BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2008

Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc.

Phone: (205) 426-3773Fax: (205) 426-78096283 Park South Dr Ste 108, BessemerAL 35022-5682 Send email to Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2008

BBB has determined that Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been living at***************** for three years and the roof has been leaking the entire time.The roof has been patched up over 15 times and it is still leaking,and now it has tow holes in it and i have buckets catching water and the ceiling tile is falling and their is water in the walls and i am afraid that the wireing is going to catch fire,and as long as it has been wet i am sure there is plenty of mold,i can see it on the walls,I was toild to turn the heat on that it should take care of it,didnt happen.The kitchen sink and the bath room sink has been leaking for a while.The steps to the back porch are crumbling away,i have put bricks where there should be steps,The rail to the back steps is very loose,The deck rail is no longer intact it pulls away from the wall and it is rotten.They alwats promise to fix things do a shabby patch job and explain it off.The bathroom floor is becoming weak.Their is a hole in the utility closet and in the den area.I have pictures of all of these things.I have been sick with an infection for two years,i have had staff infection,two breast surgerys i truly believe that all this is a result of the mold in this house.1 year ago we had an awful smell here and we found that there were NO PIPES connected under this house,it took them 3weeks to attend to the matter,after i contacted the **************** *****************,and the ******************.Now in the first year i had some money problems and was behind and late on my rent,but i caught it all up and have been paying.I have painted this house inside and out trying to make it a nice place to live but the company has not done anything but made excurses and put me off,they did not even compinsate me for painting or any of the thins i have tried to do.I asked if they could find me some where else to move I was told NO.I have had it,they need to fix the place,compensate me for all my trouble.I am contacting the health department again,this place is a health hazzard and i realize now that it is killing me.

Desired Settlement
fix the place,compenste me and hope that the mold hass not done perminate damage to my health,and pray the place dont burn down.Please,Please help me and my son.We dont know what to do I just had two strokes and really cant afford to move (BUT I WILL).Thank**************

Business' Initial Response
As the property manager for***************** we would like to address the issues brought forward by our current tenant ************. She has rented the property since July 15th 2009. Over the term of her tenancy she has called on occasion with maintenance problems. We have always responded accordingly. We have a report with such issues that are logged and tracked on our landlord statements. Anytime a tenant calls with maintenance problems they are always addressed. There are several problems she mentioned in her letter that we have never heard of or been notified about such as wiring, mold, back steps and hand rail, bathroom floor and the hole in the utility closet. These are all new complaints to us. She has consistently been late each month. As of today's date she still owes the rent payment that was due on January 15th. She has been through three annual renewal dates, July 15th 2010, July 15th 2011, and July 15th 2012 without one word about moving. We feel this complaint was initiated and driven by our demand for late fees to be paid each month. We would be glad to resolve any of these issues that are causing her trouble.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not true,As i said in my first complaint yes i had some problems in the first year that i was in the house but i did catch it up and have paid on time every since.I have asked Mr*********** a few times to allow me to pay my rent on the 28th of the month instead of the 15th and he agreed,but this bussiness of being constantly late is not true.I have rent receipts to prove that there are no late charges on my account,and even if there was late fees that is still not a reason to not fix and attend to your tenants needs.They just need to fix the place,andnot take tow or three months to do so.I REPORTED MY ROOF LEAKING TWO YEARS AGO AND THEY HAVE PATCHED IT TIL IT CANT BE PATCHED ANY MOORE.(IT IS STILL LEAING TO THIS VERY DAY,I HAVE PICTURES AND BUCKETS TO PROVE IT) I TOLD THEM THREE WEEKS BEFORE CHIRSTMAS ABOUT THE ROOF AND THEY SENT YET ANOTHER PATCH UP MAN OUT,ONLY TO DO NO GOOD.tHE ONLY REASON THEY ARE PIDDLING AROUND NOW WITH ANYTHING IS BECAUSE I CONTACTED THE BETTER BUSSINESS,THE HEALTH DEPT,AND THE CITY BUILDING INSPECTORS.I WILL PAY BUT IT HAS GOT TO BE FIXED.I am sick and can not afford to move at this time,but i will move as soon as i can.I really like where i live and the people i am renting from but it is just not right to treat your tenants that way where they pay on time or not.Mr*********** knows that i told him about every complaint i have voiced.All of the stuff they wrote is just there way of retaliating aganst me.GOD knows i am telling the truth.Me being late on my rent has nonthing to do with the complaints i have made,and i did pay.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Services, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate - Commercial, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/27/2008Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Real Estate Commission
1201 Carmichael Way
Montgomery, AL36106-3672
(334) 242-5544
http://www.arec.alabama.gov/

BBB records show a license number of 000027582 for this company, issued by Alabama Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://www.arec.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: State of Alabama

BBB records show a license number of 000048043 for this company, issued by Alabama Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://www.arec.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1986, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Poe (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Candy Miller (Office Manager)
Business Category

Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Services, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate - Commercial, Real Estate

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers residential or commercial property management and real estate sales.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc.

6283 Park South Dr Ste 108

Bessemer, AL 35022-5682

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6283 Park South Dr Ste 108 

    Bessemer, AL 35022-5682(205) 426-3773

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Frank Poe Real Estate Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.