This business is not BBB accredited.

The Engine Shoppe

Phone: (760) 955-8110 View Additional Phone Numbers 16642 Mojave Dr, Victorville, CA 92395


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Engine Shoppe include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for The Engine Shoppe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Engine Shoppe
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/02/1976 Business started locally: 01/02/1976 Business incorporated 01/02/1976 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 193170.

Business Management
Mr. Don B. Graham, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don B. Graham, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Equipment & Parts Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts Auto Service - Specialty Parts

Alternate Business Names
Engine Shoppe Quality Engine Yankee Iron, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16642 Mojave Dr

    Victorville, CA 92395 (760) 955-8110 (760) 780-1786

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engine repair shop rebuilt my vehicle engine had numerous problems from the date I picked it up I continued to take it back to him he did repair it until the last time then he said he could not repair it so I was put in a situation to take vehicle to the dearship

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Return funds so dealership will be paid

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/04) */ The problem is not the engine. We rebuilt the engine and there is nothing wrong with it. The issue is the displacement on demand system. It allows a V6 or V8 engine to "turn off" half of the cylinders under light-load conditions to improve fuel economy. The problem is that it is shutting off the cylinders when it is not supposed to. We had nothing to do with that system. Also, his warranty expired so we have no obligation to him. We tried to help him and did a compression test on the engine and it turned out fabulous. His issue is due to the displacement on demand system not due to our work. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree the problem is not with the engine displacement the vehicle was towed to Rancho motors a Chevrolet dealership the engine was repaired, They discovered that the lifters and the cam were bad they repaired the problem and I have the repair bill. I also feel that that the warranty had not expired cause I had to take the vehicle to the their repair shop numerous times and the engine was removed and disassembled at least twice I feel that a warranty should start over when the shop removed and disassembled the engine. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/11/06) */ Invoice from Rancho Motor Company

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car engine rebuilt began on 2/7/15. Estimate time was 3 weeks. Repairs are not complete and I ***'t have my vehicle. Im unable to resolve this My car was taken into shop on 2/7/15 for an engine rebuild. Turn around time was to be 3 weeks. On March 7th I visited the shop because I hadn't heard a thing. I again didnt receive info from employee at site. I called Victorville police to take an incident report. The police officer was ****** **** and the incident number is VCXXXXXXXXX. I also contacted my credit card simultaneously and explained the situation. They agreed that the initial $800 charge made to The Engine Shoppe could be referred to their billing dispute dept because it was undetermined if repair services had been rendered. Bank of America sent me a letter dated 3/9/15 confirming the billing dispute. I called the telephone number on the letter and was told the merchant received a similiar letter and he had up to 15 days to provide the credit card dept. with any information. Therefore, I telephoned the business on Mar 10th and finally spoke to "***" the owner. I, wanted information and a completion date. He stated at that time all parts were present for the rebuild and there would be no further delays. We agreed on a completion date of 3/20/15. Then, on 3/24/15 "***" telephoned me with threats that since I had placed a dispute for the charge he could not finish repairs and would auction my car at auction to recup costs. He demanded I deliver $2400 that day or I'd be sorry. He continued by saying" I'm a merchant and demand whatever form of payment I wish. I have that right and you have no rights. Again he threatened to sell my car because he'd place a lien on it and I couldn't stop the3 mess I created." Thus, I drove to his shop took pictures of his counter showing he accepts various major credit cards. I was shown my car engine and was told the car would be ready 3/26/15. I lastly, called my credit card from ***'s shop and had the credit card charged $800 because I could see that services were in progress. *** and I spoke to the credit card company during a three way call. He was informed via a credit card specialist that he'd receive payment within the next 24hrs. My credit card was rebilled the $800 on 3/25 as per my billing statement. Bank of America confirmed that via a telephone call. However, on 3/26 *** telephoned saying he hadn't received payment and he was tired of my tricks. "You should have never put in a dispute and should of had faith in my business." I gave him 3 Bank of America contacts numbers, X XXX XXX XXXX,X XXX XXX XXXX, and XXXX XXX XXXX and a transaction reference # of 2417AJ showing Bank of America had deposited the $800 in question into his merchant account of 3/25/15. He refused to call these numbers and looked at his statement on the computer and said "I haven't been paid. You should have never done this." I'm unable to visit his shop presently, because of a dr. order to stay off my foot. He left a message at a secondary telephone number this morning stating," my clutch is worn and I need to contact him immediately." I was away from the secondary telephone due to my leg injury. His shop closes at 1pm on Saturdays, thus the next business day is Monday Mar. 30th And lastly, he called my cell phone this morning but failed to leave a message? I'm unsure what to do because when the car is actually complete how will I pay for it, if he wants cash? What recoarse do I have if there are problems with the repairs if I'm ablt to pay cash? Please assist. Im a driver of multiple vehicles for over 30 yrs and have never had a problem like this. *****,

Desired Settlement: I want repairs complete, replacement parts returned to me, a written warranty on the work, and ability to pay the $2400 on a credit card. I've paid $800 so I owe $1600. And if there is problems with the engine work I'd like the work done at another establishment and for *** to pay for it. I ***'t like the threats and feel unsafe returning to his shop. I'm afraid my car will be vandalized. Or if he doesn't complete repairs by Mar 30th. I'd like my car and engine returned to me without costs. He failed to meet his obligations via our contract numerous times. I've tried to work it out

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY CAR WAS PLACED IN THE SHOP FOR AN ENGINE REBUILD IN FEBRUARY. IT'S AUGUST AND STILL NO CAR. I PLACE MY CAR IN THE SHOP FOR A ENGINE REBUILD IN FEBRUARY. I WAS TOLD IT WOULD COST $2900 TO HAVE EVERYTHING DONE, AND IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT 6 WEEKS TO COMPLETE.I PUT DOWN A DOWN PAYMENT OF $1400. AFTER THE FIRST MONTH I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A DELAY IN PARTS AND ANOTHER WEEK WAS NEEDED. 2 WEEKS LATER THE PART STILL WASN'T IN, AND TWO MORE PARTS WERE NEEDED WHICH WAS A RADIATOR AND MANIFOLD. AFTER THAT AND DUE TO THE HIGH PRICE THAT HE QUOTED ME FOR THE PARTS, I PROVIDED THE 2 PARTS MY SELF. AFTER PROVIDING THE PARTS, HE TOLD ME HE WAS STILL WAITING FOR THE PARTS HE HAD ORDERED. AFTER ABOUT 3 MONTH'S IN, HE TOLD ME THERE WAS ANOTHER DELAY DUE TO HIS ARM BEING INJURED. THEN THE DELAY CONTINUED BECAUSE HE HAD OTHER WORKERS THAT WHERE OUT AND SICK. THEN I WAS CALLED IN DUE TO MORE THINGS BEING WRONG AND MORE MONEY THAT IT WOULD COST, AT THIS POINT WERE UP TO 3400. MORE TIME GOES BY AND HE CALLS ME IN AGAIN TO TELL ME ABOUT ANOTHER THING THAT WAS WRONG AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED; IN WHICH WERE GOING INTO THE 5TH MONTH AT THIS POINT. IT IS NOW AUGUST 13, 2014 AND I RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL TODAY ABOUT ANOTHER PART THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS NOW MONTH SIX. DUE TO MY CAR BEING IN THE SHOP FOR SO LONG, AND HAVING TO GET RIDES TO WORK BECAUSE I COMMUTE; I HAVE LOST A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY TO PAY FOR GAS TO GET DROPPED OFF AND PICKED BACK UP. I HAVE ALSO DECREASE THE VALUE OF THE VEHICLE THAT I HAVE BEEN USING DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF MILES PLACE ON IT FROM BEING DROPPED OFF AND PICKED BACK UP. THE VEHICLE THAT HAS LOST VALUE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE TRADED IN, BUT AGAIN HAS LOST VALUE.

Desired Settlement: I DO NOT WANT ANYTHING FROM THE SHOP BUT MY CAR BACK COMPLETED. I DO NOT WANT TO BE FOR ANY LABOR WHAT SO EVER, AND I REALLY DON'T WANT TO PAY ANYMORE MONEY PERIOD DUE TO THE MONEY LOST FROM THE AMOUNT OF TIME. I AM WILLING TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $500 FOR WHAT EVER PARTS, BUT ULTIMATELY I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO AND DON'T WANT TO PAY ANYTHING FURTHER. EVEN CAR'S THAT ARE UPGRADED DON'T TAKE 6 MONTHS TO COMPLETE AND I WAS GETTING A STANDER REBUILD. I HAVE TALKED WITH SEVERAL SHOPS, AND ALL HAVE SAID THIS SHOULD NOT OF EVEN TAKEN 4 MONTHS TO COMPLETE YET ALONE 6.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This shop is currently rebuilding an engine in our truck. The truck was promised in three weeks on 01/13/14. Still not repaired. Broken promises. We brought the truck to the shop on 01/10/2014, paid $1000 deposit and we're told the truck would be ready in 3 weeks. Phoned after 3 weeks " my whole shop got the flu, give us one more week". Week later no truck, vague responses including "it's been a nightmare". Truck was promised the following weekend.

Desired Settlement: We brought the truck to the shop on jam 10th. It was promised to us 3 weeks later, Feb 1. When we contact the shop owner, we are given excuses why it is not ready including " my whole shop got the flu", " it has been a nightmare", "It has fought us every step of the way". He promises it anywhere from one more week to a few days later. Today is the 5 th week, still no truck, no reassurances that it will be done any time soon. We gave $1000 deposit on jan 10 as he required. Meantime our budget for a rental car is tapped out with no other choices, we have spent over $1500 on a rental car. Without satisfaction soon, we intend to have the vehicle towed from his shop and have someone less inept and mis-managed finish it. If this does not happen we must pursue small claims

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/01) */ The time estimate is just that an estimate many external and unexpected factors can affect the time required to complete a job. 1 after we removed the emgine from the truck and start the process the flu cut thruogh the shop and caused all our timetable to be disrupted severly. 2 then a key peice of equipment (boring bar) went down and as the company that produces the part to repair the equipment no longer sells parts I had to hunt all over the country to locate the part needed for repair this took over a week. many of the jobs we had in the shop were delayed due to these factors and I want to complete all of them as I do not get paid if I do not deliver to work. the truck is completed and delivered as of 2/22/2014 and I offered to perform all required services for the warranty period at no charge to make up for the delay.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Engine Shoppe
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)