This business is not BBB accredited.

Peter Singh & Associates

Phone: (559) 256-9800 View Additional Phone Numbers 744 P St Ste 130, Fresno, CA 93721 http://www.petersingh.com ! There is an alert on Peter Singh & Associates !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peter Singh & Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 20, 2011 Business started: 10/01/1996 Business started locally: 10/01/1996 Business incorporated 10/18/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of California (Attorneys)
180 Howard St, San Francisco CA 94105
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 538-2000
The number is 183686.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Preetinder "Peter" Singh, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Preetinder "Peter" Singh, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Immigration & Naturalization Attorneys & Lawyers

Alternate Business Names
Peter Singh & Associates Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    744 P St Ste 130

    Fresno, CA 93721 (559) 256-9800 (559) 281-4670

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attorney is threating to sue me for unpaid fees but i received a letter in January that his license was suspeneded.So i hired another attorney. November 2010 we entered a contract with Mr.***** for my wifes immigration visa,that he stated she would receive 6 months from November.She just received the visa May 2015 it took him 5 years.Not only that but they would never answer my calls or questions, never explained why the case was taking so long. Every time there was an update on my case I was the one calling them to let them know about it.They didn't even know I had my appointment in Ciudad Juarez , until I called them to let them know I no longer wanted their services. In January I received a letter from Mr.***** saying his license was suspeneded so I decided to go somewhere else.Now he is trying to sue for $2100 for unpaid fees.

Desired Settlement: I don't agree on paying the unpaid because the process was alot longer than what we were told. Also their lack of communication with us .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/14) */ Thank you for your correspondence to me dated July 03, 2015 regarding the above entitled matter. The matter presented here is an uncomplicated dispute over a past due amount of attorney's fees from a former client who simply does not want to pay for services rendered in good faith. In short, this client's immigration matter was successfully resolved as intended and agreed as his I-601A Waiver of unlawful presence was fully approved by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service. Further, my office has maintained cooperative and forthcoming communications in the normal course of business attempting simultaneously to collect the outstanding fees due and accommodate Mr. *******'s concerns over the same all while his case was already successfully resolved as previously agreed. Attached hereto please find a true and correct copy of my correspondence to Mr. ******* dated June 24, 2015 evidencing our most recent communication regarding his case. It is common knowledge that fee disputes arise frequently in all types of business dealings, however I believe Mr. *******'s intent to invoke the Better Business Bureau's involvement in this particular matter is misplaced. Notwithstanding, I am and as always will remain prepared to cooperate fully with your offices regarding this matter through to its final and hopefully amicable resolution. Your professional courtesy and consideration of the above and the attached is greatly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact me immediately should you have any questions or should you wish to discuss this matter further. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I don't accept because in the letter I received it stated jis license was revoked so I hired another attorney.I called to let them know of my decision and my phone was never returned like always. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't agree, I know for a fact my case would have been alot faster if they would have sent in paperwork on time.That is what I was told by the National Visa Center. For example, we filled out the waiver i601a In June 2013, they didn't submit it until December 2014 and that was because I called Mr.***** ****** office because the check I made out in June wasstill not cashed. Also when sending affidavat of support they left out documents twice and I was told it was the National Visa Center requesting forms again.I called Nvc, i was told that they sent in incomplete packets. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/08/05) */ The entire basis of Mr. ********'s complaint and his reasoning from the beginning until now as to why he does not want to pay the attorneys fees he owes is his assertion that his case was not completed in a time frame that met with his personal satisfaction. Again, Mr. ******** acknowledges that his case was in fact successfully resolved and completed as agreed per our written agreement. Completion time lines in immigration cases vary significantly because each individual case is specifically unique, complicated and the factors differ greatly from case to case. In addition, multiple federal government agencies are involved in every immigration case, and these federal government agencies abide by their own timelines which cannot be predicted or controlled. In short, some immigration cases simply take longer than others to resolve. Based on the above factors alone, completion timelines in these types of immigration cases cannot not be predicted, controlled or guaranteed, and they therefore cannot be used as a basis for not paying fees owed per a written contract for work already completed and performed which clearly produced a successful resolution in Mr. ********'s immigration case. Accordingly, Mr. ********'s immigration case was in fact completed and successfully resolved as agreed per our written agreement. The attorneys fees for the work my firm performed for Mr. ******** that resulted in the successful resolution of his immigration case are therefore rightfully owed by him in full. In conclusion, Mr. ******** does not establish any grounds whatsoever in this entire complaint process on why my firm should not be paid as agreed in writing for the work previously performed for him that clearly resulted in the successful resolution of his immigration case. Based on the foregoing, I respectfully request that this matter be dismissed in its entirety. Sincerely, ***** *****, Esq.

4/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Immigration lawyer did not evaluate case properly and is now dismissed from practicing law. My husband and I asked ***** ***** to help us with my husbands immigration case. He asked that we pay 4,500 excluding filing fees and UCIS fees for his services. This occurred in May of 2013. In October 2014, we went to his office to sign forms with his assistant for my husbands pardon. We paid the filing fee of $770 and $80 plus an additional $1000 to the already $1200 that we have paid him to work on my husbands case. I contacted them through email to ask about the status of the pardon since neither checks have been cashed. I went to consult 3 other lawyers who ALL said that my husband does not qualify for a normal pardon/waiver since he has a felony on his record; a felony Mr. ***** was very well aware of since he asked for the documents from court. In January, I received a letter from the ***** ***** stated that he could no longer work on my case since he has been dismissed from practicing immigration law and referred me to his other attorney.

Desired Settlement: I want them to demonstrate an invoice of work done on my husbands case. This is unreal! Because of this, I have already paid the visa fees of $225 and $88 which will have gone to waste since my husbands case can not be done. I want a refund for the filing fees and for the $1000 that I have paid them since October 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/03/18) */ Please be informed that this office has resolved the dispute with the above entitled former client at the informal level as we have provided the entire contents of said former client's file to him per his request. Please excuse the late response per your March 09, 2015 deadline, as negotiations with former client were still being made and finalized through late last week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 16, 2015/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This law firm has not send proof of invoice that was requested. follow up letter will be sent to request copies of receipts for said payments on account. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/04/06) */ For purposes of clarity and to avoid any ambiguity in this matter, this firm will address Mr. *****' concerns by the corresponding allegations contained in the e Complaint Activity Report dated March 27, 2015 as follows: Mr. ***** is only temporarily suspended from certain areas of law practice in January 2015 but is still legally eligible to work on client's cases in other regards. On January 13, 2015, Mr. ***** notified Mr. ***** in writing that he could choose to remain with this same law corporation he retained under another attorney here, or alternatively he could hire alternate counsel of his own choosing at another law firm. Mr. ***** chose the latter. Therefore, Mr. *****' claim that Mr. ***** was "dismissed from practicing law" is irrelevant, patently false and appears only to be a smear campaign to paint Mr. ***** in a bad light before the BBB in this matter. Mr. ***** hired Mr. *****'s services in May 2013 in exchange for a standard, reasonable, agreed upon attorney's retainer fee. In October 2014, Mr. ***** and his wife met with firm staff members to transact the processing of his I-601A immigration documents, at which time filing fees were collected in the form of personal checks, and all necessary documents were signed and processed accordingly in the normal course of business. The reason that Mr. *****' I-601A Waiver packet was not immediately shipped to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service (hereinafter USCIS) for filing was due to significant changes in immigration law emanating from a U.S. Department of Homeland Security November 2014 memorandum regarding I-601A Waivers of unlawful presence relating specifically to persons with "serious crimes." This firm determined that it was in Mr. *****' best interests to delay the I-601A filling to discover whether the new and then ongoing changes in the law would serve to benefit the criminal aspect of his case. We were in possession of Mr. *****' personal checks written for the filing fees for the above purpose; however by the time Mr. ***** decided to retain other counsel, we agreed to return his personal checks and the contents of his file per his request. The personal checks have been returned to Mr. ***** along with the entire contents of his case file as agreed and this is now a moot issue. Accordingly, this firm has already provided Mr. ***** the entire contents of his case file per his request; has provided all invoices for all services rendered and fees collected per his request; has refunded Mr. ***** all outstanding credit balances due him, and this matter should therefore be considered already resolved on every level. Sincerely, ***** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2015/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do not understand why the law firm is getting so upset about a client wanting payments receipts to not double pay the NVC for what has already been charged to me by the attorney and thus paid for by me. This is important information that could help the attorney who is now handling my case. All I wanted was communication and being updated on CRITICAL information. Never once did you let me know the status of my husbands case unless I asked for it and at times, my request would be ignored. I want this case closed with BBB since all I am given from the firm are endless excuses and run arounds.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Peter Singh & Associates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)