This business is not BBB accredited.

Cardinale Way Volkswagon Hyundai

Phone: (951) 279-1220 View Additional Phone Numbers 2603 Wardlow Rd, Corona, CA 92882 http://www.vwcorona.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cardinale Way Volkswagon Hyundai include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cardinale Way Volkswagon Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/30/1994 Business started locally: 06/30/1994 Business incorporated 06/30/1994 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Motor Carrier Services
2415 1st Ave, Sacramento CA 95818
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 22227.

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Cunningham
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Cunningham
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Carcinale Volkwagon Corona Cardinaleway VW Hyundai

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2603 Wardlow Rd

    Corona, CA 92882

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They lied about everything and not close the deal even after 2 months I bought a Jetta 2014 from them on 04/05 but not get the car and go back on 04/07 and change the car to VIN: 3VWD17AJ3EMXXXXXX. Car was not there and as sales rep *** ******** said "it was send for detailed cleaning". We agreed with them to get the car to me two days later with **** ******* They came at night after 10pm. At the very end that moment they said car has no spare key, no floor mats. Unbelievable but nothing to do at that moment. Later i found that all the documents set for 04/05 and car has 195 usd worth cash price accessories and also they charged a door guard for another 179 usd. This was shocking but not the end. I found another document on the car that it was given to another person on 04/07 not likely as ***'s saying it was on cleaning. All lies and misleading info and also for the last ***** called me and said their former financial manager did not close the deal yet therefore there isnt any dmv registration document yet on my hand. There is nothing else to say.

Desired Settlement: I have a contract cancellation option agreement paid at top level and there isnt any deadline and mileage restriction. I want to cancel the contract end ready to spend 500 usd to air.

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over a month ago, we traded in a vehicle towards the purchase of a new car and the dealer hasn't paid the trade-in loan off. My husband purchased a VW from Cardinale Way VW in Corona, CA on January 16, with a Dodge Ram truck as a trade in. We started getting late notices on the Dodge Ram from the loan company ~2 weeks later. When we contacted the dealership, they sent us in through a round of people who had no idea what was going on. Many promised to call back but never did. Some hung up on us. We finally talked to someone after a few days of calling who said that they hadn't processed the loan yet, which was why the truck wasn't paid off. We were also told we couldn't return the car and get the truck back because it was no longer at the dealership. After a few more days of calling the dealership, my husband was told the dealership finally had the paperwork for the loan on the VW (we hadn't found out that they'd not filed loan paperwork until then), and that if he brought the first payment check for the car (because they filed the paperwork for the loan late, the dealer said they had to overnight the check to avoid a late payment) they would pay off the truck. This was on February 10th. Yesterday, February 19, we received another late payment notice, this time with an added fee, from ****, the finance company for our trade-in. When we called, the loan STILL had not been paid off. We tried to contact people at the VW dealership, and were told they'd "Look into it today." **** is threatening to report us to the credit bureaus and we don't even have the truck anymore and we've made our first payment on the VW. We made a good-faith effort to purchase a VW vehicle, and now we're looking at some serious consequences for CardinaleWay VW's negligence and lack of attention to this matter. It could take us years for our credit to recover.

Desired Settlement: We want CardinaleWay VW to pay off the trade-in vehicle, pay any late fee charges that were billed us due to their negligence, and we want them to ensure our credit has not been effected by this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* General Manag Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@cardinaleway.com The trade has been paid in full and there bank is sending a letter that will show that they are in good standings with no derogatory put on their credit and will forward it to them once received from **** our rep said it could take up to two weeks from today Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2016/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The trade has finally been paid (as of 2/24/16), in full, after we visited the dealership again in person on 2/22/16. The pay off check was not processed or mailed until we demanded it yet again in person. At that time, we were also made aware that a check we provided to CardinaleWay VW, made out to the bank funding our loan, was cashed by **** *********. This has us seriously questioning their business practices. We have yet to receive a letter from the dealership that our credit has not been affected despite following up multiple times. Since we have not received this document, we do not feel that the matter is closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2016/03/30) */ The vehicle that was traded in has been paid off and the letter from there lender has been emailed to the customer as well. We are sorry for the problem that was caused but issues have been resolved Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2016/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After 2 months, CardinaleWay VW finally resolved the payoff/credit report issues.

3/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Certified/CPO Car, which turn out to be not Certified/CPO I purchased a Certified/CPO 2011 VW Jetta Sportwagen from Cardinale Way VW on April 18, 2015. 2 weeks ago, I found out from local VW dealers and VW of America, that my car is not listed as CPO with them. I am unable to use my CPO warranty with local VW dealerships. Certified program cost was $770, which was pay by check as part of sales contract for the car purchased. I need Cardinale VW to stand behind their servce to registered my car under CPO with VW of America or refund my $770 back.

Desired Settlement: I seek either of these 2 resolutions: * Immediately register my car with VW of America under the Certified/CPO program. or * Refund my Certified/CPO fees of $770

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/03/03) */ I would invite Mr ***** to call me I have been working with VW Care and my service department to come to a resolution. I am happy to refund the CPO fee if that will make you happy. The previous Manager did in deed sell the car and set the funds aside for the CPO but it was never punched in the system and I would need the vehicle here in order to get it in the system as a certified VW or I can refund him the fee. I welcome him to contact me to fix the problem. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2016/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealer should have all the information on my car, since I purchased from them. This is all very strange...I even provided my VIN.. At this point, please just refund me the CPO purchased price of $770 and send the check to my address on file. This will close/end the case for me. Thank you...

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just obtained 2005 Volkswagen and took it in to Cardinaleway Volkswagen so I can take care of some issues the car had. About 2 hours later the service rep calls me to inform me about the repairs the car needed, it would cost about $750. I said ok do the work the rep said but it won't be ready until tomorrow once again I said ok. The following day I called around 4 pm asking if the car was ready i was told no sorry maybe tomorrow I said ok. After 2 days in the shop i finally pay and pick up my car. Not even 7 minutes after leaving the dealer, the car all of a sudden turns off. I bring the car back to the dealer. After an hour or so the rep calls to inform me that it will be another $680 more. Why don't they check their cars before giving the keys back to the customer some one could really get hurt for carelessly repairing vehicles.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Making sure the work gets done properly. We depend on these cars to keep us safe. Please show concern about the customer not just your business.

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a Certified Pre-Owned Auto and told me the car went through a 150 point checklist to be certified. was not done Purchased On Sept. 28, 2015 a car that was advertised as a certified pre-owned auto that went through a 150 point checklist. Before leaving I noticed a windshield chip - salesman said it would be repaired. After I left, I also noticed the xm antenna was broken. Both items are on the 150 point inspection checklist that were obviously missed. (what else did they miss?) They repaired the antenna, however, the chip was not repaired even though they insisted it was. Having had my windshield chips repaired in previous cars, if this one was repaired it was a shoddy and poorly done job. My complaint is that they advertised that this car met the 150 point checklist making it certified - and it was clearly not inspected and therefore not certified as stated. I still have a noticeable chip in my windshield. Had they not promised to take care of it, I would not have taken the car.

Desired Settlement: They need to repair the windshield as stated in Hyundai's certified pre-owned car inspection repaort which states #32 Windshield and glass; no chips/cracks or return my trade in and take their car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******- GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@cardinaleway.com Ms. ******** was shown the "star" in the windshield before delivery and accepted that the it would be repaired in accordance with industry standards. She was not happy with the repair and said she had someone that she used before. We agreed to reimburse her to have it repaired at her facility. I assume that the facility could do no better, so she demanded a new windshield. She has contacted Hyundai and the BBB. We made her an offer to split the cost of the windshield, approximately $700.00. We did put New Tires after delivery as well We have no more to offer Mrs. ********.

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/27/15 went 2 purch vehicle with a pre app conf letter from cred union They came to get check from My House late at nite then they sold car& kept chk WWe hold the carnt to fill out all dhicle that was already negotiated online and with dealer had pre approved loan amount with confirmation letter from my credit union.. they tried to get me to sign a different contract that included a higher interest rate and payment That I was already going to get through my bank. after I refused to sign they told me that I could come back and get with the check from the credit union on Same day at that point they came to my house to get the down payment checks To hold the car so that I could walk the check into them directly in the morning so while I was heading there this morning I received a text from the sales person that came to get my check he said he had bad news and that they sold the car last night after he took my money.. so now they won't give me my check back

Desired Settlement: They took my money coming to my house late at night taking advantage of a senior citizen after they're the ones that demanded the check to hold the car I believe at this point there was no other cars in that price range that I could afford I even put insurance on the car while I was at the dealership as they also demanded I believe they shoul pay the difference for the same car at a different Hyundai dealership being that they ruin my Purchase on a car That I had held with my own money and had a pre-approved letter from the credit union and filled out all the paperwork for the contract and set up the dealership for 4 hours all DMV paperwork all warranty everything all paperwork done then they sell the car that I already held with my money so they should have to pay the difference on the car that they took back I was already holding it I want to stop payment fees to be paid of $30 each and I also would like damages in the amount of $4,000 so that I can have the difference and go get the same exact car that I wanted they blocked me from the previous deals that I already had on the table including the one at their dealership I would love to speak to the media as soon as possible

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ The customers complaint is without merit. It is actually the son who is making the complaint as Mom was attempting to buy a car in her name for her son that didn't qualify. We gave the customer the opportunity to sign an option contract that day, but the son, refused to allow his mother to sign it. An option contract gives the customer 5 business days to bring their funds to the dealership. On a copy of the unsigned contract we clearly marked that the vehicle was subject to prior sale. Later that afternoon another consumer came in and purchased the car by signing not only the contract but all the DMV and legal documents as well. The customer also gave a down payment- something that Ms. ***** and her son would not do. The salesman that had dealt with the *****'s had left for the day and was unaware that the vehicle had been sold. he picked up their check as a convenience after 8pm that night. the next day when he returned to work and found the car had been sold, he immediately contacted the customer and returned their check. The customer was under no obligation to purchase this car as they had never signed a contract or executed any of the legal documents needed to register the car. WE TRIED TO GET THEM TO DO THIS, BUT THEY REFUSED. We will not be compensating the customer for their mistake. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *I have been Violated *Cardinale way Hyundai broke california law *The car was for Me *My Son helps his 72 year old Mother *See below a few of many listed possible law violations that took place and are responsible actions of Cardinale Way Hyundai . Implied Consent: Inferred not limited to signs,actions,or facts by inaction or silence therby connected to express consent communiicated by spoken or written word verbal agreement,emal,text. these are Legal Binding in a court off Law. **** ***** internet Manager came to pick up 2 checks that exceed the amount of 1,500 dollars from My Home in Rancho Cucamonga at 8:01 pm on 8/27/15 California Law prohibits dealer/salesman to come to buyers home and take checks in agreement to hold a car to their personal residence (Unfair competition law) business and professions code XXXXX/XXXXX unfair,deceptive,misleading, (Unfair business act) Thereby hereinafter to not notify the dealership of the collection of the check was a very unfair business practice and extremely misleading the agreement & purpose of the checks and intent of sales person was to attain checks to hold vehicle for 12 hours as the new purchase order was created bieng there was adjustment needed on the original purchase order **** Stated we will fix all of this tomorrow bright and early i will arrive at work at 830 am so at 8:06 **** again notified via text message that He was in route to the dealership! I was unaware that He still had the checks in His personal posession. So at 8:56 am via recorded text Mr Dance notified Me and My Son that He was sorry and the car had been sold. So the first thing I realized was that i had been violated so therefore I began this with a Police Report with the Rancho Cucamonga Sherrifs dept (willfully taking money in the sum of 1500 or more that classifies it as grand thieft/ attemptted grand thieft penal code (Pc 487) also pen codes 484,503 Grand thieft by embezzlement (even with intent to return the merchandise Also take the money from one the property owner that put You in a position of trust with respect to the property You were entrusted with certain property by the owner of cardinale way Hyundai Cardinale way Hyandai also made it impossibble for Me to find a deal on that particular car I wanted.Other cars were nearly 3,000 more in price not includig tax and licience just base price..Credit score dopped during the negotiation process me and My Son spent 4 hours at the dealership then went to credit union for another 2 hours then the next day on hold so We had to both looose time and Money for missing work even the next day...We had taken off to get the car situated as it is a very intense and complex Situation.Damages for loss of wages and cancelation of work and broken schedules hvve caused a whirlwind effect and time we cant get back as well as the same exact car going for 3000 more than the one that was biend held for Us.This requires compensation due to our violation! We can use the proceeds to repair damages By cardinale way hyaundai towards the same vehice at another location. The GM of Cardinale way hyaundai ***** ******* was extremely rood to Me also the most unprofessional Gm I have ever seen! Completely unapologetic about the entie situation with o remorse and no apology i will let the world know to never go to that dealership! **** has pleaded with us to not put the dealership under investigation with formal complaints on 8/28-29/15 afternoon saying that it will fall on Him and his mistakes can have an extremely negative effect on the dealership and behind what he did wrong it cause Him to loose his sales licience as He is now the internet sales manager at cardinale way hyuandai Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/30) */ The consumer states they filed a police report regarding this matter. if this is the case, this has become a criminal matter and no longer a civil matter. for the record. 1) there was no contract entered into by the parties 2) no money exchanged hands. customer cannot provide either a receipt or cancelled check. 3) customer never executed required DMV paperwork or took delivery of the car we consider this matter closed and are prepared to litigate this if customer would like to go that route. WE WILL NOT COMPENSATE THEM FOR THEIR REFUSAL TO SIGN A CONTRACT Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Money was exchanged! From the hand of ******* ***** to **** ***** on 8-27-15 **** ***** told ******* ***** and **** ***** that We would complete transaction tomorrow as and He would come to get the checks to hold the vehicle..If that did not imply that the car would be there then why did **** come to pick up the checks at approximately 8pm? The checks that **** took were not returned until 48 hours later and that is after the better business bureau was notified **** ***** personally returned the checks to ******* *****'s residence. . **** was never supposed to take the checks that were worth over $1,500 to His personal property He was supposed to notify His Superiors He was coming to pick them up He was also supposed to notify them that He had them in His possession. He was also supposed to take them to the dealership and mot to His house. He only returned them after they were demanded back By management and also By **** and ******* ***** We called several times and could not reach Mr Dance. .. Still and Yet He did return the checks approx 48 or more hours later. .. **** also stated to **** and ******* ***** After being told We were going to file formal complaints with B.B.B,B.A.R, Attoney General Office the statement **** ****** I am familiar with the entire process of how this will work there will be a grueling investigation of how it all happened and being that I took the checks this is gonna "**** My **** up" I'm going to loose My sales license man...Please don't do this. We are prepared to provide proof of phone calls, logs and all text messages from all and every event that dwell therein regarding this entire process from start to finish. Since then on X-XX-XX I ******* ***** have purchased the exact same certified used Hyundai Genesis from a different Hyundai dealership on for the amount of 17,499,00 plus tax and license I am willing to begin negotiations on a settlement that will cover the difference between the amounts..There was not even one option that was even close to the deal I was getting at Cardanale Way Hyundai therefore making it a very special , rare, unique purchase there were also none that had the same color.Threfore Cardanale way in this process sold and also prevented Me from getting what was even possible for Me get By the misleading, illegal,unfair business practice business of Cardanale Way Hyundai Via Internet Sales Manager **** ******

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a panoramic sunroof and got a small regular sunroof. I purchase new Hyundai Sonata Hybrid on Thurs. night on 7/16/2015 that had no sunroof or tinted windows, I paid $1800. extra in cash for them to put this in. The salesman told me the same sunroof on the limited edition can be put in my regular edition Sonata. I made an appointment to drop off my new car for this work on Tues. 21 of July. The sales Manager **** H. would not work with me on fixing this issue and made it clear that the deal is done and the car is mine with no other compensation or refunds. Clearly there was a mistake and I am trying find a way to get this cleared up. I have not bought a new car in over 20 years and not sure what I can do or if you can help me with this

Desired Settlement: A refund for the price paid for the sunroof of $1500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/21) */ The Customer not only didn't pay for a Panoramic roof, which would be approximately $4000.00, but he was not promised one. A moonroof was installed on the vehicle- approximately $1500.00. We feel this complaint is frivolous and has no merit. We do not feel the customer is owed any $ as all the work was performed that we agreed on. ***** ******* General Manager Cardinaleway Hyundai Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sales man said the same sunroof can be installed in the non limited Sonata edition. I was also told by the sales man that the seats are heated & cooled. All of which is in correct and I was sold on this and paid for this, all this happened on July 16th and to date I still have no paperwork or documents of this transaction. I was told weeks ago that the docs and paperwork would be given to me and still nothing. I was also told by the sales manager that he would look into getting me some compensation for all the mis understanding including the sales man error in selling me a different sunroof. Further more the General Manager has not even called to see what he can do to make this right-its like he has a job title but is not doing his job. This dealership says they pride them self in relationships not in this case. I know that if this has happen to me it has happen to someone else-this is not right, not ethical business

3/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business sent unsolicited emails with no unsubscribe link. I did not opt in. Requests to unsubscribe ignored. Business is violating CAN-SPAM law This company has sent me 7 unsolicited commercial emails with no unsubscribe link or contact information. I have contacted them 7 times requesting to be removed, but my requests are ignored. I am not a customer and have never encountered this company before, so I never opted in. CAN-SPAM law says they have to provide an unsubscribe link and contact information on all commercial email, and recipients must opt in to receive commercial email. I received emails and requested in writing to be removed on the following dates: 4/15/13, 4/29/13, 5/3/13, 11/27/13, 11/29/13, and 2/2/13. Please help me get unsubscribed. This is against the law.

Desired Settlement: Unsubscribe me from emails and require business to pay fines for violating CAN-SPAM

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/05) */ Business has just received complaint today and will be responding as soon as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cardinale Way Volkswagon Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)