BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2007

A+ Quality Fence & Deck, Inc.

Phone: (334) 277-1167Fax: (334) 395-9882

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Company fails to adequately document in writing the terms/conditions regarding warranty(s) to customer after multiple requests.
This complaint addresses a concern regarding the company's lack of willingness to provide the customer a resonable assurance of warranty support for the installation of an electronic gate with ancillary equipment and fencing costing $8,660. The installation was completed on 3/14/2013. I have no complaint per se on the workmanship to date; however, with the amount of the expenditure I expect some warranty documentation regarding the actual components for the project i.e., USA Patriot I Automatic Gate Opener, Searial Nr: XXXXXX; Linear****** Keypad Entry System; Cartell Exit Gate Probe (Model/Serial Nrs uknown for last two components).
In the contract, there is a reference to a 5 year warranty for the************ with no further details for warranties on other components. Business owner advised verbally the 5 year warranty on the************ was 5 years on the circuit board. The warranty reference to Patriot is the only one mentioned by name in the contract.
I called *********** to see if I could register the product online or by telephone. I was told they have no procedure to do this.
I have talked with the business owner's representative (****** ******) on multiple occasions. She told me as recently as 4/12/13 that she had provided me the Serial Number for the Patriot and I could deal with the manufacturer if I have a problem with the equipment. After reviewing some information online, it is my understanding that the Cartell Exit Probe may have a 5 year warranty ; however, I can't be sure of the model number or serial number since the equipment is buried without that information being recorded in the contract or documented elsewhere. The remote keypad entry component is Linear AK-11. I called the manufacturer for information on this device. They told me there was a date code inside the box that would establish a warranty. An A+ technician came out and opened the box last week, but could not find a "date code" so he wrote down some identifying numbers on the nomenclature to give to the business owner. I asked him to give this information on the AK-11 to A+ to help me establish the warranty. To date, I have received nothing in writing on my most recent request last week. On 4/12/13, ****** ****** gave me the distinct impression they were not going to accommodate my request and essentially said they weren't going to change their business practices saying they had been doing things that way for 18 years. My position was that because they had been doing things a certain way for a number of years did not automatically constitute good business practices - at least not from my perspective.
The contact was most recently modified on 3/4/2013 before the work was completed. A copy of that can be obtained from the company or I will be glad to provide a copy upon request.
To conclude, I feel vulnerable should I have problems with the equipment since subsequent to me paying the company at the completion of work, I am apparently left to fiend for myself if I have problems short of calling the company for a service call which I was told would be approximately $105 or more depending on the mileage and other factors (NFI). One would think for a purchase of this amount, a customer should expect for some period of time labor and materials to be covered (perhaps 30-90 days). For the cost of this business transaction, I expected better customer service and courtesy from A+ Quality Fence & Deck.

Respectfully,


****** ******

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** sent us an email stating he had placed it on hold the very next day ******* he had received the info on warranty from us. ( A+Quality fence & Deck, Inc.)

A+ Quality Fence & Deck

Consumer's Final Response
Earlier today, I submitted a reply in effect saying "I would give the business the benefit of the doubt" and not press the issue any more at this time. Subsequent to me submitting that reply, I have had a problem with the workmanship of the gate. It is is rendered inoperative at this point due to an improper or unsatisfactory installation of some hardware on the gate mechanism. I have contacted the business; therefore, I would like to hold the resolution of the complaint to see how timely and the resolution given by the company. At this point, I do not expect to pay any more because it relates to workmanship on work completed some 60 days ago. Please suspense this action for another followup later for a final reply by me.

Sincerely,

****** ******
************************
*************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Gates, Ornamental Metal Work, Patio & Deck Builders, Outdoor Kitchens

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.