This business is not BBB accredited.

Ashley Furniture Homestore

Additional Locations

Phone: (661) 588-7953 8915 Rosedale Hwy, Bakersfield, CA 93312 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ashley Furniture Homestore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2013 Business started: 11/19/2010 Business started locally: 11/19/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 159535.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Kim Tran, Owner John Hohler, General Manager Ms. Jacky Tan
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jacky Tan
Principal: Ms. Kim Tran, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Additional Locations


    4720 W Lark Ct

    Visalia, CA 93291


    8915 Rosedale Hwy

    Bakersfield, CA 93312 (661) 588-7953


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unknown/or not told their policy for order cancellation We purchase several items from this store two were floor models we picked up ourselves a dinning set and chest were coming from another warehouse. The next day we found out our son was being deployed and that we were to have our 17 month old grandson living with us. Due to limited space we called the next day to cancel. I was told I needed to do this in person. I drove over there and was told there would be a $250.00 restocking fee I was never told anything about this at the time of purchase and never signed any paperwork that stated this policy. I called the finance company and Ashley corporate office and was told by everyone that they would help. To date nothing has happen. We will NOT pay that restocking charge, this was not a special order of any kind. The manager I talked to was rude and never listen to my issue. I can not understand a company where $250 is worth losing me as well as everyone I know as customer for life. My son is defending our country we are caring for his son our grandson because he is oversees. Unforgivable

Desired Settlement: Remove the restocking charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/22) */ I do not see a current order in my system under that name given. In order to proceed I will need the name that was on the original order.

2/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sectional set and a dinning table set. Items weren't delivered at the promised time. Then once delivered they were damaged. I purchased a sectional that comes in multiple pieces and the same time I purchased a dinning room table and chairs. When in the store I was told that the items would be delivered prior to a specific date. The items were not delivered on time. Then once they were delivered they brought one of the wrong pieces to the sectional, the dining chairs were offset (wobble), and the table had a chip in it and was also offset. During the delivery the employees would not write down the issues prior to me signing. I had to leave work early to come home and deal with this error in person. Upon arrival they agreed to put all the things that were wrong down and then I would sign. They also agreed to leave the items and would order a new table and the appropriate cutler piece that we purchased. Weeks later the items came in. I took another day off work so that they can deliver them to me. The cutler was delivered and installed (no issues). However, they sent only the replacement table top. In hopes to remove the current table top that was damaged and just attach the new table top to the current base that I already had. This was not what we agreed. However, to just be over the experience I agreed to accept it. The installers could not attach the new table top to the base as the holes did not line up because that table top was not made for the base I had. The delivery men advised they would not be able to install. So, the put the old table top back on the base and advised they would have to order the entire table set. This same day a tech was supposed to come out and correct the issues w/ the chairs. It was to all be done at the same time so I did not have to take another day off. I spoke with ****** at warranty regarding this issue. I explained I no longer want them to replace my table and will just deal with what I have. I refuse to take another day off work to deal with this matter. She stated they were going to be getting a table like mine delivered to there store to put on display. She offered to replace my table with that table once it came in. Again this would require me to take time off work which I am not willing to do. She said they could deliver on a weekend just for me to accommodate. I opted to that and advised we would need to schedule after the holidays. ****** advised she would contact after the holidays to schedule. I received a call the Saturday after thanksgiving from someone at the Bakersfield store advising they were coming to drop off the new table. This was not scheduled, nor was I advised of this apt. I was not in town and was unable to be home during this time. I am extremely upset. as it has been now 2 months and this issue still has not been resolved.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a discount to the items that I am now opting to keep. I don't want them to replace the items, as I refuse to take time out of my life to be available for this for a 3rd time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/16) */ I apologize for any and all inconveniences to this customer, we do deliveries Tues-Sat to try and accommodate work schedules as much as possible. I am willing to offer the customer a $200 credit on her financing account as a way of rectifying this situation. As far as the appointment that was set up for 11/28, our warranty supervisor spoke to the customers partner to schedule this and when we called to confirm the morning of the appointment we were told this day would not work. There was a longer period of time than normal to schedule appointment due to customers request to come to store to inspect table before setting up delivery. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 13, 2016/01/27) */ Correction to my prior note: the Financing company had the wrong address provided to them by the Ashley's this is why a bill was never received. How can a wrong address be provided? When they made deliveries to my home! Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 26, 2016/02/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We will accept. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2016/02/05) */ I have spoken to the owners and reviewed everything with them and they feel that a $300 credit is the amount that is fair.

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sent the bill and all the account information to the wrong address. Manager was rude to me and didn't have any interest in resolving issue. We purchased a Loveseat and sofa and two end tables on 05/09/2015. SALES NO. 396410. Payment of $1,841.45 We were told that the bill would be in the mail with all the information in order to pay. When a week went by, we called the store and they gave the number for ******* Financing. We called them, they said the bill was in the mail. An other week and we called again, same thing, they said the bill is in the mail. We called a third time, 50 days after the sale and was told that the address we have been waiting for the bill was not the address they had sent it to. When we told ******* about the mistake they said it was Ashley Furniture's fault. Today, my wife and I went to the store and spoke to the manager after speaking with an employee about our problem. He, the manager, told us that there was nothing they could have done, except show us that the address was wrong. This is quite the problem because the address they sent the bill to was my wife's ex and his wife, which caused my wife emotional distress. After explaining to the manager that they had two different addresses all over the application and pointing it out to him on every page he then, rudely, told me to give back his documents. He then told us that since the paper with the wrong address was signed there was nothing we could do. He told us that he could call ******* to tell them to correct the address mistake but we already did that after the third phone call to *******. His rudeness and lack of compassion for the trauma he has caused was disconcerting. The lack of education in his team is disconcerting. This mistake should never had happened. He admitted that the difference in addresses should have been pointed out to us on signing the papers and the change should have been put through then. It's now going to be 52 days since we purchased our furniture and we still can not pay for it. I don't know what type of company can function if they don't need payment. They obviously don't spend the money on training their employees.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve this problem, I would need 50% off of the $1,841.45 which comes to $920.73.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, Store Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I reviewed this order with the customer last night. As I was reviewing it and explaining to the customer where the error was made he grabbed the paperwork out of my hand and went on to yell at me, I asked twice for the paperwork back and said please both times. This in not my definition of rude by any means. The billing address is on the signature sheet and the customer signed showing that the amount and the address were correct so that is where the bill was sent. I am sorry that this mistake was not caught at that time and for any problems this caused but we have no way to change the address on an account with the financing company. This procedure is put into place by finance companies to protect the consumer from fraud. If the customer would have pointed out that the address was incorrect before signing verifying it, we could have instructed her to call the finance company to have it changed at that time. I am unable to offer 50% off due to the fact that the address was confirmed by the customer when she signed the paperwork.

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a recliner sofa and love seat on 5/29/2011 with a 5 year extended warranty. 9/1/14 we began experiencing cracking and peeling of sofa. We purchased a recliner sofa and love seat on 5/29/2011 with a 5 year extended warranty. Our sales number on the receipt is XXXXX. Item numbers for the love seat,XXXXXXX., $679.99 Sofa, XXXXXXX, cost $699.99, Protection plan, protect2, cost $129.99. On or around 9/1/14. The top layer of the sofa be an peeling. Peeling became severe around 12/1/14. We contacted Ashley and were given an incorrect number to call about the warranty coverage we purchased. After further research we located the correct warranty company and attempted to submit a claim. We contacted the warranty company GBS services at XXX-XXX-XXXX and were told that cracking and peeling of top grain leather was NOT covered. Our sofa is made of a different type of leather that does not appear to be covered by anything the warranty says it is. The coverage info we received from Ashley states that it IS covered and we purchased both sofas and warranty to cover our sofa and love seat. We attempted to file a complaint with Ashley corporate and our information was forwarded to their Bakersfield location, where we purchased the furniture. We have never heard back from Ashley Bakersfield regarding this complaint. We have a sofa that looks terrible, with peeling covering approximately 30 percent of the sofas surface. And getting worse everyday. We would like our sofa replaced or fixed like it says will happen on our protection plan paperwork. We are very unhappy with Ashley's response to our complaint, which has been nothing.

Desired Settlement: We would like repair or replacement of our sofa, as promised, by the protection plan sold to us. The company responsible for the protection plan says that the warranty we were sold by Ashley Furniture was not valid for the products we purchased., which is not our fault and blame lies solely with Ashley Furniture sales people who sold it to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****, store manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* I have looked into this and the warranty does not cover peeling leather. It does not say this anywhere in the warranty information that was given to the customer at the time of purchase. I am not aware of what was discussed between the sales associate and the customer but our sales associates go through extensive training in what is covered and what is not. Unfortunately the manufacturer warranty is one year and we are well past that time frame. I can offer the customer my employee discount on a new set if she would like. The set that was purchased is now discontinued and there are no parts available to recover the existing pieces. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The paperwork we have on the warranty says it covers peeling and cracking leather but apparently our couch is made from some different type of leather. This was not disclosed to us at the time of purchase. The warranty covers 5 years from the date of purchase, which we are well within that time frame. We were sold an imitation leather couch and a warranty for a leather couch. Our purchased products began peeling and cracking 3 1/2 years after purchase. We paid for a warranty on a leather couch that did not match our purchase. The warranty we paid $129.99 for five years doesn't even cover the couch we purchased. This may have been an error on the part of the salesman that sold this to us but that is the responsibility of the seller and not the buyer. We, in good faith purchased a product with a warranty for THAT product. I am happy to send a copy of the paperwork we received on the warranty that states peeling and cracking of the leather IS covered. I do not want to purchase another couch. I want the couch I purchased to be fixed or replaced. If that is not possible I want the full purchase price of the couch credited to my account to replace the couch. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel really disappointed in this "resolution". as we were sold a sofa and warranty and told that everything on the paperwork under the column leather applied to our sofa. Well that turned out to be untrue.Now we have this horrible looking sofa and no money to replace it. The fact that Ashley is not standing by the quality of the product they sell and they are only willing to offer a refund on the warranty isn't acceptable. You can guarantee I will tell everyone I know about this and tell them not to shop at Ashley for furniture that will last longer than 3 years. What else can be done about this matter? It seems like the Ashley store representative is unwilling to do anything else. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/07/10) */ I have offered this customer every solution that I can and in their previous reply they were willing to accept the refund check for the warranty. It is on the warranty paper that the peeling is only covered on top grain leather. We have all of our top grain leather clearly marked inside the store and we have had since we opened. I apologize if the sales person did not cover this properly, that is the reason we give the warranty out in writing so that the customer knows exactly what is covered.

6/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ashley Furniture Homestore
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)