance and candor with my wife and I. This was the store out of Ontario, CALIFORNIA. The amount of the item at the store was $756.99, the online price was roughly $680.00. I paid the online price by calling the online number and waiting for 45 minutes to purchase the item. The sales rep and the sales manager refused to honor their double the difference policy. I asked for their explanation in writing and they told me they do not have it... all that is available for me to read is on the website's terms of use. I've read the double the difference policy online and no where does it say purchases from Mathis Brothers online are excluded from double the difference policy.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that Mathis Brothers honor their Double the Difference policy that is featured on their website. Their sales all told me it was doable... but Keri the Sales Manager and the Store Manager both refused to honor this policy, claiming it did not extend to cyber Monday. Here is their terms of use (no where does it say exclude the Mathis Brothers online store or cyber monday): Double the Difference To qualify for the Double The Difference Guarantee, the customer must present a hard copy of the ad for the same item from a competitor in our local trade area of a 50-mile radius. The ad can be from a print publication or a website and must be within the last 30 days. The Double the Difference Guarantee also applies if the customer purchased from us and then finds the same item cheaper within the next 30 days. The customer must present a hard copy of the ad from a competitor in our local trade area of a 50-mile radius. The ad can be from a print publication or a website. The customer's original purchase date must be within the previous 30 days from the date of the ad. Once verified, the amount of the Double The Difference Guarantee will be credited to the customer or we will mail a refund check. The competitor's price must be for new furniture. Floor models, one-of-a-kind, final clearance, electronics and "as is" furniture is excluded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@mathisbrothers.com The customer did call me and I spoke at length with him. I told him I would address any employee concerns. Due to CA confidentiality laws I could not share any disciplinary issues with him. We honored the 10% discount on his bed through internet sales as that was the promotion offered. He put down a $100 deposit that is refundable. Our Double the Difference is in writing on our website. It does specify that we offer this for competitors ads only. We do not offer Double the Difference with our own stores. I apologized for any disrespect the customer felt from our manager and have addressed it internally. We have followed our Double the Difference policy and given the Cyber Monday discount. If the customer would like to cancel their order we will refund the $100 deposit with our apologies. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mathis Brothers' response "...we offer this for competitors ads only. We do not offer Double the Difference with our own stores." does not appear to be clear or truthful to me. I do not see the sentence "We offer this for competitor ads only" written anywhere on their website or in their Double the Difference policy. The word "only" does not appear in conjunction with this policy. They don't even exclude mathisbrothers.com from their double the difference policy. In fact other stores like JCPENNEY and KOHLS have this condition written clearly on their terms (Maybe Mathis Brothers should re-write their policy to include this condition than rather deceive customers). On the Mathis Brothers website the sentence reads "The Double the Difference Guarantee also applies if the customer purchased from us and then finds the same item cheaper within the next 30 days.", I understand this to be that if purchased from Mathis Brothers and 30 days later that same item sales for cheaper in the store or anywhere else than it qualifies for Double the Difference. It so happens that on Monday December 2, 2013 Mathis Brothers was in competition with itself on this same item. The double the difference policy should have been placed into effect. I wasted gas, time and energy driving to Mathis Brothers in Ontario only to be turned away from buying this item in the store and forced to purchase it over the phone while in Mathis Brothers Ontario. The sales rep lost his commission and I felt bad for him. He was actually really nice and was determined to help me buy a mattress and dresser that day rom Mathis Brothers. However, the sales manager was extremely rude and did not care if I bought this in the store. I ended up leaving Mathis Brothers without a dresser or a mattress... just a bed frame that night and a bad experience. When I spoke to Mathis Brothers, she did offer me a refund but failed to honor the double the difference policy. I feel its a shame that a store like Mathis Brothers can manipulats its customers into thinking they have the best deals and then don't follow through on their guarantees. If Mathis Brothers wants to keep their customers and have more customers, they need to prevent situations like this from happening and honor their double the difference policy. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/12/27) */ No response from Mathis Brothers. There customer service is nonexistent Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/05/29) */ We communicated with the consumer and extended an offer. The customer replied with Thank you and we never heard back from him again. We consider this matter resolved and addressed at this point. ***** ****** Mathis Brothers Furniture

5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery, product quality, customer service for replacement Starting with my purchase on 3-30-14. Item was purchased & paid in full at $2259. Delivery was due on 4-2. Because I did not want to give my email address as I did not want to junk emails coming to me after my purchase I was told they would call me before delivery. That worked for me as I would have time to leave work to meet delivery at my house. No phone call was made on 4-2. When I called I was told they tried to deliver but no one was home. I explained I never received a phone call. After speaking to several supervisors I finally spoke to supervisor over the delivery dept. He was able to have drivers deliver after their last stop that day. He did refund my delivery charge due to the issues after I complained relentlessly of the problems. I did take the survey they give to their customers and requested a call from someone to discuss my dissatisfaction, but as of May 14 have not heard from anyone. When we attempted to start the fire pit on May 3, the fire would not stay lit. I called the next day & spoke to ****. He said it's normal and to have my husband try it again to clear the lines, but that he would hold one for me in case it did not work. My husband left for business the next morning and did not return until May 8. He tried it again upon his return & it did not work. I called on May 10 at 9:40am and spoke to a female in customer service. she said we were over our 30 days but she would replace it. I also asked how to get in contact with the manufacturer to get a replacement set cushion for the love seat as my dog ate 1 cushion. She said she would have to call the manufacturer and see how much it would cost for a replacement. I told her I may get 2 just in case if the price was decent. She explained that I would get a call back on Tuesday because it would take that long to get an answer. She had some questions for the supervisor on how to replace my fire pit so she needed to call me back. I finally received a call back at 3:23pm where she apologized for the long wait time, but she didn't know how to dial long distance (my phone number is out of state #). May 12 the delivery of the new fire pit came and the delivery man said it looked like it was used and that may have been the problem. On Wednesday May 14 I had yet to receive a call back from the customer service rep so I called the location again at noon. I spoke to ******* who said she had no information of my calling and would have to start the process again taking another 2-3 days for an answer from the manufacturer. I asked to speak to a supervisor and got *****. She explained she asked all the girls and no one said they spoke to me and I couldn't provide the original date I called as I was on my phone and could not pull the call history. She just said no one said they spoke to me and that it would not be until saturday for her to get an answer from the manufacturer as she was off on Friday. I asked if ******* could deal with them so I could get an answer faster than Saturday. She said yes but that I may not get an answer until Saturday. I did call ***** back after I checked my phone log and told her the time and date of my original call on May 10 and that the customer service rep had to call me back at 3:23 as she could not dial long distance. Hoping this info would help narrow down the "who" so I may get an answer quicker if her email box had the email I was waiting for from the manufacturer. It was as if ***** didn't care about the poor customer service I received. She had no remorse for her customer Service employees lack of service. It was as if I was speaking to someone who could care less that I (a customer) was why Mathis Brothers is in business.

Desired Settlement: I have had nothing but issues with this location. I paid $2200 in cash, no financing and this is the way I'm treated? 1. Poor delivery because I did not want to provide my email address. 2. No apology from Delivery Manager or Male customer service mgr 3. Item didn't work. 4. Delivery man told me it looked to be used item 5. Cushion replacement information dragging out to 1 week and counting 6. Cust Service Mgr ***** not caring about resolution or apologetic to her employees lack of service At this point I only want to hear from Mathis Brothers President or someone with authority outside of this location to voice my concerns to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ We care very much for our customers and value their business. We do apologize for the problems she encountered. We have corrected the firepit and discounted the delivery charge as a further apology. She has been contacted by our Oklahoma store and is receiving replacement cushions on Wed. May 21st. We have addressed any issues with our employees. Please let us know how else we can assist. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When loading furniture on to my car. The loader completely damaged my $90,000 Lexus. He ripped the roof , scuffed my tint and other damages. ***** Manager said he would look into it. The said I signed a liability form and that his insurance will not cover. I have bought thousands from these guys $$$$$. And they cannot even step up on something they damaged. Absolute joke of a company!

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the damage to my Lexus LS460L. We took pictures of all the damage and they still will not step up!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ The claim for damage was filed with our insurance company in a timely manner. The insurance company evaluated the claim and denied it. Any further action should be addressed with our insurance company or the customers insurance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their insurance company said they will not cover the claim. I am not using my insurance company for this at all! I did not do the damage. The irresponsibility of their employees caused this damage!

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have not received the product I order 3 months ago This is the second complaint regarding this order. Speaking to the store directly has yet to solve an issue so unfortunately I'm having to go through the BBB again. I placed a special order with ******* on January 8th. Our order was almost $12,000. What remains to be resolved is a special order pillow that cost us $224. ******* described it to us as a long slender roll pillow (a neck pillow). I was told I would have an hour window for delivery, only had 15 minutes so I couldn't get home in time. My son took delivery so when I arrived they were pulling away. The pillow was wrong. It was flat and square. I immediately called Mathis Brothers to let them know. I spoke with ********. She called me back and said she couldn't locate my order. That was March 20th. Since then I have called 6 times. I have both the phone records and ********'s vmail as proof. Each time I've spoken with either **** or ********. Today when I called again, April 3rd, ******** said nothing had been done about the order and that she would try to figure it out toay. Mathis Brother has my money, and has not made good on an order placed 3 months ago, and after 6 phone calls over approximately two weeks, has still not given me any explanation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my pillow. $224 is a lot of money and it seems that Mathis Brother only attempts to help me with their errors if I file a complaint. I would prefer not to have to do this each time. My unreturned phone calls and emails are time consuming and very frustrating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ We are sorry that there are problems with the pillow. We will reorder immediately. This manufacturer takes approximately 8 to 12 weeks to complete the orders. If the fabric and trim is in stock it should be here sometime in July. Customer may also return the other pillow for a full refund. Please email a picture of the pillow that is incorrect to *****************@mathisbrothers.com so that we can make sure to order the correct pillow. The customers account number for this order is XXXXXXXXX. Please use this number so that we can easily locate the order. As soon as we have the picture we will order the new pillow and when it arrives we will exchange it for the incorrect pillow so that can be returned to the factory. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 10, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, Mathis Brothers makes a mistake and they blame the customer for it. I did not place the order, the designer ordered it incorrectly and admitted it. This custom order takes 6 months? Mathis brothers did absolutely nothing to research their mistake until I called for the 6th time. They are dishonest for the 2nd time on this order. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/08) */ I sorry for the customer thinking we are blaming them and being dishonest. I am not sure why they feel we are blaming them or being dishonest. The pillow came in as ordered which means the order was incorrect either as we placed it or as the vendor shipped it. We had pictures from the customer and reordered it immediately. As soon as the new pillow arrives we will exchange it as requested by the customer. Once again we are sorry it came incorrectly and have reordered it to get the customer the correct pillow. Of course we do not want our customers unhappy with their purchase and have taken every step to correct the mistake. If they would prefer not to wait for the correct pillow we can return it and refund the customer.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered custom couch 1/9/14. Explicit Guarantee 6 weeks delivery. Gave $4878 deposit. Mathis Bros incorrectly did paperwork - now 12 week minimum. We ordered a custom made couch on 1/9/14 through ******* ******* a designer and sales rep at the Mathis Brothers in Ontario. One of the selling points of the couch was that it was a guaranteed 6 week delivery, which was mentioned at least 4 times during the sale. Given this timing met our need, we decided it was worth it to pay more. We gave had to give a 50% 4878 deposit from our total order, and have since gotten rid of our existing furniture and bought items to match the custom couch. Four weeks after placing the order, I called to find out when delivery would occur and neither the sales rep ******** or the accounting/cashier clerk we were transfered to could answer our question or find the information on our order in the system. I was told to talk to ********** boss ****** and left him a message. ***** was always quick to return our calls but at first didn't have answers. After almost two weeks of trying to get an answer from Mathis Brothers as to when the couch would be delivered, ***** explained that there was a delay on the manufacturer's end, but then went on to say the that the manufacturer didn't like the way Mathis Brothers completed the paperwork. Mathis Brothers was to have completed the paperwork differently if they wanted the 6 week turnaround which I was guaranteed. ***** explained that in the future, Mathis Brothers would know how to process it correctly (meaning Mathis Brothers completed the paperwork incorrectly and after 6 weeks, have just realized it). Now I am told that the couch that I custom ordered to have in a guaranteed 6 weeks, would not come for another 6 weeks. I asked to speak to a manager, was given her number, left a message but haven't heard back. To set expectations, I was told by Jason that this is a busy sales day and that prospective customers would come first and that I would receive a call later.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded 20% of the cost of the couch (what I think is the difference between custom ordering the couch and taking something that would have been immediately available) and I would like a loaner couch to sit on until my other couch arrives as I have no furniture in that room (we got rid of it to clean the carpets before the new couch arrives which we were told would be February 19th, this Wednesday).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ We do apologize for any misunderstandings. The customer did order a custom sectional and chair. They signed a contract and initialed that they understood it takes 8-12 weeks or longer for custom orders. It appears that the sales associate was quoting best time frame for this. The paperwork was not done incorrectly. We had already offered a loaner of the same sectional in a different fabric and we are happy to accommodate that. The customer did leave me a message on Monday and filed the complaint today. We do apologize for the inconvenience and have offered a loaner so that the customer would have furniture for their upcoming event. We can offer a $400 discount which more than covers the cost of delivery. We can offer to cancel the order with our apologies for a full refund or the customer can reselect to any in stock furniture with a $400 discount. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was a verbal guarantee made by ******* as an initial selling point on the couch, and reiterated by her over the two visits we had with her. My husband was also witness to this. It was also confirmed by ***** over the phone this last Monday. His explanation was that the couch was incorrectly bundled in an order with my chair that was not guaranteed and that the manufacturer explained to him that next time Mathis Brothers needed to bundle those separately for the couch to have the 6 week turnaround apply. Anything I signed came with the explanation from ******* that only the couch had the guarantee, the other products did not. There is either a breakdown in communication within the employees of Mathis Brothers and this response, or Mathis Brothers is being dishonest - or how else would I know about conversations between the manufacturer and ****** I would like the loaner couch and $800 off. I spent almost $10,000 at the store, of which approximately 60% of that total was on the couch that I was guaranteed I would have in 6 weeks. I went back in my records and my first call to the store was January 21st to see when they estimated shipping so I could have my room ready, it took until Monday February 17th for someone to tell me it wasn't come until later in March. In all those conversations, I explained to ******** ****** another manager (I believe *****) and a cashier that I was wanting to know when to have the room ready for the couch, and never did ******* or ***** ever say that the couch wasn't guaranteed in the six weeks. To date, my calls to the store manager that ***** asked me to call have still not be returned. My fear at this point is retaliation for having filed this complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/24) */ The customers sectional has arrived and we have notified customer that it is here. There is no longer a need for a loaner. We will extend our hold policy to 30 days so that the customer can decide to take deliver of the custom order or cancel the order. Again, we are working diligently to get this merchandise to the customer.

3/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An entertainment cabinet we purchased new, not from damaged area, is now delaminating after less than 2 years in our vacation residence. If the employees of Mathis brothers had divulged that the piece we purchased had cheap veneered doors , we would have picked something with wood doors. All four doors on the piece we have are falling apart. Mathis brothers customer service did not care about "our problem". I asked to have a supervisor call, but no response. We wanted a credit toward a higher quality cabinet.

Desired Settlement: Would like credit towards higher quality piece.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ We have work this out with this customer. We approve a return for the cabinet rtn#XXXXXXXXX. This customer did a reselect on order#XXXXXXXXX. Since the item that this customer pick out is a custom order they are aware that it can take 8-12weeks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Mathis Brothers Furniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart