BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2011

Candy Crate, Inc.

Phone: (760) 949-0467Fax: (760) 949-764712520 Business Center Dr STE D, VictorvilleCA 92395-4722

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2011

BBB has determined that Candy Crate, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Candy Crate, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Candy Crate, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Candy Crate sold me unedible old candy.
On July 8, 2014 via their online web site, I purchased candy that was old and unedible. They told me after I requested a refund, that was why it was on sale. It was unfit to eat. After requesting the refund, was told that I would need to return it at my own expense. I refuse to return their old candy. They also told me that they would NOT refund any shipping charges in either direction. I have left negative comments at all the web site reviews that I can find, because you cannot leave a negative review on their site, because they remove them. They also have very rude and sarcastic phone attendants. They owe me $42.17 and on top of this, they even shorted the amount that I ordered by 7 packages, so even if they refused to give me a refund, they should have refunded the 7 packages that were not in the original order. They know about this and have yet to make this right.

Desired Settlement
I want all my money back, including shipping. If they want their old candy back, then THEY should pay to get it back.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, COO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX x203
Contact Email: *****@candycrate.com
Please accept our sincerest apologies. Our goal is to provide a sweet and satisfactory experience for all customers. The Peep item purchased was out of season, although not out of date. Per our return policy, we offer a 100% guarantee and any unopened item(s) can be returned for a full refund within 30 days of delivery date. Holiday items, per our policy, are excluded and are typically final sale. Our representative, via e-mail, offered an exception to this policy to accept the items back and stated a full refund would be applied once returned. Unfortunately, since a Paypal dispute was filed we are at the liberty of Paypal's ruling. Paypal's ruling states "we've determined that the buyer should receive a $32.09 USD refund if they ship the merchandise back to you. The buyer is responsible for all shipping and handling costs". Paypal has gained control of your funds and we therefore do not have access to issue any refund at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company CAN contact PAYPAL and issue a refund, IF they wanted to. NO, on the phone call they never offered me a refund. ONLY a refund of the items purchased and no refund of shipping costs. I was not going to ship rotten food back to company, thought it should be their resposiblity. They STILL owe me for 7 packages of candy that was missing in original shipment.!

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service was unwilling to return order
When contacting the company to request to return an order for refund due to not being satisfied with the shipment, the customer service person refused to issue the return. I was told that "SADLY" she was unable to make that transaction. She very sarcastically signed the email "SINCERELY SWEEt", while telling me to shove it. I also received unrequested soliticitations via email from the company which I was unable to unsubscribe to after several tries, emailing the company, and then finally calling the company to resolve. The customer service supervisor also would not process the return request. Then the supervisor hung up on me.

I tried to enter a review on their website, but the reviews are all fake, perfectly positive, and it is not possible to enter an honest review. So the website is falsely advertising reviews, and it is not possible to enter a real one.

Desired Settlement
$50

Business Response
Our service representatives listened intently and tried repeatedly to help resolve this woman's issue. We were more than happy to stand by our guarantee and refund or replace the item but she would not give us an order date, an order number nor tell us what she ordered; or even what was supposedly wrong with the product. Without this necessary information, it was impossible to address her concerns. Yet, she had no problem personally attacking three separate employees with strings of profanity, insults and false accusations about them and the company they worked for.
None of her comments are true or warranted. Her threats and profanity were so cruel, that it eventually escalated to the point that our representative had to end the call, in order to stop the attack. It is sad when an individual that is experiencing difficulties in their life feel the need to take out their aggression and disappointments on innocent people.
Lastly, our reviews are honest and genuine.
In addition, we have won customer service awards from Yahoo and have one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in our industry.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Candy & Confectionery - Retail

Additional Information

top
Business started: 04/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State, California
1315 Van Ness Ave Ste 203
Fresno, CA 93721-1729
(559) 445-6900
http://www.ss.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of C2611095 for this company, issued by Secretary of State, California. Their web address is http://www.ss.ca.gov.

Type: Secretary of State

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2004, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Randi Caporale (Chief Operations Officer)
Business Category

Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Candy & Confectionery - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Candy Candy
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Candy Crate, Inc.

12520 Business Center Dr STE D

Victorville, CA 92395-4722

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12520 Business Center Dr STE D 

    Victorville, CA 92395-4722(760) 949-0467
    Fax: (760) 949-7647

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Candy Crate, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.