BBB Accredited Business since

Sonora Auto Sales

Phone: (559) 237-2160 Fax: (559) 237-2138 149 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sonora Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sonora Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sonora Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2000 Business started locally: 03/01/2000 Business incorporated 07/10/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342, Sacramento CA 94232
http://www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 229-3127
The number is 67159.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Felipe Chavez Sr., Owner Mr. Felipe Chavez Jr., Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Felipe Chavez Sr., Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 149 N Blackstone Ave

    Fresno, CA 93701 (559) 237-2160

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rotors were never checked when I purchased the vehicle I only had the vehicle for 2months Purchased a 2000 dodge Durango at the end of Feb and at the beginning of *** the vehicle's brakes were making noise ago I had my mechanic check it out so that I could replace the brakes come to find out the rotors were completely broken I called the dealer and was advise that it was beyond the 30 days of purchase I advised get that they were responsible for that because that was a safety issue I had not made my car payment at that moment so I informed her I was gonna use that money to fix my vehicle she was okay with that but when the other side of the brakes were checked the rotor was worse so I didn't fix it I told it back to the dealership where I purchased it and spoke to ****** the owner and I showed him the rotor and he was very upset that his mechanic didn't catch this before I took it off the Lot he said lucky you didn't get hurt driving the vehicle I left the car there so he could fix the other side and he also heard the motor that there was a miss due in two cylinders and he stated he would fix that and we would both pay half but when I went back for it he refused to return it never gave me any papers on why he didn't give it back and now I receive a letter in the mail that I have till the 24th of June to come up with last month's payment and this month's payment which isn't due till the end of the month... My daughter purchased a vehicle there also and her rotors on her vehicle are just as bad as mine were the mechanic is not checking the vehicle's probley

Desired Settlement: I want all money put into the vehicle I want my down payment I put into the vehicle and the cost of the repairs and labor

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ Customer ******* ***** and **** ****** purchase the behicle from me on X-XX-XX on the contract customers agreed to pay $251.20 a month for 20 months. Customer made a payment of $251.00 on X-X-XXXX in April no payment was received from customer. 5-5-15 customer paid $120.00 and $150.00 the same day that was the last time payment was received from customer. The notice on intention to dispose of vehicle was send on X-XX-XXXX asking customers to pay the April and June payments in order to reinstate the contract. As for the complaint in the complaint customer mention the daughter purchase a second vehicle. They never did. It is the same vehicle registered in both names. My employee Rosa ****** called **** many times and left messages. Customers never returned calls. Rosa talked to **** ****** and advised her of being late on the April payment and the late fees. **** ****** was upset and that was when she called the office complaining of the brake problem. I ****** ****** told **** that I could not understand because I inspect every vehicle before I put them for sale but i did not have any problem checking the vehicle. When **** ****** brought the vehicle to our shop I noticed that **** was driving a 2000 dodge durango similar vehicle in question. which made it easy to believe the brakes were swapped. Every vehicle is inspected before the vehicle is for sale. However, there is no proof of the brakes being swapped. The notice of intention to dispose of motor vehicle was sent on 6/10/2015. There is a 15 day for customer to pay and reinstate the contract. If no pay costumer loses legal and physical possession of the vehicle in question. Thank You and for any questions please call me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off I never received a call from **** in regards to late payment but this complaint had to do with the payments it had to do with the brakes and the rotors I **** ****** drive a 2001 drive Durango and I most certainly did not switch rotors I went to his business to show him the rotors and he him self was upset that the merchants did not notice them how bad they were in fact him and the mechanic were pressings me to give then the original rotor I took off cause he was afraid that I was gonna sure him, I also took my brother who is a retired technician from Chrysler and he explains to him how dangerous it was to have driven the vehicle with bad rotors ****** himself lied to my brother about seeing the rotors he denied ever seeing the rotor, also my daughter that also bought a vehicle there with bad rotors her name is *************** she had pictures of the rotors of her vehicle also, his shop had no display of the mechanics license at all Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/08) */ ABOUT THE RESPONDS FROM THE CUSTOMER. I DID TALKED TO SOMEBODY CALMING TO BE MARYS BROTHER HE NEVER CAME IN TO MY OFFICE. HOW EVER DID EXPLAIN TO HIM THAT BEEN A MECHANIC HE SHOULD KNOW THAT BY THE CONDITION OF THAT ROTOR THAT **** SHOW ME THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE DRIVEN A LONG TIME TO BE IN THE CONDITION THAT IT WAS. BECAUSE THERE IS IN ALL BRAKE PADS AN INDICATOR THAT MAKES AN SQUIKY NOISE TO THE DRIVER KNOW THAT THE BRAKES NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. ANOTHER REASON IS I BELIEVE THAT ROTOR DID NOT BELONG TO THE VEHICLE IN QUESTION IS THAT As A MECHANIC ANY MECHANIC WILL AGREE WITH ME THAT IN THE CONDITION THAT THE ROTOR IN QUESTION WAS . ANY DRIVER WOULD NOTICE THE GRINDING BEFORE GOT IN THE CONDITION THAT IT WAS AND WOULD IT BRING IT TO MY ATTENTION BEFORE THE 30 DAYS WARRANTEE WAS EXPIRED AND **** NEVER BROUGHT THE MATTER TO MY ATTENTION. UNTIL ROSA MY EMPLOYEE CONFRONT **** OF BEEN LATE WITH PAYMENT. AND REQUESTED THE PAYMENT AND LATE FEES, ROSE **** ALSO COMPLAIN ABOUT A MISFIRE IN THE ENGINE. I ALSO AGREED TO CHECK THE VEHICLE.1STILL HAVE THE VEHICLE IN MY POSSESSION AND THERE ARE WELCOME TO COME IN AND REINSTATE THE CONTRACT. BY PAYING THE LATE PAYMENTS AND LATE FEES. BUT IM SURE THAT **** ****** WILL REFUSE TO DO SO .THE FACT IS THAT **** ****** is TRYING TO GET OUT OF A LEGAL CONTRACT. BY USING AND CREATING FALSE STATEMENTS. ABOUT ELIZABETH LOERA BUYING A.VEHICLE WITH BRAKE PROBLEMS. I HAVE WORK ORDER TO PROVE THAT STATEMENT IS FALSE HOWEVER ANY OTHER INFORMATION ABOUT ANY OTHER CUSTOMER IS IRRELEVANT TO THIS MATTER. THE VEST I CAN DO IS RETURN THE VEHICLE UP ON RECEIVING PAYMENT TO BRING THE ACCOUNT TO CURRENT.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sonora Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)