BBB Accredited Business since

Tri-State Home Improvements, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (951) 784-6830 View Additional Phone Numbers 3454 Durahart St, Riverside, CA 92507


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tri-State Home Improvements, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tri-State Home Improvements, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tri-State Home Improvements, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/16/1985 Business started locally: 08/16/1985 Business incorporated 06/25/1985 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 478129.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Aleta Dinisi, President Ms. Kim Sandoval-Dinisi, CFO Mr. Robert Zepeda, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Aleta Dinisi, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Sandoval-Dinisi, CFO
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Duct & Duct Fittings Heating & Air Conditioning


Additional Locations

  • 3454 Durahart St

    Riverside, CA 92507 (800) 640-6830 (951) 784-6830

  • PO Box 51747

    Riverside, CA 92517

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional attitude of office staff (*****)not knowing how to schedule appointments or calls to inform clients of her errors so clients know. Got a call from ***** at Tri-State on 10/27/2015 for $500.00 payment of AC unit paid her with credit card via phone. She said install would be done 10/28/2015 the next day 12:00-4:00 pm she even called the tenant and set the time with her. I showed up and the installers were not there. The tenant called ***** and she said they would bill the card on Wednesday and install the next day between 10:00 and 2:00 pm. Tenant asked for a half hour courtesy call but did not receive one, the crane showed up but had to cancel because the contractor ordered the wrong size crane. Now we are on hold again because they need to have a minimum of three jobs to come back out and we do not know as of now when that will be. They have been paid in full and when ***** was told we were going to file a complaint her arrogant unprofessional attitude was "Go ahead you can do that". The tenant started this process the before summer, the swamp cooler was installed without, issue as far as we know, now we have no idea when this will be finished and the weather is now becoming cold here (in Hesperia XXXXX)at night and without the unit the tenant can not run the heater and ***** seems to feel that this is okay and her attitude is such that she may feel they are above reproach.

Desired Settlement: That office staff understands that when an appointment is set people wait in expectation of someone showing. If an error was made in scheduling, ***** in this case, should have called and informed the client that she made an error and needed to reschedule. The contractor that came out should have known what size crane to order for the job. The office should be able to give us a new time and date for install they have been paid in full. ***** seems to feel that it is not an issue to have bad reviews for the company. I would like to believe that Tri-State is not that arrogant of a company, there is no business too big to go out of business due to bad public relations when we were told it was okay to complain it was obvious that ***** feels Tri-State does not value customer opinion. Give us a time when the job will be done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/02) */ I can not find any information from the name given. I need an address or phone number to be able to respond. Final Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2015/11/06) */ The local utility provides free measures for low income customers that are eligible for the program. If they are in fact eligible, ie. Income and other basic guidelines, they may receive free measures. We are contracted through the local utility to do these installations. Most of the measures offered are free to the tenant and homeowner with the exception of the HVAC ($500 copay for a 10,000.00 install). In response to unprofessional attitude not knowing how to schedule: The local utility we work for could not and did not supply any product to us starting in October 2014. We started receiving product midway through June 2015, putting us and another 1000 customers on a waiting list of 8 months. There was no error in scheduling, we simply did not have any product to install, and the owner was informed. The pre-assessment for this customer was done on 06/30/2015. We can understand, and we do understand their frustration for having to wait 4 months to schedule their HVAC unit. Our scheduler, *****, is a very nice efficient employee that takes pride in her work and has been scheduling for us for 6 years and has done a great job. This owner was frustrated from having to wait 4 months and understandably so. We scheduled this job on Thursday the 29th of October 2015. We had to cancel because a small crane was sent to the job site instead of the large crane. The smaller crane simply did not have a long enough reach to set the HVAC on the roof. The crane company we use sent the small crane instead of the large crane because of an ongoing issue with their large crane. We informed the tenant. I would imagine the crane incident further fueled the owner's frustration unfortunately. We have since scheduled the install and completed the install on Wednesday the 4th of November 2015. The tenant is happy. I've called the owner and left a message for him to call me if he has any questions regarding this issue. Thank you ****** ****** Tri-State Home Improvements Inc. *******@sbcglobal.net

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hvac unit. Replaced under sce program. On june 10th 2014 they put in a kenmore hvac unit two and half half ton heating and air conditioning unit model t g d 330 060 k 001c i had an immediately had problems with dust and insulation coming through the air. In the kitchen and in the first bathroom I called several times no one ever got back to me I called again after a two week waiting period I called them I 1st July 2nd a technician came out July 14th another installation technician came out same problem they did find a debris in the unit I never got a return call back. July 23 & 24th I called they said someone is going to call me back and never did I called back again July 25th and then finally about 4 pm a lady named ***** ********* said she was From trip state was from Tri State home improvement and I told her about the problems I was having she said Oh I was only calling about the air duck And she didn't know about the debris inside the unit and she told me that it was my problem that I had to take care of it she was busy and needed make other calls to call her tomorrow.I told her excuse me what did you say she was over talking me. She has a accent I was hard for me to understand if she can repeat her self. I don't know what the purpose of her calling me was then she did nothing for me except be rude. when I said I'm sorry I don't understand you she didn't repeat yourself and hung up on me so here I am making a complaint cuz I can't get these people to come back out here are inspect this unit that they said within 2 days after that coming out a city inspector would come so tomorrow I am calling the city inspectors office in Palmdale to see if I could get somebody out here to check this unit out that is not working efficiently I also called Southern California Edison and they ask them to see unit. this up to see if they could fix this problem that I'm having I have again they will get back to me within 48 hours. Bad business these people only care about getting paid. No customers services. Bad I would tell all my friends never to deal with these people.

Desired Settlement: Just want to have unit not blow in dust and insulation. My old unit works better then this new one. I even told them it sounds like a helicopter in my house when the unit is on. They don't. care. I am handicapped and can't go on the roof to vacuum the debris out. This sounds not be an issue. I have breathing problems that is why I called them immediately. What do I have to do hire a lawyer?!! Need help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/20) */ The following information is from Mr. *** ******* He is a nate certified HVAC Technician. BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. TSHI Installed an SCE provided packaged unit on Mrs. ******* home. The HVAC unit and installation was free of charge to Mrs. *******. The contract agreement TSHI has with SCE provides for the complete installation, duct testing, and inspecton by the governing agency in the homes location, (LA County in Mrs *******'s case). This and several installations in this area are scheduled over the next several days. Mrs *******'s duct system is NOT part of TSHI contract with SCE, only sealing and testing of the duct system. Mrs *******'s ducting has a supply plenium that is internally insulated. This insulation is coming apart in small pieces and being blown through the duct system and out of the grilles. This happens occasionally after a new unit is installed, the old unit probably had years of build up on the interior (evaporator coil) this slows the air flow to an extent that the decaying insulation is NOT disturbed. But when the new unit was installed air flow in greatly increased, thus dis-lodging the decaying insulation. On some occasions dust has also built up inside the duct work, this also becomes dis-lodged when a new unit is installed. TSHI takes great pride in our workmanship and our customer service. We service thousands of clients a year with out complaints. I believe some clients do not understand the limited scope of the work provided by SCE through TSHI. Thank you *** ****** **** Professional #XXXXXXX ****** ****** Tri-State Home Improvements Inc. XXX-XXX-XXXX x 29 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, I do understand that there can be some particles can come thru the unit. This Mr. ****** has not been out to the home too see the trash that is in the unit that his tri state company put in the unit. There were pictures taken. The tri state company still has not cleared the unit with the county inspector s office, they to us it was not ready for a inspection. It's been months, when will they clear they unit for inspection? Why don't they try to call to have debut cleaned from unit and schedule to have unit inspected? Please call me to have these things resolved. Free unit or not this should be done correctly and satisfied with no problems. Is tri state saying it's ok to have a problem and not to resolve because it's free? They never said it way ok for the personnel to be rude to customers? Didn't reply to that. Can you Please fix these minor problems. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/09/30) */ The particles that Miss ******* is talking to are in the ducting. We do not replace ducting. It is not part of Edison's program. An individual simply applies to the Edison program, if they are eligible, they receive (in this case) a free HVAC unit. We as contractors for Edison do the HVAC install only. We do not clean ducting as Miss ******* is asking. There was confusion about the city inspector checking this unit. We usually schedule all inspectors for every job. In this case, Miss ******* wanted to schedule the inspector, so we thought the inspection was done. We called to verify and found out the inspection was not completed. We then called the city to schedule an appointment for them to check the customers unit. The inspector came to the customer's house, checked the unit and signed off the paperwork acknowledging the unit to be installed and functioning properly to code. Miss ****** said "The insulation inside of the existing ductwork is COMING APART". This is not from the SCE provided equipment or the installation by TSHI. TSHI recommended the client find a contractor for possible duct change out, this is not part of the program. In regards to the complaint of our staff being rude to Mrs. *******, we have documented several occasions where the customer has called in extremely aggressive using foul language. In a couple cases, our staff was forced to end the call abruptly, simple do to abusive behavior on behalf of Mrs. *******. We have the dates and times of these phone calls documented in our database. Thank you ****** ****** Tri-State Home Improvements Inc. XXX-XXX-XXXX x 29


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tri-State Home Improvements, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart