BBB Accredited Business since

Clovis Auto Cars

Phone: (559) 314-1400 Fax: (559) 314-1450 View Additional Phone Numbers 350 W Herndon Ave, Clovis, CA 93612 http://www.clovisvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clovis Auto Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Clovis Auto Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clovis Auto Cars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 06/02/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342, Sacramento CA 94232
http://www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 229-3127
The number is 65453.

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 240979.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Zamora, President Mr. Paul Anderson Dean Bumgarner, GM Brian Yrlas
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Dean Bumgarner, GM
Principal: Mr. Robert Zamora, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Clovis Volkswagen Clovis VW

Additional Locations

  • 350 W Herndon Ave

    Clovis, CA 93612 (559) 314-1400 (866) 503-7231

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the time of purchase was informed that the first factory maintainenc e was free of charge. Upon arriving for the first maintainence I was charged. At the time of purchase in late September the sales rep **** ********* informed me that the first service of the vehicle at XXXXX miles or a year which ever came first would be free. We clarified and discussed the service of the vehicle for a few minutes then I made the purchase. On 01/05/2016 the vehicle was scheduled to get the service done and I had made an appointment using the online system and in the comment box again asked if the first service was going to be complimentary as was discussed during the sales process. I never got a response to my question and when I came in for the service was told that the first service is not covered on my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want to get reimbursed the amount that I paid for the oil change.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/01/20) */ Thank you for reaching out in regards to Mr. ******* I reviewed the events in the complaint with ******* ********* today. Mr. ****** was looking at a 2015 Volkswagen Golf that included the first year oil change at no charge from VW of America. Mr. ****** decided to purchase a 2016 Volkswagen Golf that did not include any services at no charge because the infotainment system on the 2016 had a feature called "ApConnect" that was not available on the 2015. ******* remembers going over this during the process of the sale, and the finance manager also reviews this when offering up the option of pre-paid maintenence that the Mr. Orejel could have purchased at the time of sale. Mr. ****** declined all extended warranties and services. Mr. ****** came in for his first oil change and met with our service advisor ****. **** brought Mr. ****** into the salesman *******'s office after the customer stated he was promised a free first oil change and said ******* had promised a free first service. The customer walked into the salesman's office and asked him why he lied and insisted the salesperson lied to him several months before while selling him the car. After talking to all the employees involved, it's obvious we wouldn't promise then take away ANYTHING from a customer just to sell a car. The idea that we would promise a free oil change and then fight a customer over not giving it is not a realistic situation at Clovis Volkswagen. It does seem that my salesman, and his manager responded to Mr. ********* accusations of lying in a rather defensive manner. I have asked that in the future my staff discuss with me any free items customers are asking for before they decline them. The salesman and service advisor did offer Mr. ****** a nominal discount on his oil change and Mr. ****** accepted. I have instructed the service department to perform the customer's next oil change free of charge if completed by the Dec 31st, 2016 . I think this would have been resolved in a better manner if the customer approached the sales department and explained that he misunderstood why he was being charged as opposed calling the salesman a liar. Please pass my apologies to Mr. ****** for the misunderstanding and to call me or email me directly if he has any questions. Thank You! Sincerely, Dean Bumgarner General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2016/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I made the appointment online I inquired to verify that the first factory service on the vehicle was complimentary and requested that they reach back out to me, but I never heard back. This is an issue that could have been very easily solved by taking the time to contact me and explain to me where the confusion stemmed from before I even walked in the door. since this had not been clarified I made arrangements with work to allow me the time to go across town to get the car serviced at the location. After I was informed that I was not entitled to a complimentary service I explained to the salesman why I had that impression and he told me that he would go and speak to his manager and see what they could do for me. I never got the opportunity to speak to any management so the notion that I called various staff liars is greatly exaggerated. I told the salesman that I was upset because having purchased the vehicle only three months prior I clearly remember us discussing the amount of miles I would be driving and how I would only be allowed one complimentary oil change on the floor model vehicle that I was interested in and ended up purchasing. At this time I am not interested in continuing to do business with this dealership or service center so would much prefer to simply be reimbursed. Thank You

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drove my 2011 Golf into the shop for service because the check engine light was on. After three weeks in the shop, the car was no longer drive-able. I dropped off 2011 VW Golf TDI at Clovis VW on 1/27/14 because the check engine light was in. The car was driving normally and I drove the car into the shop. Alan from service called me back later that day to tell me that the intake manifold needed to be replaced. On 1/29/14, Alan called to say that cylinder #4 would not build up pressure and that the fuel injector needed to be replaced. I asked him how this would solve the problem and I could not get an answer from him. I reluctantly agreed. On 2/19/14, Alan called to say that the entire head of the engine needed to be replaced. At this point, I had the car towed (it was no longer in condition to be driven) to an independent shop, German Autowerks. They said that the valves were bent in cylinder #4 due to something being dropped in there while the intake manifold was off and could not understand why they would replace the fuel injector to solve this problem. I disputed the initial charge of $1768.83 with my credit card company (for the intake manifold and fuel injector) and my money was refunded. Clovis VW (Brian Y. and Dean B.)agreed to repair the damage that was done while my car was in their shop and finally returned my car to me on May 12, 2014 (over 3 months later). I had incurred substantial costs from getting a second opinion from German Autowerks ($287.50) renting a car ($1330.82) while they were fixing damage that they caused. I agreed to pay for the intake manifold if they would cover the cost of my rental cars and second opinion. I gave Brian all the receipts on the same day that I picked up the car. They now want me to pay for the intake manifold repair ($868.24) but are unwilling to cover costs that I incurred due to damage that occurred while my car was in their shop. (I have supporting docs for this if there is someway to attach them or email them)

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that they pay the costs that I incurred because my vehicle was damaged in their shop. My car was in their shop for more than three months. I incurred $1330.82 in rental car costs and $287.50 to have my car looked at by another shop. The total is $1618.32.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/15) */ In regards to ***** *******'s complaint, I am in discussions with the Bureau of Automotive Repair about Mr. *******'s repairs. I can't address every individual part of the complaint until after I see the results of the BAR investigation, but I will explain what I know. Mr. *******'s Golf with 102,000+ miles was brought in for repairs. The Golf was diagnosed, the estimate ($868.24) was given to Mr. ******* and he approved the work completed. The repairs did not result in his car performing properly, and he did approve more repairs($900.59). We then recommended an additional repair but he declined and took the car for a second opinion. Mr. ******* then informed us that the car was not running properly because of our repairs and that he believed we did extra unnecessary repairs. We did additional repairs (replaced the head $4400+ value) under goodwill at no charge and agreed to reduce the bill to $868.24 (original estimate) from the $1768.83 he had paid. Mr. ******* disputed the charge with his credit card company, and since they do not do partial refunds Mr. ******* agreed to pay the $868.24 as he signed on the repair order once his credit card was refunded. We had already been charged back on the credit card account by Mr. *******'s credit card company when he came to pick up the car. Mr. ******* signed the repair order, took his keys and promised to return and pay (which he now disputes) the $868.24. Mr. ******* has refused my requests to pay his bill repeatedly. Mr. ******* tells me the reasonhe won't pay is that he had out of pocket expenses (rental cars, second diagnoses by another repair facility) that he wants reimbursed for his refusal to pay his bill. Please refer to the section of the repair order that Mr. ******* should have submitted to you under "Consequential Damage Excluded". The repair facility is not responsible in California for replacement transportation or other reimbursement for time lost. Mr. ******* did not ask me for a replacement (loaner) vehicle either, so we were not aware of his need for replacement transportation. According to my Service Manager, Bryan Yrlas, Mr. ******* took his keys and vehicle from our shop by signing his repair order, getting on the phone to his credit card company and credit card company to verify his refund before he would pay, and then left saying he had patients waiting and he would pay when his credit card company verified his refund. Mr. ******* handed copies of a rental bill and his second opinion diagnosis to my Service Manager as he left. Please advise Mr. ******* to pay the $868.24 he owes for repairs. Feel free to call me if you have any questions. Dean Bumgarner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. Bumgarner's statement that "the repairs did not result in his car performing properly" is rather misleading. I brought my vehicle to them in fine running condition, with the check engine light on. Alan said that my car would be done in a couple of days. After removing and sometime later replacing the intake manifold, the valves in cylinder head number four were mysteriously bent and the cylinder was no longer able to build up pressure. Alan called me a couple of days later and said that they needed to replace the fuel injector. He couldn't really explain why, just that the car was no longer running properly and that this should fix it. About three weeks later, after supposed consultation with a VW engineer, Alan told me that the entire head needed to be replaced at my cost of $4247.00. Alan told me that they were giving be a big discount on this repair so I should feel good about that. Only after I took the car to another shop and bring back their diagnosis did ***** agree to repair damage ("under goodwill at no charge" according to Mr. Bumgarner) that happened while my car was at Clovis VW. During this conversation in *****'s office, I told him that I would like them to fix the damage they had done to my car and that I would need a car in the meantime. The latter request was ignored. Soon after this, ***** called me to talk about my credit card dispute. During this conversation, I agreed to pay the initial repair of the intake manifold if they would cover the cost of my rental cars and second opinion. This request was ignored and Clovis VW proceeded to take another two and a half months to repair my car with the continuous response that it should be done next week. Mr. Bumgarner states that "Mr. ******* did not ask me for a replacement (loaner) vehicle either, so we were not aware of his need for replacement transportation." The first part is true because I have never met Mr. Bumgarner and only spoke with him on the phone for the first time a month or so after I got my car back. The second part of his statement is comical. I have a four year old car with more than 100k miles on it (which Mr. Bumgarner references at the beginning of his statement) so it is obvious that I drive my car a lot. I also made multiple requests to cover a rental, but somehow, they were not aware of my need for a replacement. Mr. Bumgarner makes it sound like I ran out of the dealership with my keys. I talked to ***** and left him with my receipts for the rentals and diagnosis. He said he would talk to his manager and get back to me. I then called my credit card company while I was in the office and the dispute was still not closed. I was not going to pay them again until it was, and I told ***** as much. Mr. Bumgarner called me about a month later without much knowledge of my situation and told me he would look into it more and call me back. About two months later, he finally called me back acting as if we hadn't spoken before and just wanted me to pay my bill. This whole situation has been awful. Clovis VW has tried to mislead me from the very beginning about the damage they caused when the cylinder head was open. They then took as long as seemingly possible to fix the damage with countless unfulfilled promises of "next week". I'm glad to pay my bill for the intake manifold when they pay for costs incurred by me because I made the mistake of taking my car into Clovis VW for service.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had our car for 25 days. Told us it was fixed 4 times when it wasn't kept charging us more money for their mistakes. Still not fixed properly Took the vehicle in on 3/1 with overheating problems. I told them the coolant flange was leaking. I asked them to fix that first. I asked if they checked the water pump and thermostat, **** Erese said they had checked them and they were not the problem. They changed the flange, fuse box, and a sensor. We paid them $749. When we picked the car up on 3/15 I drove it a few miles and the car overheated. I took it back. They had forgotten to replace the sensor and they replaced a hose that was ruined because they had not put the sensor on. I drove it home on 3/18, and it overheated, at this time we had to have it towed back to town. We were told by ***** that now the water pump and thermostat were to probably to blame and we would be paying them "a lot more money" to have it fixed. He also told us that test driving the car in the foothills (where we live) would be ridiculous. Finally told on 3/25 it was fixed. Paid an additional $230 for a fan relay. At this time, the check engine light was on. We were told the following day to return. The car had trouble starting also. And was still overheating. Returned on 3/26. They changed a sensor, and disconnected the battery. The car is still not fixed and on top of everything else, they returned the car with an empty gas tank which previously had been full.

Desired Settlement: We want be refunded all labor charges and parts except for the coolant flange, which we asked to replace, and the fan relay. All the other parts that they replaced did not contribute to the problem, but they replaced them anyway.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/04) */ Apr 2 at 4:38 PM In regards to case #XXXXXXXX ******* ******** Customer brought a vehicle that is heavily modified outside of factory specifications with nonOEM fog lights, exterior wiring, and wooden shims in the suspension of the vehicle. Customer stated that the vehicle was overheating. We saw a rusted leaking flange and recommended replacement which the customer authorized. This did not completely solve the overheating problem, and further authorized repairs were completed, tested, and paid for. The customer states that the vehicle still overheats when driven the last part of his steep driveway. Although we are unable to duplicate the overheating at this time, the customer has expressed his dissatisfaction with the repairs. Mr. ******** came in 4-1-14 at 200pm. Service Manager, General Manager and ******* ******** went over complaint and came to a resolution to BBB complaint. Customer desired resolution was they would pay for coolant flange and labor and fan relay. Customer stated that they later made a amendment to this resolution that we have not seen yet but have took it in consideration for customer satisfaction. Clovis VW scanned vehicle and gave customer codes per request, we did not diagnosis vehicle or imply what vehicle needs for repairs or will repair vehicle any further. Also Clovis VW refunded money to customer other than the coolant flange parts and labor that was requested. In all a total of $668.18 will be refunded within 5-7 business days. ****** ******** has a signed copy of refund from Repair order XXXXX.This should be satisfactory to the BBB to close this complaint. Dean Bumgarner General Manager Clovis Volkswagen XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, there were many errors in the response of the business. We did not bring in the vehicle on April 2, it was March 1st (according to them, we brought the car in *after* they repaired it, which shows how little they pay attention to any detail at all). They tried to blame the overheating and the inability to repair it due to fog lights and suspension which have nothing to do with the cooling system. When we returned on April 1st, the General Manager, Dean, was very antagonistic and condescending. We requested that he refund everything *but* the price of the coolant flange. They did refund part of our money, but not all that we had requested. Now, we have to find another mechanic to fix the additional damage that was caused when we drove the car after they "repaired" it and it overheated (which caused untold damage due to their negligence).


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Clovis Auto Cars
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)