This business is not BBB accredited.

Imperial Electric

Phone: (909) 946-4343 135 North Benson Avenue Suite E, Upland, CA 91786


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Imperial Electric include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/22/1994 Business started locally: 08/22/1994 Business incorporated 08/22/1994 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 694815.

Business Management
Robert Romero, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Robert Romero, Owner
Business Category

Electricians Auto Electric Equipment Electrical Power Systems Maintenance


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    135 North Benson Avenue Suite E

    Upland, CA 91786 (909) 946-4343

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Imperial Electric did not perform the work as agreed and they're trying to collect from me more than what was agreed. Imperial Electrical was a subcontractor on my Optometry office tenant improvement project, which was done from 1/2014 to 3/2014. I had a contract with the contractor for the entire project and paid the contractor according to what was agreed. At the end of the project, Imperial Electric gave me an extra bill for $1789.32 (3/25/14). They claimed it was for work that was done but not on the architectual plans. They did not tell me as they were doing those "extras" that that was extra and what it would cost me. I had no opportunity to agree or disagree to the work that was being done as "extra". And I disagreed with the number of hours they claimed it took to do the work. They billed me for 11 hours. I have no way of knowing how long it really took them to do the work. And they charged me for items like "Overhead 6%" and "Profit 10%" as additional charges. After discussing the bill with the business owner, I decided to pay the entire bill in exchange for one more item I needed to have done that was not on the plans. What I needed was just to have some electrical outlets put on an "on/off" switch. He said that would cost $500. I said, I'll pay you the entire $1789.32 if you do it for $250. He said "Deal. Done." The conversation took place at the job site, I walked him out to the area and pointed our all the outlets that I needed to be on this switch. He told me he may have to put them on 3 different switches since they're on three different walls. We agreed upon the location of the switches. When he and his employees came to do the work, they only installed one switch. I said "ok, so all three walls are on the same switch?" His employees were puzzled and said it was only 2 walls. I told them, no, it's suppose to be all 3 walls. They called the owner, the owner came back and said that there must have been some miscommunication because he was only aware of the 2 walls. I reminded him of our conversation that I walked him out to the area and he initially told me 3 switches so how can he not be aware of the third wall if he said 3 switches. He then said, ok, I will take care of these outlets here but those two there have plumbing behind it and I cannot do those without you authorizing additional hours of labor. I told him, no, this is what we agreed on. This is what you quoted me. I'm not paying you anymore and you need to do the work as agreed. He left and did not do the last two outlets. I talked to the contractor because the contractor was with us during the discussion and the contractor even said, yes, three walls, three switches. The contractor was going to talk to the owner of Imperial Electric and try to resolve the issue. But I never heard back from either one of them about coming back to finish the last two outlets. I had to finally hire another electrician to complete the work. After I had the work done already, then Imperial Electric sent me a bill for $350 for the work that they did do. I told the owner, you didn't complete the work and you're billing me for more than what we agreed on. He admitted that $350 was more than what was agreed on but he said he felt that was a fair charge. It's not fair to me. Again, I'm being charged randomly rather than what was agreed upon. I was probably way over charged for the previous "extra" work as well. I didn't have an opportunity to an agreed upon price for them but I know what I agreed to this time and he's still charging me more than what was agreed and he didn't even do the work that he promised to do. I think he didn't complete the job because he was trying to scam me for more money. I don't think there was any miscommunication at all. At this point, I think he should just accept the payment I made for the extra work as payment in full but he has since still been sending me bills, emails, threatening to put a lien on the property, threatening to send me to collections. I really don't think this is how they should be doing business.

Desired Settlement: Knowing now that the owner of the business is not trustworthy, I think I was overcharged for the "extra" work that they claim they did. I'm not even seeking any refunds or reimbursements for that. And since they did not complete the work they agree to do, I think they should just consider the previous payment as payment in full and stop continuing to harass me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Electric
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)