BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/08/2010

Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 786-8279Fax: (205) 786-7726View Additional Phone Numbers6403 Ej Oliver Blvd, FairfieldAL 35064-1220 Send email to Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Our low mileage used engines carry 18mo unlimited mileage warranty which includes labor. Rebuilt engines are 3 year 50,000. Our rebuilt transmissions carry 24mo 24,000 mi warranty

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/08/2010

BBB has determined that Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have got an issue with Mr T's Automotive in Midfield. We have a truck that was not running right and we took it to a mechanic we know and he diagnosed it with injector problems and replaced #3 injector. It helped but did not correct the problem. I went to the car lot I bought the truck from, Canada Auto Sales, and they asked me to take it to Mr. T's Automotive. They were told of the findings of our mechanic, however, they went on to allow it to be trash in the tank and filters dirty which my brother replaced the fuel filters but if the tank had trash in it, they could have gotten dirty again. I thought it odd it had the same fuel as I had left it with them. They charged $455 and allowed the truck to be running fine which it did not. I went back to the car lot to speak with them and they had me to take it back to Mr. T's. They thought they had it corrected a couple of times but found it to still have the problems my mechanic originally said: fuel injector problems. They replaced 4 of the injectors and the truck runs well. I took it to the other mechanic I use for shocks to be put on the front and to check it out for I was planning to go to Kentucky. He found the valve covers leaking and me not being so mechanically inclined did not realize the valve covers had to be removed to replace injectors for that is the work Mr. T's did. I told my mechanic, ******************, to replace the valve covers for he said they were leaking oil severely. As he proceeded to do the job, he found my radiator overflow line had been and broken and glued back on which costed $400 for a new radiator. He found most of the bolts of the valve cover to be stripped out. He had to drill and put in heli-cores from the work Mr. T's had done. He brought to my attention and showed me the valve covers had been left off and the exhaust manifold had started rusting and a bolt also broke off in the manifold. My first mechanic that replaced the #3 injector, who is a certified diesel mechanic, said there was no rust on that side of the motor for he would have brought that to my attention because that is a future serious mechanical problem. I took the truck back to Mr. T's to express the bad mechanic work and the breaking of my radiator and the rust that was found on the motor for the valve covers to be left off. ****, the man in office, expressed to me that they had seen rust on the exhaust manifold and did not work but on one side of the motor and did not work on the side where the radiator had been broken. I asked why it was not brought to my attention about the rust as my mechanic had done. This **** works in the office and is not doing any of the mechanic work. Mr. **** expressed that he (****) is a salesman as I confronted him about the things that were done to the motor. I expressed to **** that whomever did work on the left side of the motor did the same work on the right side of the motor because of the way the bolts were stripped. He still insisted that they did not work but on one side of the motor, but however, for them to replace the injectors they claimed to replace, they did work on both sides of the motor if they replaced the injectors they claimed. My radiator was broken in the process but they did not want to claim any responsibility of stripped bolts or breaking of the radiator on that side, claiming to only working on side of the motor which is untrue if they replaced the injectors as they invoiced me for. Mr. ****, the owner of Mr. T's, turned to be rude as I expressed air wrenches should not be used on those bolts for it is an aluminum head. He asked how long have I been doing mechanicing. I said I dont do mechanicing is the reason I've got the problem I have now. I was told by both of my mechanics that are certified diesel mechanics, that air wrenches should not be used on those bolts. He said I should have brought the truck back to them rather than having my mechanic fix the problem they had done and he did not see the bolts of being stripped out. However, I did not realize that was work that they had done because I am not a mechanic. However, common sense of this work that had to be redone is clearly from bad mechanic work. They had some other mechanic to do this work. I expressed to him whatever his feelings is that he should not use that mechanic to do any more work for him for the man may have had his air wrench too high of torc or perhaps one of his helpers and then my radiator was broken in the process and glued. What kind of work would I have gotten if I had taken it back because the damage had been done and I would not know of this work that was done and of my future problems that I am to be faced with of that motor. Mr. T's was paid $1650 for the work they done and I had to pay ****************** more than half of their charge to try to correct as much of the problem as could be done but there is still problems that can not be straightened out. My complaint is of poor workmanship and the owner and manager not wanting to take the responsibility of another mechanic that they let work on my truck for they did not really do diesel mechanic work and they were overloaded with work. There is no way they can correct the problem without major expense which Im sure they would not want to do. I do feel they should refund the labor, material, and broken radiator expense that was paid to ******************. What steps should be taken to recover my loss of this expense and of the future problem that is to come from the work they did? They say to bring it back to them, but from what workmanship that had been done I am sure that would be a bad idea. I don't feel like I could trust them from the way they treated me and the work that I seen that was done.


Desired Settlement
Mr. T's was paid $1650 for the work they done and I had to pay ****************** more than half of their charge to try to correct as much of the problem as could be done but there is still problems that can not be straightened out.

Business Response
Dear Sir or Madam ,We regret that Mr ***** is unhappy and would have appreciated the opportunity to inspect the vehicle for issues and perform any warranty work that may or may not have been necessary. However, we were not given that opportunity since the owner took the vehicle elsewhere for repairs. These repairs are not covered under our warranty (please see warranty statement below or on invoice). We stand behind our work, our facility and employees who are highly skilled in their trade and having been in business for over 30 years in the same community we also feel we have a good reputation with the community and surrounding areas. At Mr T's Auto Service, Inc our warranty states as follows,"all warranty work must be performed by Mr T's at our facility repairs are covered for 12 mo or 12,000 miles which ever occurs first". Because Mr ***** declined to bring the vehicle back and had other work performed at another facility the (cost of) repair will not be covered under the warranty as stated at the bottom of his work order. Thank you for your time.


07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my vehicle to Mr. T's to get brakes, rotors and to check the engine light and system stability and they broke the nipple on the radiator.
I took my car to the shop on Tuesday May 28, 2013 for brakes and rotors. Returned it to the shop on my off day Thursday May 2, 2013, because I couldn't leave it overnight. Thursday they were to check the stability system and the check engine light. I called them Thursday evening and they let me know that they had made repairs to my vehicle. I paid them for fixing the issue with the check engine light because it was the same amount at the diagnoses fee. They wouldn't tell me what they found wrong with the stability system. I pick my vehicle up Friday before work, I drove to work arriving there at 6:00pm I got off work Saturday morning at 4:30am and my car screen read check coolant. I went to pull over to the side on the highway when I noticed that my car was running hot. I called my father and when he arrived we noticed the all of the coolant had run out of the car and the hose to the radiator was off and the nipple was broken off into the hose. I got the vehicle towed to Mr. T's because my vehicle wasn't running hot and the nipple wasn't broke on the radiator. When I contacted them today they acted like weren't going to repair the damages that they caused to my car.

Desired Settlement
I want Mr. T's Auto to either repair my vehicle or be responsible for paying for the repairs.

Business' Initial Response
Case# XXXXXXXX

June 18, 2013

Concerning the customers complaint of "broken radiator hose nipple", the work performed on Ms ******** vehicle that day was brakes and rotors and nothing concerning the radiator. Ms ******** drove the vehicle 136 miles before returning to Mr T's with her complaint of the fluid running out. If the clamp or nipple had been broken while the work was being performed at Mr. T's the fluid would have leaked out immediately and the vehicle would not have made it 5 miles. In good faith we offered to split the cost of the repair with Ms ********, she accepted and the problem has been resolved.
Sincerely, ***** ********* Vice President.

04/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my 2002 sebring car in for repairs and my radio, speakers and tv/dvd and 1000W amplifier was stolen, while in their possession.
On 2/3/15 I paid $500 deposit to Mr. T Automotive to begin the repairs to my 2002 Sebring convertible which totaled $1578.73. On 2/5/15 I received a phone call from Mr T's informing me my car repairs were complete but my car was broken into. Police were call and the officer spoke with me and Mr **** ********* (Owner). Mr ********* stated he would contact me by phone to solve the problem. I left my car there so he could replace the items missing. On 2/10/15 I paid the remaining balance and picked up my car because he said they would start charging storage fees if I did not come get my car. I said ok I will bring the boxes of all my equipment that was stolen out of my car. Thats when he inform me that he had replaced my radio but he had to order my 10" speakers, amplifier and my dvd/tv headrest set and he would call me once they are in so they could get installed. I have not heard anything else from Mr. T's since. When I attempted to call him he won't return my calls or messages. On 3/16/15 I was contacted by the *** 6 call for action team. Which they also tried to speak to him about resolving the problem. This is what he said to us "I have been nothing but nice to you people I replaced your radio with a $350 one, which I did not have to do because I have a sign that says I am not responsible for any theft of items left in the car. Now that you have involved a third party I have nothing else to say to you." And that's when he hung up the phone. I hope someone can help me. And also spread the word because no one should be treated like this. If needed I have a copy of the police report that verifies everything I just wrote today. And pictures of my car before and after this theft and pictures of the boxes that I gave to Mr. T's. I also have my receipt and bank statements that shows I paid for my repairs in full.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $1200 for replacing equipment and installation. I would feel more confortable if I buy and get the equipment installed somewhere else. That way anything goes wrong with the equipment I will not have to contact Mr. T's no longer and end any contact between us.

Business Response
Mr T's Auto Service, Inc.
Re; case# XXXXXXXX

Mr. & Mrs. ****** originally brought the vehicle in to be diagnosed 3 weeks prior to paying the $500.00 deposit on 02/05/2015. When the estimate was given to Mr. ****** he said that he could not afford to repair the car at the time and would need to pick it up. Mr. ****** asked us to leave the vehicle out front unlocked with the key under the floor mat because he only had one key and would have to pick it up after business hours and that is what we did. We have done this several times before for our customers but the vehicles are always picked up within a couple of hours of closing and are not left all night unlocked.
The next morning Mr. ****** called to ask if the vehicle could stay until he got his tax return to pay for the repairs. We told him he could leave the vehicle and would not be charged storage for that time. Our ****** put the vehicle back in the fence that afternoon. The ****** never mentioned that anything was missing but they don't know what the vehicle had or did not have as far as accessories go.
The deposit was paid on 02/05 the vehicle was brought in to be repaired and the mechanic reported to the shop owner that the radio was missing. The repairs were completed that day and the customer was called to let them know the car was ready to be picked up but the radio was missing and some other components.
Since the vehicle was not "broken into" but the equipment was missing we can only assume that it was taken when the vehicle sat out overnight unlocked and not picked up as the customer had instructed. A police report was then filed by the customer.
While we do have a sign posted in several places in the office that states "we cannot be held responsible for theft, fire or anything else beyond our control" in a goodwill gesture we agreed to replace the TV/ Radio and offered to install speakers but did not because the trunk is leaking. The customer had informed us when the vehicle came in that it leaked.
We sincerely regret that this has happened but feel that we had properly protected the vehicle while it was in our possession. We wish the Rogres well.

***** *********
Mr T's Auto Service, Inc


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I (******** N ******) am the only registered owner of this car. Any actions pertaining to this car has to be approved by me. I never told him to leave the car out. I have always had more that on key to this car. I know nothing about asking him to leave the key under the mat. My cars' doors has a five minute timed lock on it. On the police report Mr. ********* stated my car was broken into while in his possession but could not give an exact date the theft took place. I was not notified of the theft until 02/05/15 which was also the date the repairs were complete. He also stated he would call me on a later date to resolve the matter. All due respect I gave him one month to replace my equipment.I even went as far as to bring the boxes to him, that my radio, speakers and amp came out of as for the tv/dvd the shop that installed them kept the boxes but I did inform him of the model of the set, to make it easy to replace. And I never received a call or any form of contact. No where on the police report does he stats anything about signs saying not responsible of theft. Police did not talk to a ***** *********, the officer spoke with Mr **** ******** only. If he truly believe he was not responsible for my equipment. Why would he agree to replace my equipment which also was restated by ***** *********. I can provide a copy of the police report and title and pictures of my car before and after the theft if necessary. I have been a customer of Mr. T's for about two years and to be treated like this is just unacceptable. I hate that our business relationship had to end this way. Thanks for your help BBB.

03/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter motor in her car locked up. Mr. T's fixed the car previously for xxx xxxxxx Auto Sales. The oil pressure light came on and I called xxxx at Mr. T's on Dec 20 or 21, 2012 and xxxx told me that it was a bad sensor and to replace it it would be $xxx and it's nothing to worry about. So on January 4, 2013 the oil pressure light came back on and I called xxx at Mr. T's and he said to bring the car in. We were on our way to Mr. T's and the car stopped. The motor had locked up. I called the car lot and told them what happened and xxxxxx at xxx xxxxxx said that Mr. T's should be responsible for the fixing of the car because xxxx shouldn't told us not to drive it there. We went back and forth about who was responsible, so myself and the car lot came to a mutual agreement to pay half on the motor. I contacted xxxx about the motor and he said he will get one. Three days later xxxx contacted me and told me that he had found a motor fof $xxxx with 48,000 miles. I contacted the car lot and told them that Mr. T's got a motor and they told me to make sure that's the correct price that xxxx was quoting because he good at changing the price after they start on the car. I asked xxxx was that the price. He said yes. My husband and I went to Mr. T's and talked with ****** the owner also. While we were there I asked xxx again and he said yes. Will when I called to ask him about the progess on the car, it was not ready and the price is $xxxx because he did not add the fluids. I told him that higher than he said it will be. Not the car is ready and it $xxxx, $xxx more than before. xxxx stated that the motor needed more parts. I thought if they was fxing the motor all that should be included. He did not say it was a seperate charge. xxxx did not call and discuss this with me before all this took place. This is not professional business practices. Any mechanic business would have told one price and change it a total of three times. This so unfair and unethical.

Desired Settlement
I want Mr. T's to honor the original price of $**** that was quoted at first by xxxx.

Business' Initial Response
We regret that Ms ****** is disatisfied. When the vehicle was picked up the issue appeared to be resolved. Sincerely, ****** xxxxxxxxxx

Consumer's Final Response
The whole experience with Mr. T's was a nightmare. 99% of the respond from them to BBB was not true. We was not given an option of what motor wa available. We was told that they found a motor and that was the price. Of course the price was upped somewhere along the way. To make a long respond short, Mr.T's is a not truthful in their dealings. I pray and hope that I will NEVER have to return to them regarded the motor.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Small Engine Repair, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Retail & Repair, Starters - Engine

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1988, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Matthew Tortorici (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Tortorici (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Small Engine Repair, Transmissions - Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Retail & Repair, Starters - Engine

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers vehicle repairs, such as, maintenance, brakes, transmission, tires, air conditioning, electrical, engine, etc. foreign and domestic vehicle repair and maintenance.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PM
Service Area

Central Alabama

Alternate Business Names
Alabama Engine Installation
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc.

6403 Ej Oliver Blvd

Fairfield, AL 35064-1220

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 6403 Ej Oliver Blvd 

    Fairfield, AL 35064-1220(205) 786-1400
    (205) 786-8279

  • PO Box 411 

    Fairfield, AL 35064-0411

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mr. T's Auto Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 786-1400
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.