BBB Accredited Business since

Desert Lexus

Phone: (800) 733-1202 68068 Kyle Rd, Cathedral City, CA 92234 http://www.desertlexus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Desert Lexus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Desert Lexus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Desert Lexus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/18/1991 Business started locally: 09/18/1991 Business incorporated 09/18/1991 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 163484.

DMV - Motor Carrier Services
2415 1st Ave, Sacramento CA 95818
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 10348.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Wilson, President Mr. Ed Atwood, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Wilson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
DWWDL Inc

Additional Locations

  • 68068 Kyle Rd

    Cathedral City, CA 92234 (800) 733-1202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service writer was rude and very unwilling to give options prior to his boss was involved. On 9/18/14 I took my 2010 Lexus GS350 (Purchased in Feb 2014 at Lexus of Cerritos as a certified pre-owned vehicle) to Desert Lexus due to a few issues I was having. 1) The dashboard was making a rattle noise (was taken to the same dealer prior with no resolve). 2) A squeaking noise coming from the engine. 3) The leather on the drivers seat began to tear. Service writer **** ****** was assigned to take care of our issues. First impression of Mr ****** was poor, lacked profesional gretting and attitude. Once I explained the above listed issues I was told "Warranties do not cover cosmetic damages and or noises." I told Mr ****** I understood that everything may not be covered, but assistance in away would be greatly appreciated. Mr ****** in so many words explained I needed to take the car back to where I purchased the car (Lexus of Cerritos) since they sold the car. I told Mr ****** the service options should be the same since both are Lexus dealers. Mr ****** then said that was all he could do and did not offer anything further. I asked to speak to his supervisor. Mr ******'s supervisor came and spoke to me (I do not recall his name) But he was very prefesional and understood my issues. He also told me most of my issues were not covered by the warranty, but stated he would do what he could to resolve my issues. He had his technician (*****) take a test drive with me in order to verify the rattle noise of the dashboard and the squeaking noise of the engine. ***** was able to hear the rattle noise, but not the squeaking noise. Once back at Desert Lexus the supervisor authorized the dashboard issue to be fixed under warranty, but explained the torn leather would not be cover ( I was given an estimate if $1450.00 plus labor to repair the seat). Mr ****** then was told to schedule an appointment for the service. I told Mr ****** I could leave the car at that time, Mr ****** stated "No, we cannot do it today since its a lot of work and would take 2 days to complete. you need to drop the car off on a Monday morning." I told Mr ****** that I believed Thursday through Saturday is 3 days, Mr ****** said "no because "that kind of work is not done at the end of the week." I eventually schedualed an appointment 2 weeks away. Mr ****** was still displaying poor customer service and was rude in his demeanor. I just don't understand how the rattle noise was addressed prior by the same dealership and was told warranty did not cover it as Mr ****** stated on 9/18/14. Also that his supervisor was able to reason with my issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Desert Lexus repair the seat and to offer an appoligy for Mr ******'s unprofesional service. Mr ****** is a direct reflection of the dealership and that is no a good portrayal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@desertlexus.com Desert Lexus apologizes for the customers concerns with the service advisor and has addressed the concerns directly with the advisor. The customer has been advised that his certified warranty does not cover trim pieces or rattles and squeaks. Desert Lexus as a goodwill gesture is repairing the dash rattle/squeak. The drivers seat leather has a puncture. The customer has reported to Desert Lexus Manager that the puncture was not present when the vehicle was purchased at the Cerritos Lexus dealer. Unfortunately it will not be possible to replace the seat leather for the customer at no charge. The puncture is not a factory defect or premature wear but caused by an outside influence. Desert Lexus will recommend a reputable upholstery shop to the customer so the customer can have the seat repaired at a reasonable cost. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand not everything that goes wrong with my vehcile would be covered by my CPO warrant or the extended warrant I purchased. When I took my vehicle for its first oil change under my ownership (3 or so months prior to the current complaint), the service advisor "******" was understanding and had it looked at but was not able to find the reason for the rattle. So to have a new advisor (Mr. ******) to fire off an automatic "its not covered under warranty" shows the lack of providing the best customer service possible. The only reason Desert Lexus is repairing the issue now is because I asked to speak to the service manager, or else per Mr. ****** I would just have to deal with the rattle. I appreciate the repair work being done now. Lexus of Cerritos repaired the seat at a charge of 118 dollars and gave me a loaner car while the repair was made. That is a very different quote than the 1,400 dollar quote from Desert Lexus. The lack of professonalism and customer service is the reason why I will not being doing any business or recommending Desert Lexus to anyone! I rather drive two hours away to Cerritos of Lexus where my business is appreciated and it shows!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Desert Lexus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)