This business is not BBB accredited.

US Modular Inc.

Phone: (951) 679-9907 View Additional Phone Numbers 140 E Stetson Ave Ste 301, Hemet, CA 92543 http://www.usmodularinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for US Modular Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for US Modular Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on US Modular Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/01/2009 Business started locally: 09/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/17/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 943047.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Kesseler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Kesseler, President
Business Category

Contractors - General

Service Area
This business builds green eco-friendly house.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    140 E Stetson Ave Ste 301

    Hemet, CA 92543 (951) 679-9907 (888) 987-6638

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After making our budget clear to US Modular (several times), they require a $3,500 feasibility study to proceed. Their quote was nearly 50% higher. On the morning of February 24, 2016, ***'s daughter (Maryrose Vezza and her husband Kevin) spoke by phone with CEO and Principal of US Modular, *** ********. We were familiar with their website and liked what they said about their business process. *** said he was familiar with Imperial Beach and the typical (3 bedroom, 2 bath, ~1200 sqft) dwellings common to this community. The budget limit of around $200,000 was mentioned to *** at this time. *** emailed a form letter within a few hours, containing their preferred lenders, as well as five attachments:(Green Building Technology, 7 Step Process, Newsletter, Qualifications Package, and Testimonials). In early March, we (***, his wife *******, ********* and ****** conference called with ***, again agreeing on proposed size and features (1288 sqft modular home - Classic Series, with a 200 sqft garage), as well as restating ***'s fixed income budget, his limit being at or near $200,000. The next step to continue with their process was to send them a $3500 payment for them to do a feasibility study. This involved them making contact with the City of Imperial Beach for permit requirements, etc. This step took a couple of weeks as they said the City was slow to get them their information and we were still all good with everything up until that point. The problem for us began once we received the feasibility study and budget, on April 22, 2016, sent by Office Manager, Cierra Kessler. Her message stated that after we reviewed their document, we would conference call with *** and **** Kessler (President) to discuss the project in more detail. A few days later we had the conference call and stated our dissatisfaction, as the proposed budget was $295,965.00 minus the already paid feasibility study of $3,500 = $292,465.00. Soft costs (permits, processing, and reprograhics) were around $28K. Had their quote totaled around $230K, including the soft costs, we likely would be going forward with the build. We reiterated that ***, being on a fixed income, could only afford the total budget of near $200K and north of $290K was not even close or a consideration. Since their product is built in a factory and they already had plans (Classic Series, from their gallery) drafted prior to us ever talking to them, we feel that besides talking to the City, there wasn't much work done on their behalf. **** mentioned in the call, perhaps a partial refund could be arranged, but *** redirected the conversation quickly, wanting us to allow them another chance to revise the budget. As a professional courtesy, we let them have their chance. Upon seeing the revised budget, we knew it was over. While the overall cost was getting closer ($247K, including soft costs), they cut over 100 sqft off the dwelling and completely removed the garage. Areas not hardly reduced at all were their large engineering fees and installation fees, etc. After voicing our dissatisfaction again, we feel that their experience alone, they should have known they could NOT deliver as promised...WITHOUT taking $3,500 from a retired person. An email was sent to Cierra Kessler on May 11, 2016 (two weeks ago exactly) stating how we were very clear about the limit of ***'s budget (multiple times, from multiple people) and that we know some work was put forth on their behalf. Stating again, that **** had brought up a partial refund in one of our conference calls... a partial refund of $1,750 or 50% is what *** was looking for. We felt that this message would be ignored by them and were proven correct. We are complaining to the BBB, not just seeking monetary recourse, but also to warn others off their practice of taking money then over-inflating the budget far beyond what was established prior to sending them funds.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a partial refund of $1750 or 50% of the feasibility study. If they are not willing to do this (first mentioned by them, **** ********* then we want this complaint to serve as a warning to other potential clients of theirs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2016/07/01) */ Hello, We did not receive any communications from the BBB regarding this matter until 4 days ago when I received a damaged letter from you dated June 6. The USM Feasibility agreement which was explained verbally in detail and was executed by client clearly states that the fee is a non-refundable as it is a service we provide to gather all information to determine all potential developmental costs to the customer which as I stated the customer agreed to in writing before we start the process. The Feasibility study is completed by our State License Civil Engineer who is paid for the research. In our feasibility report the conceptual budget was $295,965 which include the home, demolition of the old home and dump fees, all permits and fees, all engineering cost for the site work and the home, foundation, delivery, crane and setup of the home. Before the customer agrees to have the feasibility study USM takes them to our website which say's: From our website www.usmodularinc.com US Modular Inc.'s Estimated Construction Costs Modular home building and pricing can usually be separated into one of three distinct types. The Classic/Affordable build starting at ($175 sq ft), the Elite/Custom build starting at ($190 sq ft), and the Executive/Specialty build starting at ($215+ sq ft). These starting cost estimates are based on a lot owned free and clear with minimal grading and on an average 2,500 sf single story home. Two Story, Multi-Family, and smaller home pricing can vary 10 - 20 percent based on the design and total square footage of the home. The smaller the sq ft the higher the cost per sq ft. that is why we show that the size can vary 10 - 20 percent. We also explain to every customer that our average cost to build does not include the land cost, permits and fees to the local planning department as every planning department sets their own cost and the all are different, and also not included is the cost of doing business with a lender. After we completed the feasibility study we went through the report and answered all questions and explained each cost. When we were told that the cost was to high, we worked with the customer and cutback everything we could and omitted the garage and the final price came in at $250,448.00 minus the feasibility fee which is applied to the project as a 100% deposit the final number cam in at $246,948 Which was an all in cost for everything. Not counting the permits and fees and demolition the cost was $211,315.00 which was $179.84 SF. $4.84 SF higher than a average project for a home over twice the size. Client claim is nonsense, as the only way can determine the cost to develop the project is by completing the research at the local building dept and preparing the budget based on the information and the clients requests for style, sf and amenities in the home. if the executed agreement is needed let me know and we will forward, my email address which is best way to communicate is *****@usmodularinc.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 26, 2016/07/22) */ Today (7/22) is the first time reading usm's response! Obviously the BBB communication methods did not work so well...on both sides of this complaint. This incident is not resolved. No money back...that's fine, but please warn other potential clients researching through the BBB, that US Modular will pretend to hear your project budget constraints and then present you with a price significantly higher than you can afford. Buyer beware. And they knowingly did this is to a retired person...recovering from a recent stroke... a veteran. Despicable!

3/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not honor contract and hasn't refunded fee paid in advance I hired the company to do an addition to my house. They have a phased approach, and the first phase "Feasibility Study" cost ****** and was delivered as promised. The second phase “Conceptual Design” had a separate contract that called for USModular to provide “preliminary conceptual floor plan including four(4) side elevations and a color rendering of the front elevation”. At the end of more than five months of prodding, I had a conceptual floor plan for just one room of the addition, and elevations that had no detail at all for the entire ground floor (and multiple errors in the roof line), and no color renderings. The elevations showed the second floor mysteriously floating in space, next to the existing house. Even though there was no finished conceptual design, USModular tried to get me to do a construction agreement for ********* a contract which couldn’t possibly have resulted in what I wanted, since the design wasn’t done. I guess they were just going to wing it for the ground floor. Of course, any disagreement over the mysterious downstairs would have turned into a “change order” that would increase the price. The final straw was a conference call arranged by USModular to resolve my concerns about whether I should proceed at all with this company. No one from USModular even showed up on the call – they blew it off, which was completely consistent with the many months of ignoring my questions (emails and calls) during the design phase. The company has refused to refund the ****** I paid in advance for the unfinished design. I worked with *** ******** at first, and then it was escalated after the failed conference to **** ********.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the ****** I paid for the never finished design phase.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/02/05) */ I terminated the project and requested a refund on 11/26/2014. On 12/8/2014, the company sent floor plans and elevations, now including the ground floor, that were not based on any design process with me. On 12/19/2014, they sent a color elevation (required by the contract) also not based on any design process. The design was never completed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on US Modular Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)