BBB Accredited Business since

Barber Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (661) 834-6632 Fax: (661) 398-4932 View Additional Phone Numbers 4500 Wible Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93313 http://www.barberhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barber Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Barber Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barber Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated 07/02/1962 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV - Occupational Licensing Branch
PO Box 932342, Sacramento CA 94232
http://www.dca.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 229-3127
The number is 00728.

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 92062.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Ekegren, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Ekegren, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Barber Automotive Group Barber Honda Barber Pontiac Co

Additional Locations

  • 4500 Wible Rd

    Bakersfield, CA 93313

  • PO Box 45001

    Bakersfield, CA 93384

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday January 5th my husband visited Barber Honda to have a trailer wiring harness installed on our vehicle. We had a scheduled appointment. The car was completed in a couple of hours. On Saturday January 9th we drove two hours from our home to pick up our travel trailer. As we prepared to leave the travel trailer dealership noted we had no power flowing to the trailer harness. As they did not install the harness they suggested we call the dealership. We called Barber Honda service department at 3pm and the person I spoke to was condescending and rude. He told me there was nothing he could do, had no idea what the problem was and told me to just come "next week and they'd look at it." I told him this was unacceptable, that we were two hours from home waiting to pick up the trailer and there was no power to the trailer harness. He put me on hold, spoke to the person who did the install and then came back on and told me "we don't have a trailer to test the power so there was no way to check if the part worked." This is absurd and inaccurate as A. you can't install a part you can't test and B. you don't need a travel trailer to gauge if the part worked. I asked the service tech to please call another Honda dealership in our area, Fresno, and see if someone could please look at our vehicle. After much arguing he called Selma Honda, a number WE SUPPLIED, and we went there where they found that the part hadn't even been connected. They have since tried to get Barber Honda to pay the labor it took to install the part correctly and Barber has refused. We are asking that Barber Honda refund our entire purchase minus labor and pay the labor to Selma Honda who had amazing customer service. I am appalled at Barber Honda and the terse words and terrible customer service that were used toward our family when, in fact, a technician completely botched an install. I had also asked for the service manager to call me which hasn't happened. Terrible customer service! Product_Or_Service: Trailer wiring harness Order_Number: HOCSXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am asking for a full refund of the part to be given to us and a refund of the labor be given to Selma Honda for the time they used to find Barber Honda's botched install. This cost our family five additional hours, time on the road, meals, gas and a lot of undue stress. The customer service of Barber Honda states "We want you 100% Satisfied" and they have failed to live up to this statement in any way. I am thoroughly disappointed!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******,President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@barberhonda.com BBB & Ms. ****** *******: I have looked into Ms. ******* complaint concerning the repair that was performed on her vehicle while at Barber Honda. We did in fact, not connect all associated wires for the wiring harness. Ms. ******* is correct in requesting the return of the cost of her repair order (minus the labor) and we have contacted Selma Honda for a copy of the invoice so that we can pay them for the wiring harness repair. I apologize for the issues that Ms. ******* encountered during her contact with Barber Honda. I hope that this will resolve her complaint. I will have a check sent to Ms. ******* for the refund and follow up with Selma Honda whom as of this date not sent us an invoice for reimbursement. Respectfully; ******* ******* President Barber Honda Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am very satisfied with Barber Honda's response and promise to repay both myself and Selma Honda. I feel this adequately compensates for our loss of time and money. Thank you.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Barber Honda refuse to repair power steering high pressure line at their expense. Had Honda Odyssey routine Timing Belt Change. Prior to taking vehicle in for Timing Belt Change there was no leaks. After taking vehicle home there was leak coming from engine. I took vehicle to find problem. They found leak of power steering rubber hose and high pressure line. They said they would replace power steering pump and rubber hose at no cost. But refuse to replace power steering high pressure line due to high cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like Barber Honda to replace leaking power steering high pressure line at their cost because they damaged it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/03) */ Mr. **** is a very good customer of Barber Honda. His vehicle has over 200,000 miles. We did a timing belt change on his vehicle and following the repair Mr. **** found fluid on his garage floor. We determined there was a leak in power steering rubber hose & seepage from the high pressure line. We have replaced the rubber hose, replaced the power steering pump and offered to have an employee clean the fluid from Mr. **** garage floor. In addition, we offered to split 50/50 the cost of the parts & labor to replace the high pressure line. We feel this is a fair resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My vehicle has under 200,000 miles. I have not decided to take Barber Honda's offer until BAR finishes investigation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/11) */ We believe that our offer is reasonable. We are willing to wait until the BAR completes its review.

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Barber Honda has failed to deliver warranty of windshield wiper part. ******* ***** of Barber Honda has agreed to warranty part and failed to deliver. I own a 2009 Honda Piolet. Barber Honda has agreed to replace windshield wiper part. On four separate occasions I was assured by the service agent ******* ***** that the part would be ordered and I would be contacted. I have never heard from ******* and when I follow up he always has an exuse.

Desired Settlement: Replace windshield wiper part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* *******,President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@barberhonda.com The windshield washer part was ordered on 3/12 and we received it on 3/13. The customer was contacted this am and is scheduled to bring the vehicle in Monday 3/16 to have it installed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Barber Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)