BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/29/2000

BBVA Compass

Phone: (256) 835-5200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Compass *** my car loan. They reported a late payment to ******** for the month of february.
Loan *************
****************************************************
*** 7/30/1965

Compass **** had my car note. the car was totalled in an accident in mid December. The insurance company mailed the total loss department the payoff on 1/17/2014. On 2/18/2014 i was told no payoff was recieved. i continued to make the car payment and made my last payment on 2/6/2014. I attempted to call the total loss department over the month of february over 50 times. No person ever answered the phone and i had to leave a message each time. I never received a call back, and still haven't

i contacted the insurance company and they reported to me the check was mailed to the total loss department on 1/17/2014. They requested bank records and several days later emailed me a copy of the cashed check. Compass ****** the check on 2/12/2014. That means they had the check sitting on a desk for over 3 weeks in the total loss department. I recieved my check from the inurance company on 1/19/2014, only 2 days after the date of 1/17/2014 (the issue date).

Finally, out of desperation I went to the local branch and asked the branch manger for help at the end of february. She told me the car now showed paid off with an amount due back to me of 796.95. She said it can sometimes take a little time for the total loss department to get the funds recorded to the note balance that she can see becasue the note is transferred to the total loss department when they were notified that the car was totaled.

On 3/23/2014 i called the branch manager and told her i never received the check for 796.95. She said she would take care of it and on 3/31/2014, more than a month after i was told compass ****** me the check and 2 and 1/2 months after the insurance company issed the payoff I received the check.

I was then notified by my credit surveillance subscription that Compass filed a late payment notice, 30 days late, for the month of february on my credit report. This is crazy.......I made a payment for a car that was totalled 50 days earlier on 2/6/2014 for 731.43 in order to make sure the payment was current until they got the payoff credited. They finally credited the payoff on 2/12/2014 that was mailed on 1/17/2014 from the insurance company. They then had to mail me a refund for 796.95 that included interest accrual from the the total loss date in December through 2/12/2014. Yet i did not even get the check until 45 days later.

After all of that they report me to the credit report bureau for a 30 day late payment in february, which simply is not the case.

Someone please help me. My many phone calls to compass have gone un-responded to.

Desired Settlement
Take the false 30 day late payment off of my credit report

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ******'s BBB complaint regarding his auto loan account at BBVA Comass.
Mr. ******'s complaint indicates that we did not address his issues in a timely manner and upon receiving this complaint, this was immediately addressed with the Total Loss Management team.
Our records indicate that research request # XXXXXX was submitted on behalf of Mr. ****** to update his credit reporting on 5/14/14. This was completed and the credit bureaus were notified to remove the late history as of 5/20/14.
On behalf of BBVA Compass, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration Mr. ****** may have experienced. We hope this information helps to resolve Mr. ******'s issue and we thank him for his business.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.