BBB Accredited Business since

Moss Bros. Toyota

Phone: (951) 247-8000 Fax: (951) 485-4115 12630 Motor Way, Moreno Valley, CA 92555 http://www.mosssavings.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moss Bros. Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moss Bros. Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moss Bros. Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/11/2006 Business started locally: 01/11/2006 Business incorporated 01/11/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342, Sacramento CA 94232
www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 229-3127
The number is 65505.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn L. Moss, President Mr. Mike Dawe, Service & Parts Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn L. Moss, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area
This business is an auto-dealership.

Additional Locations

  • 12630 Motor Way

    Moreno Valley, CA 92555 (951) 247-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contracted by e-mail with a price for a car when I went down to buy the car the price I was offered changed. I was e-mailed a price for a car with a picture of the exact car I had requested. The e-mail had the vehicle in the exact color I requested as well. From all appearances this car existed and was being offered to me at that price. I was invited to go down to get the car. I was told by e-mail that the offer was good for 72 hours. I confirmed that I would be going down there the next day to get the car. I was contacted twice that day confirming my appointment. Then when I arrive, the car is not there. Further, to get the exact same car, the dealership wanted to charge me an extra $1000. Moreover, they parked a more expensive version of the car I had requested next to my car and was trying to sell me the more expensive version. My daughter, who is an attorney, called them and told them that they cannot change their offer after they had made me the offer. Nevertheless, they refused to give me the car at the price that was quoted in the e-mail. I have the e-mail where they e-mailed me the offer.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to be held accountable for their false and misleading advertising. I do not know if I was targeted because I am a single elderly female or if this is standard practice. There behavior is illegal and unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* Contact Email: ******@mosssavings.com I am sorry that you feel that we were anything but honest with you. We try very hard to be as competitive as possible and help our customers when purchasing a vehicle . I am sorry for the misunderstanding about the Rav-4 that you requested, but we will be happy to honor our quoted price on the specific Rav-4 you requested. Please give me a call so I can review this situation and help resolve this issue. **** ***** **** Bros Toyota G.M./V.P. of Operations XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because I feel that there was no misunderstanding. I explained the situation to them. My daughter had a long phone conversation with the salesman explaining him the situation because she felt that there must have been a misunderstanding that needed to be corrected. The manager was right there the whole time. Nevertheless, the company refused to honor the price they quoted me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/03/01) */ I UNDERSTAND YOUR FRUSTRATION WITH THIS SITUATION AND I WOULD LIKE TO OFFER YOU MY PERSONNAL ASSISTANCE AND HONOR THE PRICE YOU ORIGINALLY WERE QUOTED.PLEASE GIVE ME A CALL. **** ***** **** BROS TOYOTA G.M./V.P. OF OPERATIONS XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2016/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am sorry, but I no longer wish to do business with your company because I lost my trust in the company.

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gross overcharge of labor $440 (perhaps parts too $200+) to install and EGR valve and vacuum to correct trouble code check engine light to pass * test 200l Toyota Camry with a check engine light cause a failure of E-test. I returned to the **** Bros. Toyota service department knowing that I have a trouble code with a pending code. They recommend a complete replacement of the EGR flow valve and vaccum assembly at the cost of $678. I agree with the hopes that this would correct the issues. I was called later to be told the code was gone and the problem was fixed. I pay, get the car, drive it 30 miles to work and the check engine light returns on my way to get it re-smogged to receive my 2016 DMV tag. Super Frustrated as I review the invoice, adding insult to injury I notice a labor cost of $440 with no volume of hours logged. I noticed and estimate of $975 for a catalytic converter on standby if the problem is not solved. I bitterly return the next day to have them look at it and a couple hours later they tell me it is the CATALYTIC CONVERTER with the intial quote of $1700+ (perhaps to make me feel okay about the next quote)and the original invoice quote of $975! I told them to give me my keys and I will find another way... later I call the service manager about the overcharge, and my frustration that the problem was NOT "Fixed" and the need for more time and MONEY! **** the service manager (my old service writer in the past BTW) told me he could knock off $100 to $150 perhaps on the Catalytic service. Then told me about the REF to get help on the cap of service cost for "low income" cases. At this point I figure it was only going to get me frustrated, so I thanked **** for calling me back and said service writer ***** ** did try to do all he could but tell me to RUN! I am not asking for anything crazy here. I know the risk in taking my car to a dealership. I just want some refund of my cost in labor. I figure at $60 an hour, how long could the job take. $440 does not add up... not to mention the part cost but that is on me so I will chalk some of this up to me being a dummy or sucker they saw coming. Any help would ease the pain and frustration toward other needs the car needs. Thank you for your consideration to this matter. ****** *********

Desired Settlement: As mentioned above, if we could come to an agreement of a reasonable labor charge and explanation of how they arrived at $440 of labor. I would ultimate like a monetary adjustment... let us say it took them 4 hours max, would that be $240 labor? Is there comparable jobs that amount to such a high figure? How other cars been charge so much? Is it fair?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Contact Email: *****@mosssavings.com On 2/15/2016 I contactected the customer and explained what was done to the vehicle and also explained that we clearly stated that the cat convertor would need replacement, we also refunded the customer 100.00 for customer satisfaction, the customer said he was happy and would continue to use our service department for future service needs Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The Service Manager **** **** made every effort to contact me, since I work and attend college courses, finally we spoke; he made the circumstance seem better by justifying the hard work his techs made to resolve the issue. I did not know how much the labor was per hour (which I think is outrageous, both in price ($120+) and the fact that is was not clearly posted). I have to take some of the blame for going to a dealer and expecting low cost repairs but I thought I would save time or money and in the long run feel better about the whole ordeal. I've resolve my issues for the time being and thank **** **** for his professionalism and lack of argument.

5/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are unable to provide license plates for the vehicle I purchased. They refuse to resolve the issue telling me to handle myself. I financed a pre owned Ford Fusion from Ed Duque at Moss Brothers. I received the tags and registration card for the vehicle. Since I had only paper plates I figured the state issued plates would arrive shortly. After 2 weeks past I contacted Ed and after a few weeks of waiting I recieved a response only stating that I have to go to DMV. No explanation, no reason, nothing. I have made several attempts to contact Ed, informing him that this is not my responsibility and he will not respond.

Desired Settlement: Either get the plates so the vehicle is legal or take the vehicle back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@mosssavings.com Thank you for contacting us and bring this issue to our attention. I am glad we were able to have your plates brought to our dealership for you. We look forward to seeing you on Thursday may 14th . If their are any other issues please ley us know and we would be happy to help you. **** ***** G.M./V.P.of Operations **** Bros Toyota XXX-XXX-XXXX etx 7122 case #XXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After many emails and the BBB I received a phone call from **** ****** He was having someone pick my plates up at the DMV. I picked up Thursday the 14th of May from **** Brothers. It wasn't until the BBB contacted them that they responded.

3/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/08/14 I daughter purchased a Toyota RAVX XXXX. This has been the WORST experience I have ever had purchasing a vehicle. ***** *** was our first sales person (whom I had spoke to on the phone in great detail). I went down the next morning and Mr. *** proceeded to help me and in the middle of our deal decided to have another salesperson take over (with NO explanation to me as to what was happening and why). After I explained everything ALL over to this new salesperson I started to get upset about the situation and decided I would purchase the vehicle else where. I told ****** it was nothing to do with him and I was sorry but I was not happy with the service. ****** went and got the sales manager *** ******* who said the ***** *** was new (yet on my email from him it states ***** *** is the Internet Manager) and inexperienced and tried to pacify me with words and excuses. I did end up purchasing the vehicle to which I found a $750 college grad rebate that was applied to the contract at 72 months with 3.6% financing through Toyota Motor Corp. Then on 3/21/14 I received a phone call from *** ******* who said that the rebate could only be applied to a 60 month term agreement and the terms needed to be changed to 60 months in order to receive the rebate. This is not what I agreed to and I work part time , I am a full time student and I can not afford the increase in payments. Not only that this is not the agreement that is stated on the contract that we agreed to. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Toyota RAV4 Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Not only do I want the terms that we agreed to stated on the contract, but I want compensation for the inconvenience and hassle that I have gone through. I want to keep my extended warranty that I purchased on the vehicle but I want to be reimbursed the $1000 that I paid for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/28) */ In response to BBB CASE #:XXXXXXXX; I would like to thank ****** for the purchase of her new Rav-4 from **** Bros Toyota. Our sales staff acknowledges we made a mistake when applying the $750 college rebate on a 72 month contract, the program for the college rebate is only available on contracts up to 60 months. Since this is our error, we have assured ****** that we will honor the current contract terms with no changes to her financial position. I would like to remind ****** that the first two years or 25,000 miles maintenance is free and Moss Bros Auto Group gives her free oil and filter changes for life. Unfortunately we are unable to reimburse the request of the $1000 as an inconvenience fee. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is unacceptable for the service that we received and they have no choice but to accept the terms of the agreement. The 2 year maintenance is offered at "Every" Toyota dealership. The lifetime oil change is part of the agreement that is offered to every purchaser. So nothing has been done for treatment, hassle, inconvenience and "Horrible" service we received.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Moss Bros. Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)