This business is not BBB accredited.

D & M Auto Body

Phone: (661) 323-0603 414 Chico St, Bakersfield, CA 93305


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & M Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on D & M Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10949 N Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 259499.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Paul Dominguez, Owner Ms. Letty Cervantes, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Dominguez, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    414 Chico St

    Bakersfield, CA 93305 (661) 323-0603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto body and paint work done to the *** is unprofessional and unsatisfactory with notable craftsmanship defect. In 6/13/2014 I took my classic 1965 impala convertible to d & m auto body in bakesfiles to have auto body and paint done to the ***. After being quoted for $5,500 to replace the left quarter panel and final body work and complete paint, I agree to the price and time frame for work to be completed. D & M auto body wrote me a work order and and ask for $1000 down payment. In 2/13/2015 i pick up my *** from the D & M autobody shop mines some missing parts after inspection of the *** paint job I notice sanding scratches under the paint job in multiple areas of the ***. Not only was the paint have defects but the replace quarter panel did not look correct and did not fit correctly with the connecting panels, and the *** moldings. I decided not to take action against D & M I took my *** to another shop to fix D & M work ,Hot rod alley in lompoc ca ( auto body and paint shop) informed me that the paint that was sprayed on the *** was defective and need to be completely remove to properly repair. I have all my work order recipe from D & M as evidence and pictures to prove my accusations along with the new shop damage report.

Desired Settlement: Am seeking full refund from D & M

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/01) */ D and M Auto Body did not warranty the body work because someone else had done the majority of the work was done somewhere else prior to bringing it to my location. We gave him a repair order saying there is no warranty. My Secretary has text messages explaining to him there was not going to be any warranty. All he wanted us to do was paint and install left quarter panel which he provided. I have text messages letting him know that there was no warranty before we began work on 6/13/2015. He brought it in to the shop primered already and that was why we did not guarantee the work we did not know what was underneath or if it was done correctly all we charged him for was to install a aftermarket left quarter panel that he provided and we painted it. When we installed the left quarter panel the lines and the gaps between the left quarter panel and door aligned the same way the opposite side did. Even the gap between the trunk and both quarter panels were even all the way around. The only issue he had was the left light cap that did not fit and he texted my secretary Leticia ********* regarding that issue even though we did not have warranty. I told my secretary to text him back and tell him to bring it in so we can fix the problem. He later texted her saying he was going to take it somewhere else to fix it for him. The day ****** came to pick up the vehicle he said everything looked good. And when he called at a later date he said it was sticky, but when he came to pick up vehicle he brought 6 guys with him to lift body up and set it to the frame there was no indentations or fingerprints showing any indication that the paint was still gummy. It even had a shine and customer looked over the vehicle before he took it. He did not pay in full that day because we still had some of his loose parts to polish. And when he came to pick up the remaining parts to his vehicle he was still satisfied with the work did not mention any scratches or imperfections and he paid in full on 6/26/2015. He was still happy about the work. He never ever mentioned anything regarding paint until he took it to another location but not any point since he took it on 6/26/XXXXX did he mention he had any problems with the work until 8/19/2015 when he called and spoke to me on the shop phone to tell he was going to take legal action. He told my workers he was very happy and satisfied with the work we did and he was glad he found my shop. When he left my location on 6/26/15 told him if he had any problems to call me and we can fix it but he had looked over it and never mentioned anything until now. We don't work on the weekends and had told him to bring it in on a sat because it was convenient for him and he choose not to bring it in after all. If this vehicle was sticky and gummy we would not be able to polish it and shine it the way we did when it left. If you see the pictures you can see your reflection. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not eccept D and M auto body respond.. My *** was not primer wheat I took it to D and M , I have pictures to prove it and witness. How is is possible for a professional shop not to warranty there own work. I did in fact diced not to take my *** back to D and M. But it was for the reason that's I hade time to look at my *** closely and I found many imprecations on the craftsmenship imperfections such as scratch marks under the paint and back quarter panel welded incorrect. I also wanted another option from another professional body shop. After further inspection from Hot Rod Alley auto body. They came back with the report that quarter panel was welded incorrect and the paint product that's D and M use on my *** was done incorrectly and was no good .. I have samples from the paint it had nothing to do with the underneath body work.. HOT ROD ALLEY also added on there report that the only way to fix the paint was to sand the whol *** down to primer witch HOT ROD ALLEY quoted me for $6000. I would never take my *** back to D and M auto body for any reson. There are not trust worthy not to mention they still have some of my *** parts still at there shop that they will not return back to me. I have prove that they still have some of my parts in the for of tex..I still want full refund from D and M auto body Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2015/09/25) */ There was a claim started with the BAR we are still standing behind are original response of we do not believe it was our fault. If we had the chance to look at the paint job maybe are PPG Rep could have checked it out we probably got bad paint and that was under warranty but we never had the chance to look at the job. We had advised the customer to bring it in so we could see it but he decided not to. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2015/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do no accept the respond.. I have the paint samples that came of and also the *** is still at a shop.. Do to the cost of transporting my *** 100 miles from my home to D & M I can't not take my *** back to D & M , but there more then welcome to come to the shop to look at the paint job they did..


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on D & M Auto Body
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)