BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & South Alabama

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

James Bearden Automotive, LLC

(205) 620-1422212 2nd Pl SW, AlabasterAL 35007-2122 Send email to James Bearden Automotive, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

James Bearden Automotive, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered James Bearden Automotive, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised James Bearden Automotive, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on James Bearden Automotive, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Owner said car was fixed. They had wedged a large piece of foam between head gasket and oil pan to soak up oil leaks until warranty expired.
03/23/2013, Car was overheating. ******* said they could fix it. Three weeks later, I demanded they fix my car now because my rental car bill was over $1200 in all. I gave them 2 1/2 more days or I would tow it somewhere else. They had it ready on 04/19/2013,the day I said I would be back. I paid my bill and we both apologized to each other. 05/17/2013, oil light came on. ******* changed oil 04/19/2013. Went to to check my oil and dipstick was clean. No oil at all. put in two quarts and recommended a garage to take it to. *****'s Auto called and said there was a large piece of foam wedged under the oil and head gasket. It was soaked with oil and was dripping. I called ******* about fixing an oil leak. He told me he couldn't get to me until Tuesday or Wednesday (after warranty expires). *****'s Auto said he didn't think the head gasket was new because it was covered in oil and it should be clean and shiney. I paid ******* $1,511.90 and paid $824.21 to ********** *** ******* He takes so long in fixing the car, I can't afford him. I must have a car and cannot afford to buy a used one. I am on Social Security and work part-time as a cashier.

Business' Initial Response
James Bearden Automotive repaired all thread in the engine block, replaced head gasket. (customer seen car apart and we showed her what we were doing) This repair took extensive time due to the threads being pulled out of the block.
Customer states that the car had no oil however she also states that ******** put 2 quarts in the car,it holds 4.8 quarts. (not empty) This large piece of foam she and this other shop refers to is a factory Toyota part # XXXXX-X with a price of 56.23. We did not charge her for this item nor did we replace it. We tried to dry it out from the oil & coolant that was on it from the problem with the car. After a couple of weeks she called to let us know there was a leak some where. We told her we could not get her in that day (Friday) but to come in the first of the week. She did not come in or call back. She filed this complaint the next day with out giving us the opportunity to look at the car. She stated it was out of warranty. On her invoice it states that parts & labor have a 1 year warranty or 12,000 mile which ever comes first. She also states that *****'s **** said they didn't think the gasket had been replaced, first of all they didn't recognize a factory part and you can't see the head gasket with the head installed. The customer had this car towed to my shop from another place (complaining about their service & prices) with major problems. I done every thing I could to get her car up and running. I don't feel like I have done anything wrong and I should not refund any money.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* said the car was fixed and it wasn't. He had over three weeks to work on it which I had to pay for a rental car. If he couldn't fix it, he should have told me; not lead me on. I did not want to go back to him to fix the oil leak because he takes too long, and I did not want to rent another car. I will never go back to him.

Business' Final Response
The warranty is clearly stated on the customer receipt. I can only honor that warranty if the customer brings her car to my shop for me to evaluate the problem. Clearly the car is operating and she is driving it. If this oil leak is so bad continuing to drive this car may cause engine damage for which I'm not responsible for.I can't warranty work determined by someone else. Therefore if she is not willing to come here and give me the opportunity to evaluate the problem, she is denying her warranty.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/23/2012Business started: 09/01/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Bearden (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers general automotive repair services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for James Bearden Automotive, LLC

212 2nd Pl SW

Alabaster, AL 35007-2122

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 212 2nd Pl SW 

    Alabaster, AL 35007-2122(205) 620-1422

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*James Bearden Automotive, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.