BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grow Alabama, LLC

Find a Location

(205) 991-0042View Additional Phone Numbers344 Finley Ave W, BirminghamAL 35204-1050http://www.growalabama.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Grow Alabama, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Grow Alabama, LLC's rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grow Alabama, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues
11/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues
03/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Grow Alabama stopped delivering to my area this spring. I still am owed a refund of $107 for boxes I paid for yet weren't delivered.
On March 19th, I received an email from **** *********** informing me that Grow Alabama would no longer deliver to my city and I was told by ****** ****** that a refund of $107 would be issued on April 1st. At the end of April, I had not received my refund. I called Grow Alabama's office to inquire about this issue on 4/30, 5/8, 6/2, and 7/11. I never received a return phone call but did speak with someone once after I called repeatedly on the same day. The individual told me she would follow up yet she never did. I spoke with ***** *******, the CEO, on 7/8. He told me that he would talk to ****** ******. When I did not hear from ****** or *****, I called ***** back the next day. He told me that he had instructed ****** to be in touch with me. I did not receive any communication from ****** after this phone conversation. As such, I emailed and called ***** and ****** on 8/11. That evening I received an email from ****** saying she had a meeting with ***** in the morning and would discuss the issue with him. ***** called me back the next morning but did not know anything about ******'s email or meeting with her. I replied to ****** with a request to know what ***** said in their meeting. She responded by saying: "I did not get a lot of info from ***** today. I do not even know yet of we are delivering around Birmingham this week. I will keep trying." I called and emailed both ***** and ****** again this morning (Aug. 13th) but have gotten no reply.

Desired Settlement
$107

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fruit & Vegetable Growers & Shippers, Fruits & Vegetables - Wholesale, Grocery - Bulk Food Stores, Farmers Market, Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/06/2004Business started: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Pam Easley (Business Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Jerry Spencer (Owner)
Business Category

Fruit & Vegetable Growers & Shippers, Fruits & Vegetables - Wholesale, Grocery - Bulk Food Stores, Farmers Market, Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company deliveries fresh locally grown vegetables, fruits, eggs, etc., such as, organic vegetables, organic fruits, etc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grow Alabama, LLC

344 Finley Ave W

Birmingham, AL 35204-1050

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 344 Finley Ave W 

    Birmingham, AL 35204-1050(205) 266-5130

  • PO Box 55942 

    Birmingham, AL 35255-5942(205) 991-0042

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grow Alabama, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 266-5130
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/growalabama?fref=ts
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fruit & Vegetable Growers & Shippers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.