BBB Accredited Business since

Mercedes-Benz of Fresno

Additional Locations

Phone: (559) 438-0300 Fax: (559) 438-7262 View Additional Phone Numbers 7055 N Palm Ave, Fresno, CA 93650 http://www.mboffresno.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes-Benz of Fresno meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes-Benz of Fresno include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes-Benz of Fresno
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1969 Business started: 06/01/1969 Business started locally: 06/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342, Sacramento CA 94232
www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 229-3127
The number is 48768.

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 264815.

Business Management
Mr. Scott Biehl, President Mr. Raymond Beshoff, Partner Mr. Roger Lockhart, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Biehl, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Herwaldt Automotive Group, Inc. Herwaldt Motors-Mercedes Benz Herwaldt Pontiac-Buick-GMC

Additional Locations

  • 7055 N Palm Ave

    Fresno, CA 93650

  • PO Box 14060

    Pinedale, CA 93650 (559) 438-0300 (888) 829-6356

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising on panoramic roof. Vehicle came with missing part for keyless entry. Purchased a vehicle (stock# EAXXXXXXA) from this dealership online. Advertised on dealer own website to have panoramic roof. Here is a snapshot of it: https://goo.gl/photos/452pa34dW4wrLeXB8 Confirm with the sales person, **********, 3 times over the phone, regarding the panoramic roof. Since I lived in Texas and this is a California dealership, I was not able to see the car before purchase and thought that the sales person did the due diligent to verify vehicle information before confirming to his customer. But believe he took advantage on this easy sale. Vehicle came without panoramic roof. Sales person said there is nothing they can do about it because the website is done by third party company and they are not responsible for mistake posted on their own website. It is the customer fault to believe what the sales person said and I should have somehow verify this information myself. Vehicle also came without the keyless engine start button. The key is required to be inserted to start the ignition even though this is supposed to have the keyless Go feature.

Desired Settlement: A business should be responsible for what they advertised. A responsible business should make sure that their sales person provide the most accurate information possible to their customer. The sales person has that information, he should check that before confirming on the feature inquiry. I should be compensated to the full value of the feature that are missing from the advertisement (panoramic sunroof and keyless go button).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/08) */ Mercedes-Benz of Fresno had no intent whatsoever in misleading the customer. The picture of the vehicle online was posted by a vendor cars.com In any case we stand behind our stores integrity and we will send the customer a check for $300 which is the difference in value between the 2 moon roofs and we will also send the customer a keyless go button. We remove them from the cars on the lot so they will not be lost or stolen. This should now settle this inquiry with our customer to his satisfaction.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took 2006 ML 500 Mercedes to SELL for $11,002 on 3/7/14 and signed purchase order. Have not been paid after multiple requests, emails,contacts. Sold 2006 ML 500 VIN: **************** to dealer on 3/7/14 and they took car into their possession. Dealer rep ****** ***** promised payment on 3/10/14. I arrived at dealership 3/10/14 and ****** said it would be 3/13/14 or 3/14/14 for payment. I went back on 3/14/14 and was told no payment until credit union SJPECU clears title. Credit union cleared title 3/31/14 and sent proof to ******** ******* and ***** ******* Told again by ******** ******* at Mercedes Fresno that I will have to wait up to 2 weeks. Still have not been paid for vehicle. Vehicle whereabouts are unknown as stated by various employees when I have inquired. Sent email complaints to owner ***** and ***** ***** but have received no reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be paid for my vehicle which has now been in possession of Fresno Mercedes Benz since 3/7/14.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Owner Contact Email: ******@mboffresno.com I returned to my office on Monday April 6 after being away for 10 days and contacted ******* personally by email and resolved her problem and issued her a check for her car within 2 hours. We were not able to issue the check sooner without title from her credit union. ***** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ***** did get payment issued immediately upon his return to work and I appreciate his diligence. Since payment was promised 3/10/14 by his employee, ******* it would be useful for employees to be trained properly so as not to misinform potential customers. Apparently, many of the employees were also misinformed as several employees gave me different scenarios of when I would be paid in the 4-1/2 weeks after the initial transaction. Finally, when the title was released by my credit union and proof was presented, employees still refused to issue a check. I would not recommend this dealership for the sale of a used car. Thank you.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unprofessional vehicle purchase experience. 1st experience 2011- Salesman ****** *** ran my credit and I didn't qualify, no problem with that but following were his actions: I was inquiring about a Mercedes Benz E550 and he said "you can not get that vehicle but you can get a different car." "Take these chips so you can leave with something" he had just returned from lunch with a sandwich and chips and he tossed me his bag of chips. Experience was unprofessional and I felt offended. 2nd experience 2013- While renovation was done on the building I ordered a Mercedes Benz 2014 SLK 55 AMG. I was told the vehicle would be here October 2013. October 2013 came around and I was told the vehicle would arrive in November 2013. November 2013 came around and I was told the vehicle would arrive 2nd week of December 2013. **** the new manager asked if I wanted to test drive a different year same model vehicle and I accepted. I waited outside 30 minutes with my girlfriend then I headed in the building and **** apologized but had no urgency to grab the keys nor did he offer to drive the car. Experience was unprofessional. 3rd experience December 9, 2013- The 2014 SLK 55 AMG I ordered finally came in December 2013. During negotiations ***** ********** in front of my father and a friend and the Mercedes-Benz staff raised his voice and admitted he was upset and attempted to give me a lecture and told me "dont come back here" "you're not a grown man" "i am upset" "you wasted mine and a salesman's time". Another salesman named **** ********* who also witnessed the events called me 12/10/13 to apologize for *****s outburst. Finance was ready but needless to say the vehicle was not purchased. Experience was unprofessional and ***** offended and humiliated me.

Desired Settlement: #1-Train the sales staff to keep composure during customer sales interactions, and educate them on arrival of ordered vehicles. #2-Lower the price of the vehicle i am attempting to purchase: 2014 MERCEDES BENZ SLK 55 AMG to $75,000 with 3 years free-of-charge maintenance to compensate for the poor experience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ On behalf of the dealership please accept my apology as to how you have been treated recently at our dealership. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and I am sorry we fell short this time. I have spoken to our team members and have addressed the issues with them. In the future you may contact me directly if you need any assistance however we will not negotiate a price on a vehicle through a BBB complaint, that is not something we would ever do. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes-Benz of Fresno
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)