This business is not BBB accredited.

Ozzie's International Tire & Auto

Phone: (760) 773-5939 74894 Lennon Pl STE F2, Palm Desert, CA 92260 http://www.ozziesautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ozzie's International Tire & Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ozzie's International Tire & Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/17/2007 Business started locally: 09/17/2007 Business incorporated 09/17/2007 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 252489.

Business Management
Richard Oswald
Contact Information
Principal: Richard Oswald
Business Category

Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Auto Repair - Mobile Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Ozzie's Automotive Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    74894 Lennon Pl STE F2

    Palm Desert, CA 92260 (760) 773-5939

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The last test that they did on my car, should have been the first. If they charge, on a car they can not repair, it should be one hour for diagnostics My car went in on the 5th of May. They only work Monday thru Fri. It came out on the 11th of May. They could not repair it. I was charged for 5 hours of labor. If they are going to charge for a car they can not repair, it should be one hour for diagnostics. I had to towed to another shop for a second opinion. They diagnosed the same problem, with no charges! The did the test correctly. They test for compression first. They also did not repair as the cost was too much for an older car. After having my car there for more than a week, they told me to pay right away or pay storage fees. I paid and had my car towed the next morning. I did not argue with them as I knew it was useless. Their mechanics work for commission, so if a car is not competed, they don't get paid. If I had known that from the start, I would not have gone there.

Desired Settlement: If they must charge, just charge me one hour of labor and send a check to me for the remainder. Again, the second shop did not charge for the one hour of diagnostics. The car went in the first shop on the 2nd of May and was towed to the second shop on the 11th. I was told, at the first shop, that they were replacing a stuck relay on the EGR valve, then they denied what they said and did not replace the valve.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/06/01) */ Customer authorized beforehand all labor that was charged to him. As he said, his vehicle was in our shop for a week. We didn't just spend 1 hour diagnosing it. We actually spent MORE than 5 hours diagnosing it AND installing parts (that we didn't end up charging him for since it didn't completely fix his very old 1986 Buick Century that is in very poor condition). As stated on his work order, we removed and replaced the crank and cam sensors and the wiring harnesses as well for both sensors. Everything is documented on his work order, which he received a copy of as well. He initially approved almost $680 in repairs, but after seeing that it wasn't going to completely fix the vehicles issues, we stopped any further repairs on the vehicle and only collected the labor charges. The 5 hours of labor he paid for are for multiple diagnosis AND removal & replacing of the sensors as stated above.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper repair and overcharged at time of service, with denial of warranty. Service date of 3/12/14. Vehicle was taken in for an A/C repair and recharge. Immediately after picking up the vehicle it was leaking from the repaired area. Upon returning to their shop they denied any wrong doing and would not cover the repair under warranty. They only offered to redo the repair with the full amount being billed again. They charged me for 2.0 lbs of freon for the system at a cost of $140. Per the manufacturer the system is only designed to hold 1.2 lbs of freon and it's physically impossible to fill the system with 2.0 lbs. Their service reciept from the charging machine states it used 1.5 lbs. They fraudulently overbilled me for the amount of freon used.

Desired Settlement: After one month of discussion with their shop and them completely refusing to honor any warranty I had no choice but to have the vehicle repaired at another facility. At this point I don't require their service any longer and am looking for a full refund for all work done, as it was faulty on top of being over charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ****************@verizon.net Mr. *****, You did return to our facility stating you were having the same issue as before we performed the A/C repair. You also informed ***** (Service Consultant) that you had a private party (***** recalls you saying a brother or something along that matter) attempt to repair it themselves. Just like any type of warranty agreement, a warranty is void when any sort of adjustments and or/ alterations are made by anyone other than the original provider. You verbally admitted this to our service consultant so he informed you upfront that your warranty is void. Had you brought the vehicle back untouched by any other person or technician, we would have been able to accurately determine what warranty service may have needed to be performed. Your inability to fathom that your warranty was void due to a private party attempting to repair your issue is why ***** refused to even pull the vehicle in for inspection of your complaint. We are an established and licensed repair facility and you had signed for all the authorized work to be done before-hand. Asking for a full refund is outright insolent and outlandish. We have attempted to explain this to you in person and over the phone. Regarding your concern about the Freon charge; Our standard procedure is to charge a minimum of .5lb of Freon in addition to what the system holds. Reason being in the process of evacuating and charging the system there is Freon lost. Upon your complaint, we have taken note that our disclaimer only mentions that for R12 Freon and says nothing about the procedure for R134 Freon that was used for your vehicle. Since it is not clearly stated so on your work order, we are very much willing to refund you the charge for the .5 lb of R134 Freon. As a licensed facility, we are required to have detailed notes and explanations of all charges. We are at fault for not clearly stating why you were charged a full 2 lbs. instead of the lesser amount your vehicle has capacity for (1.5lb as listed in our records for your vehicle). If you wish to collect your refund, please email me your full contact information and method of refund you wish to receive. Sincerely, ***** ****** ****************@verizon.net Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *****, At no time have I ever explained, implied, or expressed that the vehicle was worked on by myself or anyone else after the service your company performed. I can only assume your service desk person is confusing this incident with another, as I have no knowledge how common this is inside your company. Only after a month of trying to work this out reasonably with your company was I forced to have it properly repaired by another shop, who did so successfully. They have given me a written statement detailing the faults in your repair as well as bringing to my attention the over billing on your part. As I have stated to you a number of times, if I or a friend was able to repair the vehicle why would I have brought it into your shop in the first place? ***** refusing to even look at the vehicle says a lot about how your company honors their work and warranty. I am standing behind the fact that nobody even opened the hood on this vehicle before you were given the opportunity to see it. I would completely understand this perspective if the vehicle had been worked on by another part, but that just isn't true. This coupled with your convenient over billing sounds a lot like a scheme to bill multiple times for the same repair, and to charge for product you never even use.

10/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ozzie's International Tire & Auto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)