BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1955

Bromberg & Company, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 252-0221Fax: (205) 458-0458123 20th St N, BirminghamAL 35203-3603View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1955

BBB has determined that Bromberg & Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bromberg & Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I ordered a Match decanter on December 20, 2013 and have not yet received the product purchased as of January 16, 2014.
I ordered a Match decanter from Brombergs on December 20, 2013 as a Christmas gift. I was told that they just sold their last one in stock and that they would order me one. I paid $368.50 to Brombergs on December 20, 2013 for the Match decanter. I followed up with a call on January 6, 2014 to check on the status of my order. I spoke to the sales person that sold me the decanter and she stated that she would call and check on it and then would call me later that day. I never received a phone call. I followed up with a phone call on January 15, 2014 to cancel the order. I was told that no one could cancel the order because the sales representative that sold it to me was not in and that she would return on January 16, 2014 and would call me. I did not receive a phone by 3:00 pm CST on January 16, 2014; so I called Brombergs at this time. I spoke with the sales representative that sold me the decanter and she stated that she called and let me a voicemail, which I did not receive, and she explained to me that she can not refund or cancel the purchase because she does not know if it has shipped yet or not. She stated that she has been unable to get in touch with anyone that knows if the item has shipped. She also stated that if the decanter has already shipped that she cannot refund the order because it was a specialty order. I told her I was not told that and that she told me initially it was a product that they carry but it was just out of stock because someone had just bought the last one. I am continuing to get the run around and the refusal to cancel the order.

Initial Business Response
***** ******** called to say that he has refunded the consumer the amount of the purchase. It was a problem of miscommunication.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1955Business started: 01/01/1836
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1946, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frederick W. Bromberg (President)
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers the sale of jewelry items.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bromberg & Company, Inc.

123 20th St N

Birmingham, AL 35203-3603

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 123 20th St N 

    Birmingham, AL 35203-3603(205) 252-0221

  • 2800 Cahaba Rd 

    Mountain Brk, AL 35223-2306(205) 871-3276

  • 131 Summit Blvd 

    Vestavia, AL 35243-3172(205) 969-1776

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bromberg & Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.