BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2004

Hoffman Media, LLC

Phone: (205) 995-8860Fax: (205) 995-8428View Additional Phone Numbers1900 International Park Dr STE 50, BirminghamAL 35243-4244 Send email to Hoffman Media, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2004

BBB has determined that Hoffman Media, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hoffman Media, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hoffman Media, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Claim delivery was returned by post office
I call spoke with ****,(that what he told me was his name)asking why I had not received any issues of cooking with Paula Deen since the Jan/Feb 2014 he state to me that they got a return back from my Post Office that it was undelivered because of the address. I told him that did not sound right, and that I gets all my other mail and magazine, and he said well, that what we got back. I ask him so send me a copy so that I can address this with my post office. He stated that we don't keep that stuff, then I ask him, well why did't you all notify me since I have a paid up subscription for the next 2-years. Would'nt that be good customer service, he did not agree with me on that. I ask for him full name, and he refused, and stated that he can give me his extention, which he started rattling off. I should have took notice form when I had problems from the get, when I first subscrible for this magazine. But I was hoping that things would improve.

Desired Settlement
I just want what I have already pay for, and my issues that I had not received. Like I said the last one that I receive was the Jan/Feb 2014.
I paid for a 2-years subscription.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Bus. Dir.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************************
We are so sorry Ms. ****** has had problem with her subscription. We have notified our fulfillment house and they are checking on the problem. They are supposed to notify BBB directly with a solution to the problem. We want our customers to be totally satisfied with not only the product but the service they receive as well. We will stay on top of this to be sure it is resolved to Ms. ******'s and our satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am happy to know that my subscription will resume. I did receive the May/June issue, but the way it was sent to me, in and plain envelope with no acknowledgement of mistakes or misunderstanding.


Final Consumer Response

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placed order on 10-11-13. Have contacted them 4 times, still do not no where order is. Today talked to manager, still no answer.
I placed my order with hoffman media for back issues of magazines, spent $100.00. I placed the order on October 11th, 2013. Never received a shipping confirmation, even though it say that you will. I emailed them on October 16th. they responded with a canned response, "all times take 2 - 3 weeks to ship. So I called customer service, on Friday October 18th. She says the order has not shipped because I used a credit card, and that they are waiting for it to clear. This is false, I use a debit card, which was an immediate withdrawal. I sent another email, to which I received not response. Today, Octoberr 21st, I called customer service again. I asked to speak to a manger. He told me that he didn't know why my order has not shipped, he tried to guess saying they might be out of the produce, I told him when I ordered it, it was listed as in stock. He said he would try to find out what is wrong and asked ME to call him tomorrrow, October 22nd. I said no. I then asked him to call me, since this is my 4th time contacting them. He then told me that he is at a inbound call center, and that he can't call me. I stated that so far customer service was lacking at Hoffman Media. He then back tracked and said he would "try" to call me tomorrow.
I felt this was unacceptable.
I am now filing a complaint. I would like to know where my items are, and why no one can tell me what the problem is.
************

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate an answer to this, preferable sooner then later. I would also like to have my order discounted.
I have asked a simple request, but 5 people now cannot give me an answer.

Final Consumer Response
I have resolved the issue with Hoffman Media and wish to drop the BBB complain. thanks-you for your time,

************

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had a subcription to ******** Magazine under my company name, ****** ***** It is paid in full (the check was cashed several weeks ago) A few months ago, I began receiving a duplicate bill for the same magazine (account #XXXXXXXXXX). This bill is to my same address, only they have misspelled Zenard Home and written ***** ***** It is for the exact same magazine, same amount etc. I have written them several times, both by mail and email and I'm still being billed for this second subscription. It is costing me time and money (in stamps)Product_Or_Service: ******** MagazineAccount_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
DesiredSettlementID: RefundI want written proof that this second duplicate subscription has been cancelled ( #XXXXXXXXXX) I also want a free year of this magazine for the trouble and time this has caused. I do not understand why this can not be handled. No one needs two copies of the exact magazine delivered to the same address. Their customer service reps need to respond to complaints and FIX THEM.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us concerning the problem you are having with your subscription to ********. Your paid subscription will be serviced through the January/February 2015 issue.

The duplicate order that you were being billed for has now been cancelled. Please disregard any further invoices that may be received.

We have extended for the duplicate issues which is reflected in the above expiration date.

Our records show that a refund was requested on October 3, 2014 for the August 2014 payment of $19.98 that you paid for a gift subcription for ***** ********** Due to 1 issue being sent to her the refund was prorated to be $16.65. This refund should be received in 10 to 15 business days from the refund date of October 3rd.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,

Customer Service
****** *******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This case can be closed. It was not until I threatened legal action and cancelled my subscription that this issue was addressed. The lack of concern or attention from this company on
customer complaints is unbelievable.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Publishers - Book

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Phyllis DePiano (President & CEO)Mr. Eric Hoffman (EVP & COO)Mr. Brian Hoffman (EVP & CCO)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lynn Terry (VP Administration)Mr Michael Adams (CFO)
Business Category

Publishers - Book

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers special-interest publisher of magazines.

Industry Tips
Unordered Merchandise

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hoffman Media, LLC

1900 International Park Dr STE 50

Birmingham, AL 35243-4244

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1900 International Park Dr STE 50 

    Birmingham, AL 35243-4244(205) 995-8860
    (888) 411-8995

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hoffman Media, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 411-8995
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Publishers - Book

Unordered Merchandise
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.