This business is not BBB accredited.

Clovis Auto Sales

Phone: (559) 322-8866 3685 N Clovis Ave, Fresno, CA 93727 http://www.clovisautosales.com ! BBB Business Review on Clovis Auto Sales is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3685 N Clovis Ave

    Fresno, CA 93727 (559) 322-8866

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C.A.S. made an unauthorized charge to my bank account. This was after the vehicle I purchased from them repeatedly broke before I ever got the tags. They illegally charged an unauthorized charge to my account, sold me a truck that has been in the shop more often than not, and when I went to them about it the owner looked at me and said "as is". I found a crudely PATCHED gas tank on my truck which started leaking as soon as I filled up the tank. The transmission leaks. The truck I bought left me stuck broken down before I even got my registration. When tried to show the owner the $320 tow truck bill and the $150 receipt for the part he wouldn't even look at it... AS IS.

Desired Settlement: I want the fraudulent charge of $300 returned to my bank account. I never gave them authorization to make a second charge to my card. I was told that after the 1st charge that my info was going to be shredded. It was not, they saved it and used it again without permission.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/07) */ What Mr. ***** is failing to mention is he had a $300 Pik payment for the rest of his down payment he was supposed to make. He was a month late and his card was hit. While he was here he was told we could refund the money to his card but that $300 would have to be paid. He refused. His cad info was shredded but what the salesmen didn't know is that it stores on our system, he wouldn't know that because he doesn't have access. As far as the truck we brought him back in and fixed the gas tank. He did buy the truck as -is and that being stated by law we aren't required to fix anything. Mr. ***** also purchased the vehicle below whole sale price. We can not for see things happening with it. he did test drive it and had the option to take it to a mechanic. We will refund his money on his card with no problem but he must pay the $300 in cash for the down payment he promised which we have a signed promisary note signed by Mr. ***** that money is due from him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I gave them my card they used it for a debit transaction. They had no authorization to use it as credit at any point, furthermore, there is no receipt with my signature. They did tell me that the truck was in great shape with no known problems. They told me I would get a Carfax report, which I did not receive. They held my tags for over 10 days. As far as my owing them $300, yes, I do. But they never tried to contact me or follow proper channels to collect. There are laws and rules in place regarding collecting a debt, and taking it upon yourself to hold on to a customers card info and changing it how you see fit is not in these laws or rules. Clovis Auto Sales has broken the law as far as my credit card goes. They also were dishonest in regards to the vehicle I purchased. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2016/03/25) */ We would like it stated that the accountant lady who sits at the front desk did tell them she could refund his card at that time he went back into our finance managers office and left upset. Mr. ***** was late on paying this deposit. Yes if this was a payment to the bank Mr. ***** would be right that he wasn't 30 days late BUT this WAS NOT a payment on his loan this was a down payment with a date it was supposed to be paid. This is not treated as a regular payment. Also to his response of the whole sale price yes our statement was accurate. We listed this price at wholesale $10,993 with KBB retail being $14,000. We stated what happened and said we would gladly refund his credit card. However, upon doing that Mr. ***** does need to pay the $300 he owes us. If he would like to come into the office we'll refund his card and he can pay cash for the rest of his promised down payment and it will be taken care of. I'm sure both parties want to move on from this. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2016/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the KBB price is for a vehicle in good condition. Upon an overview from a mechanic, this vehicle is in no way in GOOD condition. It is fair at best, with multiple electrical problems, a transmission leak and I am sure, more problems to pop up soon. As far as the $300... Clovis Auto Sales keeps dancing around the fact that they broke the law when they charged my card. If I gave them it as a Debit, in no way does that give them permission to charge my card again as a credit. Especially considering they made no effort to contact me at all. If I had an unpaid balance there are legal ways to force me to pay, ie. collections or court proceedings. I will not accept any further excuses for this act. Clovis Auto Sales confirmed that what I stated was true in their previous response when they stated that the sales associate told me that my info was to be shredded but didnt know that the card info is stored in their computer. If what I am saying is false, then why would the salesman and myself have ever had that conversation?

4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i had purchased a car from clovis auto sales i was told that i was approved from a bank but for some reason they didn't want to tell me what bank it was two days later that i had the car it wouldn't start i was very up set because i work 2 jobs and its very important for me to have reliable transportation and the engine light had came on i called the owner and had told him my situation and told him i am returning the car i had dropped off the car and a few days latter i get over 5 letters saying i have been denied i also looked at the dates of those letters and it turns out he never had a bank for me and he is still running my credit over an over to other banks Product_Or_Service: toyota Account_Number: 1266

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Correction to a credit report i would like them to stop running my credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ We did tell the customer she was approved. At the time of purchase we told her she would be financed through a bank. We did send this out to several banks however due to things that were on the credit report it was difficult. During this time she had post dated checks for the down payment she owed us. The day after the first one was to be cashed she came in on a Saturday informing us that the check would bounce, but had cash. However she did not give us the cash called her bank and said the bank told her the check would go through. At this time she informed us that the engine light was on.. (her statement of calling the owner is incorrect) she talked to myslef and the finance manager. We told the customer that there was no mechanic on duty but she could come in Monday. She said that would be ok and left. Her car was driviable and there was nothing major it was an easy fix with what was wrong with it. Monday morning she informed us that she put a stop to that check and told us she was giving the car back, she didint want it. We had told her she was approved with a bank and she just couldn't say she doesn't want the car anymore we had a signed contract. Clovis Auto Sales Inc. was goint to be her bank she would be considered a BUY HERE PAY HERE also known as an in-house account at this time we hadn't run her credit anymore. Someone came to the lot and dropped the car off. Our salesmen, finance manager as well as the owner told her the car was hers it was fixed and ready to pick up within a day or two. At this time she said no and no longer was going to pay us the money she owed nor the payments on the car and if we wanted to take legal action we could. We are asking that this case be closed based on the information provided. You are able to hit a persons credit in a short amount of time for financing purposes from a dealership and it is still considered one hit on their report. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Prior to purchasing a car from Clovis auto sales I explained to the sales man I was only interested in purchasing a bank financed car.i also told the salesman I did not have the down payment ,I would return wen I did .he explained that that was ok and I could right out a check and let them know the day they would be able to cash it. During the signing process I asked several times witch bank I was approved from the only answer the salesman had for me was that he forgot and the finance manager had already left, but (we have you approved). The very next morning I called and asked to speak to the finance manager I was told he was not in I asked to speak to the salesman that helped me I asked once again about my bank approval I received the same response that he didn't know .i called back 3 more times that day and it wasn't until the 3rd time he informed me I had not been approved yet but would be. On the second day of the car in my possession the check engine light was on and the car would not start after several hours of attempts I was able to start it .the car was shaking for several miles and felt very un safe I felt scared for my life driving it I immediately called Clovis auto sales and informed them of the situation and told them I would be returning the car. They were very displease but told me they would not be open until Monday. After having a friend return the car and informing them the checks were canceled I received several informal phone calls with what started as to him a laughing matter of taking me to court then lead to angry threats to sue me. It was not until the time of the car being returned they told my friend there was a bank financing the car but I was never directly informed by any Clovis auto sales staff .after a few days had passed they told me the car was done but would be more then happy to get me into another vehicle. No longer feeling comfterble with this establishment I declined the offer this also displeased them and was once again threatened with court subpoenas. The only reason informed the BBB is because I felt harassed and taken advantage of by Clovis auto sales Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) as of my understanding I do know what I sign as I am looking through the papers right know it says FUNACNCING IS SUBJECT TO BE APPROVAL I was told I was going to be financing with a bank never once in housing and if I was aware of that I'm pretty sure I would had have gone back an sign more papers for that approval I also in this contract it says California law does require a seller to offer a two day contract cancellation option on used vehicles with a purchase price less then 40,000 as for as the cheeks I was told at the time to write it out for that date even thought I was not approve yet the sales person assured me I would be with a bank and would need to bring in cash after approval Clovis auto sales only attempted to cash the cheeks after I return the vehicle witch I have proof from my bank that supports this claim. on 8/5/2015 I had receive a call from ***** telling me that the car would be in the shop for a few days and if I was interested in getting into something else he consistently pushed for me to get another car and it wasn't until after I said I was unsure that he said the original car was still mine I also have proof a recording on my phone to support this statement I don't think this should be taken off the bbb I would hate to see what I went thought to happen to someone else I am never the type of person to take situations this far but this is a serious matter an very upsetting as a women just trying to bye a reliable car I feel I was taken advantage of and refuse this to happen to anyone else Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/09/08) */ The customer is once again mistaken.. we took the said check the day after it was post marked and not after she turned the car in. If that was the case why did she come down here with cash stating that she had another bill to pay and that the check would not clear?? We took it on a Friday afternoon so it wouldn't of cleared until Monday the day she put a stop to it. so as far as her claim that we didn't deposit the check til after she brought the vehicle back is false. As I stated we took it on a Friday so the check wouldn't of gone through til Monday. Also we would like the customer to reread that cancelation contract she has.. That is a contract the buyer would need to pay an amount for which she declined to do. It is not a free contract and yes California requires we offer that but at a price., every dealership offers this contract but at a said price. We have signed documents to support our claim on this as well as the refusal signature on this said contract. As far as her writing out those checks that has nothing to do with her being approved. These checks were strictly for the deposit (down payment) of the vehicle. We did give the customer the option of getting into another vehicle after she said she was unhappy with the one she bought. But when she declined we informed that under the signed contract this vehicle was still legally hers. As far as her claim that the car was unsafe this is false there was no shaking of the vehicle and the check engine light came on because of the gas cap not tightening enough. Which we replaced and the light turned off. Once again we ask that the BBB close this case as there is nothing more to be said.

4/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Less then 30 days ago me and my parent bought a car from here and I have been back 3 times at least with issues with the car now they say I fix it The car since week two of having it has had an oil leak ,now a transmission problem, and also a front motor mount leak . We have had the car under thirty days and they will not fix it or even cover part of the cost of fixing it we were told that it was a good reliable car. On there website it says they are BBB accredited and I recently found out today on your website that they are not , it has it in the top right Conner of the web page . So not only did they lie about the car being reliable they also lied an continue to lie to about being accredited. Also we were supposed to get the car fax on the car and never received it. The cost of getting the car fixed to be the reliable car that we were told it was is going to be into the thousand dollar up range and it is less then one month from being off their lot and I have had an oil leak they fixed, now a transmission issue they will not fix and a leaking motor mount that they will not fix either . So I have been back three times with three separate issues with in thirty days , they lied about it being reliable, never gave us the car fax report, and continue to advertise as an accredited BBB company. We bought the car on 2/16/15 we took a loan out to buy the car and paid a 1500 dollar down payment , 250 of which was in cash 500 on one credit card , 250 on a debit card and 500 on another credit card. The car is a 2014 VW Passat *** liter sedan . The loan amount for the car was 6700 dollars . The stock number for the car was XXXXX. The vin number is wvwrh63b54pXXXXX. I have been up there almost once a week since buying the car with issues. They also have said they were going to contact me about the transmission issues about what they could do an never contacted me I have had to call about thirty time or more to get told it was not their problem. Now I have what was supposed to be a good reliable car that's going to need thousands in repairs to even be able to drive properly. On Friday the 13 th of March I spoke with the man who sold me the car and he said that would proberly pick up half of the transmission fix and now today 3/16/15 they tell me no it is my problem .

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either pay for the repairs on the car to make it the reliable car they sold us, or to refund us the entire purchase price and down payment including interest an they can have the car back , or trade me a truly good reliable car and give me a warranty that the car is not going to have n Any issues that they won't fix for a minute of six months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/30) */ We were accredited with the BBB.. We did not renew our fees and already asked the advertising company to remove all signs of it. As far as the customers complaint concerning his 2004 Passat, we have already had the car fixed! The transmission work and leak was done and the customer has already picked up the car from the transmission shop. As far as the car fax we would of gladly given them one. If the customer leaves with out one we are not responsible to track the down and give them one. If they would of called in we could of faxed them a copy or sent pictures. Based on this fact alone the customers claim to BBB is not accurate. We wish to have this claim reviewed and closed. Thank You.

4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle has frame damange and the dealership didn't mention anything. The vehicle has been in car accident. Doesn't show up on car fax but on auto check it shows that it has front frame damange and what state the accident happened. Took the vehicle to a body shop that's were they confirmed that it has clamp marks and aftermarket parts. Purchased the vehicle March 9,2014. Car payment is 275 a month.

Desired Settlement: I no longer wish to keep the vehicle. I would like a full refund of everything I invested in the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/15) */ When we sold this car there was no information of any wreck. We did a carfax that came up clean, a disclosure of Vehicle History, as well as an NMVTIS report which is required by DMV that also showed no wrecks reported. Mrs. ***** and her Co-Signer signed these papers as well as an As-Is Contract. We feel bad that she thinks there was a wreck however based on the info "WE" the dealership and Mrs. ***** saw there was no wrecks. So how could we inform her of something we didn't know. Also we have the auction slip that shows they had no knowledge of any wrecks because there was also NO announcements at the time of purchase. And based off those we feel any information saying the vehicle was in a wreck is false. If Mrs. ***** thought at the time she was buying the vehicle it was wreck she had the chance to take it to her mechanic which she didn't and she signed the paperwork stated she had that right. We Clovis Auto Sales would like this case to be reviewed and closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They should have Inspected the vehicle better. How much proof do they need me to provide that the vehicle has been in a car accident. I already took it to a body shop were they told me it has after market parts and frame damange. I also have the paperwork from auto check where it clearly shows it was in a accent in 2009. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/30) */ As we stated in our earlier response, we pulled the NMVTIS Report which is required from DMV, Carfax along with other documents showing no sign of an accident. All of which Mrs. ***** saw and signed along with her co-signer. And Mrs. ***** and her co-signer signed the As-Is contract. We cannot inform a customer on something we do not know. And based on ALL the documents we have we believe what is on them. We have nothing further to say regarding this matter and ask the BBB to close this case. Because there is nothing more we can say or do to Mrs. *****. Thank You


Customer Review(s)