BBB Accredited Business since

Total Comfort, Inc.

Phone: (951) 735-2574 Fax: (951) 736-0018 View Additional Phone Numbers 390 E Harrison St, Corona, CA 92879 http://www.totalcomfortinc.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Comfort, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Total Comfort, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Comfort, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 11/20/2003 Business started locally: 11/20/2003 Business incorporated 02/26/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 935238.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Kenney, Owner Keith Flores
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Kenney, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Duct & Duct Fittings Heating & Air Conditioning


Additional Locations

  • 390 E Harrison St

    Corona, CA 92879 (951) 735-2574 (909) 735-0899 (951) 279-3200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was explained how extensive a repair was supposed to be in order to justify a $648 fee, Service work was less involved than led to believed. I purchased a new home and shortly after the labor portion of the warranty ran out I had an issue with my Goodman AC unit. I called my local home owners rep. and he told me that Total Comfort Inc. out of Corona California is the company to call to complete the repair. Total Comfort sent a tech to my home and diagnosed the problem as a split in the primary drip pan. The company later called to let me know the labor cost would be $648. to replace the pan. When I questioned the cost, I was told that it was an extensive repair. On this particular model they would need to drain all of the refrigerant, remove the evaporation coil, then replace the drip pan, re-install the evaporation coil, recharge the system and then perform an extensive test to ensure proper operation. They also stated that the repair would take a minimum of 3-4 hours and probably more due to the amount of work involved and the location (attic installed) ac unit. I still though the price was a bit high, however, I have a sickly wife and the AC operation is a necessity. I was told someone would be out in 7-10 days. After more than a month a technician finally showed up to complete the repair. First of all he DID NOT need to drain the refrigerant, he also DID NOT need to remove the evaporation coil. Obviously since he did not drain the system he did not need to recharge the system. The labor charge of $648 which I was told was for the refrigerant and a minimum of 3-4 hours, turned out to be less than 1 1/2 hours. The extensive test was turn the system on and make sure the AC unit did turn on. Also I was required to pay for the TOTAL repair immediately. Had I known that the repair would be completed within an hour and a half I would have NEVER, I MEAN NEVER agreed to the $648 charge. I did call to complain and they stated that at the $648 charge I received was a bargain but because they do a lot of work for the company who built my home they would refund me $100 making the charge $548. They did send me a check for the $100. I just think that: 1 I was lied to regarding the complexity of the repair. 2. $365 per hour for a service technician is exorbitant. I ran a service organization until my retirement last year and I was lucky to get between $85 and $125 per hour dependent upon the type of repair.

Desired Settlement: I feel that a bill of $350 would be more appropriate than the $548. Even if I get nothing which is what I expect I just think the general public should be aware that this company will mislead you and over charge for services and take advantage of a retired couple.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** G.M. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@TOTALCOMFORTINC.NET We were first contacted by the h/o's builder. He asked what it would cost to replace an evap coil drain pan under the manufacture warranty. We gave him the book price of $648.00 for the repair. The builder rep then called the h/o asking if the price would be ok. The rep then called back stating it was ok'd with the h/o and gave us the name and phone # to set up the appointment. We first had to check to see what part we needed and model # and serial # for warranty. After first service call we ordered part. Shortly after that we received a call cancelling repair. About 1 week later the h/o called stating he did not cancel the repair. The part was then picked up and 1 week later installed. The h/o gave us a check for $648.00 for the repair. About a month later the builder rep called stating the repair was too much and the h/o was not happy with the price. He stated it only took 1.5 hours at the home for the repair. He asked if we could do anything with the cost. We had 1.5 hours of driving and checking on the first service call. We then had 2.5 hours on driving and repair on our second repair and 1.0 hours of time on warranty pick up and return to supplier. Trying to help out we then reduced the price and gave the h/o the builder price. And sent the h/o a check for $100.00 bringing the cost to $548.00. The total time of the repair with Shop time driving out to h/o house twice and p/u and return of the warranty part we feel the price was not out of line. We did give the h/o our price for the repair before any work was started. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all the reason I agreed to the $648 figure in the first place was the amount of work both the builder and I were told by Total Comfort that would be required to complete the project. Both the builder and I were deceived by Total Comfort as to the extent of work required in order to complete the project. That is the ONLY reason I agreed to the $648 figure because I was told it would require draining and recharging the system, which IT DID NOT, it would also require removal of the evaporation coil which the repair DID NOT and the technician would be required to complete an extensive system check which he also did not do, he simply had me turn on the AC unit and once the unit came on he said he was done. He didn't even wait to see if it blew cold air. Secondly it wasn't shortly after I okayed the project I called and cancelled, for one thing I never cancelled the project. More than three weeks after I was told the part would be available and the system repaired within 7-10 days I called to find out what was going on. I was told that I would need to talk to someone by the name of ****. I mentioned to the person on the phone that **** has yet to return one of my calls (as I had made previous calls to see how the repair was progressing) and I need to know if your company wants to do the work or I will need to cancel the job if no one calls me back. Approximately one week later I called again to see if I could find out what was going on, this time I was able to reach ****. He stated he had the part and he could be there the NEXT day if I could be available. I wanted to see if I could set aside enough time so AGAIN I ask how much is involved in the repair. This time he did not go into detail other than stating it is an extensive repair and would take a minimum of three to four hours and probably more. With that comment on the repair taking a minimum of three to four hours and probably more I agreed to have the technician come to my site. The technician came the very next day as scheduled. As soon as he came into the house with only the new drip pan and no tools to drain the system I mentioned to him that I was told he needed to drain the system but I do not see any equipment to accomplish that (I was concerned he may just release the refrigerant into the air after all both the builder and I were told the system needed to be drained). The technician said that he did NOT need to drain the system and he did NOT need to remove the evaporation coil. This is the main premise of my complaint in that the builder and I were both told the job was much more difficult than it was in order to justify a $648 fee. I am not an air conditioner specialist I do not know what it takes to replace the drip pan so you go by the word of the company you are dealing with. Obviously in this case their word is very suspect. I mean if you had just purchased your very first car and it was due for its first oil change and the company told you they would need to drain the AC system in order to get at the oil filter and then refill the AC system and the repair would take approximately four hours and then you watched him complete the oil change in an hour and a half without doing any of the work he stated needed to be done wouldn't you be upset. If the project had taken the 3-4 hours, required draining and capturing the refrigerant, removal of the evaporation coil, replacement of the pan, re-installation of the evaporation coil, re-charging the AC system, and then a full system test there would never have been a complaint. The entire complaint revolves around the fact both the builder and I were told more than once that the project required much more work in order to reach its completion than it really did. That is the premise here. Do not exagerate the size of the project in order to justify a higher price than the project warrants. As for my issuing the check at the time of repair I was told by the technician he needed a check for the full $648. I told him at that time that I was told by his company that the job was much more involved than it was, I also told him that I thought the charge was exorbitant and I would see what could be done. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2015/12/14) */ In addition to the information I sent earlier today I was recently informed by Richmond American, the company who built my home, that they are so disappointed with the people from Total Comfort, Inc. and the manner in which they handled this transaction, that they are considering covering my invoice even though the repair was completed after the home warranty with them expired. Please note that all parts were under warranty simply the labor portion was to be invoiced. Richmond American's representative stated that Total Comfort is one of their sub-contractors and they, Richmond American, referred them to me. They believe so strongly that the charges are so out of proportion for what was completed that they are considering reimbursing me themselves. I guess that demonstrates the difference between an organization who is concerned about their customers and one who wishes to make a quick hit and move on to the next unsuspecting customer. Also the only reason that Total Comfort Inc. sent me a check for $100 was because Richmond American called Total Comfort to complain about the invoice they issued to me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/12/23) */ After speaking to the builder I feel that we have giving the h/o a fair and up front price for the repair. The h/o was also given a higher price from another company. After waiting for the repair the h/o had plenty of time to cancel the call. There was not any pressure on the h/o to make a quick decision. We were not the installation company of the system. The builder called us to make the repair. We gave them the upfront pricing. We stand behind our repairs. We truly feel this complaint does not reflect our stellar customer service history we have earned and to continue to strive for with the BBB.

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertise $44.95 for a complete air condition tune up, but their service man did not do any tune up . Their service man did not do any tune -up, he did not bother to look at the second floor unit. Instead he call his supervisor to write me a proposal for $19,995.00 to repair the air condition units. The air condition units are only 4 years old, when I ask his supervisor that I want a detail account for the $19,995.00 proposed agreement , he told me, he will e-mailed to me , he never did. They also told me that they were going to clean up the air condition discharge line, but the service man did have the equipment to do so, he said he will be back, but he never did. I paid them $44.95 for nothing. When I call them they asked me if I was going to sign the agreement, I told no that I needed the itemized bill like they promise they was going to e-mail me and they had not come to flush the air line, he said that to flush the line will cost me $350.00. I feel that I was taking for a ride and I paid them $44.95 for nothing. Maybe they want to take advantage because of my age. Every time that I called them a different gentleman answer, and the first thing they asked me if I was going to sign the $19,995.00 agreement that their supervisor wrote without any cost account of the work to be done. I may add that the air conditions cost me $12,000.00 new, and they want to do a repair for $19,995.00 ? does not make any sense. Also the supervisor did not bother to inspect the air condition, he just sat in my living room and wrote the agreement and asked me to sign it, that they can financed with the **** program,if I did not have the money. I refused to sign it. The supervisor told the service man to flush the air line but he answered that he did not have the equipment, that he will be back on Monday, but he never did. This happened on October 30/14. I called them on October 31 and November the 3. They were reluctant to do anything unless I sign the agreement.

Desired Settlement: They should do a complete tune-up on the air condition as advertised and flush the line, otherwise to refund my money and I will not bother with them anymore but I will tell my brothers at the ** of these company dishonest practice so they won't fall in their web like I did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/23) */ We spoke with the consumer and will be going out to his house on Wednesday January 28, 2015. We are going to clean his condenser coil and condensation drain line. ******

10/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cleaned outside A/C system and replaced $30 thermostat in 3 hours and charged $1087 at about $350 hour grossly exceeding standard industry rate On 09/05/2014 Total Comfort, Inc came to my home to do annual check-up of A/C system. Special is $50 for check-up with any other service. Last year another vendor did check-up and cleaning for $150 which is standard industry price. There was no noticable problem with the A/C system at the time of the check-up. Contractor arrived at 10 AM and was at home until 2 pm with time taken for lunch. Total labor was approximately 3 hours. While at the home he did thorough cleaning of outside A/C unit which included some dissambly and complete coil cleaning/fin straigtening (his cleaning did exceed what I have seen previously for $150). Also claimed thermostat was defective and replaced with Honywell thermostat which sells at Home depot for $28.50. Total parts cost was $30. Hence, $1160 was charged for 3 hours labor or $387/hour. I manage many rental units and typical charge for A/C service is about $100/hour plus parts. I was not home at the time and my wife who is not knowledgeable about mechanical things did not question the price. This is similar to how auto repairmen sometimes take advantage of people/often women who might have more limited mechanical experience and then later the husband finds out and complains. This is what happened here. I looked at the bill and called the technican ****** for an explanation of the charges. **** explain that his company does not bill based on parts and labor and that he is forced to follow a standard price list his boss gives him. On the price list a thermostat replacement is $383 and the outside cleaning package price is $800. Adding these two together I got $1183 which was $100 more than the $1089 I was billed. **** explained that by paying for an $168 annual membership to join the Total Comfort, Inc. A/C club I was actually getting the thermostat job for only $272 and the outside cleaning package for only $649. So adding these together plus $168 I was billed $1089. The annual membership includes having them come out and check the system in six months and change the filter (50-100 value) and at 1 year (50-100 value). I questioned the neccessity of checking the system every six months. I explained that I changed the thermostat myself before and it only takes 15 minutes and involves taking out two screws holding it on the wall and discconneting/reconecting four wires. He agreed but again said he was stuck with his bosses prioe list. He admitted that the prices were extremely high and many customers complained, but he had no choice because he must follow his bosses price list. I do not need these six month A/C check-ups **** conned my wife into and will not allow Total Comfort, Inc back on my property. Even allowing $150/hour for labor and $50 for the part this job still should not exceed $500. The amount charged is deliberate price gouging and the practices of this company are clearly designed to take advantage of unknowledgeable consumers. I am willing to get estimates from three other vendors for the work that was done to support my claim. The A/C business is very competitive and I can guarantee that no other vendor estimate will exceed $500 for the same job. I can provide these estimates upon request if Total Comfort so desires. I think they know very well what they are doing and this is their routine business practice. I think this type of systematio overcharging and manipulation of certain customer types is no different than stealing

Desired Settlement: At the time of servioe my wife paid $500 and wrote a check for $589 which had not been cashed. After talking to my wife and the technican ****** I placed a stop payment on the check. Based on my analysis of the work actually done and the parts required I actually think $500 (450 labor/50 parts) is still on the high side. Nonetheless I am willing to drop this matter and accept the $500 payment my wife already made. I am asking Total Comfort, Inc. to accept this as payment in full and to return the check on which I have stopped payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/08) */ ****** I just wanted to let you know that we resolved this issue with the customer. ***** ****** the Vice President of the company spoke with the customer and agreed to leave the ticket at $500 as the customer requested. I doubled checked with accounting to verify only $500 is on the books. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Total Comfort, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)