BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/1998

Newcastle Homes, Inc.

Phone: (205) 426-2307Fax: (205) 426-21073978 Parkwood Rd, BessemerAL 35022-5630 Send email to Newcastle Homes, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/1998

BBB has determined that Newcastle Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Newcastle Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Newcastle Homes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Failure to receive monies due back to me upon leaving their housing unit, as promised by one of their representatives during final walk through.
I rented a single family dwelling from New Castle Construction from July 2010 until July 2013. On May 22, 2013 I informed New Castle(********* ******* by email that at the end of my lease I would not be renewing, also at that time I inquired about the walk-thru process. ********* responded that as time approaches we would have to set up a time to do the walk through. The walk through process took place on 7/31/13 with ******* ********* Castle rental manager). During the walk through there was two items pointed out that were going to be deducted from my deposit: replacing hallway carpet section(spotted) along with a secondary bathroom door(hole), these two items were filled out on the final walk through paperwork in which I signed off on. Ms. ***** informed me that I wouldn't receive my full deposit back of $1500, however I should receive between $700 and $1000. In responding to a couple of emails that I received from New Castle employees (********* and ****** I called yesterday speaking with ***** to check on the status of my refund deposit. At this time she informed me that she would have to get with ***** who handles these issues and he would get back with me. Today I received a voicemail from ***** stating that I would not be receiving my deposit because all of the carpet in the house needed to be replaced. Immediately I called back to speak with her and I informed her that I did a final walk through with ******* and she documented that a section of carpet would be replaced which was the high traffic area I mentioned earlier. ***** asked did I have pets, I responded "No" as its in their policy to pay a pet deposit which I did not. My complaint is that I was told that outside of the two minor areas which needed to be taken care of I would be receiving some deposit money back. I paid a carpet professional to clean the carpet before departing the house and I also have pictures of each room where the carpet has been cleaned and no damage present as agreed to by their employee.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@newcastle-homes.com
To Whom it may concern,

The above referenced matter has since been resolved. Newcastle Homes and Mr. ******** came to an agreement on a appropriate amount to be refunded. The check was mailed 9/10/13.

Please feel free to call with any further questions.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Newcastle Homes

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/23/1998Business started: 04/14/1997
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL36130-3605
(334) 242-2230
http://www.hblb.state.al.us

BBB records show a license number of 9035 for this company, issued by Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board. Their web address is http://www.hblb.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2014.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2006, AL

Business Management
Ms. Amanda Watson (Controller)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn C. Siddle (President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers residential development and home construction services.

Alternate Business Names
Newcastle Construction, Inc., Newcastle Restorations, LLC
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Newcastle Homes, Inc.

3978 Parkwood Rd

Bessemer, AL 35022-5630

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3978 Parkwood Rd 

    Bessemer, AL 35022-5630(205) 426-2307

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Newcastle Homes, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.