BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2001

Shelby Fence

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 664-1551Fax: (205) 664-15191022 Grande View Pass, MayleneAL 35114-4004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2001

BBB has determined that Shelby Fence meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shelby Fence's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After torando struck Jan. 2013 tried to contact Shelby Fence to have it repaired. No retrun phone call from company.
I had Shelby Fence build a 6 ft wooden and 4 ft picket fence built by Shelby Fence. In Jan of 2012 we tried to contat Shelby Fence to have them come and repair damage to fence. No returned call. Found different company to repair fence. Still having problem with fence and will call company that repaired fence after tornado.

Business' Initial Response
Shelby Fence did install the original fence for Mr. ****** in August of 2011. At this time he was satisfied and paid in full. The fence was constructed and was in good standing from August until a tornado caused damage. Unfortunately, we have no record of a voice-mail left by Mr. ******, requesting an estimate to repair the fence. We would have gladly come and assessed the damage for him, however, Mr. ****** contacted another fence company to repair the damaged fence. Since Mr. ****** is still having problems with the tornado damaged fence, he should contact the fence company that repaired the fence after the tornado. We do apologize for any miscommunication, however, at this time, we do not feel we are responsible to cover repairs or work done by other fence companies. It seems the problem Mr. ****** is having with the fence is a repair/insurance issue rather than a warranty issue. We do not warranty storm damage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/09/2011Problems with Product / Service
04/25/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Deck Builder

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2000Business started: 12/01/1991
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Category

Fence Contractors, Deck Builder

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers fence contracting, decks and screen porches.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shelby Fence

1022 Grande View Pass

Maylene, AL 35114-4004

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1022 Grande View Pass 

    Maylene, AL 35114-4004(205) 664-1551

  • PO Box 667 

    Pelham, AL 35124-0667

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shelby Fence is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.