BBB Accredited Business since

Econo Air, Inc.

Phone: (661) 832-1700 Fax: (661) 635-0253 314 Union Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93307 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Econo Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Econo Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 05/14/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 439169.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gery Flanagan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gery Flanagan, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Heating Contractors Fireplaces Air Conditioning Repair

Products & Services

This company offers Outdoor Kitchens and BBQ's

Additional Locations

  • 314 Union Ave

    Bakersfield, CA 93307 (661) 832-1700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing practices. Econo-Air refused multiple times to itemize the estimate to repair my A/C. Repair took 1 week to complete from diagnosis in 100+°F. On Saturday June 4 2016 my A/C went out. During this time the city was experiencing a heat wave of 100+ degree weather on multiple days. I did a little research and believed I could fix the problem myself. On Monday June 6 my attempt failed and I contacted Econo-Air to fix my AC issue. They advised they would respond out anytime from 12pm to 5pm. They called and arrived after 5pm. The technician diagnosed the issue as being a bad thermostatic expansion valve (TXV) which would need to be replaced. He indicated it would take approx. 3 hours of labor to fix. Before leaving he advised I would receive a call after 12pm the next day (Tuesday) in regard to pricing the part and expense of repair. This diagnosis cost me $89 for less than 1 hour. Tuesday June 7 I received no call. At 4pm before closing time, I called Econo-Air and the person I spoke to was extremely rude as though I was a nuisance, and advised me they were still attempting to track down the part and they would call me the next day. Realize it is still 100+ degree weather and slowly reducing throughout the ordeal. On Wednesday June 8 around 4pm I received a call from Econo-Air saying they found the part in Sacramento, CA approx. 250 miles away. They advised the price of the repair would be $870. I was desperate to have my AC fixed and advised them to ship the part. I was told it should arrive Friday, but it was possible it could arrive Monday. I was never advised about an option to overnight the part from Sacramento. I told them to order the part and hoped it would arrive Friday. On Thursday June 9 morning it struck me as odd that I did not get a breakdown of the price of the part and labor. I was only told the total amount. I had my mother call Econo-Air to get these details. She called Econo-Air and was told the part was in shipment and LIED to her telling her I declined to have the part overnighted and it would arrive Friday or Monday. Believe me if I could have overnighted this stupid part I would have done it!! It was freaking hot and I had been living and sleeping in it for multiple days! When she asked for the breakdown of the parts and labor for repairing a TXV on my A/C, she was advised they do not do breakdowns and they just enter the type of repair into the computer and it spits out a price. My mother didn't quite understand this and asked why she couldn't get a breakdown of parts and labor. She was again advised they just enter the type of repair into the computer and it lists a price. My mother had never heard of this before and neither had I when I was told. We both expected this not to be a big deal. We just wanted a breakdown of the estimate so we could understand what I was paying for so as not to get ripped off. Friday, June 10th, arrived and I received no phone call regarding my repair. I suffered through the weekend and on Monday, June 13th, just as I was starting to think I would not get a call, at around 2pm I got a call from Econo-Air saying their technician was on his way to my house to fix my A/C. Hallelujah! My main complaints are - their customer service people are rude and they lie, they should be required to give a price breakdown on price and labor like everybody in the repair business, and due to the lack of a price breakdown I feel as though as I got ripped off.

Desired Settlement: Breakdown of parts and labor, and a fair refund. My main complaints are - their customer service people are rude and they lie, they should be required to give a price breakdown on price and labor like everybody in the repair business, and due to the lack of a price breakdown I feel as though as I got ripped off. I was told originally from the initial technician that the repair would require a new part, which from research costs around $70 to $190 (I can't tell you what it actually cost because I did not receive that information from Econo-Air), and 3 hours of labor. Due to the lack of a price breakdown I am unable to estimate their labor rates. No other parts or refrigerant would be required. The technician took approximately 3 hours to complete the repair as he estimated. If the price of the part was say $150 (because again I don't know) that means I paid $720 in labor, which would be $240 an hour. This repair occurred on a weekday and would not fall under emergency repair rates. That is RIDICULOUS!! Perhaps this is why they do not provide breakdown of their parts and labor. They don't want to show you are getting ripped off. It should also be known that on Monday, June 6th, I paid $89 to get the A/C diagnosed, which would normally be taken off the repair bill, so in all actuality Econo-Air was paid $959 to diagnosis and repair my A/C! The diagnosis took less than 1 hour, and if that is a regard toward their hourly rate then I was seriously overcharged!! If their hourly rate is $89 and it

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/07/05) */ When you initially contacted Econo Air about the breakdown of your A/C unit you were notified that we charged $89 to do a diagnostic on your equipment. For that $89 we would identify the problem and the cost to repair and get your equipment functioning properly again. We identified the TXV and inline dryer filter as needing replacement and gave you a price to do the repair which you agreed to. Since you have not told us the unit is not working the repair was done correctly and properly and we did not charge you more or less than you agreed to. As for a breakdown, the $89 diagnostic fee covers not only the time the Technician is on site, it covers the cost of travel time, vehicle costs, gas, and other expenses associated with employee costs. As for the repair costs. it is impossible to sit and tell any individual that the cost of the repair will be provided after the repair is completed. A single price to do the repair work is standard within the industry. Additionally, since we do not shop for parts on the intemet, it is impossible to talk about the cost or mark up on any item like this. I can only apologize for any misunderstanding, or if you felt we were rude to you in anyway. For 39 years we have built our business and reputation on honesty and integrity, always striving to give our customers the best value for the service we provide. I am somewhat upset that you feel we took advantage of you or your mother. If you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to discuss this matter personally with you. Yours Truly. Gary ******** Owner

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: See Attached

Desired Settlement: See Attached

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/04) */

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Econo Air, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)