BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/1996

Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino

Phone: (559) 924-7751Fax: (559) 924-7526View Additional Phone Numbers17225 Jersey Ave, LemooreCA 93245-9760

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/1996

BBB has determined that Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Charged $250.00 for smoking in a non smoking room. Did not smoke in room. Smoked in hallway, which had ashtrays, and was not posted.
When we checked in, we asked for a smoking room, and were advised that they did not have smoking rooms as of April, 2014. Nothing was mentioned about the entire hotel side, being non-smoking. We smoked in the hallway, as there were (2) ash-trays, and not posted "No Smoking". we were told there was evidence in our room, empty cigarette packs in the trash can, and a smell of smoke. The empty packages were from consolidating our packs into single packs, prior to going onto the casing floor. There was no more smell of smoke in the room, than when we arrived. They were basing their decision primarily on the empty packaging. I called them to rectify the situation, and was told all I could do was dispute the charge with my bankcard issuer, which I will.

Desired Settlement
Credit the $250.00 back to my bank account.

Business Response

Dear Mr. *****,

First let me thank you for choosing the Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino as your choice for gaming entertainment. I wish your stay with us could have ended in better terms and I sincerely hope you return to our hotel in the future. You are correct that throughout our non-smoking Hotel including the lobby areas and elevator landings on each floor there are decorative ash trays that function as trash cans. Please note that these are meant for decoration and have been meant for such since the opening of the hotel. To avoid confusion we do post non smoking signs above these decorative ash trays as well as posting a sign on each floor that designate the floor as non-smoking. You are also correct that we post additional signs at each individual room door with a non smoking logo on it. We do post multiple signs in hopes that it is understood that the entire hotel is non-smoking. For the benefit of all guests, we would never allow smoking in hallways on floors of non-smoking rooms. In fact, all public areas within the hotel have always been designated as non-smoking with the exception of the outdoor balcony on the 2nd floor and inside the Wet Bar area adjacent to the Hotel Lobby.

With your particular claim we did look into the report that was filed by the Supervisor who signed off on the charges. Please know that before determining we charge any guest for the room being smoked in, that a smoke smell has to be reported by not only the maid that cleans your room after check out but also by the inspector assigned to that floor and ultimately a supervisor of our Housekeeping department. The supervisor verifies also report the severity of the smoke smell in the room. They do not report on the public areas but within the room itself. Unfortunately, we were unable to assist in your request to refund your funds because the report did state that a "heavy smoke smell" was in the room. Please know that extra cleaning, shampooing, and use of our ozone machine are just some of the requirements we must meet before we are able to rent a smoked room out to the next guest. A clear outline of our $250 charge for smoking within the hotel is also provided on the registration card that is signed at check in. After reviewing the reports associated with the case we were not able to complete the refund but did inform you of an option to dispute the issue with your credit card company. We did this so that we could present the option of having a third party review the case and help to make an informed decision based on both your statement and our reports. We do apologize that our conclusion did not meet the outcome that you had hoped for but hope that we displayed the due diligence to research and address your situation in a fair manner. We also hope that despite this situation that your stay was enjoyable and you will visit us again in the future. if there is anything else I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have, as you mentioned, also disputed the charge with my bank. As for your "postings" near the ash trays in the elevator waiting area, every hotel has them, whether smoking or non-smoking, as the fire marshal requires that there be no smoking in the elevators. There are signs on the room doors, with no smoking emblems. Putting ashtrays in non-smoking areas, is like to putting urinals in non urinating areas. As for the stated strong smell of smoke in the room, that is subject to opinion, as we sensed the slight smell of smoke when we checked in. Your "supervisor", whom I also spoke with on the phone, explained to me, that their decision was partially based on empty cigarette packages in the trash can, and that the ash / trash cans in the hallways were for the convenience of guests who may have a cigarette while in that area?? If my bank does pay the charge, well then, I guess Tachi needs it more than I, however, the $2500.00 I spent there in the 24 hours we were there, will never happen as your establishment again. You people need to clear up your policies, and remember, appearance is key to policy. Get rid of the ashtrays, and install urinals!

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was burglarized and a gift certificate that had been purchased for me at this location was stolen. I have the original receipts for purchase.
I contacted the company to request that a gift receipt that was purchased be canceled because my purse was stolen. I visited they're website and reviewed brochure to read their return, lost or stolen policy and nothing was posted. After speaking with the manager and confirming that the serial numbers on the gift certificate could be traced directly to my purchase, which I had the original receipt for, I was told that gift certificates were treated like cash. The company refused to allow me the serviced I paid for and also refused to issue a refund for a $210 purchase.

Desired Settlement
I just would like for the company to void a gift certificate that is traceable.

Business Response
This case was forwarded to me. We have refunded and reissued gift certificates on NUMEROUS occasions. It is a simple procedure, unless the gift certificate has been redeemed by whomever stole it.

There is not enough information here to investigate this matter. We have many venues where you can purchase and issue a gift certificate and I would need to know what type of gift certificate it is and the number on the certificate in order to look into the matter and get the guest a resolution.

Please contact the guest with these questions and we can move forward.

*** ** ***** CPCE, CWEP, CWED
Guest Satisfaction Coordinator

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/11/1993Business started: 01/01/1994
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Montoya (Advertising Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Genevieve Cu (Hotel Operations)Mr. Daniel Grimsby (Food and Beverage Operations Manager)Ms. Amy Tagle (Accounts Payable Supervisor)
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Santa Rosa Rancheria Tachi Tribe
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino

17225 Jersey Ave

Lemoore, CA 93245-9760

To | From


1 Locations

  • 17225 Jersey Ave 

    Lemoore, CA 93245-9760(559) 924-7751
    (866) 472-5223
    (559) 924-7751
    Fax: (559) 924-7526
    Fax: (559) 924-7526
    Fax: (559) 924-7526

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tachi Palace Hotel & Casino is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (559) 924-7751
  • (866) 472-5223

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Casinos


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.