BBB Accredited Business since

Big Dog Fence

Additional Locations

Phone: (909) 496-2199 2290 Avenida Del Vista, Corona, CA 92882

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Dog Fence meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Big Dog Fence
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/01/2009 Business started locally: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 930770.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mitch Mitchell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitch Mitchell, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fences - Wood

Additional Locations

  • 2290 Avenida Del Vista

    Corona, CA 92882 (909) 496-2199

  • PO Box 1813

    Corona, CA 92878


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Big Dog Fence Company didn't install the fence they quoted. Fence was not flush with the wall. The posts and caps were different sizes. ON 3/9/15, ***** from Big Dog Fence Company gave me a quote to install an 18' of 5' redwood fence with steel post and 1.4'x 5' gate for $475. He also told me that the fence would be a similar color to the existing fence color and ***** was aware that cement was being poured so the fence would need to be flush with the wall. On 3/18/15, ***** and another gentleman installed the fence with cedar, not redwood as he initially quoted, and the fence color was far from a similar color to the existing fence. The fence was not flush with the wall, the posts had three different widths and the cap on one post didn't fit. On 3/19/15, I emailed ***** and informed him of the issues and my dissatisfaction. I asked him how they were going to rectify the issues. On 3/20/15, ***** informed me that he could redo the fence or give me a little money back. On 3/20/15, I let ***** know that I wanted some money back and asked what he thought a fair amount would be but he didn't respond. On 3/30/15, I emailed ***** and asked for a $300 reimbursement, and he responded informing me that he thought $150 was a good amount to reimburse me. After a few more emails we both agreed that he would reimburse me $200. On 4/7/15, ***** told me he was unable to send the money but would mail it on 4/13/15 but he didn't send me the money. I have sent ***** additional emails since 4/13/15 but he is ignoring my emails.

Desired Settlement: Big Dog Fence Company agreed to refund me $200 by 4/13/15 but haven't paid and they are ignoring my repeated emails.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/11) */ Per business: I did the work he wanted. He signed the contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The recent response from Big Dog Fence Company (*****) substantiates my complaint. He tells you one thing but doesn't follow through on his commitment. He told me the fence would be redwood and the fence color would be similar to the existing fence, etc... but these were all lies. He agreed to reimburse me $200, but he again lied. I have numerous emails from ***** to support my claim. I have an email where he provides a quote for "redwood". I have another email where he states, "yes, it will be a similar color to the existing fence." And another email where he states, "Let's meet at $200 reimbursement." As for the contract, he deceitfully writes "cedar" after he quoted me redwood in writing. He never told me, in the contract or other, that the fence would not match the existing fence (it's not even close) nor did he tell me, in the contract or other, that the four posts used on one fence would have three different sizes resulting in one post cap not fitting. Speaking of the contract, it does state that "There is a one year warranty on all workmanship..." but this appears to be another lie. I am hopeful we can resolve this through the Better Business Bureau to avoid further escalation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/14) */ Per Business: In order to resolve the complaint I am willing to provide the refund to the consumer, however I have had several issues come up. If the consumer is willing to wait until the end of June I will provide him the refund. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I expect a $200 refund no later than 6/30/15. If this refund is not received in full by 6/30/15 I will take legal action and will seek a refund amount greater than $200.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Big Dog Fence
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart