This business is not BBB accredited.

Monoprice, Inc.

Phone: (909) 989-6887 View Additional Phone Numbers 11701 6th St, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730 http://www.monoprice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Monoprice, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Monoprice, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Monoprice, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/30/2002 Business started locally: 09/30/2002 Business incorporated 09/30/2002 in
Contact Information
Principal: Jong (Sean) Lee
Business Category

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Monoprice, Inc MonoPrice.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11701 6th St

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730 (909) 989-6887 (909) 476-6028

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business has ignored all contact attempts to resolve a recently purchased product failure for the past 3+ weeks. I purchased a Monoprice home theater system with part number XXXXX through a licensed retailer (Amazon) which was purchased on 04/02/2016 and delivered on 04/06/2016. The Amazon order number is XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX. The purchase price was $295.82 which was paid via Visa credit card through Amazon. The center speaker of the system experienced a hardware failure on 05/28/2016 and was acknowledged by Monoprice technical support over the phone on 06/01/2016. I was directed to contact the "Monoprice Amazon Support" customer service division of Monoprice via email to obtain a replacement unit. I was told this division of Monoprice was only available to contact via email. I contacted the Monoprice Amazon Support division at <**************@monoprice.com> on 06/01/2016 and the following customer service ticket was generated: Ticket Information: Ticket #: XXXXX-XXXXXX Date Created: 6/01/XXXX XX:XX AM PDT I provided proof of purchase via Amazon invoice on 06/02/2016. Once verified as a customer, I was directed to create an order for the XXXXX replacement unit on the Monoprice website at no cost to myself. I then discovered that this was impossible as the XXXXX unit was out of stock on back order and unavailable. The expected in-stock date is listed as 09/23/2016. The service department replied on 06/03/2016 asking that I accept an exchange by creating an order for another, inferior model XXXXX theater system that was in stock. I replied on 06/04/2016 rejecting the offer indicating that I am not interested in the XXXXX model and would like the original XXXXX model as a replacement. I also stated that I would be willing to wait for the XXXXX to be in stock on 09/23/2016 if compensation for my 4 months of lost utility on my original purchase would be offered. I never received a reply to this email. I have since sent 2 more followup emails asking for an acknowledgement and sufficient resolution to the issue, sent on 06/13/2016 and 06/21/2016. All 3 emails have been ignored and no response has been received.

Desired Settlement: I have been without a fully functioning system for 1 month and would ideally like the unit replaced with the identical model immediately. In the event that the XXXXX model remains unavailable until late September, I am seeking an adequate compensation for the 4 months that I will be without a working product. The XXXXX model is now listed on the Monoprice website at $179.99, over $100 less than I originally paid for my defective unit. Given the fact that I have paid nearly $300 for the same product which will remain nonfunctional for such a long period of time, coupled with the poor service I have received over the past 3 weeks being outright ignored in multiple requests for a response, I would like the unit replaced with the XXXXX model when it becomes available and compensation for the $295.82 originally spent.

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund not fully refunded as promised by Customer Service Rep I contacted Monoprice about issues I was having with a product I had purchased from the. The decided to RMA the product under RMAXXXXXXXXX. Since no product was to be available to replace the one I was returning, I asked for a full refund of $199.99 as I was well within the 30 period. They said they would honor that and give me the refund of $199.99. At the same time the RMA was being processed, product became available for replacement, but I was told I would have to reorder the product, which I got on sale for $169.99, and would get a refund of the original product that was on the RMA and was being sent back. I was told if I did not do that, there was no guarantee the product would be available when the defective one came back. So I asked if they would cover the charges to overnight the new product if I ordered it that day. They said they would cover the charges of the next day shipping which was $68.52. When I did get the refund it wasn't for the product I was returning, but was for the new one that I ordered. So my total refund amount was $228.51 instead of the $269.51 as I was supposed to get. I have tried contacting their customer service several times and get placed on hold. I have even emailed the Customer Service Rep and called and left messages with no response yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the remaining $40 I was promised I would be getting.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2016/07/14) */ After filing this complaint, and retailer being contacted, the have finally decided to refund the amount owed. The complaint can now be closed. Below is a copy of the correspondence from the retailer. Hello *******. We have issued a refund in the amount of $40.00, please allow 3 to 5 business days for the refund to post to your account. Please let me know if further assistance is needed and I hope you have a wonderful day.

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a gift online to be sent overnight to a relative. Despite this company receiving credit approval, they canceled the purchase. I ordered some headphones ($80+) online from this company with overnight shipping to be sent to my sister in a town in eastern Washington. I drove over the mountains that same day to her home with the expectation of receiving this there and giving it as a gift to my nephew that night for graduation. After my order I received an email confirmation of the order and thought all was fine. It wasn't until the next afternoon, when the package hadn't showed up, that I found a place with good service for my cell phone (I was in the mountains) that I found an email from them later in the day saying 'there was an issue with my payment' and canceling my order. I checked my cc online and found that there was a valid hold for funds on my card and then a credit. In calling the company, I could not get a good explanation of why they randomly canceled my order, leaving me to find a cheap pair in town that night to give as a gift. I want a reasonable explanation of why the order was canceled. It left me embarrassed giving a crappy pair of headphones to a nephew who made it through college. Why can a company randomly cancel an order after received an authorization for payment? I want a good enough response to give me closure on this or I will continue to pursue it.

Desired Settlement: An adequate response to give me closure.

6/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered an Gigabyte BRIX Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron 3205U 1.50 GHz - Mini PC that has been recalled by Monorpice due to incorrect selling price On Sunday, May 8th I ordered an Gigabyte BRIX Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron 3205U 1.50 GHz - Mini PC for the price of $79.99 in an email advertisement. My credit card was charged for that price and the package was given a UPS # and shipped out on Monday the 9th. Checking the UPS tracking # on Tuesday the 10th, it stated that the item had been recalled by Monoprice. I contacted their Customer Support and they stated that the wrong price was given by that email. Their new price all of a sudden was $179.99. So they said i would be welcome to reorder the computer at the new price. I said no and that they owed me this computer at the price they charged me originally of $79.99. They then tried to say that I had called for an address delivery change which I didn't. I have ordered from this company several times before with no problems. On Wednesday the 12th I received an email providing me an RMA # that I had requested. I called their Customer Support and spoke to them about my order # XXXXXXXX. I was told that my order was being recalled due to a pricing error. Customer Support profusely apologized but i could see that I would not make any progress in talking to the Customer Service rep. The following # is a tracking # provided by Monoprice 1ZYXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX from my order receipt. Since it was being recalled, my money would not be refunded until their product was back in their hands. They have sent no emails advising me of anything. The only audit trail that I had was what showed in the UPS tracking.

Desired Settlement: I want my computer, plain and simple. I fulfilled my obligations in purchasing this item by providing a valid credit card and valid destination address. I have already ordered the other products to make this a full computer system: memory, mSata drive, wireless keyboard/mouse and os. I will have to get rma's from 4 different vendors unless I get what I ordered. I am owed a fully working Gigabyte BRIX Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron 3205U 1.50 GHz - Mini PC.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/05/17) */ We have refunded the customer in full. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2016/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) they sent me the email with the advertised price of $79.99 for the Gigabyte Brix Celeron barebone computer 2) my credit card was charged and the merchandise was enroute to its destination when it was recalled 3) I never received any type of communication from them advising me of the so called mistake and what the actions would be for this event 4) My only clue as to what was happening was the UPS log and calls to their Customer Service 5) They immediately let me know that I could reorder the merchandise at the price of $179.99 6) I replied that I would not accept that and that they owed me a computer for $79.99. They again said that I could have it for $179.99. 7) Instead of my money being refunded when they did the recall, it was not refunded until the item was returned to their warehouse. 8) I was then under the impression that I was on the hook for $79.99 if it had been stolen, lost, or damaged in the return shipment and the item never came within 50 miles of its destination. They committed fraud, false advertising and theft. I do not accept their resolution and expect to properly pay for a new $79.99 Gigabyte Celeron Brix barebone computer. I want my merchandise for $79.99.

4/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monoprice, Inc. decided to send my order in 3 separate packages instead of 1, which could have been done safely costing me over double in shipping. Purchased Speakers and parts from Monoprice.com on March 02, 2016 (Invoice # XXXXXXXX). They were going to charge me almost $45 for shipping 50 pounds worth of product and since I can get a better rate using my shipping account, I had Monoprice.com ship my order using my UPS account number. Without informing me, they then decided to ship my order out in 3 separate shipments (Tracking #'s 1ZYXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, 1ZYXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, 1ZYXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) instead of one, costing me more than double the price for shipping they quoted me. I believe they planned to ship my order as one package, therefore costing them a lot less, but since I decided to give them my UPS account number, they were not worried with how much shipping would cost and decided to ship each item separately.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the difference between what I paid for shipping and what they quoted for shipping. They quoted $40.17 for shipping and I ended up paying $107.60 since they decided to ship all parts separately. Than is a $67.43 difference! I will attach proof of each to this complaint if possible. If not possible, let me know and I will send it to you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/03/31) */ Monoprice is not responsible for charges made by third party shipping companies to personal/business accounts as we do not set pricing. Shipping orders in multiple packages is at the discretion of Monoprice. In an effort to prevent damage to your order, multiple shipments may be used to fulfill orders safely, regardless of who is responsible for the shipping cost. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2016/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Monoprice should have notified customer that product was being shipped in 3 packages and not one so that shipping price determination could be made.

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty not granted despite shipping the product back to them when asked. Monoprice is very disorganized, I have spoken to several employees through email without resolution. I returned a broken hdmi cable for warranty, but I have the the tracking # to prove it usps XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. The cable was a 25FT 22AWG CL2 High Speed HDMI Cable and was part of order# XXXXXXX. The 4 cables were shipped in a region A flat rate box, it was big and heavy because of the hdmi cable, and shipping cost $7.50 or so. The cable was heavy and just barely fit the box. I included both that and a $6 order of 3 cables order #XXXXXXXX. Although I did get a refund for the 3 cables, I did not get a replacement for the hdmi cable. I included on the package the RMA numbers RMAXXXXXXXXX, RMAXXXXXXXXX like asked to and inside the box just in case it got lost. I'm tired of the lies in the emails, they told me they did not receive the RMA number for the hdmi cable so whatever cables that are in the box would be thrown away without resolution. My brother asked me to avail the lifetime warranty as both orders were shipped to the same house address and I told him to save money, I'll just ship the warranty and my 3 cables in the same box. Why would I spend $7.50 to get a refund of $6 for 3 cables? It doesn't make sense. Hopefully by sending this complaint I can get the customer service I should have deserved over 3 weeks ago and the warranty cable I was promised and closure. My brother and I have spent hundreds of dollars on this company buying their cables and lcd monitor mounts and this is our first experience with the warranty since 2008 and it is horrible. The email responses alone take 1 week to get a reply from them. I feel like I'm just getting the "runaround" till I forget about the warranty.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of broken 25FT 22AWG CL2 High Speed HDMI Cable

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund money has not been returned to me I purchased a full motion tv bracket on January 27, 2016 at the Monoprice store located in Rancho Cucamonga on 6th Street. I returned the item on January 28, 2016 with a receipt and was told that the money would be returned to my credit card that I paid with. After calling and speaking to multiple customer service representatives for the last month, I still have NOT received a single penny. My last phone call was with *********. She informed me that the accounting department needed my address to mail me a refund check because they couldn't return the money back to my card. I still have not received a check. The order number of the item purchased and returned is XXXXXXXX. This situation is a clear representation of a corporation stealing from the general public. I returned the item back to Monoprice so my money should be returned back to me. I said I would go into the store to speak to somebody regarding my refund and I was told no. I also spoke to a female by the name of ******. I will not stop calling until my $22.17 is returned back to me.

Desired Settlement: The resolution I seek from the business is my refund of $22.17 and a formal written apology in exchange for a revised one star review on Yelp.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/03) */ I have contacted the customer and they did receive their refund on 3/2/2016 via mail check.

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has been a week since I processed my RMA number and not once has it been updated. I've tried contacting them multiple times but no one resonded. On 2/17/2016 I received my order# XXXXXXXX and processed my RMA because the mass majority of micro usb I've brought did not work. RMA# RMAXXXXXXXXX Monoprice themselves stated if the RMA status does not change within 3 days then too contact them. Not only have I contracted them via email, onsite email, and chat; No one responded to me nor was there an agent. I even tried calling them but got no response. It is like they are purposely trying to avoid refunding me $13.05 literally. Not only is this the worst customer service I've experience; I don't even know if this count as customer service since no one is responding to my email/request/call.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a refund on my order of $13.05 and an Apology for wasting my time going through all of this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/03/11) */ We processed a refund for this order on 3/10 for $10.56 (product) and on 3/11 for $2.49 (shipping). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2016/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After having to contact Monoprice multiple times again I was able to get my refund. Although If I had not contacted Monoprice they wouldn't have refunded me on my shipping even though it is clearly stated on their site if the product came broken/DOA then it would be refunded automatically. Even though I never got my apology from them for wasting my time I highly doubt I would see one due to the horrible way they handle customer service.

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item not delivered I ordered 2 x LED Video Camcorder Light with 140 Pieces LED and 960 Lumens Brightness. Invoice Number : XXXXXXXX on Order Date 1/14/2016 1:21:14 PM. I order 2 but was delivered only 1. It took me an hour long wait to get hold of a rep on the phone. After that, the rep said sorry we can't do anything about it, just issue you refund for the on enot received. I told them that I ordered it as a pair and if they could send me a similar item they may have in stock but the response was poor. Disappointments: - Non-delivery of full order - Non-replacement of missed item - Only option to take the refund and shut up - Phone system asking me to go to live chat - Live chat not functioning. Saying all reps busy - Phone wait time around 1 hour - After 1 hour wiat, no satisfactory resolution My observation on Monoprice: Unreliable vendor. Long wait time, customer service not helpful. Never doing business again with Monoprice

Desired Settlement: If ordered item is not in stock, send me 2 x Product ID: XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/02/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Monoprice Tech Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@monoprice.com We apologize for the issues you have experienced. We have refunded you for the item you did not receive and we will ship you the missing piece free of charge. Thank you for your time and patience with this issue. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you ******. *********** Monoprice Technical Support Supervisor.

1/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They advertise that their TV mount fits any type of wall including wood stud. But it doesn't fit mine.And the business refuse to pay for return label. They advertise that their TV mount fits any type of wall including wood stud. My house was newly built this year(XXXX). The studs have a distance of 24 inches, and it turns out their TV mount can NOT be mounted on my wall since it only works with 16 inches or less studs distance. But the business refuse to pay for return label.

Desired Settlement: I want a return label for free. And they refund all my money.

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchase 161 units of tv mount from Monoprice, and all these TV wall mount has installation issue. but Monoprice on line reject for refund. The reason for return which is belong to Hotel customer would like to install cable tv box on back of TV, and this low profile tv wall mount will against the wall, it does not fit at all. My order number was Order#XXXXXXXX, and total amount was $1489.25 Please help me to return all those tv mount to Monoprice for refund. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Please help me to return all those tv mount to Monoprice for refund. Thank you.

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is refusing to issue a refund for defective product Original Order was placed 8/9/15. One of the items was defective (HDMI switch*****). It was returned and a replacement item was sent to me. This process took 2-3 weeks. I used the replacement item for about 3 weeks, and then it began to malfunction in the same manner as the original unit. After several days and numerous emails back and forth with the company, they agreed issue another RMA for a return. They did not tell me they would only give me store credit. It was over a week after they RECEIVED my return and I had not heard from them. I again emailed them inquiring about my refund, and they responded a couple days later saying they would issue store credit. They stated this is due to the return being more than 30 days after the order. I earnestly tried to resolve this by allowing monooprice to send me a replacement product. Had I asked for a refund in the first place, a refund (not store credit) would not have been in question. Unfortunately, the is an obvious design flaw causing the product to be defective, and the replacement item had the same defect, but by going through this process, pushed me out of their 30 day return window. When I asked monoprice for a phone number to speak with them to resolve this, they told me "the returns department can only be reached by email." I also gave them my phone number but they would not call me.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund in the form of check or money order in the amount paid for the original product ($29.19).

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not refund money on defective part and and cannot replace for over a month. Bought a new monitor on 8/27/2015. Had it for 40 days until it broke down. Called company to get replacement and returned product to them. they are now informing me that the product is on back order for another month at which time I asked for my money back. They refused and said they would give me an in store credit. So basically I lost my money.... and will maybe get a monitor whenever they get around to it. I am very unhappy with this company and need a monitor for work. Guess I am out 400.00 as I will have to go purchase one from someone else.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company refuses to honor advertised pricing. On October 17, 2015, I attempted to place an order using a promotion code which promised free shipping plus 10 percent off orders. The coupon code applied only the 10% off and not the free shipping. I attempted to use live chat to correct the issue and there were no representatives available. I attempted to call and the business was closed. As such, I emailed ******* ******, one of the business' customer support representatives. In my two emails to him, I appended screenshots showing that the coupon was applied to my cart but that it failed to remove shipping costs. The included screenshots also showed that live chat was unavailable. I additionally provided a screen shot, after having logged in, that wrongly indicated that my member discount (from the quantity of purchases I've made with the company) "offers better pricing than the promotion." Even with the promotion applied only such that it reduced the posted pricing by 10% but did not reduce the shipping cost as advertised, this was incorrect (and screenshots were providing evidencing this). As I did not hear back from ******* in response to my timely sent emails, after having waited four days for a response, I got in touch with Wendy ******. I forwarded Ms. ****** the two emails sent to ******* four days earlier. Ms. ****** advised that the promotion was no longer active and that, despite the coupon failing to provide the advertised discount due to no fault of my own and despite my having sent her screenshots of my attempts to live chat while the coupon was active coupled with my emails sent regarding the issue while the coupon was active as well as my having called and been unable to reach anyone while the coupon was active (because the business was then closed), she indicated that she would not apply the advertised promotion. I advised this was a poor business decision and it amounts to false advertising and that I would be filing a complaint with the local BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to explain why it would not honor advertised pricing. I would like an explanation as to why, when logged in, the system wrongly advises that my member discount (from having purchased sufficient volume to qualify for discounted rate) offers better pricing than an entered promotion code when it does not. I would like an explanation as to why I never received so much as the courtesy of a reply to my timely sent emails. I would like an explanation as to whether the company believes that the initial lack of response and/or the refusal to honor an advertised promotion is appropriate.

11/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Graphic Tablet and it does not work. I purchased a Monoprice Graphic Tablet and once it received it is does not work. I followed the directions about Tech Help and Chat online, however, they did not work as well. I want my money back and sent them their Tablet but do not know how to return the Tablet.

Desired Settlement: Let me know how to return the Tablet and Refund all of my money, I do not want to pay for Shipping the Tablet back becuse no one help to resolve my issues.

8/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order Number : XXXXXXXX PIDProduct NameWrite1419S/PDIF (Toslink) Digital Optical Audio Cable, 6ft ************************************************e, 30ft Black Good afternoon, Today is August 10th, and I still haven't heard back from the follow up with UPS and Monoprice about either refunding my money or sending the order to another address. I have been in this place for only one month and i would like to have the order refunded or shipped to another address because I no longer feel my items would be safe shipped to a town house where the neighbors are so close. I have followed the instructions give to me to notify all parties involved and I haven't heard anything back.If they are going to reship the items, I would like for them to go to a home where I know my stuff would be safe********************** XXXXXor my Job:****** ****** ( IT DEPTA)1900 Airport RoadMonroe, NC XXXXXany questions or concerns,please notify me immediately.Thank youRespectfully,****** Product_Or_Service: 1419 S/PDIF (Toslink) Digital Optical Audio Cable, Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Delivery either a refund or my items re-shippedto the following address:*********************** XXXXXor my work*********************************

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/08/14) */

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monoprice.com billed me twice for the same single order. I have been asking for a refund for over six weeks and countless emails. I ordered HDMI cables from Monoprice.com on June 6, 2015. I was billed twice for the same order of $51.28 (order number XXXXXXXX). When I discovered the double charge, I emailed Monoproce.com on June 12, 2015. Since this date, I have been emailing back and forth with employee(s) ******* ***** and ****** ****. They apologize in their emails and say that there was a change in management and it will be resolved in a few days. Well, the few days come and go and still no resolve. This has been going on for over a month. I am seeking your help in resolving this issue. I have never been given the run-around like I have received with this company.

Desired Settlement: My request is simple...Please refund my $51.28 that you double charged me.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/07/16) */ I received the below email after I notified Monoprice of my complaint with your agency; Dear *********, I received confirmation from accounting today that the duplicate payment has been refunded, and will be credited to your account within 3-5 business days. Again, I am very sorry the delay with getting this processed for you. Have a wonderful rest of the day. The following Customer(s) have been CC'ed: Ticket Information: Ticket #: XXXXX-XXXXX Date Created: 6/11/XXXX XX:XX AM PDT Regards, Aubrey Beck Customer Service Associate Customer Service www.monoprice.com support.monoprice.com

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased speakers, I am very dis-satisfied, they say not they are not defective, I say they are, Momoprice will not pay return shipping charges. I recently purchased on(02/22/2015 order# XXXXXXXX) a pair of indoor/outdoor speakers. After I received them I installed them on my patio, to my dismay, they sounded terrible, absolutely no bass response what so ever. I called Monoprice right away and they kept asking me what the problem was, I told them I was dis-satisfied, I did not tell them on my first call the speakers were defective. This is why I am writing you guys. "Defective" is in the eye of the consumer. They are "defective" in my eyes. I feel Monoprice is playing a game with loyal customers like myself. The are making me pay the shipping on returning these inferior speakers. That is not right. They owe me a refund on my Visa card of $57 plus tax which I have not recieved to date. I just spent $18 to mail these back to them. They did give me an RMA# XXXXXXXXX. I don't think they have received my UPS return shipment. With that said, the $18 shipping charge is what upsets me and the way they handled my return. This is more a matter of principle with me than the money. When I say they are playing games, what I mean is this...If I would have specifically said....I believe one or both of these speakers is defective...they would have paid the shipping. They have lost a loyal customer over this return! I respectfully request your organization let them know hard working people like myself are not going to put up with their return policy. Thanks for your help in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Well, I am fully expecting a credit on my Visa card of the $57 plus tax. Right now, I am out the $18 I just spent at the UPS store to send these "defective " speakers back to Monoprice. So....assuming they credit my card for these speakers....I would like a $18 refund of the shipping.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/13) */ The item in question wasn't defective, therefore the return shipping cost will have to be incurred by the customer in this case as is standard practice within many if not all eCommerce retailers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason I don't accept the response from the business is simple, they are saying the product was not defective, I am saying it was. As the consumer, I thought these speakers were inferior, I was not happy with them, therefore, "defective" is in the eye of the beholder or consumer in this case....me. Also, How do they know whether they are defective or not, they have not looked at them! I think one of the speakers could have an issue with the bass speaker. I am not sure about this...but....how can they say they are not defective. Do I make my point! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unreal....they are saying see previous reply. They can see my previous reply. I am never going to buy another thing from them. This is ridiculus. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/17) */ Please see previous reply.

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monoprice has failed to delivered my product and provide appropriate customer service to resolve the issue on 2/26 evening i place an oreder with monoprice (#XXXXXXXX) and paid extra for next business day delivery so i expected to have my items no later than 3/2/15, on 3/3/15 i called to check the status on my order they claimed to have delivered items and had proof of it. I explain the customer service rep that no items were delivered at my house but she kept insisting items were delivered and they needed to open an investigation with company that "delivered" the package, and they will call me back on 3/6/15 to see if they will reimbursement or send a replacement. But my request was the resolve the issue during the call so finally after 30 minutes on the phone, explaining i needed the items on 3/4/15 for a project, the representative escalated the issue to her manager which agreed to replace items and have same day delivery which never happened. The lack of their customer service and deliver has cost me extra expense to delivered my items for a project and put me behind scheduled on such project.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back as Monoprice has failed to deliver items on time (not first time i buy at Monoprice)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/05) */ Customer did place an order with us on 2/26/15. According to delivery company (via Picture proof of package in front of customers door) package was delivered on 3/2/15 at 12:56 PM. Customer verified front door in picture as being his, however, stated he didn't get the package. We did agree to issue a replacement order for him and have it shipped same day for delivery. Unfortunately, an unforeseen system error on our end caused the package not be be shipped and we are at fault for that. We are happy to issue him a refund on the order, however, we will need the items back as his replacement order has already been shipped out today 3/5/15.

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned the defective item them after I have recieved their RMA. No refund or exchange has been made on their part. On 7/8/14 in placed an order, (order# XXXXXXXX), for 2 iphone/ipad chargers(product ID XXXXX). Both chargers stopped working within 2 weeks. I contacted Monoprice . They issued me RMA#: RMAXXXXXXXXX so that I can send my items back to them for an exchange. They recieved my items a couple of days later in August. I waited for for 2 months for my new items to arrive and still nothing has been shipped from Monoprice. They never emailed or called me about any issues they were having with their item being out of stock. I only found that out because I emailed them. I offered for them to replace my product with another product that they have in stock. This is the same product, same price, just different product ID. My latest email on 10/27/14 has gone unanswered. I am still without a replacement product or refund.

Desired Settlement: i was only asking for an exchange of the defective item but now i want a full refund. i do not want to give them my business any longer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2015/01/16) */ Our records show that the customer did reach out to us and we responded to him on 10/26/2014 stating "Dear Customer, Unfortunately that item has a different PID. I show that PID XXXXX has a ETA for 10/30/14. If we do not receive them at the of the week we may issue you PID XXXXX as an courtesy replacement with similar. Should you have any question, please email at *******@monoprice.com Thank you so much for doing business with us." The customer then did reply back in which there was no response issued to him. Then on 11/4/2014 we did ship out the replacement cables. There is delivery confirmation as well as a photo of the drop off available if the customer would like to confirm. We did not hear back from the customer since. If the customer is stating he did not receive the package (could have been stolen) we would be more than happy to issue the refund to this customer as a courtesy. Just have them contact us through phone or email and ask to speak to a supervisor.

12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order was placed and debit card was billed but order was cancelled and product shipped. I placed an order on 12-3 for a Graphic Drawing Tablet-( I have copied the following from my account at monoprice.com- placed on 12/3/2014 6:01:21 PM Paid by Credit Card with XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX ). I received email confirmation that I placed the order and that they were waiting on payment. I received multiple emails stating they were waiting on payment and my bank account (because I used a debit card) showed it was pending. I replied back by email and told them my account showed pending and they said they would verify with their account reps that they received it. Never heard anything back. Called them on 12-4 to find out status of order and was told again no payment received, gave the rep my card number to look into it and was told I would receive a call back. On monday Dec 8, still no call back and my bank account shows this payment went through on 12-5-14. I called Monoprice again and spoke with a rep who says they checked with their "account reps" and they have no payment and they cancelled my order. They basically told me that my only choice was to dispute it with my bank. I called my bank and was told this would take up to 180 days. I was basically blown off by Monoprice and even offered to send in proof of payment. Now this Christmas present that I purchased is out and Im out 35 dollars.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the amount of payment that was already sent in 35.99 or to have the product that I purchased sent to me since I have already purchased it, or both refund and product sent to me for the inconvenience of everything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ After researching this issue with my IT department, we found that there was a glitch that caused the payment to not show. We have since fixed that issue and this customers money has been refunded back to her credit card.

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to acknowledge and to address continuous delivery issues My first order that was delayed for 3 days (#XXXXXXXX) was resolved satisfactory even though not as I have requested. Instead of expediting my next order as I asked Monoprice I was offered $10 store credit which I accepted. My next order (#XXXXXXXX) was also delayed and rescheduled by UPS just as previous, and UPS again issued a credit to the shipper (Monoprice). This time Monoprice instead have responded negatively and offered no solution to me but rather contradicting the UPS delivery policy Monoprice service person (no name was given unfortunately) questioned whether my order was delayed at the first place. After repeated attempts to address it directly with Monoprice I have received no response. My third order (#XXXXXXXX) again just as previous two was delayed and rescheduled to unknown delivery date as of 10/28/14 (As stated by UPS tracking info: “Scheduled delivery information is not available at this time. Please check back later”). Since no one has responded to my last complaint sent on Friday 10/24/14 (please see the attachment) it becomes clear that my complaint has been ignored, hence no resolution has been offered. Evidently, because the previous failures to deliver my orders were ignored by Monoprice and nothing has been done to prevent it from taking place again in the future every single one of my orders has been delayed and rescheduled! Including the one I’m still waiting on. Unfortunately Monoprice has proven to be uninterested to address these continuous delivery issues and instead in response to my early complaint representative used poor reasoning and wrong business day counting (contradicting UPS delivery timing). Since Monoprice policy prevents customers to review their service related issues directly I would have no other choice as to bring it to Better Business Bureau for public review. Since the same problems with deliveries from Monoprice were brought up and reviewed by Better Business Bureau in the past I'm inclined to believe that this incident is not a unique occurrence. But, I also see that Monoprice is rated A+ for finding a resolution to all of the previous complaints regarding deliveries. As of right now unfortunately I would not be able to add my voice to it. Instead - inconsistent service, poor reasoning and business day counting were offered by the company as a solution to my complaints and not the compensation.

Desired Settlement: The fact that Monoprice would not acknowledge that they clearly have failed to deliver ALL of my orders as promised and instead used vague and poor reasoning regarding their delivery policies, refused to issue a compensation that they have received from UPS according to the UPS delivery commitment policy, failed to escalate my complaints to their supervisor nor to respond at all after this has became a pattern with my shipments - is a major service issue that they need to take full responsibility for and issue a just compensation as they have done it with the other customers reviewed publicly here. It is very unfortunate that this business would not deal with the customer directly but instead only accepted their responsibility when reviewed by Bureau publicly. If that is the way they prefer doing their business than maybe A+ rating is not reflecting this company accurately. I hope this will get proper attention this time and Monoprice will review their way of handling their service failures.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear *****, All of my orders that were delayed and rescheduled are listed in my original complaint. As well as my correspondence with the company (also showing how their responses were varied and inconsistent - initially stating that my order WAS delivered on time, later changing it to "we do not guarantee delivery as scheduled" and so on...) that was left unanswered. Also my direct communication with UPS and how they were issuing a credit each time for each delayed order. Business's response however addressed only one of them - the first one. Yes, it is true that Monoprice shipped all orders the day they promised and delivery failure was with UPS. However, UPS did acknowledged it immediately and issued a compensation on each occasion but Monoprice would NOT acknowledge it stating instead that 3 to 5 business days service can be 6,7 or more and they do not guarantee delivery as scheduled by tracking info. Also, UPS was not able to expedite my next order as I requested but they did issue a credit to Monoprice so that seller could do so (which they never did). Hence I was not able to address this repeated issue directly with UPS and had to go through Monoprice. And since it was happening over and over again I had to go back to Monoproce each time UPS would apologize and issue a shipping credit to them. It is incorrect that I have stated that I had issues with UPS deliveries before or outside of my deliveries from Monoprice. I have never said that. Additionally, UPS was always admitting to their delivery failures and issuing a credit each time to Monoprice so that seller could expedite my next order. UPS had no relationship with me as a customer, as they've stated each time, and were unable to work with me directly. Yes, I have requested to have my next order expedited as stated, but it was on more than one occasion since multiple orders were delayed. Each time Monoprice have chosen not to do so even though I had multiple orders placed with them. Hence, if it was already too late for the order they mentioned above it was still definitively not too late for the other orders that were not shipped yet. It is clear that each time UPS had issued a customer credit to the seller so that seller could expedite my next order at no cost, Monoprice instead would refuse to pass ** along to the customer (each time changing a reason why) except only the first time when they offered a $10 store credit instead. That is why this complaint is addressing service and shipping experience provided by Monorpice and not by UPS. And that is why their response does not address the original complaint. Thank you for your time and assistance, **** ******. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/12/04) */ The customer contacted one of the managers here and stated they had previous delivery issues with UPS. UPS in fact did reimburse us for the shipping that we paid. Customer did not paid for shipping which is why we were unable to process a refund. On one of the orders we did offer a $10 credit as a courtesy, but we are unable to process any additional credits since the customer received free shipping on all of the orders. The customer was asking us to expedite the orders that had already been processed which we are unable to do. Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear *****, Please note that all my communications with Monoprice's staff were submitted for public review with my original claim (in separate attachment). As you can see their statements regarding me having problems with UPS before or outside of my purchases form Monoprice are inaccurate. It is also simply irrelevant to the nature of this complaint (even if it was true). Also, unfortunately in reality I was actually not able to speak with the manager as I did in fact request to (which is stated in my electronic correspondence with the business's customer service rep). After I asked to have a Supervisor contact me directly some unnamed person responded and left my request unanswered and unresolved (Please refer to the transcript of our email conversation). It is very unfortunate that after more than 5 weeks of waiting for Monoprice to respond to this complaint their response didn't offer any resolution nor shown any interest in bettering this service experience. Instead vague reasoning and repeated references to some incorrect information were offered as possible justification for this customer experience. Unfortunately my original statement as submitted to your attention in October still stand true: "The fact that Monoprice would not acknowledge that they clearly have failed to deliver ALL of my orders as promised and instead used vague and poor reasoning regarding their delivery policies, refused to issue a compensation that they have received from UPS according to the UPS delivery commitment policy, failed to escalate my complaints to their supervisor nor to respond at all after this has became a pattern with my shipments - is a major service issue that they need to take full responsibility for". Thank you for your time and assistance in resolving this matter and for bringing this up to public attention, **** ******.

5/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: X-BOX One and PS4 games consoles advertised at 100% off. Special for Mother's Day. On Monday, 5 May 2014, I viewed an ad that was sent to my email address (************@gmail.com) for an X Box One and PS4 game console for 100% off lists prices of $499.99 and $399.99 on the website, "www.monoprice.com" . I elected to chat with an online customer service rep from Monoprice, ****** and my inquiry was forwarded to Wade Best for adjudication. However, ***** offered an additional 25% off the list prices of $499.99 and $399.99. I refused and was offered the same discount from Wade. When an errors occurs it is the responsibility of seller and not the purchaser. Monoprice has failed to honor its pricing. They have instead acknowledged the error and tried to resolve without understand their liability. Monoprice published the price and is responsible to honor any customer orders as they would for all of their products.

Desired Settlement: I want the advertised price for both units as posted in the online advertisment. I copied and saved the online ad, as well as the texts from the online chat with ***** for proof. *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ ***** ******* contacted our company via chat at 7:33am PST in regards to the pricing of the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 consoles. Our marketing department had incorrectly listed the price of each console at $0.00 on the landing page for our Mother's Day sale, however, the price was correctly reflected on the product page which is where the customer is directed to in order to make the purchase. We explained to Mr. ******* what had occurred and the landing page was removed while it was being corrected. As a courtesy we offered the customer a 25% discount on the console due to what occurred. Customer declined and demanded to receive both items for free which we advised him unfortunately was not an option. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Monoprice needs to accept the consequences of their error. This pricing "error" ran as a special ad for more than an hour. Monoprice must honor their pricing offer. I have screen shots of the ad which lists the special discount as 100% plus shipping and no more than 10 units of each item can be ordered. When pricing discrepancies occur the customer is always given the lower price. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/07) */ We are sorry that the incorrect price was listed for the Xbox One and for the PlayStation 4 consoles on the landing page for the Mother's Day sale, however, the correct price was listed on the product page. We have a disclosure on the landing page on our website that states the following "Not responsible for typographical errors" which was communicated to Mr. *******. As a compromise we are willing to offer 25% off of the consoles but we will not be offering them for free.

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a product on 12/6/13 it is now 12/18/13 and I still have not received my product or refund. I purchased a wall mount for $44 including tax and shipping on 12/6/13. The order number is XXXXXXX. When I didn't receive the package on the 12/9/13 I called back and spoke to a ******** ******* rep. They told me they would look into it and give me a call back the next day. I never got a call back. I called the company back yesterday and got a message stating, "We are having our annual holiday party today from 11am-2:30pm and no one will be available to take your call, we are very sorry for any inconvience this may have caused, and thank you for your support." What sort of business is this? Any who I decided to chat with a person live. That person happens to be ****** ****. She processed a replacement order on 12/17/13. I got a confirmation email. Then later I get another email form ****** and it states: ****** **** To Me Dec 17 at 3:02 PM Dear ***** ********, I hope your day is going well. We spoke regarding your order. I received a call back from Norco Overnite. The representative stated that the original order was delivered to you today, and signed for by *****. Please confirm if you have received this. Thank you. Have a wonderful day. Regards, ****** **** Customer Service Associate Monoprice, Inc. (http://www.monoprice.com) 11701 6th St, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730, USA How is it that they delivered my package to a woman by the name of *****? I would also like to include Norco Overnight in this complaint. Anyway it is now 12/18/13 a full 12 days after I placed my order and yet still NO refund and NO package. I would like to know who is running this joke of a business and make them aware of their incompetent employees and business practices.

Desired Settlement: Just refund the money I paid for the product. Order #XXXXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/19) */ We were contacted by Mr. ******** on 12/9/13 in regards to his order not being received. We started a claim with the carrier to locate the order. The carrier stated the order had not been delivered due to a gate code being required. he gate code was then provided to the carrier. Unfortunately, we did not follow up with Mr. ******** so we were unaware that the order was not delivered even after the gate code was provided. This was addressed with the representative to ensure it does not happen again. Mr. ******** contacted us again on 12/17/13 and a replacement was processed for the order. The replacement order was delivered on 12/19/13. A full refund for the order was issued on 12/19/13 due to what occurred and Mr. ******** was advised to keep the replacement order at no charge. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did receive the wall mount I ordered today 12/19/13 (finally). A representative from Monoprice.com did contact me and told me they would be issuing a refund and that I can keep the wall mount as well. That was very nice of her. She certainly did her best to please her customer. And as well she did. The real issue here was the original customer service rep that never followed up with me. Had she followed up this never would have happened. I would like to think this was an isolated incident and this will help improve their customer service and training methods.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Monoprice, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart