BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC

Phone: (205) 940-8552Fax: (888) 585-9798174 Oxmoor Rd, BirminghamAL 35209-5941 Send email to Honors Building & Remodeling, LLChttp://www.honorsbuilding.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a home in ************** in March of 2013, and hired Honors Real Estate to obtain a tenant, manage the property, and do minor repairs prior to obtaining a tenant.Since the home was empty when I bought it, the new air conditioner/furnace was removed by Honors Real Estate to avoid theft. They were paid in advance for re-installation once a tenant has moved in.Our contract also stated that the interior was to be painted, new counters/cabinets installed, and new carpeting/installation. I even provided paint and carpet samples of universal colors that are commonly used. All was agreed to and the contract was signed with a 50% retainer given that date.When the work was completed, no carpet was installed. Instead, the floors were refinished. When I questioned them, all I received was bad language and resistance. It has now been a year and this company has not obtained a tenant to rent the home. Instead, I made a trip there from **********, made 1 phone call and the home was rented in a matter of 2 hours. In the three days that I was in town, I made countless calls to the company, but always got the same answer "I'm sorry. ***** is not in. Would you like his voicemail?". After leaving several messages and no returned calls, I decided to go to their location where******** car is parked, but they say he isn't in.Now that I've obtained a tenant (on my own), there is a matter of the re-installation of my new furnace/air conditioner. I contacted ***** via email on March 30th announcing that my tenant will be moving in effective April 1, 2014. I asked that the air conditioner be re-installed according to our contract --- his answer "I'll have to see if I can find it, but I can't have it installed. We're too busy". It has now been 11 days, my tenant has no heat or air, and they have my air conditioner and money. All I have are excuses and unreturned calls and emails

Desired Settlement
I would like my air conditioner re-installed, the rent credit given to the tenant because of habitability issues beyond my control, and the money I paid for them to re-install and ensure proper operation.

Business Response
We met the consumer at his recently purchased property and discussed rehab work needed. The consumer continued to change the scope of work and it was eventually settled on work needed. To my knowledge, the consumer (or his partner) agreed to the change from carpet to hardwood floors because of the cleanliness and durability issues and once they saw it they loved the floors. At no time was bad language used towards this consumer. We showed the home numerous times and received several applications but we would not approve any of the applicants because of a multitude of problems on their credit reports indicating they would be a bad tenant. The area this home is located in is not very desirable and the owners purchased this house online without knowing anything about the area. When we first met at the property we informed them that it will be difficult to rent and it was based on our standards we are looking for in a tenant. In regards to the hvac issue, the unit was delivered to the property and a check has been refunded directly to the new property manager. To my knowledge, all agreements have been satisfied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These business owners are thieves and liars at best.
The contract was not honored, and this company breached the contract by taking it upon themselves to change the scope of the contract to suit their time constraints. If I wanted the hardwood floors refinished, I wouldn't have supplied a carpet sample. Nowhere in the contract does it state "refinish hardwood floors". This language is clearly stated within the four corners of the contract.
Furthermore, if this home in such a bad neighborhood, how did I (an out of town owner) rent it within 2 hours of coming in to town

08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Honor's Realty, the management company for our current lease, has either gone out of business or closed their doors and has yet to notify my roommate and I or the owners of our condo. In the process of closing they have taken 2 months of our rent and our security deposit and not paid the owners of our condo. After trying to call, email, and visit Honors in person, there has been no response. Attempts to find a company that bought them out has also been unsuccessful. We need to be released from the contract with Honors so that we can pay our owners directly to avoid eviction.

Desired Settlement
We desire the rent that we paid ($2300) be given to our landlords to avoid eviction, and the return of our security deposit ($1150). If Honors has been bought by another company, we wish to be contacted by them to ensure that payments being made to them will be given to the owners of the property.

08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Real Estate Loans, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/14/2011Business started: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL36130-3605
(334) 242-2230
http://www.hblb.state.al.us

BBB records show a license number of 23697 for this company, issued by Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board. Their web address is http://www.hblb.state.al.us.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tim Lawson (Owner)
Business Category

Home Builders, Real Estate Loans, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Products & Services

Professional and experienced Birmingham area building services including, home building and contracting, remodeling, renovation, storm, water, and fire repair, general maintenance, landscaping, and more! Licensed and Insured.

This company offers real estate mortgages and home lease options

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Greater Birmingham Area

Alternate Business Names
Honors Real Estate
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC

174 Oxmoor Rd

Birmingham, AL 35209-5941

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 174 Oxmoor Rd 

    Birmingham, AL 35209-5941(205) 940-8552

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Honors Building & Remodeling, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.honorsrealestate.com
  • www.honorsmanagement.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.