This business is not BBB accredited.

Desert View Mobil

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 326-3855 2511 Needles Hwy, Needles, CA 92363


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Desert View Mobil include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Desert View Mobil
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/01/1988 Business started locally: 04/01/1988 Business incorporated 04/01/1988 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 138507.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Johnny Ray Harrell
Contact Information
Principal: Johnny Ray Harrell
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2511 Needles Hwy

    Needles, CA 92363

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2511 West Broadway

    Needles, CA 92363

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Desert View Mobil employees used the scared tactic to force an unnecessary sale on my fiance and I and charged us double what the tires should've been My fiancé and I were driving separate vehicles, relocating from northern CA to Dallas, TX on Monday, October 13, 2014. Our vehicles, one Chevy Trailblazer, hauling a 6'x12' U-Haul and a Jetta VW was following behind. It was approximately 1:00 p.m. on Oct. 13th when we were running low on gas and had to make a quick stop to fill up both vehicles. We pulled into the Desert View Mobil gas station and after stopping, realized our back right tire was a little low on air. Before we could ask where the air pump was, an employee who worked there sprinted up to us to suggest that our tires looked bad and the one needed air. Already aware of the low tire situation, we asked where the pump was and was informed to pull up to one of their garages. Once fueled and parked, *** (a different employee, possibly the Manager) walked around our vehicle and told us that the tire with low air wouldn't make it to another town without blowing and was defective, then walked around and checked all the tires and made the same assessment for the other three. In the middle of a strange town and worried that we would end up stuck with blown tires with our animals and entire household goods being hauled in the back of a trailer, we were basically forced with intimidating scare tactics, into purchasing all 4 new tires. *** grabbed 4 random tires, explaining to us that he was selling us the "best" deal and the most versatile tires, and assured us if we went anywhere else, there would be no competition; that this was our best and only option. He also told us there were no other tire companies around the area, specifically a Discount Tire (which ended up being 50 miles away). Skeptical, we went through with it, based solely on the fact that we were trying to get to our new home and were made to believe that our tires were unsafe, especially while we were traveling through unknown territory with bad cell reception. After telling us it would cost us $224 a tire, for a brand by the name of Hercules that we had never heard of, we reluctantly accepted. After waiting at a Taco Bell for over almost an hour while another employee changed our tires, *** came up and told us we owed $1104.92. He neglected to tell us about any extra charges. Stuck in the middle of the desert with no option but to pay, we felt forced to hand over what little cash we had, along with a credit card to make up the difference. The tires that were removed from our SUV were still under warranty from the original supplier/manufacturer, so we made room in our truck to take them to the nearest Discount Tire once we were out of the mountains to verify condition and to attempt for some pro-rated reimbursement. Once we left to continue on our trip, we realized we were a little under an hour away from a Discount Retailer that was close to the route we were taking on our way to Dallas. Once we arrived at the tire store, we presented the original tires in question to their management. After thorough review by the Discount Tire staff, they deemed the tires were absolutely safe for travel and still quite sound for over-the-road use. In a good faith effort to make this nightmare of a situation tolerable, Discount Tire offered to buy them at a set price and to put on their used racks for other vehicles. It was then that we were told the tires we paid for in Needles, actually are valued well below 1/2 the price of what we paid, and with even further investigation, the balancing weights installed on the Trailblazer by the Desert View Mobil staff were already falling off after only being on the road that short of time.

Desired Settlement: We request a refund of the full amount charged in the amount of $1,104.92. Additionally, any legal punitive action allowable by the local law enforcement or the BBB would be appropriate and recommended. Through our own investigation, this has not been the first time this company has scammed their way into a sale and they should not be allowed to continue to prey on innocent travelers in the future. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/18) */ I am answering Mr. ******'s allegations. I strongly disagree that we used scare tactics to force an unnecessary sale on him and his fiance. He came in with a low enough tire that one of my employees noticed it and went out and informed him of it. He did not sprint out up to them because he was working with a severely hurt ankle. There are no hoses in hand so he had to pull his vehicle over to air pump. Tom who's name is **** aired up his tire informed him that his tire was pretty much worn out and had only 3/32 of tread left on the tire. If that is scare tactics then I guess we are guilty. At 3/32 the tire ware indicated that the tires were worn out and not safe. On the left hand corner of his work order it shows the amount of trad left on his tires. One, the low one on rear had 3/32. The other three had 4/32. We never told anybody a tire wouldn't make it to another town without blowing out. Mr. ****** asked if there was a discount tire store in needles or this area. There isn't. There isn't and I really didn't know there was one in Kingman which is 65 to 70 miles away not 50. He was also informed there is a Big O Tire store in town. Miss ***** signed a workorder no XXXXX and estimate for 1,104.92 I have serious doubts that discount tire told him that the tires were absolutely safe for travel with 3 to 4/32 of tread with a loaded down vehicle pulling 6X12 haul trailer another 1000 miles. The price of the tires is competitive for the area. In good faith I am willing to offer him a 10% discount.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Desert View Mobil
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)