This business is not BBB accredited.

Jim Conklin Hot Rods

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers  


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jim Conklin Hot Rods include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Conklin Hot Rods include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jim Conklin Hot Rods
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Conklin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Conklin, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Conklin Auto Body and Hot Rods Conklin Hot Rods

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40367 Big Bear Blvd

    Big Bear City, CA 92315 (909) 866-5747

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 2710

    Big Bear City, CA 92314

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took jetski to get motor taken out only. Got it back with parts missing, expensive parts. I took my jetski in to get the motor removed as I had someone to work on it but he didnt have a way to get the heavy motor out. When we got it back expensive parts were missing. When I asked *** ******* about the missing parts He told me that the parts were in a box sitting on the back of the jetski. They were not as a box would have to be large and when hitching the jetski up to the vehicle to tow home would have been very noticeable. Then when I pointed that out that even if there were a box there it would have fell off the jetski bdue to small space on the back. So he then tells me the parts were inside the jetski. The parts were nowhere inside that jetski which I told him. He then tells me that maybe they are in a box somewhere in his shop but of course they were never found. Some of the parts that are missing should have never been removed to take out the motor as they didnt effect removing it. One part missing is a turbo charger it will fit alot of different vehicles not only my jetski, its universal I found out. I just want my parts back, thats all I want. I just paid it off, paid *** ******* $500.00 to remove the motor, just paid someone to repair the jetski over $600.00 now im missing expensive parts that I cant afford to replace. Someone at that shop stole my parts.

Desired Settlement: I want my jetski parts back thats all. I dont want money, I dont want anything but what belongs to me which is my missing jetski parts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/10/13) */ This personal water craft was brought to my shop to have engine removed. It had been partialy taken apart already, prior to being brought to my shop. We removed last parts to life engine out. Upon inspection engine was cracked due to being sunk and left to sit through winter without being drained or commenly described as winterized. Customer did not want to spend the money to replace the engine so all parts removed were put inside the craft and customer's dad towed it away. When they contacted me saying there were parts missing I said I would ask Tech if there were any parts left here. I asked an was told all parts were inside craft when it left. Customer is trying to get someone to pay for new engine is my thought. We didn't loose any parts. Thanks, *********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2014/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ******* has given me four different stories about the missing parts. The employee that he asked about the parts no longer works for him and took my jetski manual with him. I don't need Mr. ******* to pay for a new motor, its fixed. BUT I cannot use it because of the missing parts such as the propeller. This man is not telling the truth. I dont want anything but my parts back & my jetski manual. Thats all im asking my motor to my jetski works so why he is saying that I want a new motor is outragious. He lost/stole my jetski parts and I want them back. He even offered to pay for 1/2 of the parts. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/10/23) */ Mr. ******* states in his letter that I had taken parts off the jetski before it was taken to his shop. The only parts taken off were the seat & the covers. If I knew how to take out a motor, why would I pay him to take it out. Also the parts that are missing, the motor has to be removed first to get to the missing parts. And the parts that are missing are between the motor and and parts located in the back. There is no way those parts could have been removed in between unless the motor was completely removed. The motor was removed by Mr. *******s Shop.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jim Conklin Hot Rods
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)