This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Fountain Pools And Spas, Inc.

Phone: (800) 371-7773 View Additional Phone Numbers 221 West F Street, Ontario, CA 91762 ! BBB Business Review on Blue Fountain Pools And Spas, Inc. is being Updated by BBB !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations


    221 West F Street

    Ontario, CA 91762 (800) 371-7773 (909) 983-7665


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service, poor work quality, failure to repair items in the pool creating a safety issue I have contacted the company multiple times for a serious fill line leak. Additionally there are stains on the tile from their poor workmanship. They also left what appears to be hard plastic and a plastic bad attached and cemented into the coping. They have supposedly sent plumbers to repair, these plumbers have no showed after waiting, then they say the repair is done and it is not completed. The safety concern from the coping issue needs to be addressed and i get the run around. Now i get told the owner is out of town, and still no repair after several weeks.

Desired Settlement: They need to repair the issues quickly. we have paid all of our money and have no recourse with the exception of disputing the charges until the repairs are made. We hesitate to do this for such items. If they is not repaired we will be forced to call the Credit Card company and try to recoup our loses

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/22) */ On Feb 22, ***** reported a leak at fill line bib. Plumber was sent out to adjust valve on Feb 23. On March 14, ***** reported leak at fill line bib again and plaster "stains" on waterline tile. Heaths partner ***, meet plasterer's on March 15 in regards to "stains" on tile. No staining! Findings were minimal areas were plaster smeared on tile the day of plaster, Feb 15. Smears were removed *** approved of the cleaning work. On March 16, plumbers were out for fill line leak again. Anti siphon valve at fill line bib was replaced, tested and working properly. The anti siphon valves are designed to drip water as back pressure after opening valve to prevent back flow situations. Customer first time report of plastic object was yesterday, March 21. Customer was told our superintendent or a local tech will be out to inspect plastic object this week, with a call in advance. All other concerns reported have been attended to on a timely manner. No concerns reported are a safety issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The plasters DID NOT meet with *** as stated above. There are still stains on the tile and the person that wrote the response has not been out to look so I do not know how they can say "Minimal" ares and say no staining. I have pictures proving the stains that are date stamped and current as of TODAY 3-22-16. Today the start up person they sent did see the issue with plastic object and they need another person to come look at this. as of 3.22.16 the tile is still stained (I can submit photos if you like) and the plastic is still hanging down. This does create a safety issue as it hangs down by the skimmer and could cause further damage. This needs be fixed and the tiles need to be repaired. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2016/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again, I have CONTACTED them! They know when I am available and the endless responses are getting us no where. I have text ****** several times and I am still waiting to get a response from the company???? No one has called me back. Do you need the text responses? Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2016/04/26) */ Please expect tile to be cleaned tomorrow, 4/27 between 12-1p.

4/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i hired blue fountain pools 6-2015 to instal inground shot crete pool on 10-2015 stained new pool decking with acid the electricitian came out to do the electric instal and hook up the lights when he left he had left the pool light hanging in the pool the final .next is last plaster shoot the plaster crew showed upon 10-7-2015 at6 am unanounced and proceded to wash out their buckets i asked them what had been in the buckets the worker replied"acid" they had rinsed the buckets out and dumped them all over my yard i have 4 small dogs and they could have been killed by blue fountain pools neglagence .the next day i go out so look at my pool water level and notice that there were stains on my new concrete pool decking as i examine closer the light in the pool is rusty looking and looks like what is on my new concrete .i proceded to call blue fountain pools and spoke with ***** ***** and let her know what had happened to my pool decking ,says someone will call me back ,now there going to send someone out someone shows up and looks at the damages immediatly is saying its from my neighbors house and its not any liability of blue fountain pool .i sent a regestered letter demand for blue fountain pools to pay the damages estimates $7,000.00 they have refused i have have never seen the owner they instructed us to contact the contractors board or has he tryed to find a remidy

Desired Settlement: i want refund on the $7,000.00 that it cost me to cut out the concrete decking and recolor and stamp design back in it ****** ******ian owner of blue fountain pools and spas to take his responsibility for his negligence

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2016/03/18) */ As I mentioned in my previous email, we have sent all paperwork (Explaining our position in this matter) to Mr. ******* and the CSLB. Mr. ******* is refusing to accept our position, therefore he is suing us in small claims court (Which we will be defending ourselves) on the 28th. We have also reply to you by email and phone calls. We have done everything you asked for (And more) in order to put our rating back to A+. Please put our rating back to A+ as we are a responsible company that have been in business for more that 40 years and we have thousands of satisfied customers to show for. Just because one customer does not agree with our findings, we should not be punished by you or any other organization. Looking forward to your earliest reply. ***** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2016/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I AM PERUSING MY POSITION IN THIS MATTER WITH MY COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB, SCC AND BOND COMPANY . THERE HAS BEEN NO CONTACT FROM ANYONE AT BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS REGARDING THIS MATTER . HOW CAN YOU SAY THAT I AM REFUSING TO ACCEPT POSITION OF DENIAL ,THERE HAS BEEN NO OFFERING OF ANYTHING TO FIX THE DAMAGES CAUSED BY BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS . I HAVE GIVEN BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS AMPLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO REPLACE THE DAMAGES CAUSED BY BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS AND THEIR SUBS . YOU ARE DENYING AND THINK THAT I AM GOING TO ACCEPT YOUR DENYAL? YOU AS THE OWNER OF BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS HAVE NEVER EVEN CAME TO MY HOUSE TO LOOK AT THE DAMAGES CAUSED BY BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS AND ITS SUBS . AND TO THINK THAT YOUR COMPANY HAS BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR 40 YEARS (OTHER OWNERS NOT ***** **********)YOU HAVE NOT BEEN PERFECT AT ALL AND SOME PEOPLE ARE VERY RELUCTANT TO SAY ANYTHING NEGATIVE ABOUT ANYONE OR ANYTHING ..... IF IT MEANS THAT MUCH TO YOU TO HAVE AN A+ ( YOU ARE NOT BEING A RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS OWNER) THEN STEP UP AN TAKE CARE OF THE ISSUES AND PROBLEMS WE HAVE WITH YOU AND BLUE FOUNTAIN POOLS. YOU NEED TO WORK HARD AT RESOLVING ISSUES THAT ARISE WITH YOUR CLIENTS THAT IS PART OF BEING THE BUSINESS OWNER . Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2016/03/31) */ Pending courts decision. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2016/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The court has made its decision and awarded me the damages

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tiles on the pool are falling off and flaking. They came out to replace them with sealed tiles and the tiles are doing the same thing again. The first time it took them over 9 months to finally come out. I have been calling for over 6 months asking to speak to the owner and to this day not a call back

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and replacement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ Mrs. ************ has contacted Blue Fountain Pools 2 times in the past 5 months to obtain warranty service to the pool EQUIPMENT not the pool tile, proof of calls and services rendered to job site can be provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did call twice about the warranty issue but I also requested a call from the owner back in November which I never received. I wanted to speak to him directly about the tiles. Since April 9th I have left 4 messages. On Monday when I called the person who answered the phone said I know what this is about an hung up Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/05/04) */ Yes, Blue Fountain came out and look at the pool

5/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a pool with quartz plaster and have had to have the pool drained and re-plastered 5 times in 8 months and the problem not resolved. Pool built in Jan 2013 during the plastering process the hoses exploded spraying my entire house and yard with plaster and so the plastering of my pool was not completed correctly or with bad product there were streaks and hair line cracks all through it. I was told once it cured they would all dissaper but they did not so they did a acid bath for 2 weeks they were all still there so the drained the pool and said that they would acid wash and sand the pool to make them go away they were still there they repeated it 2 more times still the problem was present so they decided to re-plaster and start over again in less then a month the cracks and whit spots were back so they brought out the 3rd party specialist who said that is was due to chemicals which this whole time was taken care of by ****** on the last drain and acid wash on August 13th no one put chemicals in for over a week then ****** came and added them and finally hooked up our salt system which had never been started. *** Hubble superintendent and Jose Soto from Superior plaster both swore that the cracks would not return the last time and if they did they would change to a different product and re-do the pool. Well the cracks came back the 1st week I waited to see if they would disappear once ****** put the chemicals in and they didn't so after 3 weeks I called *** and told him he said he would be out to look he never came out until Nov 2013 to look and then I received an email stating that they were going to try 1 more time draining and acid washing I said no it has not worked the last 5 no so he said they were going to re-do the pool with pebble he brought me a Pamphlet to choose the color I let *** know which color we chose and he then told me they were discussing what was going to be done. I just found out 3 weeks ago that *** quit Blue fountain due to the problems with getting my pool taking care of since they decided to place the blame on us. I received a letter from ****** stating the plaster problem was caused by unbalanced chemicals which how would that have been our problem since all 5 times was after he had been doing the chemicals as well as we tested daily and had Leslie's pools test weekly and the PH was perfect every time. I have all emails, phone calls and text messages all conflicting I purchase a pool and paid good money for it and it looks like ****. This should not have taken 8 months just to rectify the problem instead they are trying to wash there hands it is there problem and they need to fixed it and give me what I paid for. I also know I am not the only one with this same problem.

Desired Settlement: I either want it re-done right with pebble or I will have some one else re-so it right and they can pay for it. I want this done and Blue fountain out of my life this has drawn on way to long and I have been taken advantage if.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A new pool to have to be drained acid washed and polished 4 times and re plastered 1 time in less then 8 months and never signed off on is not the problem of the purchaser it is the pool company using faulty product or untrained employees. I have all documentation from having the water tested and the water is perfect. I can provide all if necessary. I am the person who purchased the pool and was never informed of any meetings nor did u or anyone else sign off on the pool as stated in the letter provided by Blue Fountain. The need to stand behind there product I paid for and did not receive. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is complete BS and pure lies I was at home the First plaster was poured and the hose did burst before the plaster was competed and it was completed by buckets carried to the back yard by one guy and one was in the pool smoothing it out and the rest of the crew was too busy trying to clean out their hoses and flooded my yard with plaster and beat on the hoses with 50 lb sledge hamers. I have pictures to prove it. I was NEVER notified of any meetings by anyone and would have been home if I had. I want my pool done correctly by Blue Fountain like I was promised and paid for. As to Dustin stating what he did and saying that I would not pay to have a pool man come is also false the pool was not turned over to ME until the last time it was drained and I notified *** the first week before Dustin even connected the salt system that the cracks were still there. If Blue Fountain was not knowledgeable on how to plaster with quartz they should not have sold it to me and talked me out of pebble tec like I wanted. I will not pay any more money they need to pay since the work has never been completed nor signed off as being completed. The only reason I am getting a response is because I was forced to file a complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/28) */ This is in response to both complainant responses. In response to the original complaint: The hose used to deliver product to the pool from the street did not explode as stated by the homeowner, who did not actually witness first hand what happened. AFTER THE POOL WAS ALREADY PLASTERED, when the plaster crew was cleaning out the hose by pumping water through the line, the hose became clogged with material. WITHOUT DECOMPRESSING THE LINE, the crew opened one of the hose connections and the release of pressure spewed material and water. This is the "explosion" the homeowner is describing. NO ACTUAL "EXPLOSION" EVER took place due to mechanical failure. This is important because the complaint states the hose "exploding" was the cause of the "plaster not being completed correctly", which is not the case because the plastering was already done when the hoses became clogged. The first time the plaster was installed (before being filled with water), it was perfect. As a matter of course, the plaster is allowed to sit for 24 hours before acid washing and filling with the homeowners hose. AFTER the addition of the homeowners tap water to the pool, there was some calcium leeching that occurred. This is due to a reaction between the water (homeowners) and the fresh plaster. Dustin observed the issues with *** at start up and agreed that we needed to remedy the issue. The first attempt to remedy the issue was an underwater acid wash which did not satisfy the homeowner or Dustin as it did not take care of all of the homeowners complaints. The second attempt was a drain and acid wash/polish. Upon refilling to pool, Dustin met with *** in the yard and *** stated he was happy with the work that was dome and the plaster looked much better. Dustin instructed *** on how to take care of the pool and care of the pool was turned over to *** within 2 weeks of the initial plaster job. All new pool owners are instructed by ****** that they either need to hire a pool professional for a few months to help take proper care of the pool OR supplement their every day/week pool maintenance with regular trips to Leslies to have their water analyzed by a pool professional once a month AT LEAST. After a month, **** ***** contacted *** ****** to say she is still dissatisfied with the plaster product, that it is of poor quality and needs to be replastered. *** initiated a meeting with **** ***** *** and *** from Pool Corp (the distributors of the plaster material), ****** the start up guy, *** ****** and ***, **** Ezells agent at all of these meetings. At that first meeting, **** **** took two independent samples from both the pool and tap (4 total samples) and compared the findings. At that time, *** was informed that his pool chemistry was off. *** stated he's having a hard time understanding pool chemistry and he doesn't "get it". We recommended again a pool professional. *** stated **** would not pay for a pool man and he was going to continue to care for the pool. We drained and acid washed the plaster again, as a courtesy to the owner. ****** came and started the pool up, *** again said everything was acceptable, Dustin reiterated again and again at that meeting that *** should bring up any issues with the plaster. He had none. ****** started the equipment up and turned to pool over to *** immediately for care. This was unacceptable to ****, so the complaints started again almost right away. This is when Blue Fountain paid to fly **** ******* out from Arizona to inspect the pool. **** ******* works for Applied Material Technologies and is considered by many in the industry to be the leading expert on swimming pool finishes, causation of damage and remediation/mitigation of plaster problems. ****** met **** ******* in the yard and **** made a very detailed presentation to the homeowner, including things like what the weather was like the day we did the plaster, complete chemical analysis of the pool water and tap water and made the conclusion that the water in its CURRENT STATE is what is causing ALL of **** ****** issues. The current state of the water at that time was the responsibility of ***, the homeowner ****'s agent. **** recommended the following to remediate the issue. Replaster the pool, bring the Total Alkalinity, pH and calcium content of the pool within specific parameters outlined by **** within one week. He also recommended a pool professional be hired by the homeowner to help transition *** into pool maintenance. Pool Corp, Blue Fountain Pools and Olmas Pool Plastering all shared in the cost of replastering the homeowners pool as a show of good faith. The replaster was observed by supervisors from Pool Corp to ensure all necessary steps were followed and the report from them is after plastering the finish was perfect. The pool was started up and ****** added half of the calcium that was needed on the first day (per **** ******** add half first day, add second half next day) and the other half was measured out, put in a bucket and given to *** to add the next day, which he did. The alkalinity was adjusted the first day as was the pH. *** was instructed by ****** to check the pH EVERY DAY. ****** even left a case of acid for *** to add. ****** was back two days later, all necessary chemicals were added OR checked to make sure they were within the parameters layed out by **** ******** The pool was handed back to *** for maintenance within ONE WEEK of being filled. After a month or more passed, **** again is the one calling about problems with the plaster. This time ****** and **** **** met *** in the yard, tested the water, showed him every step of the way and gave *** detailed explanations of the how's and why's of pool chemistry. *** told ****** and **** that this was way over his head and he STILL couldn't understand how to maintain a pool, so Dustin and Jose INSISTED that if anything else was to happen with the pool, he MUST hire a pool professional. He said he would NOT, so we are not willing to perform any more work on the Ezells pool until a mutually beneficial arrangement can be worked out. We have spent countless thousands of dollars rectifying issues only to have a poorly qualified do-it-yourselfer, ***, ruin the finish. This is why I asked for third party arbitration at the homeowners expense to solve the issue. It is NOT bad material or workmanship. We are willing to do whatever an independent third party recommends in order to satisfy the homeowner, as that has ALWAYS been our primary goal, but we are NOT willing to continue without a commitment from the homeowner that they will sign off the plaster immediately after start up and hire a pool service professional on a 6 month contract. These items will be in writing, signed by all appropriate agents, with a disclaimer from Blue Fountain Pools and Pool Corp that failure by the homeowner to fulfill their part of the remedy will result in forfeiture of warranty and/or guaranty of the plaster finish. Lastly, **** ***** was informed of EVERY meeting we had in the yard. She chose not to be present for ANY of them, opting instead to place her agent, ***, at the meetings. *** had to then translate everything to **** and I think that is a major part of the problem, that **** is getting ALL of her information third party. ****'s presence is not optional for any future meetings, replastering or other mitigation remedies or Blue Fountain Pools will not perform the work. She complains no one ever signed off on the pool and that she is the buyer. She is correct and we will solve this issue by requiring her presence for any and all future work at the premises.

Customer Review(s)