BBB Accredited Business since

Altura Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 883-7228 2847 Campus Pkwy, Riverside, CA 92507 http://www.alturacu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Altura Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altura Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Altura Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 05/14/1957 Business started locally: 05/14/1957 Business incorporated 07/02/1957 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St Ste 4206, Alexandria VA 22314
http://www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (703) 518-6300
The number is 62799.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Hawkins, CEO Ms. Debora Sigler, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Hawkins, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Savings & Loan Associations


Additional Locations

  • 10725 Magnolia Ave

    Riverside, CA 92505

  • 2330 Compton Ave

    Corona, CA 92881

  • 2692 Canyon Springs Pkwy STE C

    Riverside, CA 92507

  • 2847 Campus Pkwy

    Riverside, CA 92507 (888) 883-7228

  • 320 S Sanderson Ave

    Hemet, CA 92545

  • 3451 14th St

    Riverside, CA 92501

  • 36101 Bob Hope Dr

    Rancho Mirage, CA 92270

  • 40412 Murrieta Hot Springs Rd

    Murrieta, CA 92563

  • 6403 Riverside Ave

    Riverside, CA 92506

  • 81096 US Highway 111

    Indio, CA 92201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Altrua Credit Union in Riverside, CA promised me a SKIPAPAY on my auto loan for the month of July. Now they are saying I am not eligible. Altrua Credit Union in Riverside, CA promised me a SKIPAPAY on my auto loan for the month of July. I called and verified I was eligible and submitted the appropriate documents. Altura just emailed me stating I was not eligible until August. Unfortunately, I cannot make the payment now. I have email records from Altura stating I was eligible and it would be processed. This is negligent on their part for providing the incorrect information regarding loans which affect credit standings and personal financial situations.

Desired Settlement: want my SKIPAPAY for my Jeep Wrangler processed for July as promised by Altura and it's representatives.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2016/07/28) */ Please close case number BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX. The business has contacted me and provided the solution I originally requested. Please let me know when this case has been closed as satisfactory. Thank you,

10/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Altura provides an online service for notification of Low and NSF account balance.they failed to notify me, which led additional charges Altura CU provides an electronic notification service which will email the consumer if their account falls below an predetermined amount and if a NSF fee occurs. Notifications are to be sent out daily. July 15 and 16 I received a low balance notification that my account (XXXXXXX) was under 250.00 (my predetermined amount, I do not recall the amount the service told me my balance was at). On July 20, 2015, I logged into my account to find 7 NSF Fees from the 18th to the 20th of July, for a total of 217.00. I did not receive a single electronic notification from Altura regarding the first or subsequent NSF fees. I should have received a notification for each NSF transaction. Had I received the notification I could have transfered funds to cover any additional transactions. I contacted the Altura Cu on the 20 and spoke to the manager ****** at the main branch in riverside. it was her decision to reverse only one fee and stand on the decision that the electronic service is only a tool for the consumers to use to manage their account. she confirmed that the NSF notification did not go out as they should have, but the low balance had gone out on the 15th and 16th.

Desired Settlement: I am a long standing member of the Altura CU, and have more than sufficient funds in my savings account to pay for my transactions. I believe when you provide a notification service and that service fails the consumer should not be charged fees in the event the electronic notification service fails. I believe it is totally fair for me to pay the first NSF fee because that was/is my fault for not having moved enough funds in to my account, but once the first NSF fee occurred I should have received a a notification, which would have prompted me to transfer funds and would have eliminated additional fees. I would like Altura to reverse 6 of the 7 NSF fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/10/01) */ Dear Mr. ****: I am responding to your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau ("BBB") on July 20, 2015. The credit union received notification of your complaint from the BBB, Reference Number "REF - XXXXXXXX" on September 24, 2015. Your complaint stated the credit union failed to notify you through an E-Alert when your balance reached a predetermined amount. You stated you elected to receive text message E-Alerts when your balance goes below $250.00. You state a fair resolution would be for Altura Credit Union to reverse six of the seven NSF (Courtesy Pay) fees since the credit union did not properly notify you once your balance was below the $250.00. I have reviewed your account and the E-Alert options you have chosen. You have elected to receive E-Alerts when your account balances drops below $200.00, not $250.00 as stated in the complaint. On July 15, 2015, your account balance dropped below $200.00 and you should have received an E-Alert at that time. Your balance remained below the $200.00 until July 20, 2015 until you made a transfer to bring the account positive. Sixteen transactions (excluding fees) occurred during this time. The transactions that occurred during the period are primarily Automated Clearing House (ACH) transactions. These transactions do not settle instantaneously. The credit union is generally notified the next business morning, but in some instances may settle the second business day. In addition, these items are settled in batches, therefore several transactions may post at one time. Per our "Online Services Agreement" available on www.alturacu.com: E-Alert notices are delivered on a daily basis, and may not alert you in "real time" with your transactions. E-Alerts is not a substitute for proper diligence regarding your balance and appropriate review of your statements. E-Alerts is provided as a courtesy only, and the E-Alerts service may be suspended or terminated in whole or in part at any time with or without notice to you. You agree that we are not responsible for any negative balances, fees, losses, late payments, or other failures to properly manage your account that might result from one or more alerts not reaching you. We are not responsible for any failures of your e-mail or mobile phone service, or your failure to properly update your information with us. Although E-Alerts are a convenient way to monitor your account, E-Alerts cannot solely be relied upon for that purpose. There are many factors Altura Credit Union cannot control. The credit union cannot be responsible for a change in phone number or email address, disconnected phone service, coverage in roaming areas, coverage during international travel, your provider failing to sending the information timely, provider outages, etc. Regarding your comment about having more than sufficient funds in your savings account to pay for your transactions, Altura Credit Union cannot pull funds from other accounts to cover your transactions without your consent. Altura Credit Union does offer Overdraft Protection, a service in which you may elect to have funds pulled from your savings account to pay outstanding items on your checking account. This service is $7.50 each item paid through Overdraft Protect. If you choose to elect this option, please contact Member Services at (XXX) XXX-XXXX or visit an Altura Credit Union branch. We do appreciate your loyalty to Altura Credit Union since 2010. As stated above, there are many factors Altura Credit Union cannot control when it comes to you receiving your E-Alerts. As stated in the disclosure, proper due diligence is still required even though you have opted to receive E-Alerts. The credit union treats each member fairly and consistently, therefore we will not be refunding the Courtesy Pay fees. If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at the direct line phone number or email address below. ****** ****** VP, Internal Audit Altura Credit Union XXX-XXX-XXXX *******@alturacu.com

10/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract should be transcribed using the same odometer reading as shown on previous contract, not a guesstimate which results in add'l fees I purchased a used car from Toyota of Riverside on closing of 08/07/15 with a mileage of 98,763 and an interest rate at 5.85%. Monday morning, 08/10/15, I took the contract I signed with Toyota of Riverside to Altura Credit Union and was approved with an interest rate of 2.2%. On 08/26/15, my contract was ready for signatures and payoff check. Before any paperwork was looked at, I submitted a complaint to ***** the bank manager (I believe he stated) and "lady supervisor that had me sign the loan documents" regarding a guess of mileage that was taken and used in my contract which resulted in increased fees. I also stated that because of the lapse in time from when the original contract was written, I had no choice but to sign the paperwork, so that I may deliver the payoff check to Toyota of Riverside and requested the contract be amended to reflect the original odometer reading of 98,763 as stated in the original contract, not a mileage that was thrown out from a question.

Desired Settlement: contract be amended to reflect the odometer reading as listed in original contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/28) */ We have reviewed your complaint and provide the following regarding it: Toyota of Riverside allowed you the option to provide your own financing, rather than utilizing the dealership's financing options. You applied at an Altura Credit Union branch on August 10, 2015, at that point we utilized the mileage stated on the contract you signed at Toyota of Riverside, 98,763 miles. Circumstances beyond the credit union's control caused delays in the application process. Some of the delays were attributed to needing additional paperwork work from you, the dealership, and waiting for a deposit of an insurance check to clear your account. These circumstances delayed the signing of the loan at Altura Credit Union until August 26, 2015. Internal Audit reviewed the phone calls between you and the credit union lending personnel during the whole process. There were two phone calls occurring on August 24, 2015. In the first call you stated you had already put 1,000 miles on the vehicle because a friend had moved and you had been visiting him. The second call you stated you had 100,200 miles on the vehicle. The increase in mileage did impact the price of the optional mechanical breakdown insurance you decided to buy. The credit union does not have any influence in the pricing of the optional mechanical breakdown insurance. The price is based on a calculation from the insurance company using various factors, including mileage. The loan officer clearly explained your options regarding the optional insurance and payment options. You made your selections and those terms agree to the loan you signed at Altura Credit Union. The interest rate you were quoted remained constant the whole time and would not change based on options you chose or chose not to buy. Nineteen days later on August 26, 2015, the day you signed the loan at an Altura Credit Union branch, the Assistant Branch Manager went out to your car and visually confirmed your odometer and it had 100,433 miles. Our information regarding the odometer reading was confirmed by you verbally over the phone on August 24 and visually by the Assistant Branch Manager on August 26. Our information is not a "guesstimate" as stated by you in your complaint. Regarding your comments "I had no choice but to sign the paperwork, so that I may deliver the payoff check to Toyota of Riverside..." is based on circumstances between you and the dealership. Altura Credit Union did not force or in any way imply that you are required to sign the loan. The delays previously stated caused constraints in the application processing and were beyond the control of Altura Credit Union. At the loan signing, the credit union offered to delay the signing of the loan for you so you could further consider your options. You stated you had to get the deal done that day so you could deliver the check to the dealership. If the odometer reading on the loan would have remained the same as the initial contract from Toyota of Riverside, you would have reduced the benefit of the mechanical breakdown insurance by 1,437 miles since you would have reach the maximum allowed mileage sooner. That would have been a disservice to you. As stated to you before, the mechanical breakdown insurance is optional and may be canceled at any time. If you choose to cancel this coverage, please call (951) 571-5257 and the Loan Clerk will send you the cancelation form. Please note, if you choose to cancel the optional insurance, the refund will be applied to your loan balance, reducing the amount of the loan outstanding, not a refund directly to you. We do appreciate your loyalty to Altura Credit Union since 2006. Please understand when we are provided information, we cannot choose to ignore the information. If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact the Internal Auditor at ************ or through email at *******@alturacu.com. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The question of milage was never asked. All numbers were transcribed as on the original contract. I volunteered the question of milage. After my original quote was given. That leads me to the impression

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Altura Credit Union has used vindictive and damaging credit practices to prevent myself and my family from recovering our credit. Account number XXXXXXX. We had an auto loan with the credit union. After paying 5 years on the loan with perfect record we had difficulty making the 800+ payment and requested a renegotiation of the balance due to work loss. The credit union refused to work with us and chose instead to freeze our accounts with their company. We were forced to get behind on this payment then voluntarily returned the vehicle. It was sold at auction and we were left without a car. We were told the discrepancy was 3000.00. We never received any information or proof of this debt. Instead of writing this off as a charge off the credit union has reported this monthly on my credit as a repossession for over two years. This tactic has prevented us from purchasing a new vehicle or recovering our credit. I have tried on several occasions to discuss and negotiate a solution but Altura is unwilling to do so. Their tactic is abusive of the spirit of credit reporting and vindictive and punitive to my family. We have suffered as a result of their behavior.

Desired Settlement: Remove this issue from my credit file. Allow us to move forward and reestablish our credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/21) */ Based on my review of Mr. *****' complaint, it appears that after he called and requested us to update his credit report, our loan servicing department did exactly that. We believe we have corrected the issue for this member. As to the complaint that we didn't work with Mr. ***** to help him keep his loan and vehicle, I reviewed all the loan notes and we used every means available to the credit union to accomodate Mr. *****. Once a member quits communicating with the loan servicing department though, we have almost no options left but to take action to protect the interests of all the members of the credit union.

1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I opened my account with Altura CU, I was told only the 1st check would be held for 9 business days. Now, ANY deposits through an ATM are held for an additional 9 business days, cash or check, and any other deposits are held other than direct deposit for 9 business days unless I were to go into the bank itself with cash in hand. This was never explained to me and now I am going to have bills bouncing and overage charges from the bank because the money is not available. I can't even close the account and go somewhere else until the money is unfrozen. I have tried talking to customer service and this is what they have told me, however, this was NEVER explained to me in the beginning, only that the FIRST CHECK would be held. Product_Or_Service: Chesking and Savings account Account_Number: XXXXXXX My $700 cash ATM deposit was frozen and now due to bills and necessities that were absolutely necessary, now have $281 in overages. After a $700 deposit of cash into an ATM, my funds were initially no frozen but later that day they were. Called customer support and was told it was because my acct was less than 30 days old and basically told "well you should have gone to the bank instead". Now I have $281 in overages for bills that went through and necessities, all because I was not told of the 30 day holding period for all checks when I opened the acct, I was only told the 1st check would be held which I'm still waiting for the funds to be available 3 weeks later but now eaten up by overages. When I brought up that I was never told of these additional holds by the person opening my account, nor is it in the disclosure I was given, he just asked me if their was anything else he could do for me, uh, obviously not.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my money available so that I can close the account and go somewhere else without having to wait until 30 days to get any money I would just like to be refunded the overages due to the lack of disclosure and this was a CASH deposit!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/21) */ As the internal auditor, I reviewed Ms. *******'s complaint and the transactions that she references. When Ms. ******* opened her account, she received a copy of our policies relating to check holds. The longest hold I noted was 5 days for a deposit made at an non-Altura ATM with an effective date on a Thursday. Of that deposit, $300 was available immediately to the member and she withdrew $200 the day after the deposit. Because the deposit was made just before a weekend, this added a couple days onto the hold period. Had Ms. ******* made the deposit at an Altura branch, there would have been no hold if it had been a cash deposit or if it was a check deposit, she could have requested the teller to waive the hold. Our branch personal try to accomodate our members when possible. I realize it is frustrating to have to pay courtesy fees on overdrafts but we have a number of alerts that members can use to help avoid these fees. Based on the facts I reviewed, there is no reason for Altura to refund the fees to the member. Ms. ******* closed her account with Altura and received the balance in her account immediately upon closure. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The disclosure does not indicate anything about cash deposits at an ATM nor does it discuss new account information holds. I called customer service and was rudely told that I would have a hold on the money because I had not had the account for 30 days, NO INFORMATION was ever verbaly disclosed to me in opening the account by 2 representatives on anything other than the first check would be held, which is a lie. I made a cash deposit into an ATM because I was unaware of the holds. I came from a much larger bank, Bank of America, and NEVER had these kinds of holds imposed on me before so coming to a credit union with such rules was foreign to me. The overages I received were not due to a withdrawal of $200, they happened because the cash deposit were held and I had bills and absolute necessities that I counted on that money for. Initially $200 was available but later that day it was held, I later withdrew the money so I would only have 1 NSF fee due to the hold I was told about by the rude customer service representative and so I could buy the necessities I needed. Why this caused the hold to be longer as this person stated, makes no sense. Later they found that it was a cash deposit and released the funds but did not, nor would not, reverse any NSF fees which makes no sense. I have never banked with such rude people or a bank that misrepresents and makes the customer pay for it!!!! I will never bank with Altura again, nor would I recommend their bank to anyone. Since Altura, I was able to open an account with Wesom Credit Union, same rules but they have their disclosure, IN PLAIN ENGLISH, online and have the special rules for new accounts spelled out. Upon opening the new account with Wescom, they spelled everything out to me as to what was to be expected and told me that all banks are supposed to do this but Altura did not. Being with Altura was not only a huge mistake but also a very costly one!!!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Altura Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)