BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mark Christopher Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mark Christopher Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mark Christopher Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 06/05/1968 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 3134.

DMV - Motor Carrier Services
2415 1st Ave, Sacramento CA 95818
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 00408.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Leggio, President Ms. Loretta Holtz, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Leggio, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Warranty Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Mark Christopher Chevrolet Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2131 E Convention Center Way

    Ontario, CA 91764 (909) 390-2900 (877) 571-4895

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership back in September of last year. At the time I purchased the vehicle from them I was upside down with the vehicle I had at the time and they assured me that they could work with me. I brought them a quite large down payment and everyone really seemed nice and easy to deal with at the time. then they took my fiancé and I into another room and talked us into the need of GAP insurance as well as a big extended warranty. Neither my fiancé or myself felt we needed either one of these but they kept pushing and pushing. After we both felt like we could not get out of there we decided to sign and go with what they were saying. Now since then I have been making calls and found out that we did not have to do that and that we could cancel which is what I have been trying to do. Today I manage to find out that these dealerships are allowed to just sell these warranties and have no guidelines on their pricing what so ever. So the $4689.00 we were charged is just a price they made up and passed ** to us the consumer. When I called the dealership an spoke with ***** in finance today he basically told me that it was in line with what warranties are going for. I have since then called two other warranty companies and found that I could get an even better warranty with MORE coverage more term for about $1600.00. The dealership will not provide me with any paperwork outlining the cost of the warranty or any paperwork saying that that is what the warranty cost was to them from Wells Fargo Auto Protect. And again when I called the warranty company I was told by them that they do not have copies of the actual contract that was sold to me or a cost. So that tells me that these dealerships are buying these warranties at bulk for one set price and just picking and choosing what us consumers are paying for at the time we purchase our vehicles. At this point I want all monies that were financed through our finance company OR the monies refunded to me and my now husband directly. I think it is wrong that **** *********** can not tell me what and why we paid so much and ***** also advised me that they NO LONGER have prices for the warranties from last year because those are last year prices and they don't keep track.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment I would like the full amount that we paid for their warranties refunded because now because of the cost they charged up we are up side down with this vehicle and totally cancels out the $6000 we laid down to get out of the previous vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/07/15) */ The consumer purchased a 2015 Buick Lacrosse on 9/30/2015. The room they were taken into was our Finance Department where all of the financial documents are done. We have products that are offered to the vehicle buyers and these are all optional products. A customer is not forced to buy anything. These two products are to protect the consumer and their vehicle. **** *********** Auto Center does NOT buy any of these in bulk. We do not own them. We are the liaison that sells to the customer and we send it to the Warranty company with money that is collected from the customer. Asking us for the cost of a warranty is like buying a watch and asking the jeweler for his cost price. Every business is entitled to make a profit on the products they sell. Cancelling the GAP and Warranty is an option for Ms. ********. The cancellation date and mileage are used to prorate the refund due the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I spoke to wells Fargo Auto Protect they advised me that the dealerships by these warranty's from them in large bulk and they have no way of knowing how much they charge when they sell these to a customer. when I asked the warranty company if they had any paperwork or contract information on my purchase they advised me they did not. when I went back to **** *********** and asked why I was charged almost $4000.00 for an extended warranty, they told me that there was no way to know what the prices on warranty's were last year because they are now on this years prices. I would like a FULL refund provided for what I paid for this warranty because of this I am not up side down on this vehicle and it totally cancels out the $6000.00 I paid out to get out of my previous vehicle so they made a profit on both ends. I think it is HIGHLY unprofessional that they can't provide me with my warranty was almost 4000.00 when you can go directly to a company yourself and get MORE coverage protection for under $1600.00? the mere fact that they are saying they don't have last years information or numbers goes to prove that they are scamming their hard working customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2016/07/25) */ I'm sorry that you feel you have been mislead. You purchased a warranty for your vehicle that is far better than one you could have bought on your own. We are NOT a dishonest company. We are a family owned business since 1975. If you were upside down in your previous vehicle, that is no fault of this company. We simply helped you with a way to purchase a new vehicle. This will be my last response to this comment. We will not issue a full refund on your warranty as it has been 10 months since you purchased it. As I stated before, you will have to send your request in writing with the supporting documents for the pro-rated refunds. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2016/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am still requesting a FULL refund and for the purpose of auditing (in which I know you have to keep your records) I would like a full explanation and proof of why and what I was charged and how you came up with that amount that you charged. That is one thing that I have nor has my husband been provided and we have every right to see where that price came from and how it was determined.

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car 3 times in less than 4 months to this dealership for repair. Vehicle was never repaired; check engine light was merely reset. 6/24/15 took car in due to over heating-heater hose replaced/coolant added. 6/30/15 (6 days later) took car back in for overheating; dealership kept the car for 9 days 9/24/15 car continued to overheat; picked up the car on 9/25/15 after receiving multiple assurances that vehicle is "fine" on the way home (less than 1 mile out of dealership) check engine light came back on. Every time the check engine light came on I took it to the dealership and to the best of my knowledge not only was the car not repaired it was not even ASSESSED for malfunction instead the technician would simply reset the light.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this business's practices assessed; I realize that by not doing the work they save money/time and I realize I did not pay for the actual work (or in this case no work) but I did miss time from work in order to drop off/pick up the vehicle from the dealership. Perhaps the mechanics are being directed by the people in charge not to do the repairs correctly so that consumers find themselves forced to buy another vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2016/02/26) */ I would like to inquire as to the relationship between ****** ******** and ****** ********. The complaint is from ****** and our records indicate the vehicle belongs to ******. I am happy to answer the complaint that Ms. ******** filed. The first item I will address is the comment made that our dealership did not do any repairs, that we only "reset" the check engine light. First of all, that is an impossibility. There is no way to do that. When check engine light comes on, the vehicle is hooked up to a computer that displays a code to tell the technician where the trouble is occurring. If Ms. ******** will look at the copies of the invoices that she provided to you with her complaint, she will see that each one of them has a different code and for that code a specific repair was completed. If the indicated repair is not done, the same check engine light code would come back on immediately. We are in the "service repair" business and really have no reason to not do a repair to a vehicle. Ms. ******** stated in her letter that she returned the car to CARMAX. Does she not own the vehicle now? If she does still own the vehicle, my service manager, **********, will be happy to help her with any issue that she is still having. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2016/02/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lease a GMC terrain Leased a GMC Terrain on 1/16/2015. The weekly ads said $129 per month with $1000 loyalty cash but I opted for lease conquest with $2,500. The difference is $1500 but I only got credit for $720. It should be $62 less per month not $30 less per month. Not a happy customer!

Desired Settlement: fix the contract to make it right

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/02/02) */ Mr. **** did in fact put an additional down payment of Approximately $1,500 as sale tax is due and payable up front on all down payment on a lease as well as tax is applied to the $129 payment stated. Mr. ****'s payment on his contract with the $1,500 additional down payment is $51.58 plus tax for a difference of $77.42 less per month. With tax - $51.58 x 8% $55.71 $129.00 x 8 % = $139.32 which makes a difference of $83.61 with tax included, I am not understanding where Mr. **** is getting his numbers from that he is referring to and we would be happy to provide any information, or invite Mr. **** to speak in person with our sales manager Mr. *** ***** to clear up any confusion. Please let me know if this Information helps or do not hesitate to contact me again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The ad stated $995 down, with $2050 rebate and $1000 loyalty cash, and the customer pays $129 plus tax per month. On my contract, there was an additional fee of $968.20, and that was for taxes on capitalized cost reduction, first monthly payment, vehicle license fee, etc. If $968.20 is added to the $995 down, which is $1963.20, that is the total drive off, $129 plus tax per month. But I was qualified for and opted for the lease conquest cash of $2500 instead of the $1000 loyalty cash, and the $2500 was in fact shown on the contract as the replacement of $1000 loyalty cash, so a difference of $1500 in my favor. If $1500/23 months, that comes out to $65.21 less per month. Take $129 subtract $65.21 equals $63.79. I put down $3009.90, which is shown on the contract. Take my down payment of $3009.90 subtract the total drive off $1963.20, then I still have $1046.70. Take $1046.70/23 months equals $45.50 (my credit). Now if we subtract $63.79 from $45.50, then my monthly should reduce down to $18.29 plus tax per month. Your reply stated that I put down approximately $1500 is a false statement, my contract clearly shows a down payment of $3009.90. It seems that you are trying to confuse BBB and our viewers out there on the $1500, the $1500 I mentioned was the difference in the rebates, not my down payment. My next step will be contacting *** and ** to get this issue resolved. For BBB, I will be happy to provide my contract that shows all numbers I stated above. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/03/12) */ No - $968.20 is the drive-offs consisting of 1st payment, tax on down payment, DMV fees, and an $80 documentation fee. The ad stated $995 down PLUS tax PLUS drive-offs. Possibly this is the confusion? On a lease you only pay tax as you spend money therefore $995 down becomes $1,074.60 due at 8% tax rate plus the rebates as stated plus tax on them. Come see us to explain or take whatever course you deem necessary to resolve. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Directly from the contract, Block 6 Itemization of Amount Due at Lease Signing or Delivery, the $968.20 is consisted of the tax on capitalized cost reduction $527.34, plus first monthly payment $55.71, plus vehicle license fees $264, plus sales/use tax $6.40, plus document processing charge $80.00, plus electronic vehicle registration $26.00, plus California tire fee $8.75, which totals $968.20. Your $1,074.60 is another false statement, where in the contract that showed the tax on down payment of $995 plus 8% tax? Two issues you failed to address, the false statement that you claimed I put the $1500.00 down payment, and the lease conquest cash of $2500.00 I qualified for rather than the $1000.00 loyalty cash. I am very confident any third party that understands the contract would clearly see that I was overcharged. I intend to escalate this issue to the ****** of the ******** ******* and the **** For BBB, if more information is needed, please feel free to contact me

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was turned in without overheating and water spewing out. after repairs vehicle pours out water and can potentially overheat on me. On 3/12/15 my vehicle was dropped off at Mark Christopher's shop to install O2 sensor, replace oil pressure sensor and change spark plugs. When the car was dropped off it did not leak any water or overheat or overflow water. On 3/13/15 **** called me to confirm the work I wanted done on my vehicle and he told me they would have it done by Monday. Monday came around I received a call late (4:00pm) to inform me that they need more time. Tuesday came around and I received a call **** stating the car will be done on Wednesday 3/18/15. Wednesday came around and I did not receive a call; I was forced to follow up on the ETA of my vehicle unfortunately the late delivery of my vehicle put me in a bind and had to take time off of work. I had to get rides to and from work and borrow a car from my brother, I am 33 years old and work for a great company how embarrassing is it to have to ask for rides I felt like a kid. I asked **** if they provide shuttle so I can pick up my car and he said they do but couldn't because I was 16 miles away. On 3/19/2015 I finally received a call from the shop that my vehicles is finally done, this call informed me of bad news that my car was leaking water I just thought that the hoses were bad and needed to be replaced. Unfortunately I work long hours and can't ask for more time off to pick up my vehicle. I was stuck; finally on 4/3/2015 I had the opportunity to pick up my vehicle. I approached ***** ***** the manager and told him that my car came in without overheating and shouldn't be overheating. He took me to the back and had ***** the mechanic put it up on a rack. Shane explained to me the problem with the car; ***** also said that the car needs a new water pump and the thermostat replaced (how did they know it needed a new water pump) did they perform a test without my consent? I don't know, as far as I am concerned it took them almost a week to fix minor things. Maybe they blew the water pump while performing other tasks that I didn't ask for. Mr. ***** told me that all they did was fix what I asked for. I asked, why did it take so long? Never got an answer. I took the vehicle home because my son need to get ready for bed; but it barely made it a few miles and started smoking and spewing water on me. Did I turn it in this way? The answer is no, if I turned in the vehicle like that I'm sure they would have clearly mentioned it to me right away. This wasn't brought to my attention until the final day when my car was completed. I called ***** ***** the manager the same day and told him that my car wasn't overheating. I received a call on Monday and we went back and forth until finally we spoke on 4/8/15. All he could do is apologize for having my car to me late, he made me feel like I caused the problem. He told me that the car was topped off with fluids and that's what caused the car to start overflowing. I asked him if my fluids weren't at the proper level wouldn't the light come on? He said no the vehicle would run without fluids and I said that would cause the car to overheat? He said once again the car would run. At the end of the conversation he said there isn't anything he could do for me even though I took time off from work and was and am without a vehicle. I would like them to fix my car and get it running the same way I had it running prior to them working on it. I feel it is very unfair I have to be without a car after I spent over $800 to fix.

Desired Settlement: Please get my car back to it's original state where it didn't pour water from reservoir and doesn't smoke.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/13) */ Our Service Adviser, **** ****** wrote subject vehicle on 3/12/15 at 2:45pm . Customer requested replacement of the Bank 1 Sensor 1 Oxygen Sensor, Spark Plugs and Oil Pressure Sensor. During the repair order write up the vehicle was found to have 2 open field actions, XXXXX: Ignition Key Rotation and XXXXX: Heated Windshield Washer Module Short Circuit. Mr. ***** requested no diagnosis to be performed for his requested repairs, replacement only. We performed Mr. *****'s requested repairs of replacement of Bank 1 Sensor 1 Oxygen Sensor, 8 Spark Plugs and Oil Pressure Sensor. Along with Factory open field actions, XXXXX: Ignition Key Rotation and XXXXX: Heated Windshield Washer Module Short Circuit. . As part of normal repair process it is customary to perform a quick visual inspection of the vehicle being worked on to insure our customers are aware of any possible issues they may not know about. During this quick visual inspection it was noted that Mr. *****'s vehicle had coolant leaks at the lower radiator hose and thermostat, heater hoses and water pump along with oil leaks at the engine block case halves. It was also noted that the low tire pressure monitor light was on and someone had previously attempted to repair a broken nipple on the purge solenoid. Mr. ***** was advised of these visual findings and was advised these items would require diagnosis to provide correct failure and repairs needed. After performing the repairs Mr. ***** requested the vehicle engine had to be run as a normal repair verification to insure no leaks from the oil pressure sensor. During the engine run procedure the vehicle started to purge water out of the surge tank that had just been filled by the technician. As part of our complimentary visual inspection it is common to top off fluid levels such as coolant bottles especially when leaks are noticed. Mr. ***** was also advised of the coolant purging while vehicle was running. Mr. ***** declined to have diagnosis performed of all documented visual findings. When Mr. ***** arrived at the dealer to pick his vehicle up I was contacted due to his concerns of how long the vehicle had been here and him not receiving phone calls about the status and that we had informed him that there was other things wrong with his vehicle. After reviewing the comments and recommendations entered into the repair order with Mr. ***** follow up calls and finished call was documented as well as recommendations for diagnosis for items found while working on the vehicle. Mr. ***** stated that the water pump had recently been replaced and questioned the recommendations we had noted. I offered to raise the vehicle for him to show him what we had seen which he accepted. Once raised on the rack Mr. ***** was brought into the shop and showed the leaks at the heater hoses, lower radiator hose and water pump as well as the engine block case halves. Mr. ***** stated then that he had recently purchased the vehicle. We advised him that he may want to contact who he had received the vehicle from about the leaks and the coolant purging from the surge tank as these need to be addressed. We advised him that the previous recent water pump replacement is an indication of a prior coolant problem and with the high mileage of the vehicle (207,364 miles), it is possible that the head bolt threads could be stretched or a head gasket failure but there would need to be a block check diagnosis performed to determine the state of the head gaskets and what was actually causing the issue with the coolant purging out of the surge tank. Mr. ***** witnessing for himself our visual inspection findings declined diagnosis of the concerns and recommendations and proceeded to pay for his requested repairs while we washed his vehicle for him. The following Monday I had a voicemail from Mr. ***** concerning his vehicle. Due to his work schedule and mine it did take us a few days to finally speak. Mr. ***** stated to me that his vehicle was not purging coolant out of the surge tank when he brought it in for service. I explained to Mr. ***** there was nothing we did or could have done during the repairs of his vehicle that would have caused this concern. I also explained to Mr. ***** that we top off water levels on vehicles when we are working on them especially those that have found to have coolant leaks and that having the correct coolant level in the surge tank could account for him now seeing the coolant purge from the surge tank. Mr. ***** then stated that the vehicle would not run when low on coolant which I explained that it would run low on coolant and the damage that could occur if done so. Mr. ***** questioned that the vehicle would show an overheat condition if there was no coolant in it. I explained to Mr. ***** that the coolant sensor reads coolant or water temperature, not air temperature so depending on the coolant level and distance driven it may or may not show an overheat condition. Mr. ***** then referred back to the amount of time it took for us to complete his repairs and then proceeded to tell me that we kept his car here longer so we could damage it or we damaged it while it was here longer than it should have been. I assured Mr. ***** that we do not intentionally damage vehicles and that we are here to fix customers cars not damage them. I assured Mr. ***** that we did not damage his vehicle and that during the repairs that he requested us to perform there is nothing related to the vehicle purging coolant from the surge tank and there is nothing we could have done to cause that concern. I again advised him that it is most likely caused from the prior water pump repairs and to question why the water pump had to be previously replaced. Mr. ***** then asked me if I was going to fix his vehicle for the coolant purging from the surge tank and smoking at no charge to him at which time I told him no, I would not be able to. The repairs completed on Mr. *****'s vehicle by **** *********** Auto Center are not related to or the cause of coolant purging from the surge tank when driving. The recommendations noted are visual findings noticed while performing requested repairs. Mr. *****'s vehicle would have to be diagnosed for the cause of the coolant purging from the surge tank, coolant leaks and oil leaks to be able to provide an accurate repair estimate. I would also like to reiterate that **** *********** Auto Center would have no objection to diagnosing Mr. *****'s vehicle and providing an accurate estimate for repairs. The cost to Mr. ***** would be 110.00 dollars per complaint to be diagnosed. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My vehicle was running fine without overheating and now they are telling me it will cost more to fix it than the car is worth. I would like for them to get my vehicle running the same way it was turned into them. I have received a check for $100 from the shop I will not cash it. Please let me know when I can take my vehicle so appropriate repairs can be performed to get my vehicle running. The shop called me and did ask what repairs I wanted done. they noted it and were quick to tell me it would be over $800. Nobu never told me that it had recalls needed to be done they just did repairs without notifying me verbally, they noted them on the receipt that's how I found out they did those repairs after the fact. I think the shop did other work and caused my vehicle to be worthless and now I am left without a means of transportation. Once again I have to find a ride to and from work as well as to figure out how to get my 6 year old home from school. Please help me repair my vehicle ASAP. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/23) */ Mr. ***** has received a check in the amount of 100.00 dollars from General Motors as part of Safety Campaign XXXXX. As stated on Mr. *****'s signed repair order authorizing work to be performed the Safety Campaign is for a possible short circuit within the heated washer fluid module. The Campaign procedure as stated by General Motors is to disable and remove the module. The check Mr. ***** received from General Motors is for compensation to the customer for the loss of the feature as per the Campaign instructions. The other Safety Campaign performed on Mr. *****'s vehicle is XXXXX which address a possible unintended ignition key rotation. Both of these Safety Campaigns were noted and explained at the time the vehicle was written for service and are listed on the repair order at time of write up and signed by the customer at the time the vehicle was brought into **** ***********. No extra or added work was added to the repair order nor was any added or extra work performed on Mr. *****'s vehicle. At the time of write up an exact dollar amount for the parts and labor cost were not known so a preliminary estimate was given and signed for. Once the completed price and availability of the repairs Mr. ***** requested to be performed was completed the service writer contacted Mr. ***** for authorization of the total cost of repairs which was authorized by Mr. *****. No diagnosis has been performed by **** *********** Auto Center on Mr. *****'s vehicle so the root cause of the surge tank purging is unknown to us. The recommendations that were noted are visual findings only that were noticed while performing requested repairs. Mr. *****'s vehicle would have to be diagnosed for the cause of the coolant purging from the surge tank, coolant leaks and oil leaks to be able to provide an accurate repair estimate. Mr. ***** declined any diagnosis to be performed.

8/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some repairs done and they caused 600$ worth of damage and now they wouldn't fix what they damaged. I got a repair done buy the dealer and during the repair they caused 600 dollars worth of damage

Desired Settlement: I have a Chevy truck. I had them repair the ignition wiring harness during the course 9th the repair the dealer pointed out that there were several other issues with the truck they mentioned a sagging door some leaking transmission cooler lines but they never mentioned anything about my dashboard being cracked. I have them do the repairs when I went to pick up the truck I discovered the dashboard was cracked in there was a hole in it. Then I asked to speak to the manager and they said he would be right out I waited 45 minutes and he never came out. They said he will call me. He never called me. What I would like is to be refunded the money spent for the repair which was 604 and change. After following up with the dealer he told me that to fix the dash it was a 600 dollar part and would cost 400 to install so a total of 1000 dollars all I want is the cost of the repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/02) */ Our Service manager contacted Mr. ****** on March 20th and he was to bring his vehicle in to be looked at that evening. Mr. ****** could not make it due to work and rescheduled for Monday afternoon, March 24th. He did not make it for that appointment. The service manager has called Mr. ****** several times and left messages each time and we have not had a response. While we are not admitting that the vehicle's dashboard was broken while in our possession, we are willing to make the repair at no charge to Mr. ****** for customer satisfaction.

3/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2014 Chevrolet Impala I purchased was delivered without the dealer installed options,as noted in the window sticker. I paid cash for the car. I purchase a 2014 Chevrolet Impala on November 30,2013. Everything looked find until I examined the window sticker a week later and found that 3 of the 4 dealer installed options were not installed. The uninstalled options included a rear spoiler, a trunk organizer and wheel locks. The total cost of the uninstalled options is $645.00 plus sales tax. I wrote 2 letters requesting a refund for the unistalled options. The dealer claims I must bring the car back to the dealership to have these options installed. My claim is these options should have been installed when the car was delivered and I do not wish to take the time to have these options installed. In fact, if I had not kept the window sticker, I would have never found out. I suspect they new the car was delivered without these options installed because the fourth dealer installed option, the cargo area all weather mat, was installed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $645.00 plus sales tax which is the cost of the uninstalled options. I do not want to take the time to take the car back to the dealership to have the options installed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Mr. ******** purchased his vehicle on a weekend. He was told there were options that needed to be installed on the vehicle. Dealer installed options are sent from the factory and do not come installed on the vehicle. He was to bring the vehicle back to have the equipment installed. We have the equipment that needs to be installed and Mr. ******** needs to schedule a time to bring his vehicle in to the dealership to have them installed. A refund in cash is not an option. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/03/04) */ The rear spoiler can be installed Friday morning March 14, 2014. The wheel locks and trunk organizer can be delivered unpacked the same day. No installation required for those two items. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/03) */ We have all of the items gathered and we are able to do the install at the consumers home any weekday between 9 and 3 with one day's prior notice. Thank you.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to M C Auto d for a oil change & inspection. When I got my vehicle back it was running horrible. When I went back to the dealer the next day to pick up my vehicle, they told me I would need to fix the motor mounts, and that I had several oil leaks. When I started the car, there was a strong vibration and loud noise. I complained to the manager who said he would look at it again, so I left it for another day. The next day, they told me that when they put the car up for the oil change, that caused the Motor Mounts to get worse. Now, a couple of weeks later the vehicle will not start at all, and I have a serious oil leak. I do not want to deal with the mgr again, as I do not want to be patronized and treated as if I am just a problem they want to get rid of. The manager was rude and stated that I was disturbing his customers (as if I was not a customer). When I mentioned that I too was a customer, he just turned and walked away. I am on a fixed income and can not afford a major car repair. I told them when I left the vehicle the 2nd time that I had limited funds - however, that should not give them a reason to treat me like I am begging for something free. Bottom line is I took my car in for a simple Oil Change, and I believe they caused more damage to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix my car, and put it back the way it was when I first took my car there for service with no charge as I believe they caused the current damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Ms. ******** had her vehicle in our service department in March, 2013 and we recommended to her at that time that she had oil leaks that needed to be repaired and she declined have the oil leaks repaired. She returned on October 28, 2013 for wiper replacements and a lube, oil & filter. We advised her on October 29, 2013 of broken motor mounts and she accused us of breaking them. We gave her a free rental and realigned the engine on the broken mounts at no charge. She brought the vehicle in again on November 21, 2013 and once again declined the oil leaks repair which was the same leaks as in March. We are not responsible for any repairs to this consumer's ten year old vehicle that has in excess of $130,000 miles and we will not be participating in doing anything additional at no charge.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mark Christopher Auto Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)