BBB Accredited Business since

Autotech

Phone: (909) 784-1090 1735 3rd St, Riverside, CA 92507 http://autotechservice.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Autotech meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Autotech include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Autotech
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/01/1992 Business started locally: 08/01/1992 Business incorporated 08/01/1992 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 206553.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Solorio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Solorio, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Solorio Autotech, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1735 3rd St

    Riverside, CA 92507 (909) 784-1090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged wiring harness during repair of water pump. Could not repair and would not cover the additional repair costs. October 14, 2013: I brought my 2007 MINI Cooper S to Autotech to have the water pump replaced. October 15, 2013: Retrieved car from Autotech. Paid invoice XXXXX by credit card. October 16, 2013: Unable to start my car. Had it towed to Autotech. Autotech claimed that the problem could be the immobilizer. Car started and was driven home. Unable to start the vehicle after returning home. There were loud electrical buzzes and popping noises coming from the engine compartment. October 17, 2013: Contacted Autotech in person to let them know that the car could no longer be started and was making loud electrical noises. I had a business trip and could not bring it in until after I returned. October 24, 2013: Push started car and drove part of the way to Autotech, but it completely shut off on the drive, requiring that it be towed for a second time. October 25, 2013: I called to get an update and was informed that Autotech's mechanic didn't understand the codes he read from my vehicle (AOC1 CAS: output terminal 1). I was also told that he was unable to connect to a web site that might have details for these codes. October 28, 2013: I was called and informed that Autotech could not determine the cause of the problem, did not have the proper tools to further diagnose the problem, and that it was Autotech's opinion that I take my vehicle to a dealership for repair. It should be noted that before signing any repair forms, I specifically asked if Autotech repairs MINIs and was told ''yes.'' Your listing on RepairPal.com also lists ''Mini'' in the list of ''Auto Makes We Service.'' October 29, 2013: Had my car towed to another mechanic. November 4, 2013: Other mechanic informed me that after replicating an water pump repair, he was able to identify a recently damaged wiring harness that sits over the water pump and connects the starter and alternator. Tool marks suggested that the engine was improperly leveraged to access the water pump, causing the damage to the wiring harness. This harness was both smashed and torn leaving exposed wires and a compromised connection between the two components. The damage resulted in inconsistent voltage within the electrical system causing an inability to start the motor, multiple erroneous error codes and, ultimately, a system wide shutdown. November 14, 2013: Picked up my repaired vehicle from the other mechanic. November 22, 2013: Drafted a letter to **** ******* requesting a refund of $708.53, which was the invoice amount of Autotech's service, including parts. This would approximately cover the cost of the new wiring harness, diagnosis, repair and towing ($723.58). November 23, 2013: Mailed letter to **** *******. December 2, 2013: Contacted by **** ******* by phone. Informed that there was no way that the damage could have been caused by Autotech. Faxed over repair bill from other mechanic after redacting identifying information. December 9, 2013: Contacted **** ******* by phone. Claimed that the wire appeared to have been chewed. I offered to bring it to him so he could view it in person, but he refused. Mr. ******* recommended that I contact AAA to lodge a complaint.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the original water pump repair. Costs to repair damage to the wiring harness are slightly higher than the

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/01/03) */ Autotech has since reconsidered their response to my complaint. **** ******* has refunded the full invoice amount, though Autotech has not formally accepted responsibility. I am satisfied with this response and do not intend to seek any further action.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Autotech
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart