BBB Accredited Business since

Colby Logan

Phone: (661) 398-1244 Fax: (661) 589-0140 19218 Stockdale Hwy, Bakersfield, CA 93314 http://cjloganpump.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colby Logan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Colby Logan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Colby Logan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2006 Business started: 09/16/2004 Business started locally: 09/16/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 846808.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Colby Logan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colby Logan, Owner
Business Category

Electricians Pumps - Supplies & Parts Pumps - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
C J Logan Pump and Electric

Additional Locations

  • 19218 Stockdale Hwy

    Bakersfield, CA 93314 (661) 398-1244

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ***** charge $1,500.00 to pull a pump. The pump fell and broke back down the hole costing over $4,000 in damage. He then left never coming back. Mr. ***** was hired to pull the well pump from my well. He had no safety equipment while pulling out the pump. The down pipe holing the pump ending up breaking and the pump and pipe and wiring ended up falling to the bottom of the well. The electrical wiring was all damaged. He was only there for 2 hour. After the pump broke free he took off and never finished the job he was paid for. Also leaving behind a huge mess and expense. The electrical that had to be replace cost $4,000. and new piping on the ground had to be replaced $117. Also the pump still had to be pulled from the well. I tired multiple times to contact Mr. ***** to have him fix my well but he never came back or return my calls.

Desired Settlement: Mr. ***** needs to refund me my $1.500 for the job he did not do plus all the damage he cost me. For a total of $5617.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/15) */ On 3/27/15 we went to trouble shoot the customer's well at his request. The motor down well megged bad and pump needed to be pulled in order to further diagnose. We quoted the customer $1500 to come back with a pump hoist to pull the pump, and invoiced him that day for 1 serviceman, 3.5 hrs. @ $105 per hr. for that initial service call. The customer wanted to go forward, and left a check with his neighbor for the $1500 to pull the pump. We returned to pull the pump for further diagnosis. We began pulling the pump which was installed by the prior owner on plastic pipe instead of steel. When plastic pipe is used in place of steel, most installers will put a cable or rope going to the pump as a safety in case the pipe breaks. This was not the case here. There was no safety cable or rope installed. We do not know who installed it previously, if the prior owner installed it himself or hired a professional to do it. When our technicians had puled approximately 190' the plastic drop pipe snapped in half and began to fall down the well. The wire caught the top of the casing and was sheared off allowing the pump, motor and some wire to fall down well since there was no prior safety cable or rope installed to prevent this. This safety measure is something that would have been installed at the time of original installation, not something we could have installed at the time of our service. A safety cable or rope is still no guarantee that in the case of the pipe breaking, it will support the pump from falling. There is still a chance the cable can break allowing the pump to fall down well. Our techs brought the broken pipe back to the shop for inspection. It had grooves cut in it every couple of feet, and it broke at one of those grooves. Those grooves could have been caused by something when the prior owner originally set the pump, or by something down well, but those grooves weakened the pipe allowing it to break more easily. We used factory built tools and followed standard procedure on this job as with all jobs. It is rare, but we have had pipe break and pumps fall down well in the past, however this is the first time that a customer has placed the blame on us for something that is clearly out of our control. It is important to note that the neighbor who the customer left the $1500 check with was there at the time of the incident and was a witness to the pipe breaking. This neighbor showed concern for our techs and stated that it was lucky nobody was hurt, and that there was nothing they could have done differently. Cell phones do not work at that job site, so the owner, ***** *****, was not made aware of what had happened until the technicians returned to the shop. ***** called the customer to discuss the job and the customer informed him that the prior owner did tell him there was a problem with the well previously, and that the prior owner had installed a 4" liner in the 6" well because the well had collapsed at approximately 200'. Given that information, we told the customer we thought it was possible that the well could be collapsing again and that may have caused the grooves we found on the pipe that broke. At this point, we told the customer the next step would be to run a camera down the well to assess how far down well the pump. had fallen, and what kind of tool it would take to retrieve it. On 4/2/15 we did video the well, but we couldn't run our camera down past 152' because this is where the wire sat blocking our camera. We told the customer we had a tool that could be used to fish out the pump, but due to the 4" liner, we would have to modify the tool to allow it to fit. After modifications were made, we tested the tool on pipe at our shop and did not feel confident that even with the modifications, the tool would fit without getting stuck down well. We discussed another option with the customer, of fabricating a piece of steel to use as a wedge to hold the wire against the inside of the 4" liner, so that we could attempt to pull up the liner with the pump, motor & wire all together at the same time. We felt this was a safer option, rather than trying to hook onto the broken pipe and taking a chance on the wire balling up and wedging the pump down well making it impossible to remove. We didn't want to take that risk. ***** made it clear to the customer that if he would rather find another company to fish the pump out, that was always his option, but we were happy to help and would put him on our job list. Due to the drought we have been suffering here in California, we have a tremendous work load and a long waiting list. The nature of our business dictates that we make emergency calls (customers without any water source available to them at all) our first priority and always put them at the top of the list. This customer had water available to him from his neighbor's pump, so he was not without water and therefor had other customers ahead of him on our wait list. We explained to him that we did have him on our job list, but we would not be able to get back to him immediately as we had other customers with urgent calls ahead of him. He was not happy with this, but it is our practice to always take care of the customer without any water available to them first. If he had been completely without water, he would have been bumped up in priority, and he would have appreciated that policy. We have customers that have been on a wait list for well over 6 months. During a drought, this is common place in our field. On 6/3/15 we sent 2 servicemen with one of our larger pump hoists out to the job site to pull on the 4" liner to see if it would come up so that we could determine whether or not our fabricated steel wedge tool would work. Our techs were able to break free the liner and raise it approximately 20' indicating that we would have success with the fabricated steel tool. 6/22/15 ***** sent a text to the customer making him aware that we had the machinist fabricate and prepare the tool we needed and we would be there on 6/25 with the new tool to pull the liner, pump, motor and wire all at once. The customer text back and told us that the job was already done and he wanted his money back. ***** asked him if he had successfully used the idea ***** had for a wedge tool to pull it out and he responded shortly that he fished it out himself and wanted his money refunded. 3 days later on 6/25/15 the customer sent a text to ***** again stating that he waited long enough and he felt that it was only fair -for us to refund him $1000 of the XXXXX he had paid. At that point ***** called the customer to discuss. Overall for the job so far, the invoice totals were as follows. 1). We had the initial service call to trouble shoot (1 serviceman, 3.5 hrs. @ $105 ea.) for a total of $367.50. Envoice #XXXXX given to the customer, never paid. 2). The first time we went out with a pump hoist to pull the pump, when the pipe broke there was an invoice for $595 (2 servicemen, 3.5 hrs. @ $170 ea.). Quoted $1500 and received $1500. 3). The well video was $800. Never invoiced the customer. 4). Breaking the liner free with the large pump hoist was 2 servicemen, 2.5 hrs. @ $290 ea. for a total of $725. Never invoiced the customer. This brings us to a total of $2,487.50 before we include the machinists charges to customize and fabricate 2 tools for the project (approximately $2000), as well as the 4" plate and lifting ring we left at the job site which were supporting the liner after we broke it free (approximately $300). Those were left at the job site holding the liner when we left intending to return to finish pulling with the new tool we fabricated. The customer never returned those items after telling us not to come back as he had already completed the project. We collected $1500 from the customer in total, which was our quote given to pull the pump for further diagnosis. ***** determined that he would rather not invoice the customer for any of the additional fees since the customer was so unhappy. In *****'s mind, he was forfeiting well over $1000 on the job already, and thus had no plans to reimburse the customer the $1,000 he was requesting. Please keep in mind that the pipe breaking and the old pump falling down well was not our responsibility or caused by anything we did. It was a combination of factors stemming from weak plastic piping that had been compromised down well prior to our getting involved on the project. This is a risk the customer takes when pulling an old pump from an old well. We do not normally fish things out of wells, and it was not our obligation to fish the pump out of the well once it fell. But, because we like to help our customers and try to keep them happy, we opted to try to find the best way to help retrieve the pump/motor from down well in various ways, keeping in mind that we couldn't risk getting the items stuck/jammed on the way up. The customer decided to take that chance, and from what he said, he was able to bring them up without getting stuck, but that was a risk we could not take. Several months later, after no contact with the customer, we received notice from the BBB that the customer has filed a complaint and is no longer seeking the $1000 he initially told us he felt was fair, but now wants us to pay him $5,617.00. We already took quite a loss on this job. The fact that the pipe broke and pump fell down well was not our fault, nor our responsibility. While we understand the customer being frustrated with the delay on the job, the drought brought us all extreme circumstances and our wait times grew to in excess of 6-8 months for many non-emergency customers. We always strive to keep our customers happy. While we are confident that we provided the best service we possibly could for this customer, and followed standard procedure, it is apparent that he is not satisfied. This is why we didn't bill for the balance on work performed. Not because we were at fault or responsible for the damage, but because we care about our customer's satisfaction. In summary, we do not feel that we are responsible for the pipe break and subsequent pump falling down well. We had a total of $2,487.50 in invoices on the job (hot counting approx. $2300 in tool fabrication, customization and parts left at job site that we were not returned to us). We received $1500 from the customer, leaving a balance of $987.50 (plus said tools/parts which we chose to waive fees on). We did not seek to retrieve that balance due, and waived the additional fees for fabrication of tools/parts, as a show of good will toward the customer and in an attempt to smooth things over with them after it was apparent they were unsatisfied. On a side note, I find it odd that the customer went directly to the BBB without contacting our office first. The complaint noted that he called several times without return phone call. However, we went through our message book from April to present and have only 1 message received on the office phone line from the customer on 5/20/15. If the customer had called the office, instead of Mr. *****'s cell phone (which can rarely receive messages because the mailbox becomes full on a daily basis due to the abnormally large quantity of calls due to the drought), we would have taken his call and been able to discuss with him directly and hopefully come to a compromise without getting the BBB involved. We always attempt to please our customers first. We are disappointed that we weren't able to do that in this case. We have been in business for over 11 years. This is the first complaint we have ever received from the Better Business Bureau. We are disappointed that we couldn't make this customer happy, but we understand that regardless of how hard we try, we cannot please everyone all the time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/12/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *****'s employee was at our home for approximately 30 minutes, not 3.5 hours. I was never given an invoice or quoted a price for repairs. I called ***** the next day and he then quoted me $1500.00 to pull the pump to diagnose the problem. *****'s employee came back a few days later and worked two hours when the pipe connected to the pump broke! Employee stated, to our neighbor, he would NOT be coming back since he did not know how to handle the broken pipe and promptly left. *****'s employee was not using any safety equipment to roll the electrical wire up as it is coming out of the well or to keep it from falling back down the well. Instead they were using a home made stand and a wooden spool. No safety straps were in use to hold the spool in the event of the pipe breaking or coming loose from the pump hoist. If the proper equipment had been in use to roll the electrical wire up as it is being pulled from the well, when the pipe broke, the electrical wiring wouldn't have fallen back to the bottom of the well. (There are "cable trailers" that are specifically designed to roll the cable up onto the spool with safe guards in place to keep wiring from falling back down into the well.) ***** was advised from the very beginning of this situation of the 4" sized pipe in the 6" well. Due to it collapsing a few years ago. (The well continued to functioned without issues.) *****'s employee did NOT come out on April 2, 2015 to video the well. Due to the fact that the camera was in the shop being repaired. Later ***** stated **** (employee) was sick and couldn't come out. A few weeks later ***** stated his employees had left the camera at a job they were doing up north. *****'s employee did not show up until the end of April beginning of May to video the hole. We never seen any video or heard of anything to do with the video. I contacted ***** who advised me he did not have a tool to fish the wiring out of a 4" pipe. He stated he was going to try to make something that could go into the hole and cut the wiring. I told ***** I had called around and found a company that would rent him a tool to fish out the wiring. ***** said he knew the company I was referring him too, but never made contact with them. By the end of May, ***** had not returned any of my calls or text messages. June 3, 2015 I spoke with ***** and explained I would pull the 4" pipe out so he could go in and fish out the wire and pump. ***** said he would send an employee out to try to pull the 4" pipe up, if it would come up, then he would have someone come out another day to wedge the electrical wire into the 4" pipe to pull the wiring up with the 4" pipe. The employee pulled the 4" pipe up 15 ft then tried to cut it off with a battery operated saws-all. The battery went dead, so again, the employee left. This pipe could has to be unscrewed, to be used later, and not cut off. Weeks later, on Monday, June 22, 2015 I again called and text ***** and asked him to call me,he finally text back and said he would have **** out the following Thursday,machinist will have tool ready tomorrow. I responded tell him to stay home. the job is done already, I just need my money back. On June 25, 2015 I texted ***** again and explained why I was requesting a refund. I stated he had three months to complete this job but never did. I told him I thought a thousand dollar refund to me would be fair since his employee had done a few hours worth of work. ***** called back later that day, stating that I owed him more money since he was charging me driving time and the time it takes his employees to load their trucks with tools and needed equipment. Which I was never told there would be a drive time or loading time charge.or machine shop to make a tool. ***** stated to the BBB that they don't normally fish thing out of well but he told me that he fish thing out all the time, and does it for all the other well companies around here, so if I went with someone else that they would call he to do the job. I did call his office more then once, his message said to call *****,s cell phone or text him. I would cell *****'s cell and text him. Most of the time he would not answer the phone or text. If I called on a different phone he would answer the call but not if I called on my cell. I text ***** 4 time in May , called his office and his cell and NEVER got a call or text when I left a message. ***** employees would never show up when ***** said they where coming out, or call to say they couldn't make it. ***** should have been honest up front and said his company didn't fish things out of wells. I could have taken other actions to get the well repair in May. The pipe breaking may or may no be *****'s employee fault. The fact that ***** didn't supply his employee with the proper equipment to roll the electrical wire up is way the wire was damaged and when back down the well. ***** should be supply his employee with the proper equipment to do the job they are do, someone could have been hurt or killed by not having the proper equipment or training. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2016/01/21) */ We have read the customer's response to our statement. Unfortunately we find it to be full of misinformation and falsities. We firmly stand by our initial statement which includes only true and factual information. We choose not to dispute word for word of their statement, however, one point does need to be made clear. Our company takes great strides to provide proper procedural training as well as safety training to each employee. We follow proper, industry standard techniques. The employee who provided service at the job in question has been with us since 2004. With over 11 years of training and experience in the field, we find it hard to believe that the customer knows more about proper pump installation and service technique, than our employee does. Our employee has disputed the customer's statements regarding their interaction. The last point we will make is regarding the customer claiming that we did not properly spool the wire, making us liable for the pump falling down well when it broke. As stated prior, we use industry standard techniques. It is common for the wire to be spooled back onto the wooden spools that they come on from the factory, and this is exactly what was done. The wire is not meant to be used as a restraint to catch the pump if it falls. That would be the purpose of a cable, had one been installed by whom ever initially set the pump down well. We did not set the pump initially, so the lack of safety cable was not our responsibility, nor was it anything we could have changed once we did come on the job site. When the pump dropped down well and wire was detached, the wire above ground all stayed on the spool, as it should. So it wouldn't have made any difference what we used to spool the wire up on, as the customer has complained about. Again, we firmly stand by our initial statement and feel that there has been absolutely no neglect or wrong doing on our part. However, we do want to make every attempt to resolve this matter. We are offering to refund the customer $500.00 contingent upon him returning our tools from the job site which we were not allowed to return to collect. The customer stated to both the owner of ** ***** **** as well as in his response given to BBB in regards to our statement, that he felt $1,000 would be a reasonable amount. We can not understand why, then, his requested amount has now jumped to $5,617.00. This, coupled with the misinformation being given to BBB by the customer makes it difficult to come to an agreement. We would like to make a good faith effort to resolve things, however. So the offer of $500 to be refunded to the customer after they return our tools is our way of attempting this resolution. It should be noted that we have been in business since 2004 and have never had a complaint before. We take pride in our relationships with customers, which can be noted by the large number of referrals and repeat customers we have. We hope to come to some kind of peaceful resolution with this customer, and wish him all the best.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Colby Logan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)