BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 12/14/1995 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phil Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Smith, President
Business Category

Collection Systems Collection Agencies


Additional Locations

  • 8598 Utica Ave., Suite 200

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730 (909) 373-2010 (800) 500-4345

  • PO Box 2309

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91729

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This agency is illegally try to collect money from me for my ex wife, who is the creditor. The debt was added to my credit report without validation. My ex wife and I signed a written agreement on September 1, 2011, for me to pay her $50 per month toward attorney fees that she was awarded in our child support case several years ago. There was never a judgement on said fees, just that I must pay and in 2010 the judge said I needed to make an agreement with *********** ******* my ex wife. *********** ********** creditor and my ex wife) and I agreed for me to pay $8,000 with the fist payment due by the end of September 2011 payable directly to her. Since then, I have paid her every month either by money order or ******* *****. On August 19, 2014, we amended the agreement for me to pay $100 per month with the first payment being paid in September 2013 and continuing forward from there. Ms. ****** has received and cashed every payment. In September 2014, I didn't make the payment, but I did let *********** ****** know that I would make the $100 payment for September with October 2014's payment. On October 20, 2014, **** ***** from Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. called me and stated who he was and that he was attemping to collect a debt for ************ ******. I explained to him that she was my ex wife and we had a written agreement in place regarding the same thing that he was trying to collect. On October 21, 2014, I sent a $200.00 payment for September & October 2014 to *********** ****** and she refused it. She sent me an email telling me to go back to ******* ***** and resend it to Creative Collection Concepts, Inc, but I didn't. At that point I didn't have an agreement to pay them anything. I sent a letter out on November 3, 2014 disputing their collection of this debt asking for: Proof that Creative Recovery Concepts owns or has been assigned the debt by the original creditor(my ex wife) A copy of the original Legal contract that I signed with the creditor(my ex wife) Documentation from the original creditor(my ex wife)which shows that I owe the debt. To this date I have not received validation of this debt. On November 24, 2014, I sent a letter stating that I didn't appreciate their business practice of calling me and threatening me about going to jail for not filing my taxes, or garnishing my wages for not making an agreement with them. Also, that Mr. ***** did not have the legal right to discuss my taxes or my child support arrears debt with me, as they are none of his business. I mentioned that none of those issues were mentioned in this matter. As of January 27, 2014, the principal owed is $4,199.00, but Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. is charging me $1,990.00 in interest since October 14, 2014. The total balance that they are demanding is $6,189.00. I have copies of all documents regarding this complaint. Thank you ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I want proof that this collection agency has the legal right to try and collect money from me, charge me $1,990 in interest as of January 27, 2015 and place this account on my credit report. I want the unreasonable interest stopped and it removed from my credit report immediately. Thank You

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/03/13) */ The complaint filed by *** ******* Sr. is fundamentally incorrect on many levels. Creative Recovery Concepts Inc. did not "illegally try to collect money" from Mr. *******. Furthermore, we did not charge Mr. ******* $1,990.00 in interest. On 10/14/14 our office was contracted by Mr. *******'s ex wife to collect a debt owed by *** ******* for attorney's fees owed to his ex wife. His ex wife assigned us a principal balance due of $5,963.00. We have added interest at the rate of 10% per annum as per California Civil Code 3289(b) which totals $301.29 as of today's date, 03/13/15. We have attempted many times to get Mr. ******* to pay the debt but as of today we have yet to receive any payments from him. He has also moved out of state to ***** ********. Based on the fact that we were unable to collect any payments from him and that he has now moved out of state, we have cancelled the account back to the original creditor. Also, as is protocol with all cancelled accounts, we have deleted the collection account from all credit reporting agencies. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 19, 2015/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will only accept this resolution if Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. sends me a certified letter and an email that they have cancelled the entire account and proof that they have deleted & removed their trade-line from any and all credit reporting agencies and the effective date of doing so. Aside from that, I would like to clarify that my family and I moved from California to ***** ******** before I ever knew about Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. and before I filed my complaint with the BBB. I uploaded the original letter that I received from Creative Recovery Concept, Inc. on 10/23/14 stating that the Principal Balance was $4,199.00 and the interest is $1,804.99 and that letter was written on 10/21/14! I have that letter! As noted on my ******** credit report on January 27, 2015 the Principal Balance was still $4,199, but the interest amount had increased to $1,990.00, for a total balance of $6,189.00 as I reported to the BBB, so Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. reply on 3/13/15 is an outright misrepresentation of the facts according to my original complaint and to the original debt collection letter that I received from their office stating the amount owed and the interest charged. It is really bad business practice to knowingly lie about amounts that a collection business is charging someone when the person has a letter from the company proving otherwise and that should be considered when giving said company a good solid review for other consumer's. Furthermore, *********** ****** and I both signed a written legal agreement that had been in effect since September of 2011 and I had been paying her every month since then except I missed the September 2014 payment, so yes, I believed that they were illegally trying to collect money from me and they never proved to me that they could legally collect a debt from me as a resident in the state of ***** ********. I asked for validation of what they were trying to collect on, a written explanation of charges and interest that I was and am legally entitled to and never received anything from them. The fact that Creative Recovery Concepts stated that they have attempted many times since October 2014 to collect from me is just false. On February 9, 2015, I spoke to **** **** and reminded him that I disputed this debt back on November 3, 2014 and they had no legal right to put this on my credit report. At that time also I again requested the information about the case that I was legally entitled to. After that call, I received an email that night from **** ***** stating that per our converstaion today as agreed once I remove the complaint with the BBB we will remove our trade-line from your credit report. Problem is that I spoke to **** **** not **** ***** and never agreed to anything! Since then, I have repeatedly called to speak to **** **** or **** ***** and no one has ever returned my calls yet they were demanding money. Thank you, ****** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 30, 2015/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I do not accept Mr. **** J. *****'s account of his company's abusive, deceptive and unfair collection practices against me! Mr. ***** and his company Creative Recovery Concept's Inc. have made deceptive, false and misleading statements in regards to me and I have given proof in the form of their letters to have their BBB rating lowered, so that future consumers can BEWARE! First of all, this is NOT a judgement for their agency to collect and has nothing to do with child support and is absolutely immoral to defame me in his reply by stating that I owe $100,000.00 in back child support when it is none of his business and has nothing to do with this issue! This company illegally pursued me repeatedly, but ignored my attempts to get information that I was and still am legally entitled to and only decided to cancel my account when I filed a BBB complaint on 1/27/2015 and questioned their right to: 1. Collect from me when I resided in another state. 2. Their right to add a tradeline to my credit report on the very day that they received the assigned amount, which Mr. ***** states as being 10/14/15! I previously submitted the first notice that this company sent via U.S. mail on 10/14/14 to the BBB that states: Principal-$4,199.00 Interest -$1,796.94 Total Due-$5,995.94 I also submitted a second notice that this company sent via U.S. mail on 10/21/14 to the BBB that states: Principal-$4,199.00 Interest- $1,804.99 Total Due-$6,003.99 Now, these amounts do not correspond with Mr. *****'s amounts in his reply that his company did not add interest to this debt, but I have proof in the form of these letters stating that is a blantent lie and very unethical on their part! IF I WAS DEEMED A POOR CO**ECTION ACCOUNT AS MR. ***** STATES, THAN WHY DID THEY PURSUE ME TO BEGIN WITH AND FORCE ME TO FI*E A COMP*AINT DUE TO UNETHICA* PRACTICES? I am demanding a letter from Mr. ***** at Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc. that my account was cancelled and the date that that cancellation took affect along with a statement that their tradeline was removed and when as I will need this letter to prove in court. Furthermore, I was legally entitled to all of the documents that the creditor, *********** ****** provided Creative Recovery on 10/14/14 to this agency. They claim that they have cancelled my account, but I am also demanding a copy of all of those documents be sent to me immediately: *** ****** **** Ct., ** ******, ***** ******** XXXXX When I receive this letter and all documents, I will then agree to end the BBB complaint against this company. Thank you for your help in assisting me in getting this resolved and allowing me to fight for my legal rights against any company that pursues unfair collection practices against consumers. ****** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2015/07/06) */ Dear Ms. *******, As I stated to you on the phone today, I am getting tired of having to respond to this debtor's bogus complaints about our company. However, in an effort to appease your office's request, here is my final response to Mr. *******: Our office was assigned a debt to collect against ****** ******* that was owed to his ex wife, *********** ******. The original assigned amount was what we believed to be $4199.00. We entered that amount into our system as a new account on 10/14/14 and then sent an Acknowledgment of the account to Ms. ****** on the same date. Ms. ****** then contacted our office by phone on 10/21/14 and informed us that the correct balance due should be $5963.00, not $4199.00. She then sent us an email on the same date stating the balance due on this judgment is $5963.00. Therefore, we adjusted/increased the "assigned amount" from $4199.00 to $5963.00. This additional amount of $1764.00 was NOT interest added to the debt by our company as ****** ******* states in his complaint against us. That would be usurious on our part which is not a practice of our company. Mr. ******* is simply wrong and doesn't have his fact straight. We decided to cancel the account back to the original creditor on 03/13/15. This decision was made based on a few factors. First, Mr. ******* had moved out of California and we only collect on debts in the state of California. Second, Mr. ******* was determined to be "judgment proof" by our office. What that means is that we believe he has more debts than assets and is a poor collection candidate. From the information we saw, he owed over $100,000.00 in back child support. The final reason we decided to cancel was because Mr. ******* had made this dispute with the BBB. To be quite honest it was just easier to cancel the debt than to have to deal with any more of his false accusations. When we cancelled the account we also notified the credit bureau to delete our tradeline from Mr. *******'s credit history. Therefore, I see no reason to respond any further to any possible future disputes from Mr. *******. He no longer has an account with our office and we have deleted our name from his credit history. Our dealings with this individual are done. If he wants a letter stating we have cancelled his account, please provide him with a copy of this email. That should certainly suffice. If he would like proof that we are no longer on his credit, he can request a copy of his credit history and he will see we are not listed as one of his creditors. Thank you again for your help in resolving this matter. I trust this will be the last time we will have to respond to any more of his disputes. Kind regards, **** J. ***** President Creative Recovery Concepts Inc. 8598 Utica Ave., Suite 200 Rancho Cucamonga, CA XXXXX Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Creative Recovery Concepts, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)