BBB Accredited Business since

Jeffrey G Hibbard DDS Inc

Phone: (559) 298-0222 Fax: (559) 323-6888 334 Shaw Ave Ste 103, Clovis, CA 93612 http://www.hibbarddds.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jeffrey G Hibbard DDS Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jeffrey G Hibbard DDS Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jeffrey G Hibbard DDS Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1965 Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 01/01/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dental Board of California
1432 Howe Ave Ste 85-b, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
The number is 44693.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Jeff Hibbard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Jeff Hibbard, Owner
Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Hibbard DDS, Jeffrey
Products & Services

This company offers Quality Dental Services


Additional Locations

  • 334 Shaw Ave Ste 103

    Clovis, CA 93612 (559) 298-0222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a concern regarding a dental billing issue(that has NOT gone to collections)so, please review the facts for my complaint:*My teeth cleaning appt. was on 11/19/2014; on the way out, the hygienist walked me to the front counter explaining my insurance benefits needed to be used before the end of the year, or I'd loose them; then the receptionist handed me an estimate of $1,300 to sign, for a bridge replacement*Surprised, I said, "NO," then reminded them that I had two insurances, and asked if both had been checked; was then told, "No, not to worry about it." The estimate paper work was torn up, in front of all 3 of us. (normally my out of pocket expenses are $0)*I was given an appointment for 12/8/14, to have bridge work, although I was not experiencing any pain, had not complained about a tooth or ache, (but was told the insurance money needed to be spent) *Upon arrival, no balance due was mentioned; the appt. to cement on the permanent bridge in the following two weeks had not been specified, but the procedure was done with a temporary bridge. As I was walking out of the office, I was told I needed to come back in two weeks for the permanent bridge; no payment asked for *Permanent bridge could not be cemented until 1/26/15, due to date/time conflicts*Received bill for $2757.03 *Contacted office; left messages. How did an estimate I didn't sign, go from $1,300 to $2757?*Never received an itemized bill, so I asked that one be sent; Found on 12/1/14, Dr. office received primary insurance payment of $0 covered for my 11/19/14 cleaning appointment and on 12/8/14 my secondary insurance payment of $0 was received for the same appt.*According to the paperwork, it showed on 12/1/14 that my insurance benefits were already depleted for the year*I never complained, was not in pain, or asked to have anything done. So why was I told insurance benefits needed to be spent in 2014, when in reality there wasn't a penny left? *I never signed an estimate or agreement to pay!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would be happy to pay what both insurance benefits would not have covered in Jan. 2015. This amount would be $0. *The procedure that began in December 2014, yet ended 1/26/15 (for the permanent crown to be cemented) should had NEVER been suggested. There were $0 balance of benefits on my records,(I was unaware of, but the office should have checked, since it shows on their paperwork) before procedures started, on Dec. 8, 2014. Therefore, I should not be charged, due to their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/04/16) */ Pretty much everything Mrs. ******** said was true and no need to pick apart fine details for the purpose of this dispute. However, the facts that were omitted by Mrs. ******** are quite significant. She was informed of necessary treatment, agreed to treatment, and consented to treatment. Insurance payment is NEVER a guarantee and, in fact, payment is up to the insurance company. We bill the insurance as a courtesy to the patient. The contract is between her and her insurance company, not us and her insurance company. Her type of plan fs a family plan where the entire family utilizes the same insurance maximum. We have no way of knowing what family members have drawn down her insurance benefits, that is her responsibility to know what her family has used. Mrs. ******** is the only family member that is a patient in our office so she is the only member whose benefit usage we can track. We have offered to set up payment arrangements with Mrs. ********. However, Mrs. ******** has not yet made a single payment towards this balance which is now over 90 days past due. Any further dispute should be considered with HER family who used up HER benefits or with HER insurance company who chose not pay. **** *******, D.D.S. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do agree with the Dr. when he stated that, "Pretty much everything Mrs. ******** said was true." I can also say that, I was there ONLY for a teeth cleaning appointment in NOVEMBER. (that both insurances companies paid $0 on because all my insurance had been used up already for 2014, that the office was aware of since 12/1/14) HELLO! Yes, I was informed of a variety of TREATMENTS that needed to be done, BUT I WAS IN NO PAIN, ON ANY OF THE MANY NECESSARY TREATMENTS THAT I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED, AND COULD HAVE EASILY WAITED! Had I not had my teeth cleaned that day, this would have NEVER HAPPENED, because his necessary treatment, if really necessary, three weeks before the year 2014 was over, could have waited three weeks, when my insurance covered me! By the way, all the other NECESSARY treatments I was told I NEEDED, I haven't had ANY problems, or have been to a dentist office with a complaint, AT ALL. Again, on my way out,I was TOLD I NEEDED TO USE UP MY INSURANCE BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR. Dr. ******* forgot to mention,the fact that, when I was given the $1300 estmate, I said "No way, I have a daughter in college,and I can't afford that right now." That's when the paper work was torn up. I agreed to treatment because I was told the insurance companies WOULD COVER IT ALL! Where is the paperwork that I signed, that said I agreed to ANY PAYMENT?. I NEVER CONSENTED TO ANY PAYMENT, as I was told I WOULDN'T OWE ANYTHING! But Dr. wouldn't be unaware of this because HE wasn't there!! (I believe there is a video camera that can verify this, in his reception room, to show that I am telling the truth.) Next, I have a PRIMARY insurance company through FUSD, that wasn't mentioned by the Dr. Dr. ******* did mention my secondary insurance, which he admitted, they don't know what is left on my Family Insurance, so why was I told I needed to use up my insurance,since my primary was at $O000, when they had NO IDEA of what my secondary, family insurance had left over! Did I have anything? NO! Again, Dr. admitted they have no way of knowing if I had any family insurance left. The point is, I never consented to any kind of payment , what so ever! I was told I would owe NOTHING. Bottom Line: I WAS TOLD I HAD TO HAVE IT DONE, ESTIMATE WAS TORN UP, AND IT WOULD BE COVERED. I have not made a payment at all, due to the fact I feel that I was misinformed, lied to, and very hurt by Dr. *******, for all of the years my family, including my father, has been doing business with Buzz ******* and his son, Dr. **** *******. that both my insurances had been used up, Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very concerned regarding **** Hibbards business practices. Once again,I had my teeth cleaned in Nov. At this time, my primary insurance was at $0 and I was told, that I needed to use the rest of my insurance up before 2014 ended. Yet, I didn't have any type of insurance left at the time.(although I was totally unaware,) because They said I owed nothing, yet had insurance money to spend. The office again, was notified on 12/1/14 by my primary insurance regarding the $0 balance. My secondary insurance was also at $0 and the office was notified about this too, on 12/8/14. Why wasn't anything said at the time? Why wasn't I told that I owed my whole teeth cleaning bill on 12/8/14, instead of pretending I owed nothing, and continuing to charge for uncovered services? They were very aware there wasn't any money left, because it showed on their billing statement, that they neglected to send me, until I requested it in Feb.2015, after getting the almost $3000.00 bill! I not only contacted my two insurance companies and was told that it is the dentist's office responsibility to tell the patient what the total cost would be, what the insurance would cover, as well as, what I would be responsibe to pay. THIS NEVER HAPPENED! I was given an estimate for $1300. DECLINED to pay it, and it was torn up in front of the 3 of us. I was NEVER told about the total amount, because I was told I owed nothing. There is a video camera that should be reviewed by him. **** ******* then tried to put the blame on me, because his office DIDN'T do their job, by saying it was my fault that my family used up my insurance money. THEY HAD IT IN THEIR RECORDS ON 12/8/14 I HAD USED EVERY PENNY OF IT, PRIOR TO THE PROCEDURE! I also remember that during the procedure, **** said the crown next to the bridge, needed to be redone too. I asked him then, "Why don't you do that tooth too," since my mouth was numb. **** responded with, you don't have enough insurance money left over for that tooth so we will have to wait until Jan. SOMEONE didn't do their job. This is SO UNPROFESSIONAL! I also contacted several varios dental offices asking them about their insurance practices. Again I was told, that it was the dental office's responsibility to give out the TRUTHFUL information to their patients. I have copies of both my daughter's and husband's dental papers that shows they were given all the information regarding their upcoming procedures, what the insurance would pay, what they owed, and a signature for consent. WHY DIDN"T this apply to me? My guess is, it's all about the money. Apparently he needed extra Christmas cash, so he didn't follow proper protocal. Since his office workers were unable to do their proper job, I had to take it into my own hands. I filed grievences with both my insurance companies. (I am a professional myself) I spent hours filling out the paperwork that had not been done by his office. I make $51. plus dollars an hour, so I would like to charge **** ******* for my time that I put in to collect payment for HIS office, so he could get paid. 4 hours times $51. equals $204.00. This needs to be deducted for my time from whatever else he's tring to charge me for. Today, 5/13/15, I contacted both of my insurance companies and explained to them that I receive another bill for over $2800. plus. They were very upset with the dental office's practices. Not only did I get the insurance companies to pay 100% of the bridge, the office is still billing me for $2800 plus. I was on the phone with the insurance company today, when the dental office was called by them. The person who my insurance company talked to, lied and said, "We have been trying to get ahold of her to tell her we got the insurance to pay." NO, I DID! They did absolutely nothing but make my life miserable, sending me rude letters, etc., while I did all the work. Why lie? I did get 2 messages from them in the past week, but only to tell me they cancelled my next teeth cleaning appt., like I would EVER go back to that office. There was a phone message left again today at 10:58 am, cancelling my appt. next week, but no mention of an apology for their rudeness and MAJOR MISTAKE in billing me. As a matter of fact, they never called back after the insurance called them to say, I had the insurance companies pay my claim. **** needs to quit sending me his threatening letters, unjustified statements, and work on getting his office in order. Again, I ask him to review his camera to see that I am telling the 100% truth and he needs to retrain his worker to be honest and tell the patients the truth. I am waiting for a heartfelt apology from all of them at **** hiddards office! Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/05/13) */ Insurance has paid amount and there is now a $0.00 balance.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jeffrey G Hibbard DDS Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)