This business is not BBB accredited.

Special Promotions Dept Inc.

Phone: (951) 892-7402 420 N McKinley St Ste 111-125, Corona, CA 92879

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company is an authorized dealer of alarms for ADT, DirectTV and Dish Network.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Special Promotions Dept Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/01/1994 Business started locally: 06/01/1994 Business incorporated 04/13/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 6191.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Vince Bartek, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vince Bartek, CEO
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants

Additional Locations


    420 N McKinley St Ste 111-125

    Corona, CA 92879 (951) 892-7402


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: $35.00 FOR NSF FEE BILLED TO ACCOUNT

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/13) */ I have an appointment set up for 2/18/2015 with Ms. ******* to discuss her issue. This is her first available time to meet with me and work on a resolution. I will respond with the solution that we reach. Thank you.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 2, 20014 I signed a contract with a ADT Authorized Rep. ***** ******* The system goes off when I am gone from home. I am a commuter everyday I travel to Los Angeles. On the third day of service the system went off and I was contacted I told them to override the system. I called Mr. ****** and he sent someone to arrange the sensor,On the 7th day of the alarm went off, I was not able to be reached, The Moreno Valley Police dropped by and gave me a ticket. I was further told to fix the problem or they would charge me $100. dollars the next time. I keep on calling Mr. ****** and he does not return my calls. I am currently paying for a system and can not find a resolution with ADT to help me fix this issue. There is no accountability on behalf of the provider and its associates. It has been an unbearable situation as I have gotten sick and have to be on medication. As a matter of fact I am on a collection agency regarding ADT and I do not know why since, I am paying my bill on time. Product_Or_Service: Security System Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would appreciate if my cancellation contract/policy would be honored due to the fact Mr. ****** has not returned my calls. I would like for ADT to remove me from the collection agency since, there is not need because I am paying for the service. I no longer trust in their reliability, accountability on behalf of ADT and its associates. I am asking for the person who approved of me going to a collection agency be terminated from the company since they do not know what is going on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/26) */ The customer entered into a contract with the following company who handled the sale and installation of the system. SPECIAL PROMOTIONS DEPARTMENT INC *** ******** ST STE XXX-XXX CORONA, CA XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Please forward this on to the correct company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 31, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman lied about everything in order to get me to switch to Direct TV. Now his supervisor is lying about my refund. On 9-10-14, sales rep *** ****** lied about the pricing, the product I was getting, ownership of Direct TV, what I needed to do, and my payment options. He wrote down $76.99 per month for 12 months. I asked if that included everything I had with Dish. Yes. Upon calling Direct TV, I was informed that the 12 month price was only for basic services and that in 3 months, the price for movie channels would be added to my bill at approximately $30 a month. He took a $39.95 deposit in case I cancelled prior to installation, which I did not, and now I cannot get my money. His supervisor, ****** told me two weeks ago that my check would be mailed on Monday, 9-29-14. I have not received it and ***** will not take my calls or respond to my voice mails. *** took my debit card # in case my check bounced, then I discovered that he used that to sign me up for automatic payments with Direct TV. He told me that my account with Dish would be cancelled automatically and that they would send me a box to return the equipment. When I called Dish to find out where my box was, they has no information of my cancellation. He told me to throw away the Dish Antennae, but when I talked to Dish, I was told that part of the antennae must be returned or I would pay a fine. He told me that Dish and Direct TV were owned by the same parent company, but Direct TV disputed that fact.

Desired Settlement: I am attempting to get my $39.95 deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/06) */ To whom it may concern: We have spoken with *** ****** he is a new sales rep with our company, and we have resent him to satellite sales retraining on current satellite promotions. We have also gone over the 2 different satellite providers Dish Network and DirecTV so he is not confused in the future. AT&T is buying DirecTV not Dishnetwork ***** ******** misstated the time frame for refund checks being cut and mailed; it takes 3 to 4 weeks from the date of a request. Monday 9-29-14 the request was put in and a rush was put on it and she cashed the check 10 Days later. The check was mailed one week later 10-6-14 and she cashed the check #2601 for $40.00 on 10-9-14 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes, I got my refund from ***** after repeated calls to his cell phone and to the office. *** ***** told me that he had been doing this job for 15 years, so there's another lie from someone. I do not believe *** ***** was sent to any retraining, in fact, I would not believe one word from anyone at this company. They didn't even have the decency to apologize.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Special Promotions Dept Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart