This business is not BBB accredited.

Mountain Valley Construction

Phone: (559) 332-9229 32883 Puma Ln, Squaw Valley, CA 93675


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mountain Valley Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mountain Valley Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2011 Business started: 06/01/2010 Business started locally: 06/01/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Reeves, Owner Mrs. Valorie Reeves, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Reeves, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Builders


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    32883 Puma Ln

    Squaw Valley, CA 93675 (559) 332-9229

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor walked off job, refuses to come back, wants final payment. Contractor hired not so stellar employees, almost everything that was touched, was broke or had to be done again. He went way over promised finished date. He stuck us with pitted granite top, did not paint an attic lid, did not cut in around ceiling fan with paint in bedroom, but one of his employees broke a fan blade. Furniture was not protected, he built a fake cabinet under oven with face plate, his face plate popped off. We had to go the extra mile and add funds to do things properly after he claims he did the job right. He walked off the job, says he is done, but he is not, he wants final payment, he tried to for items he either did not do, or charged us over and also went against the agreed amount. He is not done and until he completes the contract, he will not get a final payment. He refuses to do final walk thru to see what needs to be fixed, he is not honoring his warranty. He went over deadline by almost 2 months of promised date. he is refusing to send over products that was promised to us. He claimed he was a contractor (licensed) for 25 years, which he has not been. Him and his employees do not respect other people's property or their belongings. Bottom line is, he wants payment for a job that is not completed. I also want an inspector in which he pays for to make sure the things that he did do, nothing else will just fall apart. He charged us a lot of money, but made his sub contractors use the cheapest material they could find. I would not recommend Mountain Valley Construction to anyone out there looking for work to be done.

Desired Settlement: I feel we have gone through pain and suffering, constant arguments with the contractor, him refusing to complete the job and something has already fell apart, because of his work. I want the job completed and someone to look at his itemized list of what he spent and what he charged us, I feel we have been ripped off. Hoping someone sees this, before they hire someone that does not know how to remodel or build in our eyes. I would like a different contractor to come out at Mountain Valley Construction Expense to complete the job they did not finish.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/22) */ Mountain Valley Construction is a small family owned company and we pride ourselves on our workmanship. We are very sorry to hear that the *****/******* family are unhappy with our work. There were no issues brought to our attention until we asked for the final payment. We had addressed all of their concerns and had even provided them with a cleaning service when the job was completed above and beyond the contract with them. The current complaints were brought to our attention when we sent them the final invoice. The delay in the project was caused when the shipment of their floor tiles arrived damaged and we did not accept them. The tile company had no more stock of these tiles and the manufacturer was out of production on them. We checked several more tile providers and no one had a large enough supply. The manufacturer would be producing them again in December. The client was offered the choice of either choosing another color or product or waiting until December for the new supply. They chose to wait until December for their first choice product. The project was fully completed immediately upon of the arrival of the tiles. The granite counter top was provided by a third party and was accepted and signed off by the client. We are aware they were not satisfied after a period of time with the counter top and had the supplier out to repair it. The blemishes they are concerned about are natural occurrences in a rock. They filled the small pits with epoxy and the client was happy. The additional charges in our original final invoice included an agreed upon faucet above the original budget which was not chosen before their due date. A temporary faucet was provided and then changed out. Labor and above budget cost was asked for. And a change in color in a room we had already painted. We provided the paint at no extra charge and charged for the labor only. We have performed numerous walk-thrus with the client and fixed and repaired things that were not part of our project. They countered our final payment with more demands and a lower price which we agreed to in order to avoid conflict with them. They then refused to pay the new agreed upon price. Attached are: 1) The letter we sent them upon hearing about the refusal to pay the new price and the filing of the complaint with you waiving our final payment due to their current dissatisfaction with our work and statement they did not want us to repair any further problems. 2) The letter they sent us refusing to pay the final invoice. 3) The email refusing our offer of waiving the final payment due to dissatisfaction with our work. Sincerely, ***** ****** Owner Mountain Valley Construction Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is NOT acceptable to us.. I have all correspondences to and from.. Mountain Valley Construction changed the amount of the amount due in the last invoice, charging us for "change of paint", when we never changed the color, they made the mistake. They over charged for a faucet, when I have the original email of the agreed upon price with Mountain Valley Construction, they tried to charge us for 2 faucets, not an upgrade, in which we asked for. They tried to charge us for 2 pieces of extra wrought iron that we do not have. They were trying to stick us for an extra amount of $400. and some change. They did not give their employees the proper clean up supplies to clean up after themselves or the help they needed. Because of this.. There is a broken ceiling fan and many wrecked kitchen towels and black overspray on my home, second story, where the deck sits, because their employee did not have the help or the proper protection to do the job correctly.. Again.. I have many pictures, if BBB wants them.. The cleaning lady, showed up here one day for 3 hours, owing us 8 hours, then she did not show on time one day and I had to call and reschedule her, because it was too late in the day, she was suppose to show up yesterday and she called and made what seems like a valid excuse, but she could have called us the night before, knowing her friend was already in the hospital and she was going to have to pick her up.. We are now scheduled for this Saturday, with her owing us 5 hours, we will see. The reason why we asked for the house cleaner is because again, Mountain Valley Construction did not supply their employees with the proper supplies to protect our home, they trashed it, dust, overspray everywhere, our house was filthy. Why would they not want to provide a house cleaner??? They promised us a finish date no later than October 31, 2014, when as of today Jan. 21, 2015, they refuse to finish the job. They state the floors were the issue, for postponement of the job, this is not the case, they called one other company, not many and supposedly some broke, I have no idea if this is the case.. They striped our floor 3 months prior to the floors going in and we had to walk on cold concrete, and we have a toddler, which she fell many times on that floor, this was not something that should have been done. It seems as if they did everything possible to make our lives miserable. They did very sloppy work, did not finish painting certain areas of our home, left large gaps in our kitchen; between counter top, wall and back-splash. It has came to our attention, that when the owner ***** ****** was installing the Back-splash, part of the wall caved in and he quickly did his best to "mask it" and now we are left with Back-splash that does not "stick" to the wall, he did not install the proper support for back-splash. There are chips on our laminate floor, which we watched him install and ignore. We have pictures of everything that is wrong and we would be happy to share with the BBB. We complained many times throughout the job, and each time we complained, his work became more sloppy as he went on. If the job was done correct, we would have had no problem paying the final amount. We were already into the job for thousands, this was not a small job. We have already paid Mountain Valley Construction: $49,560.00, so to say that we did not want to pay the final balance of only $2,642.53 is ridiculous, no I won't pay for sloppy work, or a job that was not complete. How dare they ask for a final payment, knowing that the job was not complete and a final walk-thru was not completed, they refuse to do a walk-thru so we could show them the final issues and problems. We are not happy, and we filed a formal complaint with The Contractors State License Board, I mailed Mountain Valley Construction a Certified 48 Hour Demand letter to fix the issues, they ignored it, they made us an offer for us to not pay the final balance of $3,053.00, when the agreed upon balance was $2,652.43, and we declined their offer, it looks as if the items not completed and the wrong doing on their part, could cost us a lot more money when this is all said and done. I also contacted the Insurance company, awaiting for an adjuster to get back to me. Mountain Valley Construction hired one painter to paint our home, which is 2748 square feet, 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, it took over 2 months to paint, and again, the painter was rushed, and items were left behind. If it wasn't for my Boyfriend Carley *****, giving a helping hand to paint our own home with the painter hired, it would have taken a lot longer than 2 months to finish. Concrete was supposed to be poured to help support the deck they built and it never was. There are many items and problems, and because ***** ****** refused to come out here to see them, how could we tell him or show him?? He does not return phone calls. If BBB would like, I can forward all emails and send pictures as well or their work. I don't think anyone would be happy to spend the money we did and then expect to pay the balance without the job being done and with major stuff being wrong. I believe the people of Fresno County and surrounding areas should know what kind of company Mountain Valley Construction and the owner ***** ****** represent. They are only about the money, they could careless what their work looks like.. Because ***** ****** took forever and a day to complete his job, we were having our house appraised and the appraiser showed up at our home when ***** should have been done, it completely ticked off the appraiser and he did not complete his job, because our house was not appraised, the mortgage company had to use an older appraised value, which is costing us $248.00 for an FHA loan. Mountain Valley Construction is costing us today a lot of money and grief. This company and his employees really should find a different profession.. We are not happy at all. **** ******* and ****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mountain Valley Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)