BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alabama Professional Services

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 951-9717Fax: (205) 951-9668View Additional Phone Numbers3340 Richwood Ave, BirminghamAL 35210-4233 Send email to Alabama Professional Serviceshttp://www.alabamaprofessional.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Alabama Professional Services is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alabama Professional Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alabama Professional Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Alabama Professional Services, Inc continues to charge me for services I did not order and a service that I cancelled.
After failing to show up twice for the scheduled appointments, I cancelled my Pest control service via a phone conversation with*******. I still received messages from two different agents from Al professional Services. Then I found a note in my door stating that they had serviced my yard and to call if I wanted the inside treated. I then received a bill for full services not ordered or received. I cancelled this service, I DO NOT WANT THIS Service AND I WILL NOT PAY FOR THIS SERVICE!!! April 22, 2013, I received a past due notice for twice the current balance ($66.00) and Alabama Professional Services, Inc. is threatening to turn my account over to a collection agency. I won't be bullied into paying.

Business' Initial Response
Alabama Profession Service technician completed a perimeter service on Mr.********* home on 11/30/12 and left a notice to schedule with his technician to complete the service.

On February 7, 2013 the billing department was notified that the service has not been complained and Mr******** was rebilled for a partial service at half price.
***************************************************************************** The Pest Control Manager and was told that all charges would be removed. All charges were removed and the account was closed. per the customer's request.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 11/30/12 the Service technician provided a perimeter service that was not authorized. I never talked to the technician. Also, Alabama Professional failed to mention the loss of my two off days waiting on the service technician that never showed nor called. I should send them a bill for my time. All charges were removed and the account was closed per my request, yeah right. They sent another bill, that is what prompted this action.
As long as All charges are removed and the account is closed I am satisfied with the outcome.
I am dissatisfied with the service and lack of professionalism from the Manager of Alabama Professional Services, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1977Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL36130-0001
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.state.al.us/pesticide management

BBB records show a license number of 11824 for this company, issued by Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries. Their web address is http://www.agi.state.al.us/pesticide management. The expiration date of this license is 05/28/2016.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1977, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J. Craig Williams (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Tonya Praytor (Complaint)Mr. Richard W Brewer (Manager)Mr. Mike Phillips (Vice President/General Manager)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Products & Services

This company offers exterminating services.

Industry Tips
Pest Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alabama Professional Services

3340 Richwood Ave

Birmingham, AL 35210-4233

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3340 Richwood Ave 

    Birmingham, AL 35210-4233(205) 595-7421
    (205) 951-9717
    (205) 956-7456

  • PO Box 100909 

    Birmingham, AL 35210-0909

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alabama Professional Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 595-7421
  • (205) 956-7456

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (205) 595-7439
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Pest Control
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.