BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2009

Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama

Phone: (205) 447-6991Fax: (205) 678-7383View Additional Phone Numbers104 Owens Pkwy Ste 5, BirminghamAL 35244-1657 Send email to Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Gutter Helmet of Alabama specializes in the installation of seamless gutters, gutter guards, roofing, windows and exterior wood replacement.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2009

BBB has determined that Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gutter helmets were installed with some areas of inferior quality of installation. I have been unable to get a response for correction.
Date of Installation -********
Salesman - Mr.***************
Cost - $3,588.00, paid in full by check

The agreement between Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama and me was for installing the helmet on all gutters, including cleaning, resealing, repitching the gutters and is covered with a lifetime warranty on labor, material, and performance. The Gutter Helmet was installed on all gutters in a timely manner.

I was somewhat concerned about the workmanship in a few areas during installation and in one area, suggested that the installer correct an unsightly section of downspout from the dormer to the gutter by replacing 90 degree elbows with the more appropriate 45 degree elbows, which resulted in a crude patch in the helmet. During the first significant rain, water poured over the helmet and gutter onto the patio. I called Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama and requested a repair. The same installer came and attempted a correction which, during the next rain, showed no improvement.

In my next attempt at satisfaction, I requested that someone more experienced than the installer meet with me to allow me to explain the unacceptable situation. The woman in the office said that she would ask the owner, Mr. **********, to meet with me. Mr******* later left a note on my door saying that he had come, but did not schedule an appointment and I was not at home when he visited. I called the office and it was suggested that I call Mr.****** on his cell phone. After two calls to his cell phone and leaving a message for him to please call me, there was no response. I then sent********** an e-mail message asking him to meet with me to discuss my dissatisfaction. The e-mail was sent on March 19, 2013, and I have had no response from **********

Desired Settlement
1. I would like ********* or an experienced technician to meet with me to discuss the overflow problem.

2. I would like the helmet installation inadequacy corrected.

Business' Initial Response
Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama did provide ********** a gutter protection system on his existing gutters. When*********** called the first time about the problem he was experiencing in the back of his home, we sent the original installer out in a timely manner to fix the problem which is normal protocol. When I was informed that what the installer did on the first service call did not fix the problem, my secretary at the time said that I had an appointment with*********** at 1 pm on February 20th to meet with ********** to figure out the issue he was having. I went to ************ home at the designated time that was set. Nobody answered when I knocked on the door so I proceeded to do the service work that my secretary had written down on our service sheet. When I was finished I wrote a note to*********** explaining that I was there and that I fixed (what I thought) was the issue. To my knowledge I have never received any message by phone or email from my secretary from **********. We found out that he was not satisfied from the BBB on 6-25-13. I called ********** immediately and went out to meet him on 6-26-13. Upon our meeting I found that ********** was concerned with the downspout placement on the left side of his chimney and the craftsmanship on the downspout on the right side of his chimney. There was water coming down on the brick of his chimney as well on the left side which was a non gutter issue. Upon further inspection of why water was getting on the brick of his chimney on the left side, I noticed that the flashing on the roof was not extended out far enough when the home was constructed. I advised*********** to extend the flashing and that should solve the problem. I met our installer out at ************ home on 6-28-13 to resolve all the gutter helmet issues on the craftsmanship of the downspouts and placement of the downspout. We also extended the flashing on the back side of his chimney to redirect the from getting on the left side of his chimney which was not a gutter helmet issue at no cost to Mr. ******* I performed a follow up phone call to Mr. ****** to make sure everything was up to his satisfaction about a week later. To our knowledge, everything was fixed to************* satisfaction since we have not received any communication otherwise.

It is our commitment to go above and beyond for all of our customers to make sure they are completely satisfied with every aspect of the job that we perform for them.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/15/2009Business started: 07/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
2525 Fairlane Dr
Montgomery, AL36116-1607
(334) 272-5030
http://www.genconbd.alabama.gov

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL36130-3605
(334) 242-2230
http://www.hblb.state.al.us

Type of Entity

Franchise

Business Management
Mr. Owen Watkins (Owner)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Hisey (Owner)
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers custom home building, gutters, roofing, windows, and siding installation and services.

Refund and Exchange Policy

Lifetime Warranty on most installed gutter products

Service Area

Alabama

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama

104 Owens Pkwy Ste 5

Birmingham, AL 35244-1657

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 104 Owens Pkwy Ste 5 

    Birmingham, AL 35244-1657

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gutter Helmet Systems of Alabama is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 362-1513
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.